Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the John R. Hansen Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1965-1967
Creator: Hansen, John R. (1901-1974)
Extent: 47.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0300
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: U.S. Representative from Iowa. Correspondence, subject files, films, and sound recordings from his term in Congress.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photograph engravings in Box 93; Campaign buttons in Box 92; Film/Video in Boxes 90-94 and in canisters at end of the collection; Slides in Box 92; Audio material in Box 92.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa by Mr. Hansen in 1967.

Preferred Citation: John R. Hansen Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

John Robert Hansen, was born in Manning, Iowa, on August 24, 1901. He attended the University of Iowa from 1919 to 1921. Hansen was president of Dultmeier Manufacturing Co. in Manning, Iowa and of Dultmeier Sales in Omaha, Nebraska. Active in state and county politics, Hansen twice served as a delegate to the Democratic National Convention, was Sixth District Democratic Chairman, and was the Democratic nominee for Lieutenant Governor in 1960. In 1962, Hansen was appointed western Iowa manager of the Savings and Bond Division of the US Treasury Department. He resigned from that post in 1964. He served one term in the US Congress where he was a member of the Banking and Currency Committee. From 1967 to 1969 Hansen was a member of the Iowa State Highway Commission. John Robert Hansen died on September 23, 1974.

The papers of John R. Hansen document his term in Congress from 1965-1967, with forty seven linear feet of materials which are arranged in a roughly alphabetical order. Much of the collection related directly to his sixth congressional district. However, there are also subject files concerning topics from watersheds to post offices, legislation to speeches, and films to audio tapes.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Academy candidates - 1966 -- 1967
  • Box 2:
  • Academy candidates - 1966 -- 1967
  • Box 3:
  • Academies
  • Army
  • Coast Guard
  • Merchant Marine
  • Navy
  • Immigration & Naturalization
  • Insurance & Retirement
  • Box 4:
  • Administration
  • District Office
  • Correspondence
  • Form Letters
  • Box 5:
  • Administration (cont.)
  • Personnel
  • Applications
  • Summer Interns
  • Biography
  • Box 6:
  • Congressional Record, Clippings. - 1965-1966
  • Box 7:
  • Correspondence - 1965
  • Beverage
  • Congressional Record
  • Congressional Directory
  • Congresional Library
  • Christmas Cards
  • Drugs
  • Education
  • Libraries
  • Humanities, etc.
  • Employment
  • Box 8:
  • Correspondence (cont.) - 1965
  • Exposition Research Material
  • Taxes
  • Trade
  • Un-American Activities
  • Utilities
  • Veterans
  • Visitors
  • Newsletters (samples of)
  • Box 9:
  • Correspondence (cont.) - 1965-1966
  • Freeman, Orville
  • Employment Files
  • Federal Government
  • Committee on Consumer Interests
  • Farm Programs
  • Farmers Home Administration
  • Box 10:
  • Correspondence (cont.) - 1965-1966
  • Recreation
  • Retirement
  • Roads, Salaries
  • State Government
  • Excise Taxes
  • Box 11:
  • General
  • Agriculture
  • Sugar
  • Surplus
  • Testing Stations
  • Animals
  • Coops
  • Cotton
  • Dairy
  • National Capitol Demo Club
  • National Rural Electric Coops
  • A.F.L-C.I.O.
  • U.A.W.
  • Box 12:
  • General (cont.)
  • APPRO-BUDGET
  • American Legion
  • NARCE Legislative Program
  • National Farmers Organization
  • National Farmers Union
  • Associations A--I
  • Box 13:
  • General (cont.)
  • Associations J-Z
  • Box 14:
  • Federal Government--Executive
  • Independent Agencies
  • Arms Control and Disarmament Agency
  • Advisory Commission on Intergovernmental Realtions
  • Atomic Energy Commission
  • Civil Service Commission
  • Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
  • Farm Credit Administration
  • Federal Aviation Agency
  • Federal Communications Commission
  • Federal Deposit Insurancce Corporation
  • Federal Home Loan Bank Board
  • Federal Power Commission
  • Foreign Claims Settlement Commission
  • General Services Commission
  • Government Printing Office
  • Housing & Home Finance Agency
  • Interstate Commerce Commission
  • NASA
  • National Foundation on Arts & Humanities
  • National Gallery of Art
  • Selective Service Agency
  • Box 15:
  • Federal Government--Executive
  • Small Business Administration
  • Soybeans
  • Foreign Agricultural Service
  • Federal Crop Insurance
  • Agricultural Legislation
  • Recreational Facilities
  • Rural Electric Administration
  • Office of Economic Opportunity
  • Box 16:
  • Federal Government--House Committees
  • Finance
  • Foreign Relations
  • Forest Resources
  • Health & Welfare
  • Housing & Urban Affairs
  • Immigration & Naturalization
  • Inaugural 1965
  • Industries
  • Institutions
  • Insurance, etc.
  • Joint Economic Committee
  • Judicial Affairs
  • Box 17:
  • Federal Government (cont.)
  • Veterans' Administration
  • Small Business Administation
  • Members of Congress' Thank You
  • Officers of House of Representatives
  • House Committees
  • Democratic Whip
  • Iowa Democratic Delegation
  • House of Representatives -- A-Z
  • Congressmen -- Miscellaneous
  • Box 18:
  • General
  • Labor
  • Legal
  • Lists
  • Mail
  • Maritime
  • Memorial
  • Metals
  • Military
  • National Defense
  • Natural Resources
  • Nominations
  • Parks and Forests
  • Poverty
  • Prayer
  • Box 19:
  • Adair County:
  • Constituent Service Forms
  • Cases
  • Projects
  • Greetings
  • Requests
  • Visitors
  • Newsletters
  • Legislation
  • Box 20:
  • Audubon County:
  • Constituent Service Forms
  • Employment
  • Cases
  • Projects
  • Greetings
  • Requests
  • Visitors
  • Newsletters
  • Carroll County:
  • Projects
  • Employment
  • Meat Irradiation Pilot Plant
  • Box 21:
  • Carroll County (cont.)
  • Cases
  • Office of Economic Opportunity
  • Greetings
  • Requests
  • Visitors
  • Newsletters
  • Box 22:
  • Cass County
  • Constituent Service Forms
  • Employment
  • Cases
  • Projects
  • Greetings
  • Requests
  • Visitors
  • Newsletters
  • Crawford County
  • Constituent Service Forms
  • Employment
  • Cases
  • Box 23:
  • Crawford County (cont.)
  • Projects
  • Midwestern College
  • Greetings
  • Requests
  • Visitors
  • Newsletters
  • Dallas County
  • Constituent Service Forms
  • Employment
  • Cases
  • Projects
  • Greetings
  • Box 24:
  • Dallas County (cont.)
  • Greetings
  • Requests
  • Visitors
  • Newsletters
  • Fremont County:
  • Constituent Service Forms
  • Employment
  • Cases
  • Projects
  • Political Affairs
  • Public Relations
  • Requests
  • Visitors
  • Newsletters
  • Flood Control
  • Box 25:
  • Greene County
  • Constituent Service Forms
  • Employment
  • Cases
  • Projects -- Plowing Match
  • Greetings
  • Requests
  • Newsletters
  • Guthrie County:
  • Constituent Service Forms
  • Employment
  • Cases
  • Projects
  • Greetings
  • Requests
  • Newsletters
  • Visitors
  • Box 26:
  • Harrison County
  • Constituent Service Forms
  • Employment
  • Cases
  • Projects
  • Office of Economic Opportunity
  • Greetings
  • Requests
  • Visitors
  • Newsletters
  • Madison County
  • Constituent Service Forms
  • Employment
  • Cases
  • Projects
  • Office of Economic Opportunity
  • Greetings
  • Requests
  • Visitors
  • Newsletters
  • Box 27:
  • Mills County
  • Constituent Service Forms
  • Employment
  • Projects
  • Cases
  • Greetings
  • Publicity
  • Requests
  • Visitors
  • Newsletters
  • Box 28:
  • Monona County
  • Constituent Service Forms
  • Employment
  • Cases
  • Land Gifts
  • Projects
  • Greetings
  • Requests
  • Visitors
  • Newsletters
  • Montgomery County
  • Constituent Service Forms
  • Employment
  • Cases
  • Projects
  • Red Oak Data Book
  • Box 29:
  • Montgomery County (cont.)
  • Learning Resources Center
  • Iowa - Nebraska Small Business Investment Corporation
  • Office of Economic Opportunity
  • Head Start Program
  • Greetings
  • Requests
  • Visitors
  • Newsletters
  • Box 30:
  • Page County
  • Constituent Service Form
  • Employment
  • Projects
  • Cases
  • Office of Economic Opportunity
  • Small Business Administration Loans
  • Greetings
  • Requests
  • Visitors
  • Newsletters
  • Box 31:
  • Pottawattamie County
  • Public Relations
  • Greetings
  • Thank You
  • Requests
  • Visitors
  • Newsletters
  • Taylor County
  • Constituent Service Form
  • Cases
  • Employment
  • Projects
  • Public Relations
  • Newsletters
  • Box 32:
  • Shelby County
  • Constituent Service Form
  • Cases
  • Employment
  • Projects
  • Public Relations
  • Newsletters
  • Taylor County
  • Constituent Service Form
  • Cases
  • Employment
  • Projects
  • Public Relations
  • Newsletters
  • Box 33:
  • Meetings -- Outside D.C. - 1965
  • Box 34:
  • Meetings -- Outside D.C. - 1965
  • Box 35:
  • Meetings -- In Washington D.C. - 1965
  • Box 36:
  • Meetings -- In Washington D.C. - 1966
  • Box 37:
  • Postal Facilities
  • Railway Post Offices
  • Car Leasing
  • Adair
  • Bayard
  • Emerson
  • Fontanelle
  • Guthrie Center
  • Harlan
  • Carroll
  • Clarinda
  • Earling
  • Kiron
  • Manilla
  • Mondamin
  • Mills
  • Oakland
  • Panora
  • Public Works (General)
  • Box 38:
  • Post Offices
  • General
  • Postal Appointment Procedures
  • Adams County
  • Adair County
  • Audubon County
  • Cass County
  • Carroll County
  • Crawford County
  • Box 39:
  • Post Offices (cont.)
  • Crawford County
  • Dallas County
  • Fremont County
  • Greene County
  • Guthrie County
  • Box 40:
  • Post Offices (cont.)
  • Harrison County
  • Madison County
  • Mills County
  • Monona County
  • Box 41:
  • Post Offices (cont.)
  • Montgomery County
  • Page County
  • Pottawattamie County
  • Box 42:
  • Post Offices (cont.)
  • Shelby County
  • Taylor County
  • Box 43:
  • District Projects
  • Air Transportation
  • South - West Iowa Development Conference
  • Office of Economic Opportunity
  • South - West Iowa Industrial Procurement Conference
  • Highway 71
  • Matura Action Corp.
  • Box 44:
  • District Projects (cont.)
  • O.E.O. Community Action Committee
  • South-West Iowa Progress, Inc.
  • Tri-County, Inc.
  • O.E.O.
  • Matura Action Corp.
  • Small Business Administration Meetings
  • South - West Iowa Community College
  • Consumers Interests Conference
  • Vocational Schools
  • Box 45:
  • District Porjects (cont.)
  • West Central Development Corp.
  • Office of Economic Opportunity -- General Information
  • 7th District
  • Western Iowa Development Council
  • Glenwood State School
  • Outside State Affairs
  • Mormon Trail
  • Lewis & Clark Trail
  • Box 46:
  • Projects: Pottawattamie County
  • Chinchilla Ranch, Inc.
  • Office of Economic Opportunity
  • Council Bluffs Liberal Arts College
  • Lewis Central Community School
  • Community Action Program
  • Head Start Program C.A.P., Inc.
  • Trade School
  • Lake Monawa
  • Miscellaneous
  • Urban Planning
  • Box 47:
  • Projects & Cases: Pottawattamie County
  • Employment
  • Constituent Service Forms
  • Cases
  • Box 48:
  • Public Relations
  • Brides, Anon and Crank
  • Condolences
  • Thank You (by counties)
  • Autographs and Pictures
  • Congratulations
  • Agriculture Year Books
  • High School Seniors
  • Thank You (general)
  • Box 49:
  • Public Relations (cont.)
  • Cooperation
  • Newsletter
  • Publicity
  • Gallery Passes
  • Photos and Biographies
  • Photo Services
  • Thanks You
  • Requests (miscellaneous)
  • Box 50:
  • Public Works
  • Rock Island District
  • Omaha District
  • Missouri River Basin
  • Twin Rivers District
  • Nishabatua River
  • Box 51:
  • Public Works (cont.)
  • Adel
  • Bedford
  • Raccoon River Resevoir
  • Boyer River Basin
  • Blackbird
  • Fieville - Decatur
  • Oxbow Lake Complex
  • Davids Creek
  • Des Moines River
  • Jefferson Dam
  • Indian Creek
  • Disasters
  • Dock - Consumers Coop.
  • Thurman
  • Levee Control L-694
  • Garrison
  • Gavins Point
  • Grand River
  • Box 52:
  • Public Works (cont.)
  • Main Ditch #6
  • Mosquito Creek
  • Missouri Basin Systems Group
  • Nodaway River
  • Upper Mississippi
  • Platte River
  • Yankton Proposal
  • Box 53:
  • Public Works (cont.)
  • Little Sioux River
  • Big Sioux River
  • Saylorville Reservoir
  • Soldier River Basin
  • Silver Creek
  • Troublesome Creek
  • Iowa State Conservation Commission Revetment #774.46
  • Servicemen, R-W
  • Box 54:
  • Resource Materials
  • Agricultural Stabilization & Conservation Service
  • Farmers Home Administration
  • Soil Conservation Service
  • Commerce
  • Air Force
  • Army
  • Navy
  • Health Education and Welfare
  • Box 55:
  • Resource Materials (cont.)
  • Social Security
  • Stream & River Pollution
  • Surplus Foods
  • Housing & Urban Develpment
  • Interior Department
  • Justice Department
  • Labor Department
  • Post Office Department
  • State Department
  • Peace Corps
  • AID
  • Treasury Department
  • Comptroller of Currency
  • Internal Revenue
  • Box 56:
  • Resource Materials (cont.)
  • Federal Electric Bank
  • Civil Rights
  • Newsletter Comments
  • Conservation
  • Agriculture
  • Medicare
  • Education
  • Firearms
  • Industrial Arts
  • National Defense Education Act
  • Trip Files
  • Box 57:
  • Watershed Information
  • Cobb Creek
  • Hamburg
  • Harmony Creek
  • Hound Dog Creek
  • Little Sioux River
  • Mule Creek
  • Simpson Creek
  • Bee-Jay
  • Big Park
  • Blockton
  • Crooked Creek
  • Davis Creek
  • Davis - Battle Creek
  • Indian Creek
  • Mill - Picayune Creek
  • Pierce Creek #1, Pony Creek
  • Ryan-Henschal
  • Stennett - Red Oak Creek
  • Box 58:
  • Watershed Information (cont.)
  • Macedonia
  • General
  • North Pigeon
  • Troublesome Creek
  • Waubansie
  • Ledgewood Creek
  • Mill - Long Branch
  • Simon - Run
  • Twelve Mile Creek
  • Twin Ponies
  • West Tarkie
  • Allan Steer Creek
  • Blue Grass
  • Soil Conservation Service
  • Adams
  • Carroll
  • Crawford
  • Guthrie
  • Harrison
  • Mills
  • Monona
  • Motgomery
  • Page
  • Pottawattamie
  • Shelby
  • Box 59:
  • Watershed Information -- Construction Approved
  • Badger Creek
  • Dane Ridge
  • Mosquito of Harrison County Three Mile Creek
  • Turkey Creek
  • Watters Creek
  • West Douglas
  • Box 60:
  • Servicemen & Veterans, A-G
  • Box 61:
  • Servicemen & Veterans, H-P
  • Box 62:
  • Carbon Copies (letters mailed out):
  • Outside 7th District
  • Outside Iowa (2 folders)
  • Box 63:
  • Carbons by Counties (letters mailed out)
  • Adair
  • Adams
  • Audubon
  • Carroll
  • Cass
  • Crawford
  • Dallas
  • Fremont
  • Greene
  • Guthrie
  • Harrison
  • Box 64:
  • Carbons by Counties (letters mailed out) (cont.)
  • Madison
  • Mills
  • Monona
  • Montgomery
  • Page
  • Pottawattamie
  • Shelby
  • Taylor 
  • Box 65:
  • Carbons -- chronological (letters mailed out)
  • January -- March - 1965
  • Box 66:
  • Carbons -- chronological (letters mailed out) (cont.)
  • April -- June - 1965
  • Box 67:
  • Carbons -- chronological (letters mailed out) (cont.)
  • June -- July - 1965
  • Box 68:
  • Carbons -- chronological (letters mailed out) (cont.)
  • August 1965 -- December 1966, A -- B
  • Box 69:
  • Carbons -- chronological (letters mailed out) (cont.)
  • August 1965 -- December 1966, C -- E
  • Box 70:
  • Carbons -- chronological (letters mailed out) (cont.)
  • August 1965 -- December 1966, F -- H
  • Box 71:
  • Carbons -- chronological (letters mailed out) (cont.)
  • August 1965 -- December 1966, J -- L
  • Box 72:
  • Carbons -- chronological (letters mailed out) (cont.)
  • August 1965 -- December 1966, M -- O
  • Box 73:
  • Carbons -- chronological (letters mailed out) (cont.)
  • August 1965 -- December 1966, P -- S
  • Box 74:
  • Carbons -- chronological (letters mailed out) (cont.)
  • August 1965 -- December 1966, S -- Z
  • Box 75:
  • Bills introduced by Congressman John R. Hansen, 1st Session, 89th
  • Press releases - 1965 -- 66
     2 folders
  • Box 76:
  • Adair County
  • General
    2 folders
  • Political Affairs
  • Political Relations: Accomplishments, Commendations, Cooperations, Criticism
  • Public Relations-Greetings--Commendations
  • Hansen for Congress Volunteers-Adair County
  • Political Affairs
  • Adams County
  • General
    1 folder
  • Political Affairs
  • Political Relations--Accompolishments
  • Clubs and Committees--Hansen for Congress Committee
  • Hansen for Congress Volunteers
  • Audubon County:
  • General
  • Political Affairs
  • Political Relations: Accomplishments, Commendations, Cooperations, Criticism
  • Public Relations-Greetings--Commendations
  • Complaints & Criticisms
  • Hansen for Congress Volunteers-Adair County
  • Political Affairs
  • Carroll County
  • Political Affairs
  • Political Relations-Accomplishments, Commendations, Cooperation, Criticism
  • General
  • Hansen for Congress Volunteers
  • Political Affairs
  • Cass County
  • General
  • Political Affairs
  • Political Relations-Accomplishments, Commendations, Cooperation, Criticism
  • Public Relations-Greetings--Commendations
  • Hansen for Congress Volunteers
  • Political Affairs
  • Box 77:
  • Crawford Country
  • General
  • Political Affairs
  • Political Relations-Accomplishments, Commendations, Criticism
  • Public Relations-Greetings--Commendations
  • Hansen for Congress Volunteers
  • Political Affairs
  • Dallas County
  • General
  • Political Affairs
  • Political Relations-Accomplishments, Commendations, Cooperation, Criticism
  • Public Relations-Greetings--Commendations
  • Hansen for Congress Volunteers
  • Political Affairs
  • Fremont
  • General
  • Political Affairs
  • Political Relations-Accomplishments, Commendations, Cooperation, Criticism
  • Public Relations-Greetings--Commendations
  • Hansen for Congress Volunteers
  • P.O.--Percival P.M
  • Political Affairs
  • Greene County
  • General
  • Political Affairs
  • Political Relations-Accomplishments, Commendations, Cooperation, Criticism
  • Public Relations-Greetings--Commendations
  • Hansen for Congress Volunteers
  • Political Affairs
  • Guthrie County
  • General
  • Political Affairs
  • Political Relations-Accomplishments, Commendations, Cooperation
  • Public Relations-Greetings--Commendations
  • Hansen for Congress Volunteers
  • Political Affairs
  • Harrison County
  • General
  • Political Affairs
  • Political Relations-Accomplishments, Commendations, Cooperation, Criticism-Kislin, Verda W.
  • Projects-DeSoto Bend
  • Political Affairs
  • Box 78:
  • Madison County
  • General
  • Political Affairs
  • Political Relations-Accomplishments, Commendations, Cooperation, Criticism
  • Public Relations-Greetings--Commendations
  • Hansen for Congress Volunteers
  • P.O.--Winterset P.M
  • Political Affairs
  • Mills County
  • General
  • Political Affairs
  • Political Relations-Accomplishments, Commendations, Cooperation, Criticism
  • Public Relations-Greetings--Commendations
  • Hansen for Congress Volunteers
  • P.O.--Winterset P.M
  • Political Affairs
  • Wearin, Otha D.
  • Box 79:
  • Manona County
  • General
  • Political Affairs
  • Political Relations-Accomplishments, Commendations, Cooperation, Criticism
  • Public Relations-Greetings--Commendations-Complaints and Criticism
  • Hansen for Congress Volunteers
  • Politial Affairs
  • Montgomery County
  • General
  • Political Affairs
  • Political Relations-Accomplishments, Commendations, Cooperation, Criticism
  • Public Relations-Greetings--Commendations-Complaints and Criticism
  • Hansen for Congress Volunteers
  • Politial Affairs
  • Page County
  • General
  • Political Affairs
  • Political Relations-Accomplishments, Commendations, Cooperation, Criticism
  • Public Relations-Greetings--Commendations-Complaints and Criticism
  • Hansen for Congress Volunteers
  • Politial Affairs
  • Shenadoah
  • Pottawattamie County
  • General
  • Political Affairs
  • Political Relations-Accomplishments, Commendations, Cooperation, Criticism
  • Public Relations-Greetings--Commendations-General
  • Box 80:
  • Pottawattamie County (cont.)
  • Political Affairs
  • Hansen for Congress Volunteers
  • General
  • P.O., Neola P.M
  • Public Relations-Greetings-Complaints & Criticism
  • Shelby County
  • General
  • Political Affairs
  • Political Relations-Acomplishments, Commendations, Cooperation, Criticism
  • Public Relations-Greetings-Commendations, Complaints and Criticism
  • Hansen for Congress
  • Taylor County
  • General
  • Political Affairs
  • Political Relations-Accomplishments, Commendations, Cooperation, Criticism
  • Public Relations-Greetings--Commendations-Complaints and Criticism
  • Hansen for Congress Volunteers
  • Politial Affairs
  • Box 81:
  • Academy Appointment Procedure
  • Business Week November 6th - 1965
  • Clippings
  • Box 82:
  • Clippings - 1964
  • Congressional Record Copies
  • Cornerstone Laying. St. John's Lutheran Chruch, Council Bluffs, Iowa, June 26 - 1966
  • Fowler, Henry H.
  • Freeman, Orville L.
  • Hansen for Congress:
  • Organization
  • Volunteers - Out of District & Organization
  • High School Senior Pamphlet
  • Humphrey, Huber H.
  • Legislation. Hansen, John R: House Congressional Resolutions
  • 316
  • 739. Establish Joint Center on National Service and Draft.
  • 835. Sense of Congress: re Committee Consideration of Watershed Plans
  • House Joint Resolutions
  • 929. National School Safety Patrol Week
  • 1007. Express Intent of Congress with Respect to Appropriations for Watershed Planning for FY - 1966
  • 1041. Create a Delegation to a Convention of North Atlantic Nations
  • House Resolutions
  • 3461
  • 4074
  • 7257
  • 7682. Passed House June 15 - 1965
  • 7745
  • 8286
  • Box 83:
  • Legislation. Hansen, John R. (cont.)-House Resolutions (cont.)
  • 8287
  • 9828
  • 9829
  • 10123
  • 10630
  • 10700. Clarinda Airport
  • 11015
  • 11243
  • 12400
  • 12550. National Traffic Safety Act
  • 12819. National Eye Institute
  • 13864. Authorizing the Sale of Standard Silver Dollars Held by the Treasury.
  • 14348. Temporary Assistance Where School Buildings Destroyed by Natural Causes.
  • 15185. Social Security and R.R. Ret.
  • 15499. Increased Rate of Pension to Certain Veterans
  • 15500. Amend Title 38, U.S. Code to Increase Veterans Pensions.
  • 15501. Exclusion of Income, re Eligibility for Pension
  • 15739. Amend Social Security Act, re Benefits Paid at Death
  • 15900. Hours of Service for Railroad Employees
  • 16818. Amend Export Control Act of 1949, re Exportation of Agriculture Commodities.
  • 17032. Amend Federal Aid Highway Act to Permit Federal Participation in Bridges
  • 17169. St. Lawrence Seaway
  • Box 84:
  • Legislation. Hansen, John R. (cont.)-House Resolutions (cont.)
  • 17281. Agriculture Budget
  • 17799. Allow Teachers to Deduct Education Expense from Gross Income
  • 17927. Anti-riot Bill
  • Markman, Sherwin L.
  • Miscellaneous
  • Mohr, Mrs James
  • Medicare Newsletter
  • #1-11 (Jan 19, 1966 -- Aug 31, 1966)
  • Vol 1, no.1 -- no.8 (March, 1965 -- October, 1966)
  • Box 85:
  • Obituaries
  • Political Affairs-Political Relations
  • Accomplishments
  • Commendations
  • Cooperation
  • Criticism
  • District
  • Political Relations
  • General Accomplishments -- District Wide
  • State
  • Pork Barrell
  • Postal Appointments Procedure
  • Post Election Letters
  • Press Releases
  • Servicemen and Veterans. Voss, Vernon A.C.
  • Box 86:
  • Speeches
  • Agricultural Stabilization and Conservation Service
  • Agricultural Appropriations - 1967
  • Allen Steer Creek, May 28 - 1966
  • Bankers
  • Banking and Currency, March 31 - 1965
  • Business Groups
  • Call to Action, July 31 - 1965
  • Cattle Feeders Banquet, Nov. 4 - 1965
  • City Fathers
  • Commencement
  • Dane Ridge Watershed, Sept. 2 - 1966
  • Dedication Ceremonies: Anita, Iowa, May 5th; Treynor, Iowa, July 31st - 1966, 1965
  • Economy, April 14 - 1966
  • Education
  • Farm Bill
  • Farm Industry Pay, Shenendoah, Iowa
  • Feed Grain Program
  • 5 x 80, June 19 - 1966
  • Flag
  • Flag Presentation. Manning, Sept. 25 - 1966
  • Food Stamp Program
  • Future Farmers of America
  • Greenspan - Carroll, Iowa, Aug. 5 - 1966
  • Ground Breaking for Packing Plant, Oct. 27 - 1965
  • Harlan, Iowa
  • Highway Beautification Act, Nov. 3 - 1965
  • Highway Safety. Council Bluffs, July 8 - 1966
  • House of Representatives -- Iowa Survey
  • Labor Day Salute to the Farmer, Sept. 5 - 1966
  • Luncheon. Council Bluffs, Iowa
  • Mapleton, June 20 - 1966
  • Medicare
  • Operation T-Bone, Oct. 27 - 1965
  • Pioneer Place, June 18 - 1966
  • Political Speeches
  • Post Office
  • Post Office Awards
  • Box 87:
  • Speeches (cont.)
  • Radio Spots
  • Saylorville Dam
  • Silver Coinage Bill (HR 8926), June 29 - 1965
  • Small Business Investment Corp. Red Oak, Iowa
  • Soil Conservastion. Corning, Iowa, Sept. 19 - 1965
  • Southwest Iowa Communities Development Conference
  • Southwest Iowa Learning Resources Center
  • Taylor County Greenspan Projects
  • U.S. House of Representatives, March 25 - 1965
  • VFW, June 24 - 1966
  • Veteran of WWI Convention, Oct. 17 - 1965
  • Viet Nam
  • Water System for Gravity, Aug. 6 - 1966
  • Water System for Nodaway, Aug. 6 - 1966
  • Young Democratic Convention. Des Moines, Iowa, May 7 - 1966
  • Speech Materials
  • Agriculture I
  • Box 88:
  • Speech Materials (cont.)
  • Agriculture II
    2 folders
  • Foreign Policy
  • LBJ and the 89th Congress -- Partners in Progress
    3 folders
  • Lewis and Clark Commission
  • Miscellaneous
  • Box 89:
  • Speech Materials (cont.)
  • Politics 
    2 folders
  • Treynor Missile Base
  • Box 90:
  • Tapes
  • Robert F. Kennedy for JRH
    2 tapes
  • Films
  • Robert F. Kennedy for JRH 55 secs.
  • President Lyndon B. Johnson
  • Lyndon B. Johnson: JRH Film Spot, Message to Iowa Gala
  • Hubert H. Humphrey for JRH
  • KMTV, Omaha. Hubert H. Humphrey - JRH interview, note included
  • Seargent Shriver for JRH
  • Tape, Harold Hughes for JRH, note included.
  • Box 91:
  • Films WHO (Des Moines)
  • JRH 60 seconds
    3 films
  • Tapes WHO
  • Republicans for JRH against Shirley 
    3 tapes
  • JRH Political Announcements
    2 tapes
  • Films
  • WHO, JRH interview
  • WOW (Omaha) Hansen for Congress Videotape 5 minute
  • Box 92:
  • Film, Hansen Interview
  • Slides
  • Hansen for Congress (2)
  • KMTV (Omaha) Vote for Hansen
  • Tapes
  • JRH Interview
  • JRH 6 spots
  • Films
  • Hansen
  • Hansen DC Report
  • Tapes
  • KMA -- 15 minute radio talk by JRH
  • General Norstad Interview by Congressman Foley 7 min. 29 secc.
  • Campaign Buttons, etc.
  • Tapes
  • Red Oak Community High School Musical Production
  • "Hour of St. Francis" Radio Program.
  • "The Witness" Radio Program.
  • "Hour of St. Francis" Radio Program (Evan Richards)
  • Box 93:
  • Tape, Speeches of JRH at Walnut and Harlan Schools with letter from WKK
  • Photo Engravings (3) of JRH
  • Film Negatives -- Congressman Lester Wolff; Millon J. Salzburg, letter incl.
  • Films:
  • KTIV (Sioux City) Pollution film
  • Water Pollution
  • Secretary of Agriculture Freeman
  • Tape, "The Role of the Unpaid Housewife"
  • Box 94:
  • Slides and Scripts for Slide Presentation
  • Tape, JRH Slide Presentation Narration
  • Films
  • General Walker -- Watershed and Public Works
  • Watershed and Public Works Projects
  • FILMS IN CANISTERS
  • JRH Film
  • Marine Film and Letter
  • Sound Filmstrip on Elementary and Secondary Education Act - 1965
  • Negatives of Programs (films)
  • Prints of Film
  • "The Four Days of Gemini (4" film)