Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Federal Writer's Project Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1923-1939
Creator:
Extent: 21.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0295
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Subject files on Iowa history, counties, towns, colleges, churches, and other matters, unpublished manuscripts, radio scripts, pamphlets, and newspaper clippings.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs Box 42

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The first part of this collection was donated to the University of Iowa by Mrs. Richard Fisher in 1973; the addendum was donated by Craig Schmidt in 1994.

Preferred Citation: Federal Writer's Project Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

These files were prepared by the Federal Writers' Project predominantly for the Iowa guidebook, Iowa, A Guide to the Hawkeye State, in the American Guide Series. Their arrangement is roughly correspondent to their use in the book. The first series is arranged according to the subject numbers found on the original files. Some files had been given titles, others had not, and were assigned titles by the processor in the nineteen seventies. These new titles are in parentheses. This series seems to have been most important in the preparation of the first section of the Guidebook, "Iowa Past and Present." At the end of this series is a box of miscellaneous "Histories, Guides, and Articles," also prepared by the Project.
Mangione, Jerre. The Dream and the Deal: The Federal Writer's Project, 1935 -- 1943. Boston: Little, Brown and Company, 1972

Iowa, A Guide to the Hawkeye State, UI Libraries call number SPECIAL COLLECTIONS Iowa Authors Collection No call number; MAIN Library F621 .F45

Browse by Series:
Series 1: "IOWA PAST AND PRESENT"
Series 2: MISCELLANEOUS HISTORIES, GUIDES, AND ARTICLES
Series 3: IOWA COUNTIES
Series 4: IOWA CITIES
Series 5: IOWA CHURCHES
Series 6: ADDENDUM: AUTHORS
Series 7: ADDENDUM: CITY GUIDES
Series 8: ADDENDUM: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 9: ADDENDUM: FOLKLORE
Series 10: ADDENDUM: HOSPITALS
Series 11: ADDENDUM: ROAD TOURS
Series 12: ADDENDUM: UNIVERSITY OF IOWA HISTORY

  • Series 1: "IOWA PAST AND PRESENT"
  • Box 1:
  • United States Travel Atlas - 1941
  • Bibliographies
  • Iowa Authors
  • Special Collections in Iowa Libraries
  • Libraries
  • First Newspapers
  • Library Directories
  • Libraries
  • Newspaper References
  • Esthetic Awakening of Iowa (address)
  • Publishing, including a long article on The Midland, a literary magazine
  • Museums and West Ben Grotto
  • Camp Meetings
  • Bibles
  • Churches (2 folders)
  • Catholic Church
  • Churches (2 folders)
  • Baptist Churches (early)
  • Box 2:
  • Early Churches
  • Religious Groups
  • Mormons (2 folders)
  • Mormons (Mrs. Hart's novel)
  • Mormons (Drafts by Mrs. Hart)
  • Mormons
  • Box 3:
  • Jews
  • Miscellaneous Censuses
  • Census (2 folders)
  • Abandoned Towns
  • Ethnic Groups
  • Elections
  • Ethnic Groups (2 folders)
  • Danes and Hungarians (New Buda)
  • Underground Railroad
  • Legislation
  • Political Parties
  • Box 4:
  • Labor
  • Kelly's Army
  • ?
  • Child Labor Laws
  • Labor Unions
  • Workers' Strikes
  • Banking
  • Land and Its Conservation
  • Natural Resources
  • Co-ops (2 folders)
  • Court Houses and Farm Bills (perhaps better entitled "Judicial Gov't.")
  • Box 5:
  • Land Documents
  • Landmark
  • Factbook
  • Military History
  • Military (2 folders)
  • Housing
  • Social Welfare
  • WPA
  • Hospitals (Buena Vista and Winnebago; Davenport and Orphans' Home)
  • Box 6:
  • Buchanan County Hospital
  • Schools for the Deaf
  • Washington County Hospital
  • County Homes
  • Indenture of Children
  • Ku Klux Klan, Knights of the Golden Circle, et.
  • Social Service (Prisons, etc.)
  • Mason, Moose, "White Caps"
  • Clubs
  • American Legion and Patriotic Organizations (2 folders)
  • Boy Scouts
  • Early Education and Teachers
  • Education
  • Teachers' Pension
  • Education
  • White's Manual Labor Institute
  • Schools for the Deaf
  • Education
  • Special Schools
  • Schools (2 folders)
  • Adult Education
  • School Organizations
  • Night Schools and Singing Schools
  • Chautauqua
  • Schools and Colleges
  • Special Schools (Manual Labor Inst., etc.)
  • Box 7:
  • Colleges
  • Clarke College
  • Coe College
  • Drake University
  • Graceland College
  • Iowa State College--Ames
  • Iowa State Teachers' College
  • Iowa Wesleyan College
  • John Fletcher College
  • Loras College (formerly Columbia College)
  • Mount St. Joseph College
  • Penn College
  • University of Dubuque
  • Box 8:
  • University of Iowa (3 folders)
  • Wartburg Theological Seminary
  • Schools (2 folders)
  • Chronology: Transportation
  • Historical Clock
  • Postal Service
  • Telephone
  • Railroads
  • Mississippi River
  • Box 9:
  • Mississippi River
  • Aviation and Steamboating, etc.
  • Transportation Highway
  • Folklore (pamphlet for FWP---instructions for collecting folklore)
  • Fitch Co. and Jewelry Sale
  • Home
  • Burials and Cemeteries
  • Social Customs and Celebrations
  • Calendar of Annual Events
  • Folklore(River Monster, etc.). 1884 newspaper article, reprinted 1904, concerning 80-foot river monster; very amusing - 1884, 1904
  • Inkpadutah
  • Foreign Languages
  • Nicknames and Origin of Names
  • Museums and West Ben Grotto
  • Meteors and Comets
  • Eclipse of 1869
  • Altitudes and Weather
  • Topography and Surveys
  • Iowa Almanac - 1940
  • Power Plants
  • Box 10:
  • Geology
  • Geology and Paleontology
  • Disturbances of Weather
  • Rock and Crystals
  • Quarries
  • Paleontology, Newspaper History, Petrified Soldier, Lewis and Clark
  • Archeology
  • Ethnology
  • Taxidermy and Preservation
  • Flora and fauna
  • Marijuana
  • Flora and fauna
  • Game Birds and Animals
  • Fossils
  • Insects
  • Pre-Historic Animals
  • Birds and Wild Animals
  • Box 11:
  • Snakes
  • Animals
  • Fairs, Expositions
  • Inventions
  • Physicians
  • Public Health
  • Lincoln resolution, Marriages, Physicians
  • Woman M.D.
  • Health
  • Fires
  • Druggist
  • Medicine (2 folders)
  • Veterinary
  • Fire department, County agent
  • Mills
  • R.E.A.
  • Heating
  • Ice
  • Coal (2 folders)
  • Forts
  • Box 12:
  • Rock Island Arsenal
  • Log Rafting and "Normandie"
  • Bridges
  • Roads
  • Dams
  • Keokuk Dam
  • Waterworks
  • Airports and Air Vehicles
  • Automobiles
  • Agriculture
  • Rural Life
  • Fairs, 4H Clubs
  • Agricultural Agencies
  • Farm Organizations
  • Farmers' Holiday, Farmers' School
  • Farm Machinery, Conservation, etc.
  • Box 13:
  • Farm Machinery, Conservation, etc.
  • Farm Pests
  • Crops
  • Horticulture (2 folders)
  • Fruits, Orchards
  • Crops--Vegetables
  • Livestock
  • Horses
  • Cattle
  • Sheep and goats
  • Hogs
  • Fowl
  • Dogs
  • Trees
  • Creameries and Dairies
  • Fish and Game
  • 13a:
  • Fish, Greek Fraternity
  • Restaurants
  • Livery Stables
  • Business
  • Hotels
  • Business School
  • Furniture
  • Radio, Telegraph
  • Presses
  • Transportation (2 folders)
  • Iowa Authors, including two pages of article concerning Edna Ferber
  • Fairs
  • Literature (2 folders)
  • Iowa Factbook (2 folders)
  • Iowa Chronology
  • Series 2: MISCELLANEOUS HISTORIES, GUIDES, AND ARTICLES
  • Box 14:
  • American Memory -- Guide to Library of Congress electronic collections project - 1990
  • The Foreign Language Press in Iowa
  • A Guide to Marshalltown and Central Iowa
  • Highland Park Post History
  • Iowa Government -- Hull (Administration)
  • Muscatine Legion Post History
  • National Picture Books--Chicago copy
  • The Story of a State (Radio Plays) (2 folders)
  • Series 3: IOWA COUNTIES
  • Box 15:
  • Adair
  • Adams
  • Allamakee
  • Appanoose
  • Audubon
  • Benton
  • Black Hawk
  • Boone
  • Bremer
  • Buchanan
  • Buena Vista
  • Butler
  • Calhoun
  • Cass
  • Cedar
  • Cherokee
  • Chickasaw
  • Clarke College
  • Clay
  • Clayton
  • Box 16:
  • Clinton
  • Crawford
  • Dallas
  • Davis
  • Decatur
  • Delaware
  • Des Moines
  • Des Moines County History--Radio Continuity
  • Dickinson
  • Dubuque
  • Dubuque County History
  • Emmet (Engrossing experience of writer checking information for Guide--R.H. Thompson)
  • Fayette
  • Box 17:
  • Floyd
  • Franklin
  • Fremont
  • Greene
  • Grundy ("County History Procedure for the Iowa Writers Project")
  • Hamilton
  • Hancock
  • Hardin
  • Harrison
  • Henry
  • Henry County History--Radio Continuity
  • Howard
  • Howard County History
  • Humboldt
  • Ida
  • Iowa
  • Box 18:
  • Jackson
  • Jackson County History
  • Jasper
  • Jasper County History
  • Jefferson
  • Jefferson County History--Radio Broadcast
  • Johnson
  • Jones
  • Keokuk
  • Box 19:
  • Kossuth
  • Lee (3 folders)
  • Linn
  • Louisa
  • Louisa County History--Radio Continuity
  • Lucas
  • Lyon
  • Madison
  • Box 20:
  • Mahaska
  • Marion
  • Marshall
  • Mills
  • Mitchell
  • Monona
  • Monroe
  • Montgomery
  • Muscatine Legion Post History
  • O'Brien
  • Osceola
  • Osceola County History
  • Box 21:
  • Page County History (Notes; folder 1 includes daily work sheet showing wage of $0.59/hour) (5 folders)
  • Page County History
  • Box 22:
  • Palo Alto
  • Plymouth
  • Pocahontas
  • Polk
  • Pottawattamie
  • Pottawattamie County History
  • Poweshiek
  • Ringgold
  • Ringgold County History
  • Sac
  • Scott
  • Shelby
  • Sioux
  • Box 23:
  • Story
  • Tama
  • Union
  • Van Buren (2 folders)
  • Wapello
  • Washington (2 folders)
  • Warren
  • Wayne
  • Box 24:
  • Webster
  • Winnebago
  • Winnebago County History
  • Winneshiek
  • Winneshiek County History (Notes) (4 folders)
  • Box 25:
  • Winneshiek County History (Notes) (2 folders)
  • Woodbury
  • Woodbury County History (Notes)
  • Woodbury County History
  • Woodbury County History--Radio Continuity
  • Worth
  • Wright
  • Series 4: IOWA CITIES
  • Box 26:
  • Albia
  • Ames
  • Bloomfield
  • Burlington
  • Cedar Rapids
  • Chariton
  • Clinton (highly interesting letter concerning Henry McCullough)
  • Council Bluffs
  • Ft. Dodge
  • Box 27:
  • Ft. Madison (4 folders)
  • Iowa City (3 folders)
  • Box 28:
  • Iowa City (2 folders)
  • Newton (3 folders)
  • Oskaloosa
  • Box 29:
  • Oskaloosa (2 folders)
  • Ottumwa (4 folders)
  • Box 30:
  • Ottumwa
  • Pella (2 folders)
  • Sioux City
  • Box 31:
  • Sioux City (4 folders)
  • Waterloo (2 folders)
  • Series 5: IOWA CHURCHES
  • Box 32:
  • Church Archives Instructions on Preparation of Church Directory and Inventory, also miscellaneous material (4 folders)
  • Church Archives (monthly reports) (2 folders)
  • Iowa Churches by Counties: Adair - Cerro Gordo
  • Box 33:
  • Iowa Churches by Counties: Cherokee - Emmet
  • Iowa Churches by Counties: Franklin - Ida Grove
  • Iowa Churches by Counties: Iowa - Lucas
  • Iowa Churches by Counties: Lyon - O'Brien
  • Iowa Churches by Counties: Osceola - Taylor
  • Iowa Churches by Counties: Union - Wright
  • Box 34:
  • Audubon and Iowa County Churches
  • Book of Transcriptions to be included in Inventory of Methodist Churches in Des Moines District (2 folders)
  • History of the First Christian Church of Keokuk, Iowa (Notes)
  • History of the First Christian Church of Keokuk, Iowa
  • Inventory of Council Bluffs Presbytery
  • Inventory of Des Moines Presbytery Churches
  • Inventory of Roger Williams Baptist Association, etc.
  • Inventory of Southern Baptist Association, etc.
  • Inventory of Southwestern Baptist Association, etc.
  • Box 35:
  • Directory of Churches and Religious Organizations in Iowa (3 folders)
  • Directory of Churches and Religious Organizations in Iowa, carbon. (3 folders)
  • Box 36:
  • Iowa Church History (Notes) (3 folders)
  • Box 37:
  • Iowa Church History, Draft 1 (2 folders)
  • Iowa Church History, Draft 2 (2 folders)
  • Iowa Church History, Final Draft
  • Iowa Church History, Final Draft carbon. Note: pagination slightly incorrect in carbon, corrected in original
  • Box 38:
  • W.P.A. Professional and Service Division. Historical Records Survey. 2 photographs
    On shelf
  • Series 6: ADDENDUM: AUTHORS
  • Sub-Series: Mae L. Christensen
  • Box 39:
  • "Autobiography of a Project Worker." May 10 - 1938
  • "The Awakening of Spring." May 10 - 1937
  • "The Comet." July 2 - 1937
  • "Day Dates: 1839-1939"
  • "The Indian Mode of Dressing Skins." July 9 - 1937
  • "Local Advertising of Long Ago." May 10 - 1937
  • "Looking Backward." June 7 - 1937
  • "Mississippi River." March 18 - 1938
  • "National Hybrid Corn Company Factory." November 29 - 1937
  • "News Letter." March 24 - 1937
  • "Old Dog." April 2 - 1937
  • "One Thing and An Other [sic]." June 28 - 1937
  • "Reminiscences of the 22nd Iowa Infantry." April 13 - 1937
  • "Reminiscences [sic] of an Ex-Slave." January 20 - 1937
  • "Riddles." April 4 - 1938
  • "Somethings [sic] Grandmother Did." April 30 - 1937
  • "Something New." March 26 - 1937
  • "Sports of 1842." July 2 - 1937
  • "Stage Routes." May 12 - 1937
  • "Statue of Liberty." (By Evelyn Christensen; typed by Mae) November 18 - 1936; 1938
  • "Unnamed." July 15 - 1937
  • "Useful Rules for Sundry Sorts of People." May 6 - 1937
  • Sub-Series: Henry G. Felsen
  • Box 39:
  • "Amana Colonies." May 8 - 1936
  • "American Prefaces." December 2 - 1936
  • "Editing and Printing the Daily Iowan." March 17 - 1937
  • "Fall of Atheniowa." May 15 - 1935
  • "Home Life of a Wolf." January 25 - 1937
  • "Keokuk County." September 14 - 1936
  • "Local Customs." March 2 - 1937
  • "An Old Wolf Story." October 22 - 1936
  • "Recreational Center." April 29 - 1936
  • "Symmetry in Concrete." November 6 - 1936
  • "Why I Am a Cynic." November 7 - 1936
  • Sub-Series: Vivian Fisher
  • Box 39:
  • "Flag Day." [n.d.]
  • "Iowa City and Its People" [n.d.]
  • "Military at Iowa." From the Iowa Journal of History and Politics (21) - 1923
  • Manuscript notes [n.d.]
  • Newspaper clippings
  • "Them Days is Gone Forever." June 28 - 1937
  • Sub-Series: Jane T. Irish
  • Box 40:
  • "The Beaver Bundle." February 11 - 1937
  • "The Bells of St. Mary's." February 5 - 1937
  • "The Bohemian Population in Iowa City." November 6 - 1936
  • "The Cat and the Canary." July 9 - 1937
  • "The Close of 1936." December 31 - 1936
  • "The Dairying Industry." December 24 - 1936
  • "Day Dates: 1839-1939"
  • "Days O'Lang Syne." April 14 - 1937
  • "Early Character." January 4 - 1937
  • "An Early Iowa City College and its Principal." March 25 - 1937
  • "The Employment Plan." July 20 - 1937
  • "First Ferry Boat." March 2 - 1937
  • "Good Medicine." February 2 - 1938
  • "Hemp." August 9 - 1937
  • "How Iowa City Looked in Early Days." March 25 - 1937
  • "The Iowa Flint Glass Company." May 17 - 1937
  • "Johnson County's Early Mills." February 21 - 1938
  • "The Johnson County Survey." April 21 - 1937
  • "Landscapes--Old and New." July 14 - 1937
  • "Law Enforcement Short Course." July 6 - 1937
  • "Louisa County, Iowa." March 23 - 1937
  • "Old Homes and their Furnishings." July 12 - 1937
  • "Old Sayings." (anonymous poem) September 17 - 1936
  • "The Old-Time Dance." August 3 - 1937
  • "Our Feathered Friends." May 3 - 1937
  • "Our Common Weeds." June 30 - 1937
  • "Oxford, Iowa." February 24 - 1937
  • "The Recluse of Delta: The true story of an actual conversation." June 7 - 1937
  • "Reminiscences of an Iowa City Baptist Church." April 7 - 1937
  • "Rippling Rills." June 10 - 1937
  • "Saint Mary High School: Iowa City, Iowa." June 1 - 1936
  • "A Stroll About Town." May 20 - 1937
  • "The Terrell Mill." January 12 - 1937
  • Untitled. July 22 - 1937
  • "The Waters of the Earth." May 10 - 1937
  • "Weather Beliefs." Poem typed by Jane Irish with notes; poem by Dr. Jenner
  • "Why They Twinkle." Poem typed by Jane Irish; poet anonymous
  • "Y.M.C.A. History." April 29 - 1937
  • Sub-Series: Fred Langenberg
  • Box 40:
  • "Victor." May 8 - 1936
  • Sub-Series: James S. Martin
  • Box 40:
  • "About Dogs." August 2 - 1937
  • "Cedar Bluffs Swimming Pool. " March 26 - 1937
  • "Day Dates: 1839-1939"
  • "Dogs Tick Carriers." July 9 - 1937
  • "Dreams-What They Denote." February 1 - 1937
  • "Facts about Iowa City and its People." May 21 - 1937
  • "Governor Lucas Home." June 3 - 1937
  • "History." March 24 - 1937
  • "The Indian Fish Dam." [n.d.]
  • "Iowa Competition." June 24 - 1937
  • "Iowa Flint Glass Company." April 1 - 1938
  • "Jargons." February 21 - 1938
  • "Johnson County." February 1 - 1938
  • "Know Your Wild Animals." April 2 - 1937
  • "Landmarks." August 10 - 1937
  • "The Last Fireworks Display on Independence Day." June 17 - 1937
  • "Lone Tree." October 25 - 1937
  • "The Making of Glassware." February 3 - 1938
  • "Memorial Resolutions." May 13 - 1937
  • "Mormon Hand Cart Expedition." July 10 - 1936
  • "News Item." March 24 - 1937
  • "An Officer's Job." July 26 - 1937
  • "Outstanding Work of Members of 4-H Clubs in Johnson County, Iowa." April 29 - 1937
  • "A Sure Cure for Ague." May 24 - 1937
  • "Things We Don't Know." April 29 - 1937
  • "True Experiences." July 15 - 1937
  • "The Twelfth Annual High School Music Festival." May 11 - 1937
  • "The Unusual." September 7 - 1937
  • "A Worker." May 10 - 1938
  • Sub-Series: William E. Myers
  • Box 40:
  • "Marengo and Ladora." May 8 - 1936
  • Series 7: ADDENDUM: CITY GUIDES
  • Box 41:
  • 101: Pronunciation, origin, and meaning; 110: Geography; 120: Topography. Fisher, Vivian. June 15 - 1936
  • 130: Climate. Felsen, Henry G. June 29 - 1936
  • 140: Geology. Felsen, Henry G. June 15 - 1936
  • 150: Paleontology. Felsen, Henry G. June 15 - 1936
  • 210: Archaeology. Myers, William E. June 15 - 1936
  • 220: Indians. Myers, William E. October 29 - 1936
  • 240: Rain Makers and Superstitious Signs Indication Rain. Myers, William E. October 5 - 1936
  • 240: Planting in the Sign. Irish, Jane T. October 1 - 1936
  • 270: Ethnology. Felsen, Henry G. [n.d.]
  • 311: Executive (United States Government). Rooney, Raymond. October 27 - 1936
  • 312: U.S. Legislative Government. Myers, William E. October 26 - 1936
  • 313: Judiciary (United States Government). Langenberg, Fred. March 9 - 1937
  • 321: Executive (State). Rooney, Raymond. October 26 - 1936
  • 322: State (Legislative). Myers, William E. October 26 - 1936
  • 323: Judiciary (State). Langenberg, Fred. November 27 - 1936
  • 331: Executive (United States Government). Rooney, Raymond. October 26 - 1936
  • 341: Executive (City or Township). Rooney, Raymond [n.d.]
  • 510: Hotels. Myers, William E. April 1 - 1936
  • 520: Restaurants. Myers, William E. April 27 - 1936
  • 530: Clubs. Felsen, Henry G. May 4 - 1936
  • 540: Shops. Felsen, Henry G. April 27 - 1936
  • 600: Points of Interest. Myers, William E. May 11 - 1936
  • 613 - 616: Federal, State, County and City Buildings. Christensen, Mae. May 11 - 1936
  • 617-618: Memorials, monuments and statues; Bridges, roadways, tunnels, etc. Martin, James S. June 1 - 1939-6
  • 620: Historic Remains. Myers, William E. May 4 - 1936
  • 630: Industry and Commerce. Myers, William E. May 4 - 1936
  • 640: Education. Felsen, Henry G. April 13 - 1936
  • 640: Education. Rooney, Raymond. May 11 - 1936
  • 641: Universities and Colleges. Felsen, Henry G. May 18 - 1936
  • 643: High Schools. Martin, James S. - 1936
  • 643-644: Schools. Rooney, Raymond. July 14 and May 11 - 1936
  • 644: Elementary Schools. Martin, James S. May 11 - 1936
  • 645: Experimental Schools. Rooney, Raymond. April 13 - 1936
  • 650: Museums. Felsen, Henry G. [n.d.]
  • 654: Museums, Historical. "In charge of Professor Flickinger." Langenberg, Fred. May 4 - 1936
  • 660: Culture. Rooney, Raymond. May 18 - 1936
  • 661: Religion. Rooney, Raymond. May 18 - 1936
  • 662: Science. Langenberg, Fred. May 12 - 1936
  • 664: Music. Felsen, Harry G. June 1 - 1936
  • 665: Literature. Rooney, Raymond. May 1 - 1936
  • 667: Movies. Christensen, Mae. May 12 - 1936
  • 668: Radio. Fisher, Vivian. May 18 - 1936
  • 669: Auditoriums and Stadia. Langenberg, Fred. June 2 - 1936
  • 671: Surviving organizations that play a prominent part in the social and economic life of the community. Felsen, Henry G. June 1 - 1936
  • 672: Labor Unions. Martin, James S. July 20 - 1936
  • 672: labor Unions; 673: Philanthropic Societies; 674: Social Service Agencies. Fisher, Vivian. June 1 - 1936
  • 673: Philanthropic Societies; 674: Social Service Agency. Martin, James S. July 20 - 936
  • 675: Societies and Organizations for Experimental Purposes. Martin, James S. June 2 - 1936
  • 677: Local Cuisine, cook books, receipts. Christensen, Mae. June 2 - 1936
  • 682: Amateur sports events. Myers, William E. June 1 - 1936
  • 684: Community singing and other Community recreation. Rooney, Raymond. June 1 - 1936
  • 685: Hunting and Fishing. Langenberg, Fred. June 1 - 1936
  • 686: Carnivals and festivals. Rooney, Raymond. June 8 - 1936
  • 691: Scenic Trips; 692: Vantage Points of Scenic Observations; 693: Places of Scenic Interest; 694: Parks. Martin, James S. June 8 - 1936
  • 820: Points of interest within the radius of 15 miles. Langenberg, Fred. June 9 - 1936
  • 830: Points of interest at a greater distance than 15 miles, including agricultural experiments. Rooney, Raymond. June 8 - 1936
  • Box 42:
  • "Architecture in Iowa City." Christensen, Mae L. January 28 - 1938
  • Bibliography and Correction. Langenberg, Fred. [n.d.]
  • "City Hall." Rooney, Raymond. October 28 - 1936
  • "Corrections on Pre-final Revise 1 and 3 of Iowa City." [no author] March 23 - 1937
  • "Court House." Rooney, Raymond. October 13 - 1936
  • "Court House of Johnson County, Iowa." Christensen, Mae. June 29 - 1936
  • "Education." Martin, James S. October 7 - 1936
  • "Famous People." Rooney, Raymond. October 2 - 1936
  • "Founding of Iowa City." Langenberg, Fred. July 30 - 1936
  • "General Information: Name -- Location -- Population -- Altitude -- Features." Langenberg, Fred. October 28 - 1936
  • "General Information on Transportation." Felsen, Henry G. November 2 - 1936
  • "[Golf Courses.]" Myers, William E. [n.d.]
  • "History." Myers, William E. October 28 - 1936
  • "Home of the President of the State University of Iowa; Old Capitol; MacBride Hall; University Hospital." [No author; no date]
  • "Imagine." Christensen, Mae. May 4 - 1937
  • "Iowa City." Fisher, Vivian. May 28 - 1937
  • "Iowa City." McCullough, Henry M., editor. October 21 - 1936
  • "Iowa City -- General Description." [No author; no date]
  • "Iowa City: Railroad station..." [No author; no date]
  • "Iowa City Waterworks." Rooney, Raymond. October 28 - 1936
  • "Italian Population of Iowa City." [Martin, James S.?] [n.d.]
  • "Jewish Population of Johnson County." Martin, James S. August 29 - 1939
  • "Johnson County's Court House." Irish, Jane T. March 15 - 1938
  • "Kirkwood Home." Myers, William E. July 13 - 1936
  • "List of Iowa City Clubs and Organizations." Felsen, Henry G. July 10 - 1936
  • "Literature." Christensen, Mae. October 28 - 1936
  • "Lucas Home." Myers, William E. July 13 - 1936
  • Manuscript notes
  • "Marengo -- Bibliography." Typescript and manuscript. Rooney, Raymond. [n.d.]
  • "Marengo -- Organization." Typescript and manuscript. Rooney, Raymond. November 18 - 1938
  • "Marengo -- Organizations." Typescript and manuscript. Rooney, Raymond. November 18 - 1938
  • "Marengo -- Points of Interest." Typescript and manuscript. Rooney, Raymond. November 17 - 1938
  • "Marengo -- Recreation." Typescript and manuscript. Rooney, Raymond. November 18 - 1938
  • "Marengo -- Schools." Typescript and manuscript. Rooney, Raymond. November 18 - 1938
  • "Marengo, Iowa -- Special City Guide." Typescript and manuscript. Rooney, Raymond. [n.d.]
  • "Marengo -- Theatres." Typescript and manuscript. Rooney, Raymond. November 18 - 1938
  • "Marengo -- Type." Manuscript. Rooney, Raymond. [n.d.]
  • "Music." Martin, James S. October 1 - 1936
  • "Newspapers." Martin, James S. September 17 - 1936
  • "Outstanding Church: History of Presbyterianism in Iowa City." Langenberg, Fred. July 30 - 1936
  • "Oxford." Rooney, Raymond. May 11 - 1936
  • "Parks." Christensen, Mae. October 26 - 1936
  • "Phillip Greely Clapp." [No author] October 25 - 1937
  • "Play Grounds -- Golf Courses." Rooney, Raymond. October 28 - 1936
  • "Press Comments." Martin, James S. [n.d.]
  • "Public Library." Rooney, Raymond. October 28 - 1936
  • "Restaurants and Cafes." Myers, William E. July 6 - 1936
  • "Sewage Disposal Plant." Rooney, Raymond. October 28 - 1936
  • "Silver Shadow." Felsen, Henry G. November 12 - 1936
  • "Social Service." Christensen, Mae. October 26 - 1936
  • "Song of the New Country." [No author] [n.d.]
  • "Story of the Black Angel." Myers, William E. July 10 - 1936
  • ["Swimming Pool."] [No author] [n.d.]
  • "Theatres -- Concert Halls -- Movie Houses -- League Ball Parks -- Swimming Pools Public Owned -- Beaches." Martin, James S. October 28 - 1936
  • "Traffic Regulations." Myers, William E. October 27 - 1936
  • "Transportation." Christensen, Mae. October 13 - 1936
  • "Transportation." Myers, William E. November 5 - 1936
  • "University Professor of Political Science." Christensen, Mae L. June 16 - 1937
  • "Victor." Langenberg, Fred. May 8 - 1936
  • Series 8: ADDENDUM: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 42:
  • Includes statewide bulletins from Raymond Kresensky, the state director of the Federal Writers' Project in Des Moines. Also includes correspondence from Don Farran and Willard Maas. May 27-January 24 - 1937-1939
  • Series 9: ADDENDUM: FOLKLORE
  • Box 42:
  • "Animal Commands." Myers, William E. October 22 - 1936
  • "Animal Tales: The Goody Teddy Bear." Christensen, Mae. September 23 - 1936
  • "Cabin Building." Irish, Jane T. October 26 - 1936
  • "Feature Story: Livestock Traffic." Christensen, Mae. January 6 - 1937
  • "The First Criminal Case." Felsen, Henry G. October 26 - 1936
  • "Frankie and Johnny Were Sweethearts." Christensen, Mae. November 2 - 1936
  • "Indian Legend." Langenberg, Fred. August 10 - 1936
  • "Indian Legend -- The Winter Spirit." Irish, Jane T. January 15 - 1937
  • "Indian Lore." Christensen, Mae. February 25 - 1937
  • "John Brown's Night Escape from Iowa City." Felsen, Henry G. September 28 - 1936
  • "Legend: Where the Jimson Weed Originated, and Why." Langenberg, Fred. October 22 - 1936
  • "A Narrow Escape." Felsen, Henry G. November 2 - 1936
  • "The Old Fort." Felsen, Henry G. October 8 - 1936
  • "Old Weather Legends." Martin, James S. January 22 - 1937
  • "Seeds: Their Place in Folklore and Legend." Irish, Jane T. January 28 - 1937
  • "Snowball and Highball." Christensen, Mae.. Includes photograph. August 12 - 1936
  • "Supernatural Powers." Myers, William E. October 29 - 1936
  • "Table Customs." Fisher, Vivian. December 7 - 1936
  • "The Talking Canary." Christensen, Mae. November 2 - 1936
  • Series 10: ADDENDUM: HOSPITALS
  • Box 43:
  • "Historical Sketch of Mercy Hospital." Christensen, Mae. October 7 - 1936
  • "Hospital -- Corrections." Christensen, Mae. [n.d.]
  • "Oakdale State Sanitarium." Martin, James S. [n.d.]
  • "Psychopathic Hospital." Christensen, Mae. [n.d.]
  • "The Rohrbacher Sanitarium." Christensen, Mae. September 22 - 1936
  • "State Sanatorium, Oakdale." Christensen, Mae. [n.d.]
  • "State University Hospitals." Christensen, Mae. Corrected draft and copy. October 1 - 1936
  • "State University Hospitals." Christensen, Mae. [n.d.] Original draft and copy
  • "The State University of Iowa Speech Clinic." Christensen, Mae. [n.d.]
  • Series 11: ADDENDUM: ROAD TOURS
  • Box 43:
  • "Amana Colonies." Felsen, Henry G. May 8 - 1936
  • "Hills." Christensen, Mae. February 24 - 1937
  • "Iowa City to Coralville and Tiffin." Christensen, Mae. May 8 - 1936
  • "MacBride Park." Martin, James S. February 24 - 1937
  • "MacBride Park -- Oxford, Iowa -- Marengo -- Ladora -- Victor." Fisher, Vivian; Irish, Jane; Martin, James. [n.d.]
  • "Marengo and Ladora." Myers, William E. May 8 - 1936
  • "The Old Dennis Homestead." [Martin, James S.?] [n.d.]
  • "Oxford." Rooney, Raymond. May 11 - 1936
  • "Scenic Tour on 161 N." Felsen, Henry G. October 8 - 1936
  • "Scenic Tour North on U.S. Highway No. 161." Felsen, Henry G. [n.d.]
  • "Special Feature: Part I." Felsen, Henry G. May 11 - 1936
  • "The Tour." Felsen, Henry G. October 9, 1936
  • "A Trip North on Highway #161." Felsen, Henry G.; Fisher, Vivian; Rooney, Raymond. June 15 - 1936
  • "A Trip South on Highway #161." Christensen, Mae. June 15 - 1936
  • Untitled. Myers, William E. [n.d.]
  • Untitled. Rooney, Raymond. May 11 - 1936
  • "Victor." Langenberg, Fred. May 8 - 1936
  • Series 12: ADDENDUM: UNIVERSITY OF IOWA HISTORY
  • Box 43:
  • "Brief Resume of Lines of Research at the Physics Laboratory of the State University of Iowa." Stewart, G.W., Physics Department Head. July 14 - 1936
  • "Brief Sketch of Levi O. Leonard." Christensen, Mae L. February 25 - 1938
  • "Canoeing Popular at University of Iowa." Fisher, Vivian. April 29 - 1937
  • "Experimental Theatre." Langenberg, Fred. J. Includes manuscript note. July 23 - 1936
  • "Field House and Stadium." Langenberg, Fred. Includes manuscript note. May 18 - 1936
  • "The Fine Arts Building." Felsen, Henry G. Includes manuscript note. May 14 - 1936
  • "Foucault Pendulum." Rooney, Raymond. July 20 - 1936
  • "Graduate College." Felsen, Henry G. July 6 - 1936
  • "Graduate College Sets New Record with 3,933 Enrolled." Christensen, Mae L. July 16 - 1937
  • "Historical Society." Rooney, Raymond. July 20 - 1936
  • "Hydraulic Research Laboratory, Iowa University." Yarnell, D.L., volunteer writer. June 24 - 1936
  • "The Laysan Island Cyclorama." Irish, Jane T. May 27 - 1937
  • "The New Theatre." Myers, William E. May 2 - 1936
  • "Noted Educators." Felsen, Henry G. October 8 - 1936
  • "Old Capitol." Felsen, Henry G. Includes manuscript note. September 14 - 1936
  • "Schaeffer Hall." Christensen, Mae L. June 4 - 1937
  • "Scientific Experiments." Myers, William E. July 3 - 1936
  • "Scientific Experiments [--Hydraulics]." Myers, William E. June 29 - 1936
  • "The State University." Felsen, Henry G. September 17 - 1936
  • "The State University of Iowa." Myers, William E. Includes manuscript note. July 23 - 1936
  • "S. U. I. Druggist Museum." Christensen, Mae L. April 19 - 1937
  • "S. U. I. History." Christensen, Mae L. April 29 - 1937
  • "Television, Broadcasting Station." Rooney, Raymond. Includes manuscript note. June 25 - 1936
  • "The University Company." Christensen, Mae L. May 4 - 1937
  • "University Museums." Christensen, Mae L. May 28 - 1937
  • "University Libraries." Felsen, Henry G. Includes manuscript note. May 11 - 1936
  • "University Professor of Political Science." Christensen, Mae L. June 16 - 1937
  • "Who Designed Iowa's Capitol?" Hoffmann, Rev. Father M. M., as printed in The Witness, Dubuque, Iowa, June 25 - 1928

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
English & American Literature
Writers Archive at Iowa
Editors & Publishers