Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Brian Knapp Zines Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1972-2003
Creator: Knapp, Brian
Extent: 2.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0294
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Collection of fanzines and science fiction convention materials from Connecticut-based fan Knapp, mostly dealing with Star Trek but including other media properties as well.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was donated by Brian Knapp, in cooperation with the Organization for Transformative Works, in September 2009. It was processed in September 2009.

Preferred Citation: Brian Knapp Zines Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Brian Knapp is a Connecticut-based fan of TV shows and movies including Star Trek, Star Wars, and Dr. Who.

The Knapp Fanzine Collection consists of numerous fanzines collected by Connecticut-based fan Brian Knapp. Most of the zines deal with the television show Star Trek (many dating from the earlier years of Trek fandom), but other media properties chronicled in the zines include, among others, Doctor Who and Star Wars.
In addition to the zines, the collection also has a few program books from various science fiction conventions.
For other fannish collections, many of which contain materials relating to the same media fandoms chronicled in this collection, please consult the Fandom-Related Collections subject page, at http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/spec-coll/resources/FandomResources.html.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: FANZINES
Series 2: CONVENTION MATERIALS

  • Series 1: FANZINES
  • Sub-Series: Doctor Who
  • Box 1:
  • The Eye of Harmony
  • The Eye of Harmony #1 - 1979
  • The Eye of Harmony #2 (March) - 1980
  • The Eye of Harmony #3 (June) - 1980
  • The Eye of Harmony #4 (October) - 1980
  • Time Log #5 (Fall) - 1982
  • Who's Doodlebug - 1980
  • Sub-Series: Genzines
  • Box 1:
  • Antares, Vol: 5: No. 1 (n.d.)
  • Creative Computing (May/June) - 1975
  • Doesn't This Office Just Scream for Accessories... #1 - 1980
  • Hailing Frequency, Vol. 4: No. 2, issue #8 (March) - 1979
  • 1985 #2 (February) - 1979
  • Sub-Series: Katherine Kurtz (Derynil)
  • Box 1:
  • The Deryni Archives #2 (July) - 1979
  • Sub-Series: The Lord of the Rings
  • Box 1:
  • The Plantir #1 - 1978
  • Sub-Series: Multimedia
  • Box 1:
  • Diverse Dimensions (May) - 1982
  • Sub-Series: The Prisoner
  • Box 1:
  • The Green Dome
  • The Green Dome #2 (March) - 1980
  • The Green Dome #3 (July) - 1980
  • Sub-Series: Sime/Gen Universe
  • Box 1:
  • Of Simes, Gens, Adepts, Kren... - 1980
  • Sub-Series: Star Trek
  • Box 1:
  • Alpha Touch #1 - 1979
  • Alternate Universe
  • Alternate Universe 4, issue #1 - 1974
  • Alternate Universe 4, issue #2 - 1975
  • Archives
  • Contact
  • Contact #2 (May) - 1976
  • Contact #3 (March) - 1977
  • Echoes of the Empire - 1978
  • Fanzine by Shuttlecraft [cassette audio tape] - 1978
  • Future Wings - 1978
  • Future Wings Flypast - 1979
  • The Goddess Uhura (February) - 1976
  • IDIC #6 - 1978
  • JDIFC [James Doohan International Fan Club]
  • JDIFC annual - 1978
  • JDIFC (January) - 1979
  • JDIFC (August) - 1979
  • JDIFC (October) - 1979
  • Kraith Collected
  • Kraith Collected #1 [reprint] (December) - 1976
  • Kraith Collected #2 [series 2] (February) - 1974
  • Kraith Collected #3 [series 3] (April) - 1978
  • Kraith Collected
  • Kraith Collected #4 [reprint] (April) - 1979
  • Kraith Collected #5 [subtitled Alternates] (May) - 1977
  • Kraith Collected #6 (December) - 1980
  • Kraith Creator's Manual #1 [second edition April) - 1975
  • Masiform D
  • Masiform D #6 (July) - 1977
  • Masiform D #7 (July) - 1977
  • Menagerie
  • Menagerie #12 (July) - 1977
  • Menagerie #14 (March) - 1978
  • Menagerie #15 (May) - 1979
  • NTM Collected #1 (April) - 1978
  • The Prime Directive, Vol. 1: No. 1 (August) - 1975
  • Quartet #1 (January) - 1975
  • R & R #6/7 (June) - 1978
  • Rim of Starlight #2 (September) - 1978
  • Sahaj Collected [reprint] - 1979
  • Satire Trek Comicordance (February) - 1975
  • Sing a Song of Trekkin': A Fun-Filled Folio of 20 Trekker Filk Songs - 1979
  • Sol Plus #5 (July) - 1978
  • Spockanalia
  • Star Base 1, Vol. 2: No. 1, issue #3 (May) - 1975
  • Star Trek Magazine #4 - 1976
  • Stars, Dreams, and Fantaasy (February) - 1979
  • Box 2:
  • Threshold (January) - 1978
  • Understanding Kraith - 1978
  • Sub-Series: Star Wars
  • Box 2:
  • The Jedi Journal #1 (May) - 1979
  • Lasergram [National Star Wars Association]
  • Lasergram
  • Lasergram #1 (September) - 1977
  • Lasergram #2 (October) - 1977
  • Lasergram #3 (November) - 1977
  • Lasergram #5 (January) - 1978
  • Lasergram #6 (February) - 1978
  • Lasergram #7 (March) - 1978
  • Lasergram #8 (April) - 1978
  • Lasergram #9/10/11 (May-July) - 1978
  • Lasergram #12/13/14 [special convention issue] (September) - 1978
  • Series 2: CONVENTION MATERIALS
  • Box 2:
  • Arisia 2003 Souvenir Book [program] - 2003
  • Boskone 24 [program] - 1987
  • Creation Convention [pamphlet; New York] - 1979
  • I-CON 18 [program; Stony Brook, New York] - 1999
  • Mini Trek Con 3 [program; New York] - 1977
  • Star Trek New York [program] - 1976

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
Fandom-Related Collections
Zines and the Amateur Press