Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Thomas J. Frey Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1946-1971
Creator: Frey, Thomas J. (1901-1973)
Extent: 100.00 items.
Collection Number: MSC0293
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Thomas Frey was a newspaperman from northern Iowa who once operated four newspapers at a time. He served in the Iowa Senate, and these papers are comprised of correspondence, newspaper clippings, photographs, and scrapbooks.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Box 1.

Access: This collection is open to research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Helen M. Frey gave her husband's papers to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1974.

Preferred Citation: Thomas J. Frey Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Thomas J. Frey (1901 -- 1973) was born near Aplington, Iowa, and raised on a farm outside of Buffalo Center. He graduated from the Waterloo Business College and the Minneapolis School of Journalism and Advertising. Frey worked for a number of newspapers in the midwest before entering the navy during World War II.

Returning to Iowa in 1945, Thomas J. Frey bought the Neola Gazette-Reporter. He later purchased the papers in Minden and Shelby, eventually combining them to form the Minden-Shelby News. At one time he also owned the Earling Echo. Consequently for a period of time he was simultaneously the editor/publisher of four newspapers.

A long-time Republican member of the Iowa State legislature, Frey was a member of the House from 1951 to 1959 and the Senate from 1967 to 1970. He supported issues such as liquor by the drink, annual sessions, and area correction centers.

Mr. Frey was a member of the Iowa Press Association which honored him with its Master Editor/Publisher Award. He also served on the Iowa State Board of the American Cancer Society for ten years.

The papers of Thomas J. Frey are comprised of 100 items arranged alphabetically dating from 1945 to 1971. Correspondence, legislative materials, newspaper clippings, photographs, and scrapbooks make up this small collection documenting Frey's political career. Topics of the legislative material range from election guides to senate files and budget adjustment proposals to editorials.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Legislative correspondence - 1961-1970
  • Miscellaneous legislative materials
  • Newspaper clippings - 1945-1973
  • Photographs
  • Three scrapbooks

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Occupations:
Legislators

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Scrapbooks