Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Donald C. Pierson Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1937-1973
Creator: Pierson, Donald C. (1908-)
Extent: 2.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0292
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Chairman of the Iowa Republican State Central Committee. Reports, campaign and convention material, clippings, correspondence, photographs, and speeches.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Box 4.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Donald Pierson gave his papers to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1973.

Preferred Citation: Donald C. Pierson Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Donald Charles Pierson was born in Omaha, Nebraska, in 1908. He began working for Wilson Concrete in Red Oak, Iowa, in 1928, eventually becoming a sales manager. In 1936, Pierson went to work for Concrete Products Corporation in Humboldt, Iowa. He held many positions in the corporation and worked for a number of its subsidiaries, such as the Sand Gravel Company. By the time he left Humboldt, Pierson had served as the president and general manager of the Concrete Products Corporation for a number of years. In the mid-1960s he moved to Arizona, where he opened his own real estate investment firm.

Pierson was active in the Republican Party in Iowa. In 1948, he was the Humboldt Republican County Chairman. From 1952 to 1958 he was a member of the Iowa Republican State Central Committee, and served as chairman from 1954 to 1957. He was a delegate to the National Republican Convention of 1954 and was a member of the executive committee of the Republican National Convention in San Francisco in 1956.

The papers document his activities in the Republican Party. The collection consists primarily of correspondence, photographs, speeches, clippings, and campaign materials. Some of the material is related specifically to Republican politics within Iowa, such as an Iowa Republican County handbook for 1958. Other items relate to national politics, especially the photographs of Presidents Hoover, Eisenhower, and Nixon campaigning in Iowa. The correspondence includes letters from Robert K. Goodwin, Bourke B. Hickenlooper, Leo A. Hoegh, Louis B. Kehoe, Faye Cashatt Lewis, Verne Marshall, David T. Nelson, James S. Schramm, and David M. Stanley. Campaign materials include convention documents, clippings from the Loveless-Hoegh race, as well as brochures and programs.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: CLIPPINGS
Series 3: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 4: MISCELLANEOUS
Series 5: PHOTOGRAPHS
Series 6: OTHER

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Blue Print for Rebuilding, a Report by L.L. Jurgemeyer and a report in reply to Roscoe Jones from Don C. Pierson, February - 1959
  • Campaign and convention material - 1940-1963
    3 folders
  • Campaign and convention material - 1940-1963
    3 folders
  • Campaign and convention material - 1940-1963
    3 folders
  • Series 2: CLIPPINGS
  • Box 2:
  • Clippings
  • Clippings, Loveless-Hoegh Campaign - 1956
  • Clippings attached to backing
  • Series 3: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 3:
  • Correspondence - 1937-1954
    Including letters from James S. Schramm, David T. Nelson, Verne Marshall (2), David M. Stanley, and Faye Cashatt Lewis, and others concerning Joseph McCarthy
  • Correspondence - 1954
  • Correspondence - 1955-1957
    Including letters from Louis J. Kehoe and James S. Schramm
  • Correspondence - 1958-1973
    Including letters from Robert K. Goodwin, Bourke B. Hickenlooper and Leo A. Hoegh
  • Series 4: MISCELLANEOUS
  • Box 3:
  • Humboldt, Iowa, brochures
  • Iowa Republican County Handbook - 1958
  • Speech Kit - 1954
  • Convention Programs and Clear Lake Governor's Conference - 1956
  • Box 4:
  • Nixon -- Ft. Dodge Day, Waggoner Congressional Race - 1958
  • Series 5: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Box 4:
  • Photographs, Don C. Pierson
  • Photographs, Eisenhower Administration cabinet and staff members
  • Photographs, Eisenhower-Hoover visit to Iowa - 1954
  • Photographs, Eisenhower visit to Iowa, Colfax - 1956
  • Photographs, Eisenhower with Pierson and others
  • Photographs, Iowa political figures
    Including Clyde L. Herring, Bourke B. Hickenlooper, William S. Beardsley, Jack Miller, Leo A. Hoegh, Thomas E. Martin, and George Nagle
  • Photographs from elections - 1956
  • Photographs, Richard Nixon and Don C. Pierson
  • Photographs, Richard Nixon visit to Iowa - 1954
  • Series 6: OTHER
  • Box 4:
  • Republican Party miscellaneous file
  • Speeches by Don C. Pierson
  • Clippings, Thomas E. Martin-Don C. Pierson Controversy - 1959