Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Iowan Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1952-1971
Creator: Iowan
Extent: 20.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0291
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Magazine published by The Iowan, Inc., Shenandoah, Iowa. Correspondence, manuscripts, page proofs, layouts, advertising and business records, and photos.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Boxes 2, 21-36, 38-40.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was donated to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1967 by David Archie.

Preferred Citation: Iowan Records, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

The collection contains records of the magazine published by The Iowan, Inc., Shenandoah, Iowa. Records include correspondence, manuscripts, page proofs, layouts, advertising and business records, and photos.

"General" folders include regular feature material, copy corrections, layouts, etc.

Numbering system for the first 12 boxes is as follows: folder number, volume, issue, page number.
Photocopied yearly indexes to the magazine, 1952 -- 1959, are available in the administration file.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • 1 1-1-x general
  • 2 3-3-7 Annual Legislative meetings
  • 3 3-3-8 Circus poster plant -- Willard M. Temple
  • 4 3-3-10 Pony farm
  • 5 3-3-12 Interurban railroads
  • 6 3-3-15 Children's theater
  • 7 3-3-18 Bowling
  • 8 3-3-24 Terrace Hill-- Des Moines
  • 9 3-3-30 "Rare Books in your attic?"
  • 10 3-3-32 Income tax differences
  • 11 3-3-33 U.N. birthday party
  • 12 3-3-36 Marshalltown industrial fair
  • 13 3-3-x general
  • 14 3-4-9 Gary Morris -- high school swimmer
  • 15 3-4-14 Luther College
  • 16 3-4-18 The Better Mouse Trap -- A. E. Kness
  • 17 3-4-20 Whiting iris
  • 18 3-4-38 Jewelry craftsmanship -- art department at ISTC
  • 19 3-4-30 Harlan farm house
  • 20 3-4-42 Deferred profit-sharing
  • 21 3-4-x general
  • 23 3-5-10 Des Moines YMCA
  • 22 3-5-7 foreign student ambassadors
  • 24 3-5-12 Dr. Mathew A. Tinley -- Dr. Mat
  • 25 3-5-16 Archaeology II: woodland Indians
  • 27 3-5-20 Little league at Sac City
  • 28 3-5-28 Solar industry
  • 29 3-5-34- ISTC art program
  • 30 3-5-36 Mississippi steam boat -- the Bart L
  • 31 3-5-40 Capen home -- Davenport
  • 32 3-5-48 Fort Des Moines
  • 33 3-5-50 Food radiation
  • 34 3-5-x general
  • 35 3-6-7 Private colleges
  • 36 3-6-10 Children's day at Manning
  • 37 3-6-12 Radar and speeders
  • 38 3-6-14 Dubuque Seminarian -- George Gallaher
  • 39 3-6-16 Archaeology III: Mississippi cultures
  • 40 3-6-20 Children's dude ranch -- AA-S ranch
  • 41 3-6-36 Tidy House Products Co.
  • 42 3-6-40 Clock collection at Spillville -- Bily Brothers
  • 43 3-6-x general
  • 44 4-1-10 Doctor John Dormon -- football coach
  • 45 4-1-13 Quail hunting
  • Box 2:
  • 46 4-1-16 Central college
  • 47 4-1-20 Bird watching
  • 48 4-1-22 Covered bridges
  • 49 4-1-29 Maytag Company
  • 50 4-1-34 Archaeology IV: Indian tribes
  • 51 4-2-18 Year review -- art
  • 52 4-2-22 Year review -- communications media
  • 53 4-2-54 Dana community Christmas
  • 54 4-2-x general
  • 55 4-3-9 School for the Deaf
  • 56 4-3-10 Farm zoo
  • 57 4-3-12 Causes of highway accidents
  • 58 4-3-13 Butterfly collection of A. F. Porter
  • 59 4-3-16 Wartburg College
  • 60 4-3-20 Animal Rescue League" -- Max Finch "
  • 61 4-3-28 Collins Radio Company
  • 62 4-3-33 Hermit form Cherokee County -- Barney Smith
  • 63 4-3-34 Doll Collection
  • 64 4-3-36 Prelude to massacre" -- pioneer girl's diary "
  • 65 4-4-9 School tax
  • 66 4-4-11 Cat fishing
  • 67 4-4-15 Scatbeegood school
  • 68 4-4-18 Robin photographs
  • 69 4-4-20 Black Angel Statue at Council Bluffs
  • 70 4-4-21 Fisher Company and Automation
  • 71 4-4-25 Old Iowa Mills
  • 72 4-4-34 Mrs. Raymond Sayre
  • 73 4-4-36 Salisbury House -- Carl Weeks home
  • 74 4-4-x general
  • 75 4-5-9 county roads -- Greene and Shelby counties
  • 76 4-5-12 Fraud games -- promotions and sales gimmicks
  • 77 4-5-17 Bob Garst of Coon Rapids
  • 78 4-5-20 Underground Railroad
  • Box 3:
  • 79 4-5-24 Paul Engle Sonnets: For the Iowa Dead
  • 80 4-5-35 Chateau Seeman at Okoboji -- Reddick home
  • 81 4-5-x general
  • 82 4-60-11 Atom at ISC
  • 83 4-6-14 Exploring by canoe
  • 84 4-6-16 Dan Turner -- former Iowa Governor
  • 85 4-6-19 National Field Days -- 1956
  • 86 4-6-22 & 29 Clinton
  • 87 4-6-x general
  • 88 5-1-8 Korean wax bonus
  • 89 5-1-11 1956 campaigns
  • 90 5-1-12 Iowans in Olympics
  • 91 5-1-14 Simpson College
  • 92 5-1-18 High school pheasant hunt-Lansing
  • 93 5-1-34 Iowa football
  • 94 5-1-38 Whiting home -- Cedar Rapids
  • 95 5-1-34 Mars Hill log church
  • 96 5-1-37 Medieval" wedding at Keokuk -- Marilyn Hart "
  • 97 5-1-40 The Last Laugh" -- humorous football history "
  • 98 5-1-50 cement situation
  • Box 4:
  • 99 5-1-x Mississippi River Parkway Planning Committee -- minutes of annual meeting
  • 100 5-1-x general
  • 101 5-2-11 polio
  • 102 5-2-13 Farm toys for Vinton boy
  • 103 5-2-14 Arthur Sanford -- construction promoter
  • 104 5-2-18 Phalanx: Fourier socialist community
  • 105 5-2-20 Beaux Arts Ball at Davenport
  • 106 5-2-34 Report on Iowa -- 1956
  • 107 5-2-x general
  • 108 5-3-8 George H. Lambert -- Reluctant Athlete
  • 109 5-3-13 Paintings of Henry Lewis
  • 110 5-3-16 Corydon industry
  • 111 5-3-20 Archaeological excavation of Indian mound
  • 112 5-3-22 Gary Thompson -- Iowa State basketball star
  • 113 5-3-34 Coe College
  • 114 5-3-51 Paullina clocks
  • 115 5-3-x general
  • 116 5-4-11 State house reporters
  • 117 5-4-14 Eye bank
  • 118 5-4-16 Clinton Machine Company
  • 119 5-4-20 George Catlin -- western artist
  • 120 5-4-24 Tom Maney and a new black raspberry
  • 121 5-4-26 Mitigwa Indian dancers
  • 122 5-4-29 Monsignor L. A. Ligutti
  • 123 5-4-34 Wiedner home -- Dubuque
  • 124 5-4-42 E.O. Fenton -- Secretarial specialist
  • 125 5-4-x general
  • Box 5:
  • 126 5-5-11 Homes for the aged
  • 127 5-5-16 Davenport zoo
  • 128 5-5-24 Delicious apple tree
  • 129 5-5-26 Mason City library
  • 130 5-5-28 Equitable Insurance Company
  • 131 5-5-31 Lemon home -- Oskaloosa
  • 132 5-5-x general
  • 133 5-6-10 Sports car rally -- Ottumwa
  • 134 5-6-14 Buried treasure in Iowa
  • 135 5-6-16 Family rodeo
  • 136 5-6-18 Bee business
  • 137 5-6-20 Marshalltown profile
  • 138 5-6-29 Marshalltown homes -- French and Wolfe residences
  • 139 5-6-34 Jean Seberg: Marshalltown Success Story
  • 140 5-6-36 Marshalltown industries
  • 141 5-6-4 6 Iowa foundations
  • 142 5-6-x general
  • 143 5-1-10 football planning at Iowa
  • 144 6-1-12 Park work for prisoners
  • 145 6-1-14 University of Dubuque
  • 146 6-1-18 Muzzle Loader Hunting
  • 147 6-1-25 Log cabin near Boone
  • 148 6-1-28 Sheaffer Pen Company
  • 149 6-1-32 Windhover -- Clark home, Des Moines
  • 150 6-1-40 Football stag by Curt Yocum's
  • 151 6-1-x general
  • 152 6-2-6 review -- Grinnell -- convocation
  • 153 6-2-12 Interstate highways
  • 154 6-2-14 Newburg, Iowa -- Vanishing Village
  • 155 6-2-19 Christmas Story -- The Greatest Gift of All
  • 156 6-2-40 Iowa in color -- material for special edition
  • 157 6-2-x general
  • 158 6-3-12 Dr. Van Allen and Space program
  • 159 6-3-16 Dubuque Elevator lift
  • 160 6-3-18 Building costs for state colleges
  • Box 6:
  • 161 6-3-25 Gover wedding proclamation
  • 162 6-3-26 Closing-out sale
  • 163 6-3-28 Rapid Thermogas Company -- Charles Russell
  • 161 6-3-30 Yaw home -- Cedar Rapids
  • 165 6-3-34 Burmese student travels 'round world
  • 166 6-3-x general
  • 167 6-4-x Iowa State issue
  • 168 6-4-x Iowa State issue
  • 169 6-4-x Iowa State issue
  • 170 6-4-x Iowa State issue
  • 171 6-4-x Iowa State issue
  • Box 7:
  • 172 6-4-x Iowa State issue
  • 173 6-4-x Iowa State issue
  • 174 6-4-34 Research at ISC
  • 175 6-4-x general
  • 176 6-5-4 history of Andrew vigilantes
  • 177 6-5-12 Iowa circus
  • 178 6-5-16 Judicial revisions
  • 179 6-5-24 Bradley home -- Lake Okoboji
  • 180 6-5-28 Mentally retarded girl adjusts to family life
  • 181 6-5-34 Billy Robinson -- Pioneer Iowa aviator
  • 182 6-5-33 Dr. J. E. Salsburg -- poultry laboratories
  • 183 6-5-37 Pella Tulip Festival
  • 184 6-5-x general
  • 185 6-6-2 Glenwood State School
  • 186 6-6-8 Tax assessor story
  • 187 6-6-10 Britt's Hobo Convention
  • 188 6-6-13 Successful Iowa farm -- Torsten Lagerstrom
  • 189 6-6-18 Architect Louis H. Sullivan
  • 190 6-6-30 Potter home -- Muscatine
  • Box 8:
  • 191 6-6-42 Women's Christian Temperance Union
  • 192 6-6-x general
  • 193 7-1-cover Autumn Ghost" -- cover plate "
  • 194 7-1-8 summer fire fighter -- Dave Nelson
  • 195 7-1-10 Doorah at Spillville
  • 196 7-1-22 Randy Duncan -- Hawkeye quarterback
  • 197 7-1-34 Nielson coupon clearing House -- Clinton
  • 198 7-1-38 World Champion hose company
  • 199 7-1-39 Four Seasons Park -- Waterloo
  • 200 7-1-45 Lillian Dimmitt of Morningside College
  • 201 7-1-46 Curse of Black
  • 203 7-2-16 King of Quacks" -- Norman Baker "
  • 204 7-2-19 Vernon Company of Newton
  • 205 7-2-25 Iowa's First Capital -- Old Zion Church
  • 206 7-2-26 Fox and Sac Indian Battle
  • 207 7-2-28 Tama Indians -- Fox and Sac Today
  • 208 7-2-34 Legacy in Quilts" -- Mrs. Anna Kirkpatrick "
  • 209 7-2-37 Whistle cross farm
  • 210 7-2-40 Farm youths launch rockets
  • 211 7-2-42 Beaver hunting
  • 212 7-2-47 Hay barracks
  • 213 7-2-48 Life of Christ
  • 214 7-2-x general -- copy corrections
  • 215 7-2-x general
  • 216 7-3-4 Amish people
  • 217 7-3-10 Old Sheldall School
  • 7-3-18 Contract farming
  • 218 7-3-25 Tyler home -- Davenport
  • 219 7-3-35 Bellevue war
  • Box 9:
  • 220 7-3-42 Parsons College
  • 221 7-3-x general
  • 222 7-4-6 Draft horse sale at Waverly
  • 223 7-4-10 Widner home -- Corning
  • 224 7-4-12 Maquoketa Caves
  • 225 7-4-26 Iowa flag
  • 226 7-4-28 Cow war
  • 227 7-4-26 Forest City industry
  • 228 7-4-40 Cooper beef factory
  • 229 7-4-x general
  • 230 7-5-4 Governor Loveless
  • 231 7-5-7 Queen of Okoboji
  • 232 7-5-12 Little United Nations
  • 233 7-5-14 Chariton Aeolian Singers
  • 234 7-5-19 Amana Style architecture also see Amana issue" folders "
  • 235 7-5-21 & 26 Amana also see Amana issue" folders "
  • 236 7-5-37 Masonic library -- Cedar Rapids
  • 237 7-5-40 Diamond Laboratories
  • 238 7-5-44 Iowa poet -- Robert Dana
  • 239 7-5-x Amana issue
  • Box 10:
  • 240 7-5-x Amana issue
  • 241 7-5-x Amana issue
  • 242 7-5-x general
  • 243 7-6-4 Mentally-ill children
  • 244 7-6-8 John Brown
  • 245 7-6-13 Old Threshers' Reunion
  • 246 7-6-18 Smallpox epidemic
  • 247 7-6-20 4-H camp at Boone
  • 248 7-6-23 Mississippi tow boats
  • 249 7-6-26 St. Lucas wedding
  • 250 7-6-34 Pella Rolsueen Company
  • 251 7-6-38 Squirrel hunting
  • 252 7-6-43 Iowa's first fatal auto accident
  • 253 7-6-44 Fox home -- Charles City
  • 254 7-6-x general
  • 255 8-1-4 Education
  • Box 11:
  • 256 8-1-4 Education
  • 257 8-1-7 Grimrose Grammar
  • 258 8-1-9 Fort Dodge School system
  • 259 8-1-12 Windsor day school -- Des Moines private school
  • 260 8-1-14 Landscape in Transition
  • 261 8-1-24 Grant home -- Cedar Rapids
  • 262 8-1-29 Hungarian settlement -- New Buda
  • 263 8-1-33 Busy Harvest Kitchen
  • 264 8-1-34 Sulhy Company
  • 265 8-1-38 Jay N. Darling
  • 266 8-1-x general
  • 267 8-2-4 Constitutional convention
  • 268 8-2-7 Duck hunting
  • 269 8-2-12 Herbert Hoover birthplace
  • 270 8-2-18 Artistic carpet on Maquoketa stairs
  • 271 8-2-20 B. J. Palmer
  • 272 8-2-33 Felco Company
  • 273 8-2-36 Ice-fishing
  • 274 8-2-43 Jesse James
  • 275 8-2-45 Holl home -- Dubuque
  • 276 8-2-x general
  • 277 8-3-4 Early child adoptions
  • 278 8-3-7 Evergreen Sporting Association
  • 279 8-3-10 Bernhardt legend
  • 280 8-3-14 Rabbit hunting
  • 281 8-3-17 Audubon in Iowa
  • 282 8-3-29 Viking Pump Company
  • 283 8-3-32 Calkins home -- Wyoming
  • 284 8-3-36 Milo Reno -- Farmer's messiah
  • 285 8-3-42 Chautauqua
  • 286 8-3-44 Mauricio Lasansky -- Iowa artist
  • 287 8-3-x general
  • 288 8-4-4 Community charity funds
  • 289 8-4-10 Braille translators
  • 290 8-4-12 Dr. Galland -- frontier rogue
  • Box 12:
  • 291 8-4-16 Worldwide engineers -- Stanley, Incorporated
  • 292 8-5-4 Traffic speed zones
  • 294 8-5-6 Iowa theater
  • 295 8-5-10 Sailing at Okoboji
  • 296 8-5-12 Icaria: Utopian colony
  • 297 8-5-29 Congressional re-districting
  • 298 8-5-33 Aquarama at Iowa Falls
  • 299 8-5-37 La Dauxs Home -- Okoboji
  • 300 8-5-x general
  • 301 misc
  • Box 13:
  • Correspondence, 1952
  • Box 14:
  • Correspondence, 1953
  • Box 15:
  • Correspondence, 1953 -- 1954
  • Box 16:
  • Correspondence, 1954 -- 1955
  • Box 17:
  • Correspondence, 1956 -- 1958
  • Box 18:
  • Advertising Correspondence, 1952-1958
  • Box 19:
  • Advertising records and Iowa High
  • Box 20:
  • Advertising records
  • Box 21:
  • Photographic negatives
  • Box 22:
  • Photographic negatives
  • Box 23:
  • Correspondence -- Spring 1962
  • Dr. Robert Koch -- Spring 1962
  • Drake Relays -- Spring 1962
  • Elliot Art Collection -- Spring 1962
  • Ex-Farmers Come Back to College -- Spring 1962
  • Iowa City Glass -- Spring 1962
  • Iowa Record -- Spring 1962
  • The Iowan -- Spring 1962
  • Miscellaneous Articles -- Spring 1962
  • Paste-ups -- Spring 1962
  • River Towns -- Spring 1962
  • Tax -- Spring 1962
  • General -- Spring 1962
  • Past-ups -- Winter 1963
  • Correspondence -- Spring 1963
  • Page Proofs -- Spring 1963
  • Paste-ups -- Spring 1963
  • Photographs -- Spring 1963
  • General -- Spring 1963
  • Box 24:
  • Antiques -- Summer 1963
  • Armstrong House -- Summer 1963
  • Astray --Summer 1963
  • Correspondence -- Summer 1963, including a letter from William G. Murray
  • Decorah Museum -- Summer 1963
  • Indian Drawings -- Summer 1963
  • Iowa Record -- Summer 1963
  • The Iowan -- Summer 1963
  • Magrane Story -- Summer 1963
  • Page Proofs -- Summer 1963
  • Paste-ups -- Summer 1963
  • Photographs -- Summer 1963
  • Pine Lake Story -- Summer 1963
  • Rock Hobby -- Summer 1963
  • Shaff Plan -- Summer 1963
  • Whirl Wind on Wheels -- Summer 1963
  • General -- Summer 1963
  • Articles -- Fall 1963
  • Correspondence -- Fall 1963
  • Paste-ups -- Fall 1963
  • Photographs -- Fall 1963
  • Planning Sheets -- Fall 1963
  • General -- Fall 1963
  • Box 25:
  • Correspondence -- Winter 1964
  • including a letter from Virgil M. Hancher
  • Craftsmen Bring Back the Circus -- Winter 1964
  • Ellis Parker Butler, Pigs is Pigs -- Winter 1964
  • Iowa Record -- Winter 1964
  • Iowan Reports -- Winter 1964
  • Karl King -- Winter 1964
  • Kleese Farm -- Winter 1964
  • Legend of the Winnebago Gold Cave -- Winter 1964
  • Lisbon House -- Winter 1964
  • Magnetized Spa -- Winter 1964
  • Page Proofs -- Winter 1964
  • Photographs -- Winter 1964
  • Prestele -- Winter 1964
  • Railroad Story -- Winter 1964
  • Steamboat -- LeClaire Story -- Winter 1964
  • Stock Car Racing -- Winter 1964
  • General -- Winter 1964
  • Page Proofs -- Spring 1964
  • Paste-ups -- Spring 1964
  • Photographs -- Spring 1964
  • General -- Spring 1964
  • Box 26:
  • Antiques -- Summer 1964
  • Architecture -- Summer 1964
  • Articles -- Summer 1964
  • Catching the Wily Carp -- Summer 1964
  • Iowa Record -- Summer 1964
  • Page Proofs -- Summer 1964
  • Paste-ups -- Summer 1964
  • Photographs -- Summer 1964
  • Pomeroy -- Summer 1964
  • Tragic Comrades -- Summer 1964
  • General -- Summer 1964
  • Bob Barnes -- Fall 1964
  • Cornfed Deer -- Fall 1964
  • Dubuque County Jail -- Fall 1964
  • Gerald Shirley -- Fall 1964
  • Iowa Education of George Washington Carver -- Fall 1964
  • Iowa Record -- Fall 1964
  • Lewis-Hill Archeological Survey -- Fall 1964
  • Miscellaneous Articles -- Fall 1964
  • Box 27:
  • Page Proofs -- Fall 1964
  • Paste-ups -- Fall 1964
  • Photographs -- Fall 1964
  • General -- Fall 1964
  • Amish -- Winter 1965
  • Ancient Iowa Indians -- Winter 1965
  • Antiques -- Winter 1965
  • Court Reform -- Winter 1965
  • Humiston Hotel Auction -- Winter 1965
  • The Iowa Record -- Winter 1965
  • Mahaska State Bank -- Winter 1965
  • Moravian Settlement in Iowa -- Winter 1965
  • Page Proofs -- Winter 1965
  • Paste-ups -- Winter 1965
  • Photographs -- Winter 1965
  • General -- Winter 1965
  • Box 28:
  • Duck Hunting -- Winter 1966
  • Mennonite Sewing Photographs -- Winter 1966
  • Nelson Farm and Pioneer Museum -- Winter 1966
  • Nelson Farm and Pioneer Museum -- Photographs -- Winter 1966
  • Woodbury County Courthouse -- Winter 1966
  • Woodbury County Courthouse - Photographs -- Winter 1966
  • Yewell Photographs -- Winter 1966
  • Page Proofs -- Spring 1966
  • Paste-ups -- Spring 1966
  • General -- Spring 1966
  • Box 29:
  • Antiques -- Fall 1966
  • Buena Vista College -- Fall 1966
  • Chalmers House -- Fall 1966
  • Dr. W. D. C. Bullard -- Fall 1966
  • Ft. Atkinson and Ft. Madison -- Fall 1966
  • Iowa Record -- Fall 1966
  • Lewis-Clark Expedition -- Fall 1966
  • Old Man River" Carl Bower -- Fall 1966 "
  • Palisades Kepler -- Fall 1966
  • Paper Money and Communia -- Fall 1966
  • Photographs -- Fall 1966
  • Village Smithy -- Fall 1966
  • General --Fall 1966
  • The Iowan -- Spring 1967
  • Photographs -- Spring 1967
  • Photographs Continued -- Spring 1967
  • Box 30:
  • Antique Airplane Fly-in -- Summer - 1967
  • Antiques -- Summer 1967
  • Arabella Mansfield, First Woman Lawyer -- Summer 1967
  • Bancroft Baseball -- Summer 1967
  • Blair Wood's Cabin -- Summer 1967
  • Iowa Citizens Council on Crime and Delinquency -- Summer 1967
  • Iowa Civil Liberties Union -- Summer 1967
  • The Iowa Record -- Summer 1967
  • The Iowan -- Summer 1967
  • Iowa's Interesting Erratics -- Summer 1967
  • Morehead Park -- Summer 1967
  • Photographs -- Summer 1967
  • Antiques -- Fall 1967
  • Currier Article -- Fall 1967
  • Iowa Pioneer Pilots -- Fall 1967
  • The Iowa Record -- Fall 1967
  • The Iowan -- Fall 1967
  • Iowa's Preserved Prairies -- Fall 1967
  • Kate Shelley -- Fall 1967
  • Loras/Clark Colleges -- Fall 1967
  • Nineteenth Century Iowa City Houses -- Fall 1967 -- Margaret N. Keyes
  • Photographs, Fall - 1967
  • Rehabilitation Planning -- Fall 1967
  • Royalty in Buckskin -- Fall 1967
  • Box 31:
  • Family Affair -- Winter 1968
  • The Iowa Record -- Winter 1968
  • The Iowan -- Winter 1968
  • Muscatine's Musser Museum -- Winter 1968
  • Our Happy Hunting Grounds -- Winter 1968
  • Winneshiek County Court House Battle -- Winter 1968
  • The Yucatan Caper -- Winter 1968, including a photograph of Harold E. Hughes
  • Captain Grant Marsh -- Spring l968
  • Girl's Track -- Photos -- Spring 1968
  • Historical Glass -- Photos -- Spring 1968
  • The Iowan -- Spring 1968
  • Jeweled Eggs -- Photos -- Spring 1968
  • Mounted Drill Team -- Photos -- Spring 1968
  • University Libraries -- Photos -- Spring 1968
  • Victorian Home Restored -- Photos -- Spring 1968
  • Box 32:
  • Bar Rockin' B Ranch -- Photos -- Summer - 1968
  • Bonzai Specialist -- Photos -- Summer 1968
  • Disappearing Depot -- Summer 1968
  • 4-H Camping Center -- Photos -- Summer 1968
  • The Iowan -- Summer 1968
  • General -- Summer 1968
  • The Iowan -- Fall 1968
  • Photographs -- Fall 1968
  • Box 33:
  • Amana Attic (Woodcuts) -- Photos. Winter - 1969
  • Bald Eagles -- Photos -- Winter 1969
  • Byron Burford -- Photos -- Winter 1969
  • Captivating Panel -- Photos -- Winter 1969
  • Drawspan Bridge -- Photos -- Winter 1969
  • The Iowan -- Winter 1969
  • Lindberg House -- Photos -- Winter 1969
  • Salisbury -- Photos -- Winter 1969
  • Winter Comes to Iowa -- Photos -- Winter 1969
  • The Women's Voice -- Photos -- Winter 1969
  • Amana Kitchen Boss -- Photos -- Spring 1969
  • Attack on Alcoholism -- Photos -- Spring 1969
  • Bank Restoration -- Photos -- Spring 1969
  • Dancing is their thing -- Photos -- Spring 1969
  • The Iowan -- Spring 1969
  • Iowa's Gemstones -- Photos -- Spring 1969
  • Iowa's Time Machine -- Photos -- Spring 1969
  • Stone City Art Colony -- Photos of Grant Wood -- Spring 1969
  • Box 34:
  • Big Power in a Small Field (Tractor Pulls)-Photos-Summer - 1969
  • Davenport Art Gallery -- Photos-Summer - 1969
  • Davenport Public Museum -- Photos -- Summer 1969
  • Elliot Collection -- U of I Art Museum -- Photos -- Summer 1969
  • A Flair for the Air -- Photos -- Summer 1969
  • The Iowan -- Summer 1969
  • Sac City -- Photos -- Summer 1969
  • Victorian -- Oriental Home -- Photos -- Summer 1969
  • Winnebago's Happy Trail -- Photos -- Summer 1969
  • Architecture as Sculpture -- Photos -- Fall 1969
  • Black and White Covers -- Photos -- Fall 1969
  • Controversy Saves an Old Mill -- Photos -- Fall 1969
  • Historic Tour of Clermont -- Photos -- Fall 1969
  • The Iowan -- Fall 1969
  • Merci Amerique -- Photos -- Fall 1969
  • Red Rock -- Photos -- Fall 1969
  • Salem -- Yesterday and Today -- Photos -- Fall 1969
  • See and Smell Time (Children Visit a Farm) -- Photos -- Fall 1969
  • Box 35:
  • Amana Christmas -- Winter 1970
  • Anderson Home --Photos, correspondence, and manuscripts -- Winter 1970
  • Architectural Digest (Fall 1969) (Winter 1970)
  • Czech Heritage -- Winter 1970 -- Photos, correspondence, and manuscripts
  • Dodge House -- Winter 1970
  • Dodge House - Photographs -- Winter 1970
  • Drugs, Wadena -- Winter 1970 -- Photos and Manuscript
  • Indians -- Winter 1970 -- Photos, correspondence and manuscript
  • Iowa Record -- Winter 1970
  • The Iowan -- Winter 1970
  • Page Proofs -- Winter 1970
  • Paste-ups -- Winter 1970
  • Photographs -- Winter 1970
  • Prose Poet of the Prairie -- Winter 1970 -- (Herbert Quick)
    Photos, correspondence with Clarence Andrews and manuscript of Andrew's article on Quick
  • General -- Winter 1970
  • Box 36:
  • The Capitol -- Photos -- Spring - 1970
  • Color Photographs -- Spring 1970
  • Dubuque Visitor -- Photos -- Spring 1970
  • The Iowan -- Spring 1970
  • Koss Garden -- Photos -- Spring 1970
  • McGregor -- Photos -- Spring 1970
  • Marvin Cone -- Photos -- Spring 1970
  • The Open Market -- Photos --Spring 1970
  • Orchard Place -- Photos -- Spring 1970
  • Sister Churches -- Photos -- Spring 1970
  • Suddenly It's Spring -- Photos -- Spring 1970
  • Vanishing Windmill -- Photos -- Spring 1970
  • MacNider Article
  • MacNider Manuscripts
  • Box 37:
  • Danish Communities -- Summer 1970
  • Floyd Dell -- Summer 1970 -- Julie McDonald Correspondence and manuscript
  • Hamlin Garland -- Summer 1970 --
  • Clarence Andrews correspondence and manuscript
  • Iowa Arts Council -- Summer 1970 -- Julie McDonald manuscript
  • Iowa City Printers -- Summer 1970
  • Iowa Record -- Summer 1970
  • The Iowan -- Summer 1970
  • Iowa's Vanishing Prairie -- Summer 1970 -- Oneita Fisher correspondence and manuscript
  • Kelly's Army -- Summer 1970
  • Line Drawings -- Summer 1970
  • Page Proofs -- Summer 1970
  • Photographs -- Summer 1970
  • Public TV -- Summer 1970 -- John A. Montgomery correspondence and manuscript
  • Seminole Valley Farmhouse -- Summer - 1970
  • General -- Summer 1970
  • Box 38:
  • Buffalo Bill -- Fall 1970
  • Clay County Fair -- Photos -- Fall 1970
  • General Management -- Fall 1970 -- Photos and Manuscripts
  • Inner City (Des Moines) -- Fall - 1970
    Manuscript and Photos
  • Iowa Record -- Fall 1970
  • The Iowan -- Fall 1970
  • John Noe -- Fall 1970 -- Manuscript and Photographic negatives
  • Page Proofs -- Fall 1970
  • Paste-ups -- Fall 1970
  • Photographs -- Fall 1970
  • Schwartz Home -- Fall 1970 -- Photos and Manuscript
  • Soap Making -- Fall 1970 -- Photos, correspondence and manuscript
  • Thunderwoman Park -- Fall 1970
  • General -- Fall 1970
  • Box 39:
  • Albia -- Spring 1971
  • Bird Watching -- Spring 1971 -- Photos, correspondence and manuscript
  • Cars -- Spring 1971
  • LeComte de Cedar Rapids" (Carl VanVechten) -- Spring 1971 -- Clarence "
  • A. Andrews correspondence, photos, and manuscript
  • Correspondence -- Le Comte de Cedar Rapids" -- Spring 1971 -- Clarence "
  • A. Andrews
  • Farmyard Families -- Photos -- Spring 1971
  • The Great Mound Builder Hoax -- Spring 1971 -- Marshall McKusick manuscript
  • Iowa City Project Green -- Photos-Spring - 1970
  • Iowa Record -- Spring 1971
  • The Iowan -- Spring 1971
  • Kite Article -- Spring 1971 -- Photos, correspondence and manuscript
  • Medical Schools -- Spring 1971 -- Harrison Weber Manuscript
  • Page Proofs -- Spring 1971
  • Paste-ups -- Spring 1971
  • Photographs -- Spring 1971
  • Stevens Home Muscatine -- Spring 1971 -- Photos, correspondence and manuscripts
  • General -- Spring 1971
  • Box 40:
  • Correspondence -- Summer 1971--
  • including letters from John T. Frederick, Clarence A. Andrews, and Julie McDonald
  • Crandall's Lodge -- Summer 1971 -- photos and manuscript
  • Iowa Record -- Summer 1971
  • The Iowan -- Summer 1971
  • Memories of Okoboji -- Photos -- Summer 1971
  • Page Proofs -- Summer 1971
  • Paste-ups -- Summer 1971
  • Photographs -- Summer 1971
  • Pre-Columbian Art -- Summer 1971 -- Marshall McKusick
  • Roberta's Miracle -- Summer 1971 -- Julie McDonald Manuscript
  • Spinning Wheels -- Summer 1971 -- Photos, correspondence and manuscript
  • The Ultimate Collection (Things & Things -- Iowa City) -- Summer 1971
  • Vacation Farm -- Summer - 1971
    Photos and Manuscript
  • Vinson Article -- Summer 1971
  • When Iowa was as Wild as the West -- Summer 1971
  • General -- Summer 1971

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
English & American Literature
Writers Archive at Iowa
Newspaper & Magazine Editors & Publishers