Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Delbert L. Trowbridge Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1969-1973
Creator: Trowbridge, Delbert L. (1903-1973)
Extent: 5.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0286
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Iowa state legislator. Correspondence and subject files relating to legislative issues, Charles City and Iowa City, Iowa, and the Iowa Development Commission.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Donated to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1973, by Mrs. D. L. Trowbridge.

Preferred Citation: Delbert L. Trowbridge Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Delbert Laten Trowbridge (1903 -- 1973) was a businessman and Iowa legislator. He was the director of the Iowa Retail Grocers Association and president of the Charles City Industrial Development Corporation. He was elected to the Iowa legislature for two terms but died before completing his second.

The collection is divided into two series: Correspondence and Subject files. There are two boxes of correspondence that include letters from Robert D. Ray. The remainder of the collection consists of subject files. Topics range from Charles City, Iowa, to the Iowa Development Commission as well as issues that he was involved with in the state legislature such as abortion, reapportionment, and taxation.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 2: SUBJECT FILES

  • Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • January-May - 1969-1971
    including letters from Robert D. Ray and H. R. Gross
  • Box 2:
  • June-December - 1971-1973
    including letters from Jack Miller, Robert D. Ray and William J. Scherle
  • Series 2: SUBJECT FILES
  • Box 3:
  • Abortion
  • Abortion letters - 1971
    2 folders
  • Abortion letters - 1973
  • Area Jails
  • Assistance Grant Programs Study Committee
  • Box 4:
  • Charles City Activities
  • Charles City Industrial Development Corporation
    2 folders
  • Cities and towns -- mileage
  • Clippings, photos, and campaign material
  • Commission on the Aging
  • County government -- Floyd
  • County school system
  • Dome Pipeline from Empress, Alberta, Canada, to Windsor, Ontario, Canada
  • Box 5:
  • Delbert L. Trowbridge Itinerary - 1971
  • Department of Environmental Quality
  • Educational Television
  • 18 percent Revolving Credit Bill
  • Election year Manual - 1972
  • Fire Marshal Benefits Retirement
  • Follow-Up Work
  • Food Stamp Program
  • Governor's Budget Hearings - 1970
    2 folders
  • Governor's Educational Advisory Committee Higher Education, Schools
  • Hospital Bill
  • Box 6:
  • I-380 Corridor Public Hearing
  • Iowa Cities and Towns
  • Iowa Commission for the Blind
  • Iowa Development Commission
    2 folders
  • Iowa Educational Broadcasting Network
  • Iowa Farm Bureau Federation Materials
  • Iowa Highway Commission
  • Iowa Legislative Council
  • Iowa Liquor Control Commission
  • Iowa Tuition Grants Letters
  • Box 7:
  • Judicial Reform
  • Labor bill
  • Law enforcement
    2 folders
  • Legislative bills
  • Legislative letters by D. L. Trowbridge
  • Legislative matters - 1973
  • Life Underwriters
  • Meat Inspection
  • Box 8:
  • Miscellaneous legislative material
  • Motorcycle helmets
  • Parochial Schools
  • Political contacts in Mitchell County
  • Pollution
  • Portrait drivers license program
  • Public assistance programs (Aid to Dependent Children, Social Security Benefits, Welfare Reform, etc.)
  • Box 9:
  • Reapportionment
    2 folders
  • Removal tax exemption for some real property
  • Republican Party materials
  • Resolutions by cities
  • School aid plans
  • Schools
  • Studded tires
  • Tax information
  • Box 10:
  • Trowbridge bills
  • Truck bill
  • Turkey River recreational area
  • Unified trial court, S.F. 428
  • Veterans bill, H.F. 1300
  • Ways and means
    3 folders
  • Wine bill, H. F. 1056
  • World Food Exposition, H.F. 1156