Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Fred J. Poyneer Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1939-1972
Creator: Poyneer, Fred J. (1885-1973)
Extent: 1.00 linear foot.
Collection Number: MSC0285
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Member of the Iowa State Conservation Commission. Correspondence and subject files relating to the Conservation Commission.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Box 2; Memorabilia in Box 2.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by Edward J. Poyneer in 1973.

Preferred Citation: Fred J. Poyneer Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Born in Williamsburg, Iowa, Frederick Julian Poyneer (1885 -- 1973) was a long-time resident of Cedar Rapids, Iowa, where for sixty-five years he operated an insurance business. Poyneer was a member of the State Conservation Commission from 1939 to 1951, and also served as the chairman. His other abiding interest was scouting. He was instrumental in bringing scouting to Cedar Rapids and was a past president for the area Boy Scout council.

The papers of Fred J. Poyneer consist of one linear foot of manuscripts which are arranged alphabetically. Correspondence, subject files, and clippings make up the collection, most of which is related to conservation issues. There are letters from Clyde L. Herring, Jay N. Darling, Louise L. Parker, Bruce F. Stiles, and Ewald G. Trost. The subject files include Conservation Commission reports and reviews as well as folders on specific projects such as sewage disposal or wildlife management. There are also photographs and memorabilia.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 2: GENERAL

  • Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence - 1939-1949
    Including letters from Clyde L. Herring (2), J. N. Darling (8), Mrs. Addison (Louise L.) Parker (5), Bruce F. Stiles (4), Wm. S. Beardsley (1), and George A. Wilson (1)
  • Correspondence - 1950-1958
    Including letters from J. N. Darling (4), Hugh W. Lundy (1), Irving D. Long (1), Ewald G. Trost (2), and Bruce F. Stiles (1)
  • Correspondence - 1959-1972
    Including letters from Ewald G. Trost, Bruce F. Stiles, J. N. Darling (2), Norman A. Erbe, and Louise Parker
  • Series 2: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • A Joint Report to Gov. Robert D. Blue and the Iowa Conservation Commission
    Prepared by the Conservation Study Committee Appointed by the governor and Ira N. Gabrielson
  • Miscellaneous conservation items
  • Newspaper clippings, including obituaries
  • Preliminary Report on Sewerage Disposal Facilities for Iowa Great Lakes Region, Dickinson County, Iowa. Prepared for Iowa State Conservation Commission - 1950
  • Box 2:
  • Photographs
    Including pictures of Robert Blue, William S. Beardsley, George Wilson, J. N. Darling, and Bourke Hickenlooper
  • Prairie Creek Power Station Mechanical Condensing Water Supply
  • Special Capital Improvements, Senate File 389-52, State Conservation Commission
  • State Conservation Commission Departmental Organization and Explanation of Duties
  • A Ten Year Program for the Iowa State Conservation Commission - 1958
    Prepared by the Wildlife Management Institute
  • Memorabilia

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
Iowa State Conservation Commission

Topics:
Conservation of natural resources

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Clippings (Information artifacts)