Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Paul G. Norris Jr. Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1948-1984
Creator: Norris Jr., Paul G. (1904-1985)
Extent: 3.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0283
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Editor and publisher in Marshalltown, Iowa. Office and family correspondence, subject files, and speeches.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Mr. Norris gave his papers to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1973. Additions to the collection were given in 1979 and 1984.

Preferred Citation: Paul G. Norris Jr. Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc


Newspaper editor and publisher, Paul Gifford Norris, Jr. (1904 -- 1985) was born in Grinnell, Iowa. He began his career in Chicago as a reporter and rewrite man. In 1927, he joined the staff of the Marshalltown [i]Times-Republican[/i], remaining there for nearly sixty years. He worked successively as the sports editor, state editor, and city editor. He left for a brief time to run the newspaper's radio affiliate, KFJB of Marshalltown. Norris was the editor and publisher of the [i]Times-Republican[/i] from 1949 until his retirement in 1980. He was named Iowa Master Editor-Publisher by the Iowa Press Association in 1956, and was president of the organization from 1974 to 1975.
Paul Norris was a member of the board of directors of Blue Cross - Blue Shield of Iowa and of the Inland Press Association. An active Republican, he was a delegate to the Republican National Conventions in 1956 and 1968. The only non-player ever elected to the hall of fame of the Iowa Amateur Athletic Union, he helped found the Iowa AAU Basketball Tournament in 1947. Paul G. Norris, Jr. was eighty years old when he died of injuries suffered in an automobile accident.

The papers of Paul G. Norris, Jr. consist of three linear feet of manuscripts dating from 1948 to 1984. Most of the collection is made up of correspondence, dealing with family matters, newspaper business, and politics. Some of the correspondents include: Philip D. Adler, Gerald L. Bogan, Terry E. Branstad, Dick Clark, Sonja Carlsen Egenes, Charles E. Grassley, H.R. Gross, Roger W. Jepsen, Ann Landers, Karl M. LeCompte, Kenneth MacDonald, Thomas E. Martin, Jack Miller, Merle Miller, Richard M. Nixon, Frank T. Nye, Robert R. Rigler, Jean Seberg, Neal Smith, and Lew Warren. The remainder of the collection is made up of two folders of materials relating to the 1968 Republican National Convention and two folders of speeches given by Norris from 1949 to 1978.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 2: SPEECHES
Series 3: ADDENDUM 1979
Series 4: ADDENDUM 1984

  • Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • Personal correspondence - 1948-1951
    Including letters from H.R. Gross
  • Personal correspondence - 1951-1955
    Including letters from H.R. Gross, Estes Kefauver and Richard M. Nixon
  • Congratulatory letters for the Master Editor Award and election to membership in the American Society of Newspaper Editors - 1956-1957
    Including letters from Thomas E. Martin, Otha D. Wearin, and Paul Franzenburg
  • Personal correspondence - 1958-1960
    Including letters from Verne R. Martin, Thomas E. Martin, Kenneth MacDonald, Leo A. Hoegh, and Robert K. Beck
  • Personal correspondence - 1961-1964
    Including letters from Philip D. Adler, H.R. Gross, John M. Henry, Jack Miller (plus signed photograph), Lew Warren, Karl M. LeCompte, Howard R. Bowen, Bourke B. Hickenlooper, Richard M. Nixon and Ann Landers
  • Personal correspondence - 1965-1970
    Including letters from Philip D. Adler, Sonja Egenes, Ernest A. Hayes, H. R. Gross, Ronald Reagan, Kenneth MacDonald, Jack Miller, Robert D. Ray, Duane E. Dewel, and Ann Landers
  • Political correspondence - 1970-1971
    Including letters from Robert D. Rigler and Mrs. Elizabeth R. Miller
  • Personal correspondence - 1971-1972
    Including letters from William D. Proxmire, H.R. Gross, Jean Seberg, and Merle Miller
  • Box 2:
  • Correspondence with David Ulmer Norris - 1951-1971
    4 folders
  • Correspondence with David Ulmer Norris - 1951-1971
    4 folders
  • Correspondence with David Ulmer Norris - 1951-1971
    4 folders
  • Correspondence with David Ulmer Norris - 1951-1971
    4 folders
  • Box 3:
  • Correspondence with Donald Nixon Morris - 1951-1961
  • Correspondence with Paul G. Norris, IIIinois - 1955-1966
    4 folders
  • Correspondence with Paul G. Norris, IIIinois - 1955-1966
    4 folders
  • Correspondence with Paul G. Norris, IIIinois - 1955-1966
    4 folders
  • Correspondence with Paul G. Norris, IIIinois - 1955-1966
    4 folders
  • University of Missouri School of Journalism Community Service Award - 1951
  • Box 4:
  • Republican National Convention - 1968
    Including letters from Mrs. Elmer M. (Mary Louise) Smith, Charles E. Wittenmeyer, Sonja C. Egenes, H.R. Gross, Karl M. LeCompte, and Robert R. Rigler; 2 folders
  • Republican National Convention - 1968
    Including letters from Mrs. Elmer M. (Mary Louise) Smith, Charles E. Wittenmeyer, Sonja C. Egenes, H.R. Gross, Karl M. LeCompte, and Robert R. Rigler; 2 folders
  • Series 2: SPEECHES
  • Box 4:
  • Speeches - 1949-1973
  • Series 3: ADDENDUM 1979
  • Box 5:
  • Personal correspondence - 1971-1975
    Including letters from Dick Clark, Lew Warren, H.R. Gross, John S. Murray, David M. Stanley, Charles E. Grassley, and Neal Smith
  • Personal correspondence - 1976-1979
    Including letters from Dick Clark, Terry E. Branstad, and Maurice Van Nostrand
  • Personal correspondence form his stepson, Dick Talmadge - 1960-1964
  • Speeches - 1973-1978
  • Series 4: ADDENDUM 1984
  • Box 6:
  • Personal correspondence - 1960-1969
  • Personal correspondence - 1971-1980
    Including letters from Charles E. Grassley, Roger W. Jepsen and Ernest A. Hayes
  • Personal correspondence; speech entitled "Early Recollections of Marshalltown" - 1981-1984
    Including letters from George Mills, Gerald L. Bogan, Frank T. Nye and Carl Hamilton
  • Clippings - 1974; 1985