Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the W. Lee Garner Targets' Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1959-1964
Creator: Garner, W. Lee
Extent: 1.75 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0282
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Poetry magazine. Correspondence from poets and subscribers, manuscripts of poems, page layouts and dummy sheets.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Gift of Lee Garner in 1972-1973.

Preferred Citation: W. Lee Garner Targets' Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

This collection is comprised of materials for Targets, a poetry magazine published in the early to mid nineteen sixties. Included are layouts and cover design, plates, and proofs, as well as manuscripts for some of the poems. In addition, correspondence about the magazine makes up a portion of this collection. Exchange magazines and books have been removed from the collection, since there are copies of most of these in Main Library.
Targets, Nos. 1 -15. Special Collections x PS301 T3 or Main Library, no call number

Browse by Series:
Series 1: TARGETS PREPUBLICATION MATERIALS
Series 2: MANUSCRIPTS
Series 3: CORRESPONDENCE RELATING TO TARGETS
Series 4: MISCELLANEOUS

  • Series 1: TARGETS PREPUBLICATION MATERIALS
  • Box 1:
  • No. 3: mss., page layouts. September - 1960
  • No. 4: page layouts. December - 1960
  • No. 5: page layouts, photostats of artwork. April - 1961
  • No. 6: page layouts. June - 1961
  • No. 7: mss., page layouts. September - 1961
  • No. 8: mss., page layouts. December - 1961
  • No. 9: page layouts, plates, proofs. March - 1962
  • No. 10: page layouts. June - 1962
  • No. 11: page layouts. September - 1962
  • No. 13 and No. 14: dummies
  • No. 16 - 18: dummy title and contents pages
  • Series 2: MANUSCRIPTS
  • Box 2:
  • Alpaugh, Lloyd. 3 poems
  • Anthony, Mother Marcy, S.H.C.J. 2 poems
  • Aukenbrand, Frank, Jr. 2 poems
  • Bell, Marvin. 6 poems
  • Brodsky, Mimi. 1 poem
  • Bukowski, Charles. 26 poems, 1 T.L.S.
  • Carver, Raymond. 1 poem
  • Chew, Byron. 3 poem
  • Chopelas, John. 2 poems
  • Corrington, William. 2 poems
  • Crews, Judson. 9 poems
  • Crowell, John J. 1 ????
  • Davis, Rik. 1 poem, 1 letter
  • DeJong, David Cornel. 6 poems
  • Delattre, Pierre-Henri. 2 poems
  • Dimon, Theodore. 1 poem
  • Drachler, Trumbull. 2 poems
  • Feinsmith, Deborah. 1 poem
  • Ferguson, Joseph. 1 poem
  • Fison, Peter. 1 poem
  • Fitzsimmons, Thomas. 2 poems
  • Franklyn, A. Fredric. 5 poems
  • Frierson, Meade III. 1 poem
  • Frisco, G.T. 1 translation
  • Glen, Emilie. 2 poems
  • Henderson, Archibald, Jr. 1 poem
  • Hill, Carol. 1 poem
  • Inman, Will. 4 poems, 2 letters
  • Jenkinson, James M. 1 poem
  • Kliewer, Warren. 1 poem
  • Lilly, Jeanne. 1 poem
  • Lloyd-Jones, Richard. 1 letter A.L.S.
  • Locke, Duane. 1 poem
  • MacEwen, Gwendolyn. 1 poem
  • McKee, John D. 2 poems
  • Mazo, Julio Stagni. 1 letter
  • May, James Boyer. 1 poem
  • Murray, George. 2 poems
  • Myers, Neil. 2 poems
  • O'Broin, Padraig. 2 poems
  • Oden, G.C. 1 poem
  • Osterland, S.A. 4 poems
  • Petinella, D.M. 1 poem, 12 translations
  • Pinsker, Sanford. 2 poems
  • Remmerde, Joh. 7 poems
  • Rhodes, Robert E. 4 poems
  • Riccio, Ottone. 1 poem
  • Ristau, Harland. 3 poems
  • Schechner, Richard. 7 poems
  • Schultz, Dodi. 3 poems
  • Shaw, Charles. 4 poems
  • Smith, Howard, Jr. 1 poem
  • Stefanile, Felix. 2 poems
  • Taylor, William @. 1 poem
  • Teitelbaum, John. 1 poem
  • Thompson, Tracy. 7 poems, 11 poems
  • Wade, John Stevens. 1 poem
  • Waugh, James C. 2 poems
  • Weeks, Robert Lewis. 1 poem
  • Weidman, Phil E. 8 poems (one with A. Note S.)
  • Wheatcroft, John. 4 poems
  • Whipple, William. 1 poem
  • Woodford, Bruce P. 1 poem
  • Zahn, Curtis. 1 poem
  • Series 3: CORRESPONDENCE RELATING TO TARGETS
  • Box 2:
  • Abbott, Emile (2)
  • Angell, Richard C.
  • Ankenbrand, Frank (5)
  • Anthony, Mother Mary
  • Beecher, John (3)
  • Bell, Marvin (16)
  • Bennett, John Z.
  • Bernstein, Leonard S.
  • Boggs, W. Arthur (3)
  • Bohn, Donald W.
  • Boli, Todd
  • Bonheim, Helmut (3)
  • Bowers, Helen V. (2)
  • Bradley, Sam
  • Brodsky, Mimi (2)
  • Browder, Clifford (3)
  • Brown, Ronale
  • Bruce, Donald
  • Bukowski, Charles (19)
  • Calvert, M.M.
  • Carlson, Alida
  • Chatfield, E. Hale
  • Chew, Byron.
  • Chopelas, John (2)
  • Cope, Gladys Powell
  • Corrington, William (23)
  • Crews, Judson (5)
  • Crosby, Harry
  • Crowell, John J.
  • DeJong, David (5)
  • Delattre, Pierre Henri
  • Denny, Walter Leslie
  • Depew, W.M.
  • Dobert, Janet H. (2)
  • Dworkin, Martin S.
  • Feinsmith, Deborah
  • Fison, Peter (2)
  • Fitzsimmons, Thomas (2)
  • Flory, Raymond
  • Fojtik, Sonja (2)
  • Forman, Audrey Helene
  • Fox, Siv Cedering (2)
  • Franklyn, A. Fredric (3)
  • French, Warren (2)
  • Frierson, Meade (2)
  • Frisco, G.T. 1 translation
  • Glen, Emile (2)
  • Goggins, Carolyn
  • Golson, Anne Beale
  • Haddick, Vern (2)
  • Hauer, Elizabeth Norris
  • Hill, Jean
  • Hinsdale, Lila Lane (2)
  • Hitchcock, George
  • Holland, Barbara A.
  • Holland, Lee (2)
  • Hollo, Anselm
  • Inman, Will (6)
  • Jalades, Edmundo
  • Jewell, Foster
  • Johnson, J.K.
  • Johnson, Margaret Lee (3)
  • Justice, Donald
  • K , Sheppard B.
  • Keyser, George (5)
  • Kliewer, Warren (6)
  • Kline, Lloyd W.
  • Lambert, Witha
  • Larsen, Carl (2)
  • Larson, Mrs. G.
  • Larsson, Knut
  • LeGrand, W. Ames (2)
  • Levin, Millea
  • Lewis, Janet
  • Lieberman, Morris
  • Locke, Duane. 1 poem
  • Lord, Gigi (6)
  • Lowell, Jim (4)
  • Lund, Mary Graham (9)
  • McBride, Richard
  • Mcculloch, Frank, Jr.
  • MacEwen, Gwendolyn (5)
  • Madden, Edgar
  • Malone, M. (2)
  • Martin, E.R.
  • Mauzy, Wayne L.
  • May, B. (8)
  • Mendenhall, Dorothy
  • Mermelstein, Neil
  • Miller, Cecilia Parsons
  • Miller, Charlotte
  • Moeckel, Fred (2)
  • Munn, Thomas David (2)
  • Murphy, Joseph Colin (2)
  • Myers, Neil. 2 poems
  • Newman, Paul B. (3)
  • Northnagel, E.W. (11)
  • O'Broin, Padraig (2)
  • Oden, G.C. (4)
  • Owen, Guy
  • Papayianis, Milton
  • Patchen, Miriam (2)
  • Pebworth, Ted-Larry
  • Perlman, Jess
  • Pettinella, Dora M. (9)
  • Pillsbury, Dale
  • Pinsker, Sanford (6)
  • Price, Marilyn
  • Putnam, Mary Ann
  • Rambo, Ruth E.
  • Randall, Margaret
  • Remmerde, Jon (3)
  • Riccio, Ottone M. (2)
  • Rogers, Vern
  • Rosenhouse, Archie
  • Sabisch, Vivian R.
  • Saunders, Sally
  • Schechner, Richard
  • Schonfeld, Marcia
  • Schultz, Dodi (5)
  • Shelton, Ralph
  • Smith, Marcus (2)
  • Snyder, Arlis M.
  • Snyder, E. Nel
  • Stefanile, Felix (2)
  • Swenson, Margaret E.
  • Swetman, Glenn R.
  • Taylor, William E. (2)
  • Teitelbaum, John (9)
  • Teitelbaum, Lenla (1)
  • Thompson, Opal
  • Tibbs, Ben (6)
  • Tifft, Ellen
  • Ungar, Florence
  • Vogel, Albert
  • Wade, Seth
  • wakoski, Diane
  • Wang, David Rafael (5)
  • Waters, Wanda (2)
  • Waugh, Jim (2)
  • Webb, Jon Edgar (5)
  • Weeks, Bob (2)
  • Weidman, Hilda S.
  • Weidman, Phil E. 9 poems (one with A. Note S.)
  • Weissbuch, Ted N.
  • Wheatcroft, John (4)
  • Wiebe, Dallas E. (2)
  • Williams, Loring
  • Williams, Miller (2)
  • Wilson, Jack
  • Wilson, Keith (4)
  • Woodford, Bruce P. (5)
  • Wright, Celeste
  • Wymer, Thomas L.
  • Zahn, Curtis (2)
  • Series 4: MISCELLANEOUS
  • Box 2:
  • Copyright certificates, releases, clippings, checks
  • Miscellaneous layout notes

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
English & American Literature
Writers Archive at Iowa
Editors & Publishers