Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Ewald George Trost Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1925-1972
Creator: Trost, Ewald George (1898-1972)
Extent: 9.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: MSC0278
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Member of the Iowa State Conservation Commission. Subject folders and scrapbooks relating to conservation issues and the American Legion.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Box 2.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was donated to the University of Iowa Libraries by Ermalee Trost in 1973.

Preferred Citation: Ewald George Trost Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Ewald George Trost was born in Fort Dodge, Iowa, in 1898. In 1913, he graduated from Concordia College in St. Paul, Minnesota. In 1918, Trost enlisted at Great Lakes Naval Training Station for duty during World War I, and was discharged the following year. Between 1920 and 1922, he graduated from the University of Denver, got married, and started his insurance agency in Fort Dodge.

Trost served as the commander of the American Legion Post from 1924 to 1925, and was a drummer and assistant manager of the drum corps from 1924 to 1938. During this time, he was named national champion of the drum corps in 1926, and attended the American Legion national convention in Paris, France.

Other positions of service included his membership on the Fort Dodge Board of Education in 1940, and his 1945 appointment to the Iowa State Conservation Commission, a position he was reappointed to in 1951. He served as chair of the commission in 1949, the same year he was appointed to the Iowa Natural Resources Council. He retired from these two positions in 1957.

The Lions Club bestowed their Community Service Award upon Trost in 1955. He received the Golden Rule Award from the Kiwanis Club in 1966, the same year he became the project director of the Fort Dodge Neighborhood Youth Corps.

Trost retired from his insurance business in 1960 and became a Republican candidate for State Representative from Webster County in 1962. He died in Fort Dodge in 1972.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Artificial Lakes
  • Fort Dodge Area Conservation
  • Gabrielson Report
  • Iowa State Conservation Commission Correspondence - 1953-1959
  • Poyneer, Fred
  • Special report, The Iowa Conservation Commission, Office of the Auditor of State - 1953
  • Speech materials
  • Box 2:
  • American Legion - 1925-1928
    Includes a letter and photographs from John Hammill
  • American Legion and World War II - 1927-1946
    Includes a letter from Hanford MacNider
  • Conservation Commission - 1945-1952
    Includes 9 autographed copies of the Lake Darling dedication pamphlet of September 17, 1950, signed by J. N. "Ding" Darling
  • Conservation materials - 1945-1966
  • Brushy Creek Park - 1965-1971
  • Newspaper clippings regarding the American Legion - 1925-1931
  • Newspaper clippings - 1946-1972
  • Scrapbook No.3, Iowa Conservation Commission - 1945-1952
    Includes letters from William Beardsley, Robert Bleu, J.N. "Ding" Darling, Hanford MacNider, and Fred Poyneer
  • Scrapbook No.4, American Legion Drum and Bugle Corps - 1927-1944
    including letters from Fred C. Gilchrist, Guy Gillette, Clyde Herring, Hanford MacNider, Max Schmeling, and Dan Turner
  • Scrapbook No.5, American Legion and Second AEF Trip to Europe [Paris] - 1927

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
American Legion
Iowa State Conservation Commission
Iowa State Conservation Commission

Topics:
Conservation of natural resources

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Fort Dodge
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Scrapbooks