Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Harry Freeland Garrett Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1911-1971
Creator: Garrett, Harry Freeland (1887-1971)
Extent: 2.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0276
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Iowa Supreme Court Justice and Iowa state legislator. Subject files relating to his career in law and politics. Includes correspondence, legal cases, law school reunions, etc.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1972, by Mrs. Harry F. Garrett.

Preferred Citation: Harry Freeland Garrett Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Harry Freeland Garrett was born in Corydon, Iowa, in 1887. He graduated from the University of Iowa Law School in 1911 and was admitted to the Iowa Bar the same year. Returning to Corydon, he began a law practice. From 1913 to 1918 he was the county attorney for Wayne County, a position that he again held from 1929 to 1931. In 1931, Garrett was elected to Iowa's State House of Representatives. In 1933, he became Iowa's Attorney General, serving until 1937, when he resumed his law practice in Corydon. From 1958 to 1960, Harry F. Garrett served as a justice on the Iowa Supreme Court. He died in Corydon, Iowa, in 1971.

The papers of Harry F. Garrett date from 1911 to 1971 and document his legal and political career. The two boxes which house his papers contain subject files including individual court cases, speeches, and memorabilia from his 60th law school class reunion. Correspondence, including letters from Jake More, is found throughout the collection and concerns the courts, politics, and campaigns.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Beulah L. Schofield et al v. Rollin S. White, et al, Affirmed, January - 1959
  • Carl E. Johnson et al v. Iowa State Highway Commission, Richard P. Knight et al, Glenn LeRoy Selby et al
  • Citations notebook
  • Clippings
  • Court correspondence
  • Speech, dedication of Wayne County Court House
  • Law class reunion
  • Miscellaneous
  • Speech, Order of the COIF - 1961
  • Box 2:
  • Politics, including letters from Jake More
  • Rauch v. American Radiator & Standard Corp. - 1960
  • Redfield v. Iowa State Highway Commission, Reversed and remanded
  • Supreme Court campaign (including letters from Jake More)
  • Van Patten v. C.R.I. & P., Reversed - 1960
  • Box 3: Separate Package
  • Law degree, University of Iowa - 1911
  • Certificate of admission, Supreme Court of Iowa - 1911

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
Iowa Supreme Court
University of Iowa. College of Law

Topics:
Political campaigns

Occupations:
Judges
Legislators
Politicians

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Corydon
United States -- Iowa
United States -- Iowa -- Wayne County

Genre/Form of Materials:
Speeches