Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Joseph E. Evans Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1935-1971
Creator: Evans, Joseph E. (1919-1971)
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0275
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Editorial page editor of the Wall Street Journal. Correspondence, clippings and photographs relating to his editorial work, his experience in World War II, and his days as a graduate student at the University of Iowa.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Box 1.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University by Mrs. J. E. Evans in 1973.

Preferred Citation: Joseph E. Evans Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Joseph Early Evans (1919 -- 1971) was born in Dubuque, Iowa. He was an alumnus of Loras College, the University of Southern California, and the University of Iowa. He earned both a B.A. and M.A. at Iowa.
 
After serving in the Army during W.W.II, Evans began writing for The Wall Street Journal in 1946. One of his first assignments was as a foreign correspondent covering Germany, France, Belgium, Holland, Italy, Czechoslovakia, and Poland. In 1950 he was appointed foreign editor and two years later he took over as chief of the Journal's Washington bureau. By 1953 he was an associate editor, and in 1965 he was named the Journal's Senior Associate Editor. Throughout the 1950s and 1960s he made extensive reporting tours of places such as the Soviet Union, India, Africa, and South America. Evans became the editor of the editorial page of the Wall Street Journal in 1970.
 
Joseph E. Evans was honored with many awards during his career. While still in college, he was awarded the Irving Babbitt Memorial Prize for literary criticism. He later received the Silurian Society Award for editorial writing five times, the Freedom Foundations Award three times, and the Distinguished Service Award of the American Artists Professional League.

The collection includes newspaper stories Evans wrote on India and South America as well as his award-winning editorials. Correspondence includes both business and personal material, dealing with topics ranging from the English Department at the University of Iowa to Evans' personal experiences during W.W.II. Reviews, biographical material, and photographs make up the remainder of his small collection of papers.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Reviews of Joseph E. Evans, Through Soviet Windows. New York: Dow Jones & Co., Inc. - 1957
  • Reviews of Arthur Settel, This is Germany: A Report on Post War Germany by 21 Newspaper Correspondents. New York: William Sloane Associates - 1950
    Joseph E. Evans contributed one of the reports.
  • Stories on India - 1959
  • Stories on South America - 1962
  • Collection of award-winning editorials - 1969-1970
  • Editorials - 1971, 1972
    2 published posthumously
  • Draft of a letter -- last piece of writing of Joseph E. Evans
  • The Wall Street Journal on the death of Joseph E. Evans
  • Eulogy for J. E. Evans given by Vermont C. Royster at Memorial services held at Huguenot Memorial Church, Pelham, New York, and Memorial service prayer
  • Fortune magazine story on The Wall Street Journal, August - 1971
  • Biographical sketch of J. E. Evans
    1 page typewritten
  • Photographs
  • Personal letters of J. E. Evans - 1935-1954
    Many of the letters from the period 1940 -- 1942 deal with the English Department at the University of Iowa (references to Professor Wilbur Schramm, Norman Foerster, John McGalliard, Baldwin Maxwell, and Seymour Pitcher). Also, correspondence, 1943 -- 1945, concerning personal involvement in the World War.
  • Business Correspondence - 1961-1971
  • Letters about J. E. Evans on his death