Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Freeman Hydraulics Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1920-1930
Creator: Freeman, John Ripley (1855-1932)
Extent: .50 linear foot.
Collection Number: MSC0271
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Consulting engineer. Topics of interest to Freeman included water power, dams, power plants, river control and management, hydraulics laboratories, and water supply.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs throughout.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were purchased by the University of Iowa Libraries in January 2006. Guide posted to Internet: April 2006.

Preferred Citation: Freeman Hydraulics Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Though he spent his professional life in the factory fire insurance business, according to Walter Spear (see inventory) John Ripley Freeman's (1855 -- 1932) "recreation" was hydraulics. He wrote and spoke extensively on many related topics, and served as a consulting engineer on projects across the United States, as well as in Canada and Mexico. Topics of interest to Freeman included water power, dams, power plants, river control and management, hydraulics laboratories, and water supply.

This collection consists of two reports, sketeches and photographs, a memoir, and photocopies of letters from three presidents. Some of the reports are thought to be research for his contribution to the book Die Wasserbaulaboratorien Europas.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Hydraulics: Hydraulics Schools and Labs. European Labs.
    Contents of a large envelope. 27 photographs. Some have captions; most do not. Some have Th. Rehbock's name on them.
  • Instruments/Hydraulic Structures Laboratory/Royal Technical University/Stockholm.
    42 pages, with photographs and bulding plans with annotations. Some longer descriptions. Photostatic copy.
  • Letters to Freeman from Presidents T. Roosevelt, Taft, and Wilson.
    Photocopies
  • Lundquist, Eric. Water Works Laboratories and Hydraulic Equipment Works, Also Similar Equipments: Condensed account of observations made duing a study tour in the summer of 1920, through Germany, Switzerland, German-Austria, Techecko-Slovakia, and the free city of Dantzic.
    Lundquist was a civil Engineer, First Assistant at the Royal Technical University's Water Works Laboratories. Approximately 75 pages. Swedish text with typewritten English translation. Descriptions and photographs of lab buildings and equipment at technical universities, water works laboratories, and shipbuilding departments in Dresden, Karlsruhe, Berlin, Darmstadt, Braunschweig, Wien, Dantzic, Brunn, Graz, Munchen, and Bern. Photostatic copy.
  • Sketches and photographs of hydraulics lab equipment and buildings, including the villa of Stras[bourg?]. The bookseller's note listed these as "graphics to illustrate a book or article about the Istituto Idrotechnico di Stra -- Publication in Italy - 1920-1929
  • Spear, Walter E. "John Ripley Freeman." "Memoirs of Deceased Members."
    Unknown publication

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.