Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the George Weber Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1955-1969
Creator: Weber, George (1883-1972)
Extent: 2.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0269
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Businessman and Iowa state senator. Subject files, correspondence, campaign material, legislation, and speeches documenting his legislative career.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Boxes 2, 5

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The Weber papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1972 by Mr. and Mrs. Lyle Weber.

Preferred Citation: George Weber Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

A native of Wapello, Iowa, George William Weber (1883-1972) graduated from the Iowa State Teachers College, now the University of Northern Iowa, in 1905. He did post-graduate work at the University of Iowa and the University of Michigan and began his career as a schoolteacher. In 1905 he became the superintendent of schools in Crawfordsville, Iowa. Remaining there until 1908, he moved to Columbus Junction where he was again the school superintendent until 1914. Entering private business, he operated a feed and grain business for over forty years. He also helped organize the Columbus Junction State Bank and was its president for more than thirty years. Active in community affairs, he served on the school board, was a member of the Louisa County fair board, and was a Mason. George W. Weber was elected to two terms in the Iowa State Senate as a Republican. He died in Columbus Junction at the age of eighty-nine.

The majority of the papers in the George W. Weber collection relate to the time he spent in the state senate. This includes correspondence, campaign materials, speeches, and copies of bills. Subject files exist on topics ranging from Iowa Civil War Centennial Commission to banking, road funds to schools, and utilities to the Mississippi River Parkway Planning Commission.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 2: LEGISLATIVE MATERIALS
Series 3: OVERSIZED MATERIALS

  • Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • Utilities - 1959
  • General Correspondence - 1959
  • Schools - 1959
  • Agricultural Land Tax Credit - 1961
  • Appointments: Lee Huston, Superintendent of Banking - 1961
  • Banking - 1961
  • Billboards on Interstate Highways - 1961
  • "Check Off" Bill - 1961
  • Claims - 1961
  • Conservation - 1961
  • Dentist Bill: S.F. 47 - 1961
  • Dog Seizure Bill: S.F. 225 - 1961
  • Escalator Pension Bill: S.F. - 1961
  • General Correspondence - 1961
  • IPEPS - 1961
  • Levees - 1961
    TLS, Thomas J. Dailey
  • Liquor "Implied Consent" Bill - 1961
  • Mental Health - 1961
  • Monies and Credits - 1961
  • Road Funds - 1961
  • Schools - 1961
  • Sixty-foot Truck Bill - 1961
  • Soldiers Relief - 1961
  • Visitors - 1961
  • General Correspondence - 1959-1969
  • Series 2: LEGISLATIVE MATERIALS
  • Box 2:
  • Campaign Material
  • Iowa Civil War Centennial Commission
  • Mississippi River Parkway Planning Commission
  • Newspaper Clippings
  • Photographs
  • Speeches
  • Box 3:
  • Legislative Materials
    3 folders
  • Box 4:
  • Enrolled Bills: 57th General Assembly
    2 folders
  • Enrolled Bills: 58th General Assembly (folder 1)
  • Box 5:
  • Enrolled Bills: 58th General Assembly (folder 2)
  • Enrolled Bills: 59th General Assembly
  • Series 3: OVERSIZED MATERIALS
  • Oversize Package
  • Campaign Posters (3 items)
  • Legislative Ladies League - 1955, 1957, 1959, 1961
  • Certificates of Election - 1955, 1959
  • Two Tubes of Legislative Photographs

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
Iowa Civil War Centennial Commission
Republican Party (Iowa)

Topics:
Political campaigns
State aid to education

Occupations:
Legislators

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Columbus Junction
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Speeches

Browse:
Businessmen and Businesses