Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Iowa Society of the Sons of the American Revolution Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1926-1961
Creator: Iowa Society of the Sons of the American Revolution
Extent: .25 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0266
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Records of the Sons of the American Revolution, Iowa Society, 1937-1956. 12 items. Secretary's notebook, a history of the organization in Iowa, printed pamphlets, and one copy of the society's publication, The Old Continental.

Alternate Extent Statement: Ephemera in Box 1

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Iowa Society of the Sons of the American Revolution Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Secretary's notebook - 1937-1940
  • Scrapbook of biographies and genealogies, #1022 -- 1182
  • Tinkham, Edwin P. "A History of the Iowa Society Sons of the American Revolution: The Objects of the Iowa Society, With Quotations: Sketches of Past and Present Leaders" - 1935
  • "Officers, Constitution, By-Laws, Membership" - 1930
    pamphlet, 2 copies
  • Mutz, Sterling F., comp. "National Society, Sons of the American Revolution, Washington, D.C.," undated
    pamphlet, 2 copies
  • "National Society Sons of the American Revolution, fifth edition" - 1948
    pamphlet
  • "National Society Sons of the American Revolution, seventh edition" - 1951
    pamphlet
  • "Handbook, Second edition, National Society of the Sons of the American Revolution" - 1961
    pamphlet
  • "National Charter, Constitution and By-Laws" - 1926
    pamphlet
  • "National Charter, Constitution and By-Laws" - 1936, 1939
    pamphlet, 1936 edition annotated to 1939
  • "National Charter, Constitution and By-Laws" - 1936, 1948
    pamphlet, 1936 edition annotated to 1948
  • "The Old Continental," Bulletin of the Iowa Society Sons of the American Revolution. v.30, no.1, May 19 - 1956
  • "The Old Continental," Bulletin of the Iowa Society Sons of the American Revolution. v.12, no.3, September - 1934
  • "The Old Continental," Bulletin of the Iowa Society Sons of the American Revolution. v.9, no.2, September - 1930
  • Xerox copy of the application for membership to the Pennsylvania Society of the Sons of the American Revolution of Herbert Hoover, approved November 7 - 1928

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
Sons of the American Revolution. Iowa Society

Topics:
Patriotic societies

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Administrative records
Scrapbooks
Archives
Newsletters
Notebooks
Pamphlets
Sources