Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the United Methodist Church Environmental Stewardship Conference, Iowa Conference Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1969-1972
Creator: United Methodist Church Environmental Stewardship Conference, Iowa Conference
Extent: 9.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: MSC0264
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Minutes and agendas of meetings, speeches, open letters, and study materials.

Alternate Extent Statement: Audio cassette tapes: Box 2.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was donated to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1972 by Reverend Dennis Nicholson.

Preferred Citation: United Methodist Church Environmental Stewardship Conference, Iowa Conference Records, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Minutes and agendas of meetings, speeches, open letters, and study materials.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: MIMEOGRAPHED MATERIALS
Series 2: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 3: GENERAL

  • Series 1: MIMEOGRAPHED MATERIALS
  • Box 1:
  • T.L., Dennis D. Nicholson, Chairman, concerning mailings of the Register Citizen Opinion Letter Writing Alert
  • Meeting minutes of Task Force on Environmental Stewardship, October 11 - 1969
  • Meeting minutes of Task Force on Environmental Stewardship, December 13 - 1969
  • Meeting minutes of Environmental Stewardship Committee, Board of Christian Social Concerns, Iowa Conference, the United Methodist Church, January 24 - 1970
  • Memorandum concerning the March Environmental Stewardship Workshop, May 16
  • Meeting minutes of Committee on Environmental Stewardship, March 21 - 1970
  • News release concerning Environmental Stewardship Workshop, April 16 - 1970
  • News release concerning the booklet, Environmental Stewardship: A Christian's Guide to Action, May 4 - 1970
  • Environmental Stewardship Workshop agenda, May 16 - 1970
  • At Last -- A Revolution That Unites, speech by George E. LaMore, Jr., Keynote Address at the Pilot Environmental Stewardship Workshop, Mt. Pleasant, Iowa, May 16 - 1970
  • Meeting minutes of the Committee on Environmental Stewardship, September 12 - 1970
  • Environmental Stewardship Committee Minutes, December 5 - 1970
  • Report of the Environmental Stewardship Committee for the Year 1970. Dennis D. Nicholson, January 25 - 1971
  • Minutes of Environmental Stewardship Committee, July 16 - 1971
  • Meeting minutes of Environmental Stewardship Committee, October 16 - 1971
  • Meeting minutes, December 10-11 - 1971
  • Report of the Environmental Stewardship Committee for calendar year - 1971
  • List of members of Environmental Stewardship Committee, February - 1972
  • Petitions to the Members of the General Conference of the United Methodist Church to be convened April 16, 1972 in Atlanta, Georgia; [signed] by Dennis D. Nicholson, February 19 - 1972
  • Meeting minutes, February 19 - 1972
  • Proposed Environmental Stewardship Program - 1973
  • Printed Materials
  • Baer, Richard A. "Conservation: An Arena for the Church's Action." A Christian Century Reprint
  • Dubos, Rene. A Theology of the Earth - 1969
  • Smith, Dan Throop. Improvement in the Quality of the Environment: Cost and Benefits - 1970
    2 copies
  • Environmental Stewardship Study-Action Materials
  • Two information folders with mimeographed and printed information on local and national environmental organizations, publications and educational materials
  • Series 2: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 2:
  • Environmental Stewardship Letters, incoming - 1969-1971
  • Outgoing letters - 1969-1970
  • Outgoing letters - 1971
  • Series 3: GENERAL
  • Box 2:
  • Packet of resource materials - 1973
  • Miscellaneous materials, including minutes, agendas, action alerts - 1972-1973
  • Tape recordings from conference on land use problems in Iowa
    5 cassettes
  • Land use in Iowa: a pictorial overview, Tim Shuck
  • Recreational use, John Creswell and Residential industrial, P. Murray Work
  • Agricultural, Lawrence Everett and transportation, Gerhard Anderson
  • Conservation, William Greiner
  • Legislative view of land use, Andrew Varley

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
Clergy and the Church