Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Marvin W. Smith Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1960-1972
Creator: Smith, Marvin W. (1901-1982)
Extent: 2.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0263
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Farmer and Iowa state legislator. Subject files, reports, etc. on such legislative issues as apportionment and education.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Box 6

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Mr. Smith gave his papers to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1972.

Preferred Citation: Marvin W. Smith Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Born in Ireton, Iowa, Marvin Wesley Smith (1901-1982) received his B.S. from Iowa State University in 1923. He was a livestock farmer and an instructor of veterans on-the-farm training. In 1956, Smith was elected as a Republican to the Iowa House of Representatives and in 1968, to the Iowa Senate. He retired from office in 1972. Marvin Smith was active in political, civic, and professional organizations. He was a member of the Lyon County School Board and the Farm Bureau.

The papers of Marvin W. Smith consist of materials concerning his career in the state legislature. Half of the collection relates to the issue of apportionment, with folders of reports, debates, court cases, and various plans. His involvement with the Social Services Committee makes up most of the remainder of the papers. These subject files include topics such as adult corrections, medicine, education, and taxes.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: APPORTIONMENTS
Series 2: SOCIAL SERVICES COMMITTEE
Series 3: GENERAL

  • Series 1: APPORTIONMENTS
  • Box 1:
  • League of Women Voters' Bill
  • Miscellaneous Apportionment Documents - 1960-1972
  • Box 2:
  • Miscellaneous Apportionments Documents - 1961-1969
  • Final Report of the Legislative Apportionment Commission, April 1, 1969
  • Iowa Legislative Bureau - Court Cases on Reapportionment
  • Smith Plan
  • "A Reapportionment Plan for the Iowa General Assembly"
    prepared by Chris Browning, Joe Griffith, Barb Hanisch and Mary Kae Jepsen, Northern University High School, Cedar Falls, Iowa
  • "Report to 64th Iowa General Assembly on Congressional Redistricting, January 1971"
    by J.M. Liittschwager" (Computer plans)
  • Box 3:
  • Apportionment Plans submitted to the Iowa General Assembly
  • Series 2: SOCIAL SERVICES COMMITTEE
  • Box 4:
  • Appropriations
  • Adult Corrections Study Committee
  • Housing Law
  • Medical Services
  • Alcohol - Majority Rights - Divorce Statistics - Ecology - Highways
  • Box 5:
  • Education Appropriations
  • Higher Education
  • Schools
  • Tax Assessments - 1969
  • Taxation
  • Petroleum Committee
  • Legislative - Judicial
  • Robert D. Ray, "State of the State" Message, 10 January 1972
  • Campaign and House Floor Speeches
  • Newsletters
  • Newspaper Clippings
  • Series 3: GENERAL
  • Box 6:
  • Photograph of the 61st General Assembly of the State of Iowa - 1965
  • Expenditure Report, July and August, 1971, Iowa Correctional Institutions
    Oversized item located at end of collection.
  • "Nine Alternative Plans for Financing the Proposed Educational Delivery System, Projected for Years 1973 -- 1974 to 1977 -- 1978"
    for the Office for Planning and Programming, by Bernard Bartholomew and Robert Ontjes. Oversized item located at end of collection.