Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Edward J. McManus Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1942-1964
Creator: McManus, Edward J. (1920-)
Extent: 3.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0258
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Iowa state senator, lieutenant governor of Iowa, Democratic candidate for governor of Iowa, delegate to Democratic National Convention, and U.S. District Court Judge for Northern District of Iowa. Correspondence, speeches, telegrams, campaign material, press releases, photographs, newspaper clippings, tape recordings, phonograph recordings, and scrapbooks.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Boxes 3, 5; Audio Material: Box 5

Access: Box 6, material concerning McManus' appointment as District Court Judge, is under seal. The rest of the collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Judge McManus donated his papers to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1972.

Preferred Citation: Edward J. McManus Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Keokuk, Iowa, native Edward Joseph McManus was born on February 9, 1920. After graduating from Keokuk Senior High School he attended St. Ambrose College in Davenport. Transferring to the University of Iowa, he received his B.A. in 1940 and graduated from the College of Law in 1942. Entering into military service during W.W. II, McManus was a Naval aviator and pilot instructor. Upon being discharged from the Navy, he returned to Keokuk and began his legal practice. From 1946 until 1955 he was the City Attorney for Keokuk, and he compiled the Keokuk Municipal Code 1959.
 
A Democrat, McManus was elected to the Iowa state senate where he served from 1955 to 1959, at which time he was elected Lieutenant Governor. He was also a delegate to the Democratic National Conventions in 1956 and 1960. McManus was a member of the Interstate Cooperation Commission of the Council of State Governments (1955-1961) and of the Iowa Development Commission (1957-1959). He ended his political career in 1960, after losing the race for governor to the Republican candidate, Norman Erbe. In 1962, McManus was commissioned as a federal judge. He became the chief judge of the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Iowa.

The papers of Edward J. McManus document his life and career. His service in the U.S. Navy is recorded in pilot's handbooks, training manuals, and correspondence. His political career is reflected in procedural rules for the senate, speeches he gave as Lieutenant Governor, and campaign materials including tape recordings, political ads, and posters. The beginning of his judicial career is noted with a list of participants in a Seminar for New District Judges.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: UNDER SEAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • U.S. Navy
  • Training manuals
  • Pilot's handbook for JM-1 airplane
  • Correspondence
  • Legal
  • "A Few Observations on the Subject of the Motion for Judgment on the Pleadings."
    Typescript, 4 pages
  • List of participants, Seminar for New District Judges - 1962
    Mimeograph, 2 pages
  • Lewis, Anthony. "Annals of Law -- The Gideon Case." New Yorker, April 25, May 2, May 9 - 1964
    Photocopy
  • Speech of E. J. McManus' father as president of the Iowa Bar Association
    Typescript, 22 pages
  • Iowa Senate
  • Rules of procedure
  • Program of Inaugural Ceremony, January 13 - 1955
  • "How a Bill Becomes a Law," by A.C. Gustafson
  • Copies of Iowa State Journal
  • Procedure
  • Scripts for sessions of the Iowa Senate
  • Addresses
  • Mailing lists
  • Campaign contributors - 1960
  • Democratic State Central Committee
  • Lieutenant Governor -- Speeches
  • Farewell speech to Iowa Senate.
    Typescript, 1 page
  • "Reapportionment," delivered in Waterloo, Iowa, August 14 - 1958
    Photocopy, 2 pages
  • Correspondence - 1960-1962
    T.L.S.s Leonard G. Wolf and Fred Schwengel
  • Telegrams
  • Miscellaneous
  • Honorary Degree, St. Ambrose College, Davenport, Iowa - 1963
  • Box 2:
  • Campaign materials - 1960
  • Press releases, Governor's campaign - 1960
  • Box 3:
  • Photographs
  • Box 4:
  • Newspaper clippings
  • Box 5:
  • Newspaper clippings
  • Tape recording of a press conference and interview with Norman Erbe
  • Tape recording of a debate between Don Wilson and Evan Hultman, candidates for Attorney General, KQTV, Fort Dodge, August 29 - 1960
  • Phonograph record, political advertisements for Edward J. McManus - 1960
  • Loose materials
  • Two scrapbooks of E. J. McManus
  • One scrapbook of E. J. McManus' grandfather
  • Pilot's notebook
  • Phonograph record, Address by Senator John F. Kennedy, Alfred E. Smith Memorial Dinner, October 22 - 1959
  • Posters, "Edward J. 'Nick' McManus, Democratic Candidate for State Senator"
  • Two mounted photographs
  • Series 2: UNDER SEAL
  • Box 6:
  • Papers under seal