Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Otto Eisenschiml Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1936-1963
Creator: Eisenschiml, Otto (1880-1963)
Extent: 7.60 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0256
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Chemist and Lincoln scholar. Manuscripts, notes, proofs, reviews of books on Lincoln's death and the Civil War, and the manuscript of Eisenschiml's autobiography.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Series I, Box 6.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was donated by Ralph G. Newman in 1975.

Preferred Citation: Otto Eisenschiml Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Personal correspondence and biographical material, typescripts, galleys, and published versions of Eisenschiml's articles, reviews, and other major works, chiefly about Abraham Lincoln, the Lincoln assassination, and the Civil War; reviews of Eisenschiml's works; correspondence, legal briefs, petitions, and other records relating to Eisenschiml's suit against Fawcett Publications, Inc . ; and research materials including 19th and 20th century newspaper clippings, Civil War related publications, illustrations and prints.

OS Box = Oversized Box.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: MAGAZINE AND NEWSPAPER CLIPPINGS
Series 2: EISENSCHIML MANUSCRIPTS
Series 3: RESEARCH MATERIALS
Series 4: CIVIL WAR ILLUSTRATIONS AND BROADSIDES

  • Series 1: MAGAZINE AND NEWSPAPER CLIPPINGS
  • Box 1:
  • Scrapbooks 1 - 3 (Newspaper clippings)
  • Box 2:
  • Scrapbooks 4 - 5 (Newspaper clippings)
  • Box 3:
  • Scrapbooks 6 - 8 (Newspaper clippings)
  • Box 4:
  • Scrapbooks 9 - 14 (Newspaper clippings)
  • Box 5:
  • Scrapbooks 15 - 17 (Newspaper clippings)
  • Box 6:
  • Civil War newspapers, original and photostats, photographs, mummy x-rays
  • Box 7:
  • Newspaper clippings concerning the Civil War
  • Box 8:
  • 19th century newspaper clippings
  • Box 9:
  • 19th century newspaper clippings
  • Box 10:
  • McClures and The Century: selection of issues
  • Box 11:
  • 20th century magazine clippings
  • Box 12:
  • 20th century magazine clippings
  • Box 13:
  • 20th century magazine clippings
  • OS Box 1:
  • 19th century newspapers
  • OS Box 2:
  • 19th century newspapers
  • Series 2: EISENSCHIML MANUSCRIPTS
  • Box 1:
  • Assassination ms. Notes and bibliography.
  • Assassination - Superseded manuscript
  • Box 2:
  • Somebody Murdered Lincoln (published as Why Was Lincoln Murdered?)
    Two copies, one incomplete. Typescript
  • Box 3:
  • Why Was Lincoln Murdered?
    Two copies. Typescript
  • Box 4:
  • Why Was Lincoln Murdered?
    Printer's copy, footnotes, illustrations
  • Box 5:
  • Why Was Lincoln Murdered?
    Proofs, unbound copy
  • The Hidden Face of the Civil War
    Proofs
  • Box 6:
  • The Hidden Face of the Civil War
    Manuscript
  • Box 7:
  • In the Shadows of April 14
    Manuscript
  • Box 8:
  • A Challenge to Historical Critics
    Superseded manuscript
  • Success Story
    Superseded manuscript - Incomplete?
  • The Lincoln Room Affair
    Superseded manuscript - Incomplete?
  • Box 9:
  • Newspaper clippings - reviews, interviews, articles, etc.
  • Box 10:
  • Autobiography
    Superseded manuscript
  • Box 11:
  • Music
    Some with lyrics or translations by Otto Eisenschiml.
  • Series 3: RESEARCH MATERIALS
  • Box 1:
  • Civil War Pamphlets and Booklets
  • Box 2:
  • Miscellaneous
  • Box 3:
  • Miscellaneous
  • Series 4: CIVIL WAR ILLUSTRATIONS AND BROADSIDES
  • Box 1:
  • Battle Scenes and Maps
  • Box 2:
  • Personalities and Other Civil War Subjects
  • OS Box 1:
  • Images of Civil War personalities
  • Broadsides
  • Miscellaneous oversized publications
  • Illustrated 19th century journals
  • Lincoln assassination and funeral prints
  • Political Cartoons (Jefferson Davis)
  • Political Cartoons (Lincoln)
  • Political Cartoons (Miscellaneous)
  • Political Cartoons (Miscellaneous)
  • OS Box 2:
  • Civil War Newspapers
  • OS Box 3:
  • Civil War Newspapers
  • Mapcase:
  • Gulltown in an Uproar, published by J.L. Magee, Philadelphia - 1865
    Large political cartoon concerning the Munchausen and Gull Creek Grand Consolidated Oil Company.
  • General Robert E. Lee, Kurz and Allison lithograph, Chicago
    Full equestrian view
  • The Prayer at Valley Forge, engraved by John C. McRae after a painting by H. Brueckner, published by John McRae, New York - 1866
    Depicts George Washington praying in the woods
  • General Grant and Family Circle, chromolithograph published by Lyons Co., New York - 1867
    Domestic interior with full seated view of Grant and family