Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Newell W. Bixby Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1827-1894
Creator: Bixby, Newell W.
Extent: .25 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0253
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Minister of the Free Will Baptist Church in Lodomillo Township, Clayton County , Iowa. Private journals and church records.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Newell W. Bixby Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Browse by Series:
Series 1: JOURNALS AND MEMOIRS
Series 2: GENERAL

  • Series 1: JOURNALS AND MEMOIRS
  • Volume I - 1809-1837
  • Volume II, September-August - 1837-1840
  • Volume III, September-September - 1840-1844
  • Volume IV - 1844-1894
  • Quarterly Meeting Records, Free Will Baptist Church, Lodomillo (Clayton County), Iowa
    3 volumes
  • Quarterly Meeting Records, Free Will Baptist Church, Lodomillo (Clayton County), Iowa
    3 volumes
  • Quarterly Meeting Records, Free Will Baptist Church, Lodomillo (Clayton County), Iowa
    3 volumes
  • Series 2: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Memorial Sermon, holograph ms., 16 pages, May 15 - 1898
  • Notes of Travel, holograph ms., 31 pages - 1880
  • A.L.S., Newell Bixby to Brother Claflin, 2 pages, April 28 - 1856

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Bixby, Newell Willard

Corporate Names:
Free Will Baptist Church (Clayton County, Iowa)

Topics:
Baptists

Occupations:
Clergy

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Church records
Correspondence
Diaries

Browse:
Clergy and the Church