Guide to the Steven V. Carter Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1915-1960
Creator: Carter, Steven V. (1915-1959)
Extent: 8.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0250
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Attorney and U.S. Representative from Iowa . Subject files relating to his year in Congress and his earlier political and legal career.

Administrative Information

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Box 17

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Acquisition: These papers were donated to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1971 by Carter's widow.

Preferred Citation: Steven V. Carter Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Biographical Note

Steven V. Carter was born in Carterville, Utah, on October 8, 1915. When he was fourteen years old, his family moved to Lamoni, Iowa. He graduated from Lamoni's Graceland College in 1934, the University of Iowa in 1937, and the University of Iowa's College of Law in 1939. He established a law practice in Leon, Iowa. In addition to his law practice, he was the county attorney for Decatur County (1940-1944) and was the city attorney for Leon (1946-1948). During World War II, Carter was a supply officer in the United States Navy. Elected as a Democrat to the 86th Congress, he served less than one year. Steven V. Carter died in office on November 4, 1959.


Content Description

The papers of Steven V. Carter are arranged alphabetically within three series: 1) Congressional subject files, boxes 1-13; 2) Pre-Congressional political files, boxes 14-19; and 3) Personal, boxes 20-25. The Congressional subject file series reflects his activities during his year in office. He concentrated on issues such as agriculture, education, insurance and retirement, and post offices. The pre-Congressional political files consist of campaign material from his two bids for office. Included are nomination papers, rules concerning contributions, and issue statements. The personal series contains invitations, law school notes, his degrees from college and university, material relating to his estate, and sympathy messages sent upon his death. The acronym TLS indicates typed letter signed.

Detailed Description of the Collection

Browse by Series:


Subjects

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
Democratic Party (Iowa)
United States Postal Service

Dates:
20th century

Topics:
Agricultural laws and legislation
Agriculture
Conservation of natural resources
Education
Political campaigns
Veterans

Occupations:
Legislators
Politicians

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa
United States -- Iowa -- Rathbun Lake
United States -- Iowa -- Red Rock Dam