Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Steven V. Carter Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1915-1960
Creator: Carter, Steven V. (1915-1959)
Extent: 8.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0250
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Attorney and U.S. Representative from Iowa . Subject files relating to his year in Congress and his earlier political and legal career.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Box 17

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Acquisition: These papers were donated to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1971 by Carter's widow.

Preferred Citation: Steven V. Carter Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Steven V. Carter was born in Carterville, Utah, on October 8, 1915. When he was fourteen years old, his family moved to Lamoni, Iowa. He graduated from Lamoni's Graceland College in 1934, the University of Iowa in 1937, and the University of Iowa's College of Law in 1939. He established a law practice in Leon, Iowa. In addition to his law practice, he was the county attorney for Decatur County (1940-1944) and was the city attorney for Leon (1946-1948). During World War II, Carter was a supply officer in the United States Navy. Elected as a Democrat to the 86th Congress, he served less than one year. Steven V. Carter died in office on November 4, 1959.

The papers of Steven V. Carter are arranged alphabetically within three series: 1) Congressional subject files, boxes 1-13; 2) Pre-Congressional political files, boxes 14-19; and 3) Personal, boxes 20-25. The Congressional subject file series reflects his activities during his year in office. He concentrated on issues such as agriculture, education, insurance and retirement, and post offices. The pre-Congressional political files consist of campaign material from his two bids for office. Included are nomination papers, rules concerning contributions, and issue statements. The personal series contains invitations, law school notes, his degrees from college and university, material relating to his estate, and sympathy messages sent upon his death. The acronym TLS indicates typed letter signed.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: ACADEMY
Series 2: ADMINISTRATION
Series 3: AGRICULTURE
Series 4: VARIOUS
Series 5: FEDERAL GOVERNMENT
Series 6: INSURANCE AND RETIREMENT
Series 7: LABOR
Series 8: MEETINGS
Series 9: MILITARY AND NATIONAL DEFENSE
Series 10: POLITICAL AFFAIRS
Series 11: PUBLIC RELATIONS
Series 12: PUBLIC WORKS
Series 13: POST OFFICE
Series 14: PRESSURE MAIL
Series 15: SERVICEMEN AND VETERANS, 1959
Series 16: MISCELLANEOUS
Series 17: FOURTH DISTRICT INFORMATION, COUNTIES AND COUNTY SEATS
Series 18: REMARKS
Series 19: GENERAL
Series 20: PERSONAL

  • Series 1: ACADEMY
  • Box 1:
  • General
  • Air Force
  • Candidates and Alternates (Air Force)
  • Candidates and Alternates (Army)
  • Merchant Marine (Kings Point)
  • Navy
  • Bell, Harold I.
  • Boone, Robert S.
  • Caldwell, Max
  • Calef, Marshall Murl
  • Carroll, Martin E.
  • Garwood, Ronald
  • Gravely, Warren Lewis, Jr.
  • Greiner, Ronnie Ray
  • Hatcher, Lyman T.
  • Huff, Charles
  • Ingram, Robert Bruce
  • Jenks, Michael M.
  • Kelly, Davis
  • King, Elmer Richard, Jr.
  • Manning, James
  • Krugly, Michael
  • Newell, Ronald
  • Packwood, Eugene
  • Phillips, James R.
  • White Larry
  • Series 2: ADMINISTRATION
  • Box 1:
  • Applicants for positions
  • Marjorie Hutte
  • Personal, January-June - 1959
  • Personal, July-December - 1959
  • Personnel
  • Rein v. Vander Zee
  • Telegrams
  • Series 3: AGRICULTURE
  • Box 1:
  • Commodities
  • Conservation Reserve Program
  • Farm Programs
  • Future Farmers of America
  • Information
  • Series 4: VARIOUS
  • Box 1:
  • Associations & Committees
  • Box 2:
  • Commendations, endorsements and greetings
  • Congressional
  • Corn Tassel
  • Education
    2 folders
  • Education
    2 folders
  • Education conferences and seminars
  • Education, Federal Aid for Education and Educational Institutions
  • Education, scholarships, fellowships
  • Employment, George V. Bodanski
  • General employment
  • Finance
  • Foreign Relations, many TLS from prominent political figures
  • Foreign Relations, foreign aid
  • Foreign Relations, United Nations
  • Health, Education and Welfare, cancer research
  • Health, Education and Welfare, research on diseases and conditions
  • Health, Education and Welfare, FD & C Yellow #3 and #4 Coal-Tar colors
  • Health, Education and Welfare, international health
  • Housing, financing
  • Immigration and Naturalization, citizenship
  • Immigration and Naturalization, passport, visas
  • Immigration and Naturalization, quotas, refugees, displaced persons
  • Correctional institutions
  • Private institutions
  • Series 5: FEDERAL GOVERNMENT
  • Box 2:
  • Federal Government, Atomic Energy Commission
  • Federal Government, Bureau of Census
  • Federal Government, Capitol, Senate, House
  • Federal Government, contracts, Arctic, Pacific, Inc.
  • Federal Government departments. Farmers Home Administration
  • Federal Government departments. Health, Education and Welfare
  • Federal Government departments. U.S. Treasury
  • Box 3:
  • Federal Government departments. Government Liaison Officers
  • Federal Government departments. Independent Agencies and Offices
  • Federal Government departments. Independent Agencies and Offices, Small Business Administration
  • Federal Government, Rural Electrification Administration
  • Federal Government, rules and administration
  • Series 6: INSURANCE AND RETIREMENT
  • Box 3:
  • Compensations
  • Federal Government
  • Insurance
  • Private and Industrial Insurance and Retirement
  • Railroad Retirement
  • Retirement and Annuities
  • State Governments
  • Series 7: LABOR
  • Box 3:
  • Labor, AFL-CIO
  • Labor, fair standards
  • Labor, independent unions
  • Legal regulations
  • Mail
  • Mail-Postage, rates, permits
  • Maritime ,ships, shipping
  • Series 8: MEETINGS
  • Box 3:
  • Representative's appointments and engagements (many TLS)
  • Representative's meetings, January
  • Representative's meetings, February
  • Representative's meetings, March
  • Representative's meetings, April
  • Meetings, June
  • Meetings, July
  • Meetings, August
  • Meetings, September
  • Meetings, October
  • Meetings, November
  • Meetings, December
  • Meetings, Spring - 1960
  • Series 9: MILITARY AND NATIONAL DEFENSE
  • Box 3:
  • Military, Army
  • Military, buildings & grounds
  • Military, concessions
  • Military, pay, allowance
  • Military, reservations
  • Military, reserve and National Guard programs
  • Military, separation, discharge, release policies
  • Military, surplus property
  • Military, weapons, arms, ammunition, explosives
  • Box 4:
  • National Defense, Civil Defense
  • National Defense Program
  • National Defense, Mobilization of Manpower and Industry
  • Natural Resources
  • Natural Resources, fuels
  • Series 10: POLITICAL AFFAIRS
  • Box 4:
  • Political affairs
    Includes voting record of Carter; 2 folders
  • Political affairs
    2 folders
  • Agriculture
  • American Can Company
  • Campaign Material
  • Democratic National Committee (2 TLS Sam Rayburn)
  • Democratic Central Committee, Davis County
  • Democratic State Central Committee
  • District and County
  • Elections
  • Comparison of returns by county - 1954-1958
  • Presidential
  • Labor
  • Governor Loveless (several TLS)
  • R.E.A.
  • Young Democrats
  • Series 11: PUBLIC RELATIONS
  • Box 4:
  • Agricultural Yearbooks
    2 folders
  • Agricultural Yearbooks
    2 folders
  • Anonymous, crank, unique, incoherent
  • Commendations, congratulations, greetings, cards of thanks
  • Condolences
  • Congratulations
  • Box 5:
  • Endorsements, introductions
  • Fairs, Expositions, Ceremonies
  • Farmer's Bulletins
  • Flags
  • Geological Survey topographic maps
  • Personal letters
  • Press, Radio and TV Releases
  • Publications and Information
    2 folders
  • Publications and Information, Historical
    2 folders
  • Requests for Bills, Hearings, Acts
  • Routine requests
  • Letters of thanks
  • Series 12: PUBLIC WORKS
  • Box 5:
  • Data Sheets and maps; publications on water resources for Iowa and Missouri
  • Rathbun
  • Cancer publicity
  • Ralston Purina Plant Opening, Ottumwa
  • Federal Roads
  • Congressional and judicial salaries
  • Social Security
  • Utilities
  • Series 13: POST OFFICE
  • Box 6:
  • Afton
  • Albia
  • Allerton
  • Arispe
  • Benton
  • Bloomfield
  • Brooklyn
  • Chariton
  • Cincinnati
  • Clearfield
  • Corydon
  • Davis City
  • Decatur
  • Delta
  • Diagonal
  • Garden Grove
  • Grand River
  • Humeston
  • Kellogg
  • Lamoni
  • Leon
  • Lineville
  • Lovilia
  • Lucas
  • Martinsburg
  • Melrose
  • Mount Ayr
  • Newton
  • Ollie
  • Osceola
  • Ottumwa
  • Pella
  • Prairie City
  • Rose Hill
  • Searsboro
  • Sully
  • Webster
  • West Grove
  • What Cheer
  • Series 14: PRESSURE MAIL
  • Box 7:
  • Agriculture
  • Armed Forces
  • Balanced Budget
  • Balanced Budget, inflation, newspaper clippings
  • Bidding on Federal Contracts
  • Blind
  • Catholicism
  • Confused
  • Farm Program
  • Gas Tax
  • Hawaiian Statehood
  • Highways
  • D.C. Home Rule
  • Housing
  • Insurance and Retirement
  • Labor
  • Railroad-Insurance and Retirement Railroads
  • Selective Service
  • Small Business
  • Box 8:
  • Taxes
  • Veterans
  • Vets Compensation
  • Veterans-Education
  • Veterans-General
  • Veterans-Housing
  • Veterans-Insurance
  • Veterans-Pensions
  • Series 15: SERVICEMEN AND VETERANS, 1959
  • Box 9:
  • Adams, Gary W.
  • Andrew, Paul S., VA
  • Bandy, Charles L., VA
  • Beasley, Ronald, Air Force
  • Bell, Ralph M.
  • Bethards, Jack, Navy
  • Boham, Kenneth F.
  • Boyd, Virgil E.
  • Brenizer, Robert
  • Bruccini, Gabriele
  • Brummett, Elvis, VA
  • Burtis, Robert
  • Calloway, Ronald O., AF
  • Clark, Raymond L.
  • Dickerson, Lionel D., Coast Guard
  • Draper, Galen E.
  • Evans, Jack, Korean Vets Compensation
  • Ferguson, Donald W.
  • Finney, Harley H., Jr., VA
  • Foreman, Howard L.
  • Fouser, Emmett, VA
  • French, Donald L.
  • Fry, Robert H., Army
  • Goben, Roy J., AF
  • Gragg, Karl R., VA
  • Greiner, Robert L.
  • Heilman, Bert D., AF
  • Horton, Loren N.
  • Howell, William F., VA
  • Hulse, Donald M.
  • Jacobs, E.F.
  • Jones, Perry O., Army
  • Kearville, Mrs. Jean, VA
  • Kling, Earl W.
  • Lee, Robert E., VA
  • Long, Lonnie Jr.
  • McClure, Harold W., VA
  • McClure, Harold
  • McKern, Jack
  • McKinsey, Harry L.
  • Mallatt, Donald K., Army
  • Milburn, Mark E., VA
  • Moore, Mrs. Pearl, VA
  • Morris, W.S.
  • Olsson, Ernest E., Jr.
  • Peggs, Dr. Harold J.
  • Reed, Russell L.
  • Reisman, V.B., VA
  • Rusk, James L., Army
  • Scott, Joseph, VA
  • Selzer, Charles, Army
  • Sloan, R.F.
  • Smith, LaVern Lee
  • Sparks, Gifford G.
  • Spofford, Dorrance R.
  • Stites, Carl, VA
  • Summers, Charles I., Jr., VA
  • Trumper, Glen F.
  • Vaughn, Darrell D.
  • West, Allen L.
  • Winship, Harry, VA
  • Woods, Wayne 0., VA
  • Yeoman, Harry A.
  • Series 16: MISCELLANEOUS
  • Box 10:
  • Compilation of Papers of US Representative Steven V. Carter, 4th District, Iowa. Rathbun Dam, November 4 -November 4 - 1958-1959
  • Compilation of Papers of US Representative Steven V. Carter, 4th District, Iowa. Red Rock Dam
  • Box 11:
  • House of Representatives Folding Room Statement of Account & Order Book
  • Congressional Secretaries Club Directory - 1959
  • Guest List to Steven V. Carter's Congressional Office
  • Series 17: FOURTH DISTRICT INFORMATION, COUNTIES AND COUNTY SEATS
  • Box 11:
  • Newspapers
  • Cities
  • County Chairmen and Vice Chairmen
  • Telephone Directories
  • Other miscellaneous printed matter
  • Series 18: REMARKS
  • Box 11:
  • Extension of Remarks; Appendix of The Congressional Record. Remarks on:
  • Draft Law
  • Food for Peace
  • Railroad Retirement Act
  • Medical Research
  • Latin America
  • Corn Tassel
  • For a Regional Market in Latin America
  • What is Wrong with the Double Dip?
  • Voice of the Midwest Farmer
  • Maytag Company
  • Stock Dividend Exclusions
  • Civil Service Retirement for A.S.C. Employees
  • Income Tax Exemptions
  • Pension Bill for World War I Veterans
  • Iowa's Water
  • Dividend Credit Tax Loophole
  • Copies of Bills and Resolutions Introduced
  • Statement Before Committee on Manpower
  • Series 19: GENERAL
  • Box 11:
  • Speeches on the floor, The American's Creed
  • Clippings on Carter in Congress
  • Ottumwa Daily Courier Clippings
  • Box 12:
  • Press Releases, Statements, reports from Washington and transcript of radio tape
  • Miscellaneous Congressional Files
  • Agricultural Materials
  • Box 13:
  • Congressional Card Files
  • Box 14:
  • Benona Young, correspondence to and from
  • Convention - 1958
  • Correspondence as a result of election - 1958
  • Economic Problem Education
  • Education
  • Box 15:
  • Law governing expenditures and contributions
  • Farm Issue - 1956
  • Foreign Trade and Policy. Iowa and Foreign Trade
  • General
    2 folders
  • Box 16:
  • General
    2 folders
  • Schedules and speeches of Governor Herschel C. Loveless - 1958
  • Hawaiian Statehood
  • Iowa Digest - 1956
  • Iowa Highways
  • Iowa Taxpayer
  • John Kyl
  • Miscellaneous - 1958
  • Miscellaneous correspondence in connection with contested election
  • Fourth District Democratic Precinct Committeemen and Committeewomen, Candidates for National, State and County Offices - 1950
  • Box 17:
  • Election - 1958
  • Letters of Congratulations (ALS Harold E. Hughes; TLS Herschel C. Loveless) - 1958
  • Letter of Congratulations - 1948-1956
  • Nomination papers - 1958
  • Photographs
  • Box 18:
  • Publicity material from state headquarters
  • Reapportionment
  • Recession - 1958
  • Recount Battle, Carter vs. LeCompte - 1956
  • Box 19:
  • Scare Words
  • Small Business
  • Social Welfare
  • State News Releases
  • Election statistics - 1956
  • Taxation
  • Young Democrats
  • Series 20: PERSONAL
  • Box 19:
  • Series III: Personal Files
  • Box 20:
  • Billfold
  • Family Christmas Cards
  • Formal Invitations
  • Graceland College Yearbook - 1934
  • Law School notes
  • Law School notes, Treatise on Obscene Literature
  • Legal
  • Marriage; B.A. degree; law degree
  • Navy
  • Newspaper Clippings
  • Box 21:
  • Steven V. Carter's Childhood
  • Steven V. Carter's Early Years in Leon, Iowa
  • Steven V. Carter's Interest in Youth
  • Undergraduate class notes and papers
  • Box 22:
  • Memorial addresses delivered in Congress, photographs
  • Sympathy messages
    2 folders
  • Sympathy messages
    2 folders
  • Box 23:
  • Special Election held after death of Congressman Carter
  • Estate of Steven V. Carter
    2 folders
  • Estate of Steven V. Carter
    2 folders
  • Estate of Steven V. Carter, Law Office and Contents
  • Box 24:
  • Estate of Steven V. Carter, Farm
  • Farm-Marouis, Fannie & Ross, vs. Fowler
  • Farm-Sargent Investment Co. vs. Clair Spicer
  • Estate matters and payments received
  • Bills paid in the estate-for final report
  • Box 25:
  • Certificates [seven items]