Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Shenandoah Evening Sentinel Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1888-1946
Creator:
Extent: 2.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0247
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Journals and ledgers, cash books, subscription lists and inventories.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was donated to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1971 by W. D Archie.

Preferred Citation: Shenandoah Evening Sentinel Records, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: JOURNALS AND LEDGERS
Series 3: CASHBOOKS
Series 4: ACCOUNT BOOKS
Series 5: SUBSCRIPTION LISTS

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Subscription List - 1903
  • Manager's Statement of Business and Inventory of Sentinel-Post, March 1, 1901
  • Invoice (Inventory), December 31, 1911
  • Manager's Seventh Annual Statement, March 11, 1912
  • Inventory, December 31, 1916
  • Newspaper clippings; includes obituaries for W. D. Archie and David Archie
  • Inventory, December 31, 1913
  • Invoice of accounts, January 1, 1914
  • Newspaper clippings
    Includes obituaries for W. D. Archie and David Archie
  • Series 2: JOURNALS AND LEDGERS
  • November 1887 - March 1888
  • 1899
  • 1901
  • 1903
  • 1905
  • 1909
  • April 1909 - November 1911
  • December 1911 - August 1914
  • September 1914 - May 1917
  • June 1917 - June 1919
  • September 1920 - October 1921
  • November 1921 - August 1924
  • Series 3: CASHBOOKS
  • "Day Book"
    Undated
  • March - June 1896
    Missing as of November 2013
  • January - February 1897
  • April 1910 - March 1911
  • April 1911 - February 1912
  • February 1912 - January 1913
  • February - December 1913
  • January - November 1914
  • November 1914 - August 1915
  • September 1915 - September 1916
  • October 1916 - June 1917
  • June 1917 - February 1918
  • March 1918 - January 1919
  • February - November 1919
  • December 1919 - August 1920
  • September 1920 - July 1921
  • Engraving Deparment Account and Photography Accounts - 1946
  • Series 4: ACCOUNT BOOKS
  • March - November 1888
  • 1889
  • 1899
  • January 1901 - June 1902
  • July 1902 - December 1903
  • 1906
  • 1907 - 1910 (bad accounts)
  • January 1908 - February 1909
  • March 1909 - September 1910
  • October 1910 - May 1912
  • 1916
  • 1919
  • Series 5: SUBSCRIPTION LISTS
  • 1893 - 1899
    Missing as of November 2013
  • 1897 (old accounts)
  • 1899
  • 1900
  • 1904
  • 1906
  • 1909
  • 1910