Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the George R. Hill Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1905-1966
Creator: Hill, George R. (1888-1966)
Extent: 1.00 linear foot.
Collection Number: MSC0246
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: State senator and judge. Political correspondence, speeches, and scrapbooks.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in scrapbooks in Box 3

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was donated to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1971 by Mr. G. R. Hill

Preferred Citation: George R. Hill Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Lawyer, Iowa State Senator and Iowa District Court Judge, George Raymond Hill (1888-1966) was born in Woodburn, Iowa. He received his law degree from Drake University in 1910. Hill practiced law in Des Moines, Belmond, and Clarion, Iowa. In 1932, he became Clarion's city attorney. A Republican, Hill was elected to the state senate from Iowa's 37th district in 1936. He later was appointed to the District Court bench.

The papers of George R. Hill date from 1905 to 1966 and are made up of three boxes of speeches, correspondence, and scrapbooks. The speeches date from 1926 to 1950, and deal primarily with patriotism and good citizenship. The correspondence dates from 1942 to 1966, and includes letters from: Robert D. Blue, James I. Dolliver, Virgil M. Hancher, Bourke B. Hickenlooper and Harold E. Hughes. These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by Mrs. George R. Hill in 1971. They are open for research and information on literary rights is available in the repository.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: SPEECHES
Series 2: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 3: SCRAPBOOKS

  • Series 1: SPEECHES
  • Box 1:
  • 1926-1950
  • "Fellowship and Service," Fathers & Sons Banquet, Christian Church, November 10 - 1926
  • "The Obligations of Citizenship," I.O.O.F. Hall, December 9 - 1926
  • American Legion Auxiliary Anniversary Program, September 10 - 1927
  • High School, November 14 - 1927
  • Galt Community Meeting, January - 1928
  • Hardin County Picnic, Pine Lake - 1928
  • Wright County Institute, September - 1930
  • "Constitution," High School, September 17 - 1930
  • Health Talk before Clarion High School, May 1 - 1931
  • "Citizenship," Woodstock High School Graduation - 1933
  • Clarion High School - 1935
  • Belmond I.O.O.F. Father & Sons, June - 1939
  • Boy Scouts, E.G. - 1945
  • Fathers & Sons, Methodist Church, March 27 - 1946
  • Jewell - 1947
  • Judge Fry Dinner, December - 1950
  • Undated Speeches
  • Series 2: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • 1942-1949
  • 1950-1959
  • Box 2:
  • 1960
  • 1961-1963
  • 1964-1966
  • Undated correspondence and miscellaneous documents
  • Series 3: SCRAPBOOKS
  • Box 3:
  • 4 scrapbooks

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Occupations:
Judges
Legislators

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Scrapbooks