Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Earl Elijah Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1929-1971
Creator: Elijah, Earl (1888-1971)
Extent: .75 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0244
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: State senator, farmer, and bank president. Primarily speeches about agriculture, with newspaper clippings, campaign literature, and correspondence.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Folder 4; audio tape recording in Folder 4.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Information on literary rights is available in the repository. Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1971 by his widow, Mrs. Earl Elijah.

Preferred Citation: Earl Elijah Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Earl Elijah (1888 -- 1971) was a native of Clarence, Iowa. He attended Cornell College in Mount Vernon, Iowa, and Iowa State University in Ames. He was a farmer, banker, and state senator. In 1928, Elijah was named the master farmer of the year. His career included working as the president of the Clarence Savings Bank. He was the Iowa state senator for the 23rd district from 1952 to 1964. For eight years he served on the Iowa Soil Conservation Commission and he was a member of the Iowa Commission on Alcoholism. Active in community and professional organizations, Elijah was the first president of the Clarence Consolidated School Board. He was also a past president of both the Iowa Beef Producers and the Iowa Swine Producers Associations. In addition, he was a member of the board of trustees for Cornell College and Saint Luke's Hospital in Cedar Rapids.

The papers of Earl Elijah consist of thirty-nine items dating from 1929 to 1971. There is correspondence including letters from Fred Schwengel and Jack Miller, as well as photographs, newspaper clippings, and certificates. However, speeches make up the majority of the papers and almost all of them relate to agriculture.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Speeches and miscellaneous materials
  • One undated speech on notecards on religious topic
  • Three pages of notes on the history of the Clarence Savings Bank
  • Brief summary of talk to be given at laymens' meeting, Fargo, N.D.: "Lord I Believe," 3 p., undated
  • Three-page press release from Cornell College concerning Sen. Elijah's views on liquor laws
  • "What is Ahead for Agriculture?" 17 p., undated
  • "The Relation of Business to Agriculture," 18 p., undated
  • "History of Iowa Master Swine Producer Project" by E.L. Quaife, 11 p. - 1968
  • "Report of the Legislature Advisory Committee on the Study of Tax Revision," April - 1965
    By the Tax Revision Advisory Committee, Sen. Earl Elijah, Chairman, 33 p.
  • Radio Broadcast over WMT, 8 p.m., 9 p., June 1 - 1952
  • "Statement of Earl Elijah of Clarence, Cedar County, Iowa. Before the Senate Agricultural Committee at State House, Des Moines, Iowa, October 25, 1947," 5 p.
  • "Talk by Hon. Clinton P. Anderson, Secretary of Agriculture, Champion Farmers Association of America Conference, February 13, 1947"
  • "Business and Agriculture by Earl Elijah," April - 1929
  • Correspondence - 1929-1970
    16 items including 1 TLS from fred Schwengel and 2 TLS from Jack Miller
  • Newspaper clippings, campaign literature and other printed items
  • Photographs
  • 7 certificates
  • 1 medal: "Firestone Award for Championship Performance in Agriculture"
  • 1 tape recording of a radio broadcast of political endorsements
    For Earl Elijah's fifth senate term. 71/2 ips. 14 min. 40 sec.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Topics:
Agriculture
Political campaigns

Occupations:
Legislators

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Audiotapes
Clippings (Information artifacts)
Speeches