Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the James I. Dolliver Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1923-1962
Creator: Dolliver, James I. (1894-1978)
Extent: 21.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0243
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Attorney, U.S. Representative from Iowa, and Regional Legal Council for the International Cooperation Administration of the Middle East. Correspondence, speeches, and subject files relating to his career.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in boxes 5, 27, 73, 74

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: James I. Dolliver donated his papers to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1971.

Preferred Citation: Papers of James I. Dolliver, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

James I. Dolliver was born in Park Ridge, Illinois, on August 31, 1894. He attended public schools in South Dakota before graduating from Morningside College in Sioux City, Iowa, in 1915. During World War I, Dolliver served as a private in the Army's signal corps. In 1921, he graduated from the University of Chicago Law School. The following year he moved to Fort Dodge, Iowa, where he became the prosecuting attorney of Webster County (1924-1929). He was also a long time member of the Fort Dodge school board. James Dolliver was elected as a Republican to the U.S. House of Representatives, serving six terms (1945-1957). After losing a bid for his seventh term, he became the regional legal council for the International Cooperation Administration in the Middle East, based in Tehran, Iran. He held this position until his retirement in 1959. James I. Dolliver died on December 10, 1978, at the age of eighty-four.

The papers of James I. Dolliver are alphabetically arranged in seven series:

Series I. Congressional files (1945-1956) includes material relating to topics as diverse as agriculture, the Methodist Church, and waterways. Arraneged alphabetically.

SeriesII: The Committee trips series (1947-1956) is arranged alphabetically by country within each year.

SesriesIII: The series relating to the Commission on Intergovernmental Relations (1953-1955) includes reports on federal aid grants to local governments from Wyoming to South Carolina and Michigan to Kansas.

Series IV: The Speeches series contains a variety of speeches given by Dolliver while he was in the Congress, delivered to high schools, meetings in foreign countries, the Congress, and many other groups. Arranged roughly chronologically.

Series V: The Pre-Congressional personal papers series (1934-1944) includes files relating to such topics as the American Legion and individual legal cases. Arranged alphabetically.

Series VI: The Pre-Congressional speeches series (1923-1944) were given to wide range of groups from the Elks Club to the Buena Vista County School Directors. Arranged chronologically.

Series VII: the Post-Congressional career series (1956-1962) focuses on Dolliver's work in Iran and other foreign policy matters.

Also included throughout the papers are photographs, certificates, and correspondence. Some of the correspondents include Jay Norwood Darling, Henry O. Talle, Norman A. Erbe, Leo A. Hoegh, Paul H. Cunningham, Leonard Wood Hall, and Jonathan Prentiss Dolliver.
1) United States. Congress. House. Committee on House Administration. Subcommittee on Elections

Oral Argument of the Parties Before the Subcommittee on Elections of the Committee on House Administration in the Matter of the Contested-Election Case of James I. Dolliver v. Merwin Coad from the Sixth Congressional District of Iowa [microform] : hearings before the United States House Committee on House Administration, Subcommittee on Elections, Eighty-fifth Congress, first session, on Feb. 11, 1957.
LAW Audiovisual CIS Hrgs MF Gp 4--(85) HHad-3
Law SHELVED AS: Microfiche 262
GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS Microfiche CIS Hrgs MF GP 4--(85) HHad-3

2) Eisenhower, Dwight D. (Dwight David), 1890 -- 1969
Letter to James I. Dolliver. Washington, DC. 1956 November 10
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS Department Pres/Letters

3) Eisenhower, Dwight D. (Dwight David), 1890 -- 1969
Letter to James I. Dolliver. Washington, DC. 1956 April 16
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS Department Pres/Letters

4) Schwengel, Fred, 1907-
Papers of Fred Schwengel, 1940 -- 1972
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS Department MsC 456

5) LeCompte, Karl M.
Papers of Karl M. LeCompte, 1939 -- 1972
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS Department MsC 131

6) Hall, W. Earl, 1897 -- 1969
Papers of W. Earl Hall, 1917 -- 1969
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS Department MsC 193

7) Dolliver, Jonathan P., (Jonathan Prentiss), 1858 -- 1910
Letter to Rev. Laurence Bower. Fort Dodge, IA. 1906 July 23
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS Department MsL D665 b

8) Hill, George Raymond, 1888 -- 1966
Papers of George R. Hill, 1905 -- 1966
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS Department MsC 246

9) Papers of the Sokol-Shuttleworth Family, 1875 -- 1982
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS Department MsC 395

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CONGRESSIONAL FILES 1945-1956
Series 2: COMMITTEE TRIPS
Series 3: COMMISSION ON INTERGOVERNMENTAL RELATIONS
Series 4: CONGRESSIONAL SPEECHES AND SPEECH MATERIALS
Series 5: PRE-CONGRESSIONAL PERSONAL PAPERS
Series 6: PRE-CONGRESSIONAL SPEECHES AND SPEECH MATERIALS
Series 7: POST-CONGRESSIONAL CAREER

  • Series 1: CONGRESSIONAL FILES 1945-1956
  • Box 1:
  • A -- Personal
  • Agricultural Census - 1954
  • Agriculture, January-April - 1955
  • Agriculture, April-December - 1955
  • Agriculture - 1956
    2 folders
  • Box 2:
  • Agriculture - 1956
  • Alaska (Personal)
  • American Legion (Personal)
  • Animal Laboratory
  • Automobile -- Dodge (Personal)
  • Aviation
  • Box 3:
  • B -- Personal - 1945
  • Baby Books - 1955
  • Banks and Banking
  • Connie Beisser
  • Boy Scouts - 1945
  • C and Contributions - 1945
  • Conservation - 1955
  • D -- Personal - 1945
  • Peggy Dolliver
  • Jonathan P. Dolliver
  • E -- Personal - 1945
  • Electoral College
  • Equal Rights Amendment
  • F -- Personal - 1945
  • Farm Bill
  • Forestry and Conservation
    T.L.S. and telegram of Jay N. "Ding" Darling
  • Box 4:
  • G -- Personal - 1945
  • Gasoline Tax Correspondence
  • H -- Personal - 1945
  • Harris Bill -- Natural Gas
  • J -- Personal - 1945
  • K -- Personal - 1945
  • L -- Personal - 1945
  • Legislative Dailey - 1956
  • Lewis, Clara E. (Deceased) (Personal) - 1947
  • M -- Personal - 1945
  • Methodist Church -- Friendship Haven (tax exemption on donation)
  • Methodist Commission on Chaplains -- Staff Report -- March 5 - 1954
  • Methodist Church - 1946
  • Box 5:
  • Milk Order -- Correspondence
  • Morningside College, Sioux City, Iowa
  • N -- Personal - 1945
  • Refugee Relief Program
  • Republican - 1955
    T.L.S. Henry O. Talle, Norman Erbe, Leo A. Hoegh and Leonard W. Hall
  • Box 6:
  • Requests - 1954
  • Requests - 1955
  • Requests - 1956
  • Box 7:
  • S - 1955
  • Selective Service System - 1953-1954
  • Servicemen's Inquiries - 1955
  • Seward, Alaska, Sanatorium
  • Small Business
  • Small Businesses
  • Social Security - 1955
  • Social Security; Amendment of Including Dentists
  • Social Security for Farmers -- News Release
  • Stamps - 1955
  • Box 8:
  • State Department - 1955
  • State Department -- W.F. Bench, Eagle Grove, Iowa - 1955
  • State Department -- Donald Deal, Adoption of Kim Jin Ho - 1955
  • State Department -- Passports
  • State Department -- Red Prisoners in China and Father Regney's Sentence
  • State Department -- Michael, Yamen - 1955
  • Stationery Room - 1955-1956
  • Surplus Property - 1955
  • T - 1955
  • Treasury Department
  • Telephone Account - 1955
  • Telephone Account - 1955
  • U - 1955
  • V - 1955
  • Veteran's Administration - 1955
  • Veteran's Administration -- HR 7886 and also program for separate pension to WWI veterans
  • Box 9:
  • W - 1955
  • Waterways - 1955
  • Waterways -- Boone, Saylorville and Red Rock projects - 1955
  • Waterways File -- Lizard Creek, etc.
  • White House - 1955-1956
  • Wilson, Dr. Charles R.
  • Y - 1955
  • Yearbooks - 1955
  • Yearbooks -- "Water" Requests - 1955
  • Yearbook Requests, April - 1956
  • Series 2: COMMITTEE TRIPS
  • Box 10:
  • Austria - 1947
  • Cairo - 1947
  • China and Korea - 1947
  • Box 11:
  • Diary and Souvenirs of Trip - 1947
  • France - 1947
  • Germany - 1947
  • Box 12:
  • Italy and Trieste - 1947
  • Japan and Islands - 1947
  • Box 13:
  • Letters from Round the World Trip - 1947
  • Manilla - 1947
  • Miscellaneous Correspondence on 'Round the World Trip and related subjects - 1947
  • OMGUS -- USAFE Briefing for the Hosue Committee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce, September 21 - 1947
  • Box 14:
  • Shanghai China - 1947
  • Siam - 1947
  • Reports on Mexico prepared by The American Embassy, Mexico City and by the Department of State -- Division of Mexican Affairs - 1948
  • Visit to London, September 11-16 - 1949
  • Box 15:
  • Argentina - 1951
  • Brazil - 1951
  • Chile - 1951
  • Dominican Republic - 1951
  • Box 16:
  • Ecuador - 1951
  • Mexico - 1951
  • Peru - 1951
  • South America (General) - 1951
  • South America -- Letters - 1951
  • South American Trip - 1951
  • Box 17:
  • South American Trip - 1951
  • Box 18:
  • Trinidad - 1951
  • Uruguay - 1951
  • Alaska - 1952
  • Transportation Tie - Ups -- Port of Seattle - 1953
  • Pennsylvania Railroad - 1953
  • Box 19:
  • Addis Ababa, Ethiopia - 1954
  • African Trip - 1954
    3 folders
  • Box 20:
  • Algeria - 1954
  • Algiers - 1954
  • Congo - 1954
  • Box 21:
  • Egypt - 1954
  • Italy - 1954
  • Jordan - 1954
  • Box 22:
  • Kenya and East Africa - 1954
  • Kenya and Rhodesia - 1954
  • Liberia - 1954
  • Box 23:
  • South Africa - 1954
    2 folders
  • Spain - 1954
  • Box 24:
  • Austria - 1955
  • Czechoslovakia - 1955
  • Denmark - 1955
  • Europe Trip - 1955
  • Finland - 1955
  • Box 25:
  • France - 1955
  • General File - 1955
  • Great Britain - 1955
  • Box 26:
  • Italy - 1955
  • Letters from trip to Russia, fall - 1955
  • Netherlands - 1955
  • Norway - 1955
  • Sweden - 1955
  • USSR - 1955
  • Box 27:
  • Panama Canal - 1956
  • Photos
  • Photograph Album
  • Series 3: COMMISSION ON INTERGOVERNMENTAL RELATIONS
  • Sub-Series: Intergovernmental Relations
  • Box 28:
  • Commission on Intergovernmental Relations
  • Box 29:
  • Intergovernmental Relations in the United States; A Selected Bibliography
  • Sub-Series: Commission on the Fiscal Affairs of State Government -- Staff reports on Federal/State Relations in New York
  • Box 30:
  • Report One: Employment Security
  • Report Four: Vocational Rehabilitation
  • Report Seven: Hospital Construction
  • Report Eight: Public Health
  • Report Nine: Vocational Education
  • Sub-Series: General
  • Box 30:
  • A Program to Reduce Federal Domination over State and Local Affairs; Illinois State Chamber of Commerce, February - 1954
  • Housing Report, December 2 - 1954
  • Box 31:
  • Federal Grants-In-Aid
  • Report of the Study Committee on Federal Aid to Public Health, Vol. I
  • Report of the Advisory Committee on Local Government
  • Partial Report: Committee on In Lieu Payments and Shared Revenues; October 11 - 1954
  • Report of the Committee on In Lieu Payments and Shared Revenues; November 15 - 1954
  • Box 32:
  • Press Release
  • State of Kansas: Impacts of Federal Grants-in-aid on the State and Local Governments, June - 1954
  • Kansas State Chamber of Commerce: Basic Summary of Federal Grant-In-Aid Programs in Kansas - 1953
  • Federal Grants-in-aid in Kansas
  • Handbook on Federal Grants-in-aid: American Parents Committee - 1953
  • Federal Grants to New York State
  • Report of the Kansas Commission on Federal -- State Relations
  • Impact of Federal Grants-in-aid in the State of Washington, May - 1954
  • Box 33:
  • Impact of Federal Grants-in-aid in the State of Mississippi, May - 1954
  • The Federal Grant-in-aid System: Its Impact in the State of Michigan
  • Report on the Impact of Federal Aids in the State of Connecticut
  • Impact of Federal Grants-in-aid on South Carolina
  • State of Wyoming: Impacts of Federal Grants-in-aid on the State and Local Governments
  • Box 34:
  • Report of the Study Committee on Federal Aid to Welfare to the Commission on Intergovernmental Relations, March - 1955
  • Report of the Pennsylvania Commission on Intergovernmental Relations, and Appendix, January - 1955
  • Report to the Commission on Intergovernmental Relations on Vocational Rehabilitation Services, December 27 - 1954
  • Draft Report of the Commission on Intergovernmental Relations, February - 1955
  • Report of the Study Committee on Federal Aid to Highways to the Commission on Intergovernmental Relations, February - 1955
  • 2nd Draft Report of the Commission on Intergovernmental Relations, April 8 - 1955
  • Box 35:
  • Education in the Federal System, October - 1954
  • Commonwealth of Pennsylvania: The Tax Problem -- Report of the Tax Study Committee
  • May - 1953
  • Second Report (Conclusion), January - 1955
  • Report on Federal Aid to Airports, February 25 - 1955
  • Draft Report of the Commission on Intergovernmental Relations, February - 1955
  • Box 36:
  • Commission on Intergovernmental Relations
  • Series 4: CONGRESSIONAL SPEECHES AND SPEECH MATERIALS
  • Box 37:
  • Lincoln's Birthday Speech -- Logansport, Indiana, February 12 - 1946
  • "Youth Looks Ahead" -- Fort Dodge H.S. And Junior College, May 26 - 1948
  • Speech at the dedication of memorial plaque to war dead, Webster County, Iowa, September 9 - 1948
  • "Local Public Health" National Congress of Parents and Teachers, St. Louis, Missouri, May 18 - 1949
  • "The American Legion -- A Constructive Force," House of Representatives, March 28 - 1949
  • "Youth Looks Ahead." Graduation address, Davenport High School, June 9 - 1949
  • "The Birthday of Old Glory." Sioux City, Iowa, June 12 - 1949
  • Socialized medicine speeches
  • KVFD, November 12 - 1949
  • American Medical Association Conference, Chicago, February 5 - 1950
    TLS Virgil Hancher
  • Elks Memorial Address, Rapid City, S. Dakota, December 4 - 1949
  • Box 38:
  • Agricultural Speech before the House, February 2 - 1950
  • Trip to Iowa, March - 1950
    Correspondence regarding speeches
  • Life Insurance Underwriters Speech, Fort Dodge, March - 1950
  • American Legion Birthday Speech, Fort Dodge, March - 1950
  • "Reducing Federal Expenses" April 5 - 1950
  • American Foreign Policy, Teachers Federation, Fort Dodge, Iowa, September 5 - 1950
  • Reorganization of the Executive Branch of the Government - 1949-1950
  • Box 39:
  • Meeting of National Airport Executives, Minneapolis, April 16 - 1951
  • Relationship of the US to the Latin American Countries, April 16 - 1951
  • Background Material on Mr. Dolliver's Foreign Policy Speech - 1951
  • Rural Letter Carriers Speech, Ft. Dodge, Iowa, July 13 - 1951
  • Soil Conservation speech, Carroll, Iowa, September 12 - 1951
  • "Rural Electrification in Iowa" Des Moines, September 19 - 1951
  • Box 40:
  • West Virginia Lincoln Day Speeches - 1952
    Miscellaneous material
  • "Work in Washington" -- Britt Commercial Club, May 27 - 1952
  • Radio Speech on labor problems -- September 18 - 1952
  • "Neighbors by Air" Dedication, Ft. Dodge Municipal Airport, October 5 - 1952
  • Campaign Speech, KVFD Radio Speech, November 3 - 1952
  • "Washington Report", Ft. Dodge Chamber of Commerce, Ft. Dodge, January 29 - 1953
  • "Transportation at Mid-century" February 11 - 1953
  • Box 41:
  • "Commission on Intergovernmental Relations." Indiana Academy of Social Science, Terre Haute, Indiana, October 1 - 1954
  • Ft. Dodge Campaign Speech, November 1 - 1954
    "Simulcast" over KVFD and KQTV
  • "What's Ahead for the 84th Congress." Cedar Rapids Chamber of Commerce, January 12 - 1955
  • "Postal Service - Historical Development" Ft. Dodge, June 6 - 1955
    Iowa Federation of Postal Clerks
  • Association of Railroad Labor Editor Speech, May 17 - 1956
  • NFO Speech, Ft. Dodge, May 28 - 1956
  • "The International Postal Service" Rural Carriers Meeting -- Estherville, July 14 - 1956
  • "Has There Been Too Much Concentration of Power in Federal Government?" Facts Forum, Congressman Brooks Hayes and James I. Dolliver
  • Speech for recording in the White House [undated]
  • Box 42:
  • Address of Stella E. Barker, Membership Chairman, National Federation of Business and Professional Women's Clubs. Ft. Dodge, September 24 - 1952
  • Campaign Material - 1952
    2 notebooks
  • Box 43:
  • Additional Socialized Medicine data and hospital material for speech material and reference
  • Health -- France
  • Box 44:
  • Health -- Germany - 1955
  • Health -- Great Britain
  • Box 45:
  • Health -- Miscellaneous
  • Health -- Sweden
  • Box 46:
  • Lincoln Speeches and material including one of J.P. Dolliver's speeches on Lincoln
  • Material for recordings for broadcast over home radio stations -- Congressman Paul Cunningham
  • Box 47:
  • Speech Material 1 and 2
  • Box 48:
  • Speech Material 3 through 6
  • Box 49:
  • Speech Material and Travel
  • Speech Material -- Election Laws and Proposed Changes
  • Box 50:
  • Foreign Affairs and Foreign Policy of the US
  • Miscellaneous data on spending excesses of the Federal Government
  • Speech Material on Taxes, etc.
  • Speech Material on Tidelands
  • Box 51:
  • Speech Material on Communism and other un-American activities, as atom bomb, etc. U.N.
  • Box 52:
  • Newspaper clippings
  • Series 5: PRE-CONGRESSIONAL PERSONAL PAPERS
  • Box 53:
  • A - 1935-1944
  • American Legion Liaison Committee
  • Box 54:
  • American Legion - 1944
  • A National American Legion Survey of Post World War II Liaison Activities
  • B - 1935-1944
  • Box 55:
  • Briefs -- Miscellaneous
  • Brigg, Benjamin B. et. al., vs. Mrs. Lydia Stringer #28006
  • C - 1937-1944
  • D - 1941-1944
  • Box 56:
  • E - 1935-1944
  • Erickson, Esther A., Deceased, Estate of
  • F - 1934-1941
  • Box 57:
  • G
  • Gowrie Municipal Light Plant
  • Box 58:
  • Gowrie Municipal Light Plant
    2 folders
  • Box 59:
  • I - 1934-1944
  • Iowa
  • Box 60:
  • J
  • Jensen, J.T. vs. Elias and Ernest Johnson, Clarion, Iowa vs. Wiley W. Parks, et. Al.
  • K - 1939
  • Kepler, Dewey Re: Unemployment Compensation Law
  • L - 1936-1944
  • Leitch, Murdo
  • Lewis, George H.
  • Box 61:
  • M - 1934-1944
  • Masonic Service Committee
  • Mutual Surety Company of Iowa
  • Northrup, Minnie L. vs. Ben J. Eilers & Robert D. Eilers, et. al.
  • Box 62:
  • P - 1938-1944
  • Peterson
  • Q
  • Box 63:
  • S - 1941-1944
  • Spooner, A. Lloyd
  • Stump, S.P.
  • Swift & Co. vs. Soda Grill
  • Box 64:
  • T
  • Thatcher, O.M.
  • Timmons, Paul James -- Mrs. Roy Hannon
  • Tennant vs. Tennant
  • Box 65:
  • U
  • V
  • Vanderslice, Evelyn vs. C.N. Gatchel
  • W
  • Wells, Chet
  • Wills
  • Western Surety Company, Sioux Falls, S.D.
  • Box 66:
  • Wood, Oliver, Deceased, Estate of
  • Y
  • Series 6: PRE-CONGRESSIONAL SPEECHES AND SPEECH MATERIALS
  • Box 67:
  • Memorial Day, Gowrie, Iowa, May 30 - 1923
  • Farnhamville, Iowa, August 17 - 1923
  • "The New Pioneer" Farnhamville, Iowa, May 21 - 1925
  • Memorial Day. Armstrong and Burt, Iowa, May 30 - 1925
  • Rockwell City, Iowa, July 4 - 1925
  • Duncombe High School, May 20 - 1926
  • Memorial Day, Rockwell City, Iowa, May 30 - 1926
  • West Bend, Iowa, July 4 - 1927
  • Gowrie Junior High School, May 25 - 1928
  • Memorial Day. Algona and Coon Rapids, Iowa, May 30 - 1928
  • Armistice Day. Wahkonsa School, November 12 - 1928
  • Elk's Memorial. Webster City, December 2 - 1928
  • Father and Son Banquet. Ft. Dodge, February 20 - 1929
  • Memorial Day. Rowan and Rolfe, Iowa, May 30 - 1929
  • "The Significance of Armistice Day," Belmond, Iowa, November 11 - 1929
  • Iowa Community Fair, Gowrie, Iowa, January 17 - 1930
  • "The Living Constitution," September 16 - 1930
  • "Twelve Years After," Storm Lake, Iowa, November 9 - 1930
  • Pocahontas County American Legion Meeting, March 31 - 1931
  • Memorial Day, Mallard and Pomeroy, Iowa, May 30 - 1931
  • Flag Day, Elks Lodge, Ft. Dodge, June 12 - 1931
  • Chamber of Commerce, Newton, Iowa, June 26 - 1931
  • American Legion Convention, Davenport, August 2 - 1931
  • Ft. Dodge Community College, September 4 - 1931
  • "The New Pioneer," Tobin Business Graduation, Ft. Dodge, December 4 - 1931
  • Speech Materials - 1923-1931
    including a speech of JP Dolliver
  • Box 68:
  • Memorial Day, Titonka and Ackley, Iowa, May 30 - 1932
  • Memorial Day, Ft. Dodge, May 30 - 1933
  • Sheffield, Iowa, July 4 - 1933
  • "The New Pioneer," Lohrville, Iowa, High School Graduation, May 16 - 1935
  • Homecoming, Churdan, June 25 - 1935
  • Armistice Day -- Joint Legion -- Lions Meeting, Clear Lake, Iowa, November 11 - 1935
  • "National Defense," Garner, Iowa, February 25 - 1936
  • Flag Day, Boone, Iowa, Elks Lodge, June 14 - 1937
  • Radio Broadcast KRNT, Des Moines, November 7 - 1937
  • "Lincoln's place in American history," Clarinda, Iowa, February 10 - 1938
  • Flag Day, Sioux City, Elks Lodge, June 14 - 1939
  • Armistice Day, Marshalltown, Iowa, November 11 - 1939
  • "Three American Life Currents," KGLO, Mason City, January 22 - 1940
  • "Lincoln's problems -- and ours!" Sheldon, Iowa, February 12 - 1940
  • KVFD, Ft. Dodge, March 11 - 1940
  • Upper Iowa Layman's Meeting, Methodist Conference, Hampton, Iowa, September 18 - 1940
  • School Directors, Buena Vista County, March 21 - 1941
  • New Citizens Day, Iowa State Federation of Women's Clubs, May 8 - 1941
  • County Officers Association, Ft. Dodge, June 18 - 1941
  • "American Unity," KGLO Forum, Mason City, September 3 - 1941
  • Armistice Day - 1941
  • Box 69:
  • Speech Materials - 1932-1941
  • Box 70:
  • Radio Speech, Ottumwa, Iowa, May 1 - 1942
  • "The World After the War," WHO, Des Moines, May 20 - 1942
  • WHO, Des Moines, May 24 - 1942
  • KVFD, October 21 - 1942
  • "A Creed for Armistice Day, 1942," Toledo, Iowa, November 11 - 1942
  • Republican Speech -- Fall Campaign -- Ft. Dodge - 1942
  • Lincoln's Birthday, Radio speech, February 12 - 1943
  • WHO speech -- World War II Liaison -- American Legion, March 21 - 1943
  • Rockwell City, Iowa, Lions Club, August 14 - 1944
  • "Freedom and American Nationality," Gowrie, Iowa, September 9 - 1944
  • "Political Speech," WHO, November 2 - 1944
  • KVFD, November 6 - 1944
  • Speech Materials - 1942-1944
  • Series 7: POST-CONGRESSIONAL CAREER
  • Box 71:
  • Correspondence - 1956-1961
  • "The Dolliver Diary" -- Legal Counsel for the International Cooperation Administration in the Middle East
  • Foreign Policy Association - 1959-1960
  • International Cooperation Administration -- Materials
  • Box 72:
  • Iran -- Monthly reports
  • Iran -- Passports, travel vouchers, etc.
  • Iran -- Presentation of Iowa Code
  • Iran -- Press releases, etc.
  • "World Order and the Rule of Law," Layman's Sunday, the Community Church, Tehran, Iran, October 19 - 1958
  • Spirit Lake Community Schools, Adult Education - 1962
  • "Descendants of George Barrett and Mahala Merritt Barrett"
  • Box 73:
  • Autobiography - 1974
    Photocopy of a typescript manuscript
  • 1. Award to James I. Dolliver from Iowa 4-H Clubs
  • 2. Unidentified framed photograph
  • 3. Photograph of President Eisenhower speaking to Commission on Intergovernmental Relations, including Meyer Kestenbaum and Hubert H. Humphrey
  • 4. Photograph of Jonathan Prentiss Dolliver. Missing
  • 5. Photograph (mounted): James Morgan Dolliver, Margaret Elle Dolliver - 1929
    another photograph thought to be Dolliver's children
  • 6. Photograph: Interstate and Foreign Commerce Committee, undated
  • 7. Photograph: Inscribed from Manuel Roxas (President of Philippines)
  • 8. Photograph: Inscribed from Frank Miles
  • 9. Photograph: Inscribed from Lucius Clay
  • 10. Photograph: Jefferson National Expansion Memorial Association. Can't identify
  • 11. Photograph: Inscribed from J. Leighton Stuart
  • 12. Photograph: Inscribed from J. Thamrong -- Nawasawat - 1947
  • 13. James Dolliver, House Office Building
  • 14. In front of the De Haviland Comet
  • 15. Iowa Congressional Delegation, July 16 - 1956
  • Box 74:
  • 16, 17, 18 . Photographs: Committee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce - 1947, 1951, 1954
  • 19. Certificate of admission to practice before the Supreme Court of the US - 1946
  • 20. Photograph: Committee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce, undated
  • 21. Certificate of Membership, Seward, Alaska, Chamber of Commerce - 1954
  • 22. Certificates of Election - 1946, 1948, 1950, 1954
  • 23. TLS, American Legion National Commander Daniel J. Doherty to James I. Dolliver, August 24 - 1938