Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Glenn E. Whitehead Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1924-1963
Creator: Whitehead, Glenn E. (1892-)
Extent: 22.00 items.
Collection Number: MSC0237
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: State legislator and Perry, Iowa, newspaper publisher. Correspondence, poetry, diary, subject files, etc. relating to both his private and professional life. Includes items ranging from campaign advertising to his WWI supply officer's manual.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Box 1

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was given to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1971 by Stephen Whitehead.

Preferred Citation: Glenn E. Whitehead Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Glenn E. Whitehead was born on a farm in Marshall County, Iowa, on August 11, 1892. After graduating from high school in Marshalltown, Whitehead took a two-year commerce course before entering the newspaper field in 1914. He was associated with various Iowa publications including the Nevada Journal, Des Moines Capital, Iowa Homestead, and Newton News. In 1926 he became the publisher of the Daily Chief in Perry, Iowa. He was the president of the Iowa Press Association from 1944 to 1945. Whitehead was a commissioned Naval officer during World War I and remained active in the American Legion. During World War II, he was a correspondent in the European War sector.

Active in the Republican Party, Whitehead was a delegate to the Republican National Convention in 1932 and in 1934 he was the publicity director of the Iowa State Republican Party headquarters. Whitehead served many terms as both a state representative and senator. He was also a member of the Iowa Development Commission.

The papers of Glenn E. Whitehead relate to his career as a newspaperman and legislator as well as to his personal life. A supply officer's manual from Navy days is included, as is a diary of a European trip made shortly after the end of World War II. Whitehead kept copies of poems that he liked as well as a typescript draft of a story titled "Little thoughts of loving and living." His correspondence relates primarily to the printing and newspaper business. Political materials include items from campaign buttons and advertising to a roll of delegates to the Republican National Convention of 1932.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence - 1924-1963
  • Diary of a European trip, holograph and typewritten on loose sheets
  • Transcribed poetry
  • Printed cards and campaign material
  • Little thoughts of loving and living
  • Miscellaneous
  • Last Will and Testament of Glenn E. Whitehead -- December 19 - 1930
  • Roster of Perry Rotary Club Charter members -- February 5 - 1921
  • Obituary of C.E. Whited
  • "Shanty Riddell" by John Riddell, Vanity Fair, January - 1929
  • "Official Newspaper Contest"
    Typescript, 3l
  • Candidate's Sworn Statement of Election Expenses -- June 7 - 1948
  • "Not Guilty! His Majesty the King versus John Peter Zenger," by Charles Spencer Hart.
    Mimeograph. 7l with cover letter
  • Clippings
  • Box of campaign buttons
  • Temporary Roll of Delegates and Alternate Delegates to Republican National Convention - 1932
  • Roster -- Republican National Convention - 1932
  • "The Flag," etc. - 1955-1956
    Reprinted for the Iowa Official Register
  • The United Nations War Atlas
  • Manual: Supply Officers Afloat, USN - 1917
  • Certificate of election
  • Photograph