Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Marcellus Warner Darling Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1862-1911
Creator: Darling, Marcellus Warner (1844-1913)
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0236
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Civil War soldier, Congregational minister, and father of Jay Norwood Darling. Consists primarily of letters, a diary, and memoirs of his service in Company K, 154th New York Volunteer Infantry during the Civil War.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was donated to the University of Iowa by Darling's son, Jay N. (Ding) Darling in 1949.

Preferred Citation: Papers of Marcellus Warner Darling, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Marcellus Warner Darling (1844-1913) was a native of New York. He and his older brother enlisted in Company K, 154th New York Volunteers on September 6, 1862. The 154th saw a great deal of action during the Civil War. Darling was wounded in the battle of Chancellorsville, was subsequently captured and later escaped. While his regiment was fighting at Gettysburg, Darling was hospitalized with typhoid fever. He fought in the battles at Lookout Mountain and Chickamauga, and participated in the taking of Atlanta, Savannah, and Charleston, during General Sherman's march to the sea.
 
After the war, he decided to go to school in Albion, Michigan. He graduated from Albion College in 1870. That same year he accepted a post as Superintendent of City Schools in Grand Haven, Michigan. He spent the following three years as a professor of Greek at Albion College. Darling pursued post-graduate work at Ann Arbor, where he earned his A.M. in philosophy and languages. After graduating, he decided to devote his life to the ministry. His first job was as a Methodist preacher, but he later found a home in the Congregational Church. From 1879 to 1886, he served as a minister in a Congregational Church in Indiana. In 1886, he moved to Sioux City, Iowa, and from there he went to Glencoe, Illinois, leaving that church in 1909. His last position was that of Chaplain at the National Home for Volunteer Soldiers in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, in 1910.
 
Among his children was cartoonist Jay Norwood Darling.

The papers of Marcellus W. Darling are comprised of seventy-eight items dating from 1862 to 1911. The majority of the papers relate to his service in Company K, 154th New York Volunteer Infantry during the Civil War. Included are approximately forty letters that he wrote home during the war, and a diary from 1864. The rest of the collection is made up of memoirs, genealogical data, and a book of quotes and sayings by Marcellus Darling.
See also the papers of his son, Jay N. "Ding" Darling (MsC0170)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: ITEMS TAKEN TO BATTLE

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Co. K 154th New York Infantry: Twenty letters written to those at home - 1862-1863
  • Co. K 154th New York Infantry: Fifteen letters to those at home - 1864
  • Co. K 154th New York Infantry
  • Four letters to those at home - 1865
  • Diary entries for previous year - 1864
  • Correspondence
  • Letter to Marcellus W. Darling.
  • Ten letters.
  • Miscellaneous.
    Includes inquiries into Darling genealogy.
  • Co. K 154th New York Infantry: Mailing envelopes - 1860-1869
  • Transcription of Civil War diary and letters made by Mark H. Dunkelman.
  • Events and Comments on My Life
    2 copies
  • Fusing Truth into Life
  • Reminiscences of General Sherman
  • Letter from Isaac Pendleton
  • Estate of Marcellus Darling
  • Obituary from the Glencoe Record
  • Series 2: ITEMS TAKEN TO BATTLE
  • Sub-Series: Items from the Civil War carried by Marcus Darling
  • Box 2:
  • Canteen
  • Sargeant's chevrons worn - 1864-1865
  • Piece of an overcoat brought home and worn first year in college
  • Part of a haversack carried in the army
  • "House-Wife" (sewing kit) made by his sister. This was carried into the battle of Resaca, Georgia, lost there, picked up by a man after the battle, and returned to Darling.