Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the William Nelson Judd Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1939-1955
Creator: Judd, William Nelson (1887-1955)
Extent: 8.00 items.
Collection Number: MSC0235
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Iowa state legislator and railroad employee. Photographs, certificates, and a scrapbook all of which relate to his legislative career.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Box 1

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was given to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1971 by O.W. (Orrin Wiliam) Judd, who was the son of William Nelson Judd.

Preferred Citation: William Nelson Judd Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Nebraska native, William Nelson Judd (1887-1955) moved to Clinton, Iowa with his parents when he was two years old. He received but a limited education in the Clinton public schools and by age fifteen was working as a barber. In 1906, he took a job with the Chicago & Northwestern Railway as a freight brakeman. Over the years he was promoted first to conductor and finally to the position of terminal yardmaster in Clinton, Iowa. He was a member of the Order of Railway Conductors and the Brotherhood of Railroad Trainmen.A Republican, he was a member of the Clinton city council from 1926 to 1934. He was elected to the state legislature in 1936 and served there many years. From 1943 to 1944 he was mayor of Clinton, Iowa.

The papers of William Nelson Judd consist of only eight items dating from 1939 to 1955. These include photographs of the state legislatures, certificates of election, and a scrapbook, all of which relate to his legislative career.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Photographs
  • Certificates of election
  • Memorial resolution
  • Scrapbook of newspaper clippings - 1939-1955

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Occupations:
Legislators

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Certificates
Photographs
Scrapbooks