Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Earl W. Vincent Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1912-1953
Creator: Vincent, Earl W. (1886-1953)
Extent: .25 linear foot.
Collection Number: MSC0234
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Lawyer, judge, and Iowa state congressman. Five folders of correspondence, newspaper clippings, speeches, and legislative voting record.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Earl W. Vincent Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Earl W. Vincent 1886-1953
1886- born at Keota, Iowa
1912-LLB State University of Iowa
1916-married Madge Lee
1919-1922 -County attorney, Guthrie County
1928-Representative to U S Congress
1945-1953 Judge of the District Court.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Newspaper clippings - 1929-1953
  • Speeches
  • Two typewritten speeches
  • Typewritten notes for a speech
  • Miscellaneous correspondence
  • Correspondence concering an appointment to the Iowa Supreme Court
  • Congress
  • Voting record from U.S. House of Representatives
  • Invitations (2) to the Inauguration of President Herbert Hoover - 1929
  • Representative Vincent's wooden door sign from Congress

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
Iowa Supreme Court

Occupations:
Judges
Legislators

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa