Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Guy G. Butler Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1951-1953
Creator: Butler, Guy G. (1887-1961)
Extent: 40.00 items.
Collection Number: MSC0233
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Iowa state legislator, banker, and farmer. Scrapbooks, speeches, and correspondence all relating to his service in the Iowa legislature.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was given to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1971 by Mrs. G.G. Butler.

Preferred Citation: Guy G. Butler Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

A Kansas native, Guy G. Butler (1887 -- 1961) spent most of his life in Iowa. His parents moved to Pocahontas County when he was but a year old. He attended public schools and graduated from high school in Rolfe, Iowa. In 1913, he graduated from Northwestern University as a dentist. His first dental practice was in Chicago. In 1916, Butler sailed for Japan where he became the holder of the seventh license ever issued to practice dentistry in the Imperial Japanese Empire. The following year he left for Siam where he was the dentist by royal appointment to the royal household of King Rama VI. In 1921, Butler married Suma Grenova of Odessa, Russia in Swatow, China. An accident which left him with nerve damage forced him to retire from dentistry. He moved back to Rolfe, Iowa in 1923. There he began a new career as a farmer and banker. Butler was founder, stockholder, director, and president of the Rolfe State Bank. He was active in many fraternal organizations, the Farm Bureau, and the Iowa Bankers Association.

A Republican, Butler served as chairman of the Pocahontas County Republican Central Committee. He was also a delegate to the 1952 Republican National Convention. His first elected office was as mayor of Rolfe. From there he went on to serve many terms as both a state representative and senator.

The papers of Guy G. Butler are comprised of forty items dating from 1951 to 1953. They all relate to his service in the Iowa state legislature. Two scrapbooks, seven speeches, and one folder of correspondence with other legislators and constituents make up these papers.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Scrapbooks - 1947-1959
    Two scrapbooks shelved outside of box. One contains 55th General Assembly of the Iowa State Legislature. Other has clippings etc.
  • Speeches - 1956
  • Letters - 1952-1959
    From other Congressmen and Constituents.
  • Newspapers - 1946-1961

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
Republican Party (Iowa)

Occupations:
Legislators

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Scrapbooks