Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Frank Starzell Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1942-1959
Creator: Starzell, Frank (1904-1994)
Extent: 4.00 items.
Collection Number: MSC0231
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: General manager of Associated Press. The scrapbooks contain photographs, speeches, press releases, and articles from his career with the Associated Press.

Access: This collection is open for research

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was given to the University of Iowa by Mr. Starzel in 1971.

Preferred Citation: Frank Starzell Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Chief executive officer of the Associated Press, Frank Starzel, was born on February 29, 1904, in LeMars, Iowa. He began his newspaper career by working on his father's paper, the semiweekly LeMars Globe Post. By age thirteen, he had learned typesetting and printing and was writing articles. Starzel attended the University of Notre Dame and the University of Iowa before quitting school to take a job as the managing editor of the Iowa City Press Citizen. From Iowa City, he moved to Des Moines where he was assistant syndicate manager and later assistant to the managing editor. He held other positions before he joined the Associated Press in 1929. By 1948, he had become general manager of the Associated Press news service. He retired as chief executive officer in 1962. Frank Starzel died in 1994 at the age of ninety.

The papers of Frank Starzel are comprised of four scrapbooks containing photographs, speeches, press releases, and articles.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Four large scrapbooks
  • Newspaper clippings - 1953, 1975, 1994

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
Associated Press

Topics:
Journalism

Genre/Form of Materials:
Scrapbooks

Browse:
English & American Literature
Writers Archive at Iowa
Newspaper & Magazine Editors & Publishers