Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Philip Adler Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1904-1984
Creator: Adler, Philip (1902-1984)
Extent: 54.00 items.
Collection Number: MSC0229
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Newspaperman, publisher, president of Lee Enterprises, Inc., and philanthropist. Correspondence, speeches, newspaper clippings, and books.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Philip Adler Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Philip David Adler was born in 1902, the only child of Emanuel P. and Lena Rothschild Adler. E.P. Adler was a newspaper publisher in Davenport, Iowa. His son followed in his footsteps from an early age, apprenticing as a printer on the Daily Times during the summers. After graduating from Davenport High School in 1922, Philip Adler attended the University of Iowa. There he served as the editor of the Daily Iowan. He received his B.A. in 1926. Adler became the publisher of the Star-Courier at age 23. When his father died in 1949, Philip Adler succeeded him as publisher of the Times in Davenport, Iowa. In 1959, he became the president of Lee Enterprises. After expanding the company's holdings to include newspapers in Montana and Wisconsin, Adler retired in 1970. A philanthropist and tireless volunteer, Adler was a trustee of Saint Luke's Hospital, and Marycrest and Saint Ambrose Colleges. He was president of the Davenport Municipal Art Gallery and was the first chairman of the Iowa Chapter of the American Red Cross. Like his father before him, Philip Adler maintained close ties to the University of Iowa's School of Religion, while remaining involved with the School of Journalism. He died in 1984 at the age of 81.

The papers of Philip D. Adler date from 1904 to 1970 and consist of 54 items. They are arranged in four basic sections. The first three sections consist of one folder each and relate to Emanuel Adler, Philip Adler, and the Adler family respectively. The Emanuel and Philip Adler folders contain speeches and clippings, while the Adler family folder is made up of correspondence.
Adler, Betty. Within the Year After. (1920) (UI Library xD921 .A3)
 
Brayton, A. M. E. P.- An Informal Portrait. (1940) (UI Library xPN4874 A3 .B7 1932)
 
Adler,Philip. Overseas Assignment. (1946) (UI Special Collections Iowa Authors Collection; also Main Library D967 .A3 1946)
 
The Lee Papers--A Saga of Midwestern Journalism.(1947) (UI Special Collections Iowa Authors Collection; also Main Library O71 .L482)
 
The Lee Group: Mid-America to the Mountains. (1960) (UI Main Library PN4894 .L38)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: EMANUEL ADLER
Series 2: PHILIP ADLER
Series 3: ADLER CORRESPONDENCE

  • Series 1: EMANUEL ADLER
  • Sub-Series: Speeches and articles
  • Box 1:
  • Speeches and articles by Emanuel Adler
  • "Advertising." [speech, delivered at Muscatine Ad Club and at Moline Ad Club] June 10 and June 24 - 1913, 1920
    16 pages. Mimeographed typescript, with autograph corrections, signed, page 1
  • "This Believing Newspaper World." [speech]
    14 leaves. Mimeographed Typescript
  • "How the Press Looks at Religion." [speech, delivered at Temple Emanuel] April 10 - 1931
    Typescript. 5 pages
  • "The Story of the Lee Newspaper Syndicate." [article]
    Mimeographed typescript, with autograph corrections. 4 pages
  • "Observations on the Rights of Labor, Unionism, and the Open Shop." A paper read before the Contemporary Club, Davenport, Iowa. November 14 - 1921
    Printed copy. 13 pages
  • "Disraeli." A paper read before the Contemporary Club. Davenport, Iowa. October 7 - 1929
    Printed copy. 20 pages
  • E. P. Adler to "All Members of the Times Family." TLS. Davenport, Iowa. July 19 - 1941
  • E. P. Adler to "Dear Employee." TLS Davenport, Iowa. September 30 - 1947
    Mimeograph L. S. 1 page
  • Sub-Series: Newspaper clippings
  • Box 1:
  • The Davenport Democrat, n.d. "Some Things Which the Times and Its Publisher, Mr. Adler, Did Not Say"
  • Davenport Centennial-Times 50th Anniversary Edition. [n.d.] "Looking Back Over Half a Century; Publisher Recalls Start as Printer," by E. P. Adler
  • Editor and Publisher and the Fourth Estate. "Romances of American Journalism; Stories of Success Won by Leaders of the Press" February 25 - 1928
  • Series 2: PHILIP ADLER
  • Sub-Series: Speeches and articles
  • Box 1:
  • Speeches, articles, correspondence by Philip Adler
  • "The Press, A Factor in Internationalism," Davenport High School Graduation Oration - 1922
    Typescript with autograph corrections. 4 leaves
  • "The Era of Secrecy Ends." A paper read before the Contemporary Club. Davenport, Iowa. November 19 - 1951
    Printed copy. 21 pages
  • "Voices of America--Fewer but Hi-Fi." A paper read before the Contemporary Club. Davenport, Iowa. March 28 - 1955
    Printed copy. 14 pages
  • "Gentlemen of the Press?" A paper read before the Contemporary Club. Davenport, Iowa. February 29 - 1960
    Mimeograph. 7 pages
  • "Newspapers: Where Do They Go From Here?" A paper read before the Contemporary Club. Davenport, Iowa. January - 1964
    Mimeograph. 6 leaves
  • Acceptance speech for B'nai B'rith Award. March 3 - 1964
    Typescript, with autograph corrections. 2 leaves
  • Philip Adler letter to "Chris and Emil.": Washington, August 13 - 1945
    T.L.S. 1 page
  • Philip Adler letter to "Chris and Emil.": Washington, August 14 - 1945
    T.L.S. 1 page
  • Sub-Series: Newspaper clippings by Philip Adler
  • Box 1:
  • Courier. Ottumwa, Iowa. "France: Decay to Debacle," July 9 - 1940
  • Daily Times. Davenport, Iowa. "Ike Builds Top-notch team to Save Europe," June 25 - 1951
  • Daily Times. "Ritual Shows France's Regard for Wines," July 4 - 1951
  • Daily Times. "Viking Planes Whisk Passengers Across Channel Now," July 13 - 1951
  • Daily Times. "Britain's Food Ample, But No Steaks!" July 16 - 1951
  • Daily Times. "A Happy Day With British War Orphan 'Adopted' Under the Foster Parents Plan," July 17 - 1951
  • Daily Times. "House of Commons Session Offers Food For Thought as Able Men Debate Issues," July 24 - 1951
  • Lincoln Star. Lincoln, Nebraska. "Confidence Fills Air at Ike's SHAPE Office," August 15 - 1951
  • Sub-Series: Newspaper clippings about Philip Adler
  • Box 1:
  • Daily Iowan. "Phil Adler, Former Iowa Editor, Recounts Growth of SUI at Finkbine Dinner." February 11 - 1934
  • Daily Times. Davenport, Iowa. "Honor Adler as Man of Year: Dr. Bergendorf: Courage is U. S. Need," by Wallace Koenig. March 4 - 1964
  • Des Moines Register. Obituaries. "Lee Enterprises Chief Adler Dies." May 31 - 1984
  • Iowa City Press Citizen."Former Lee Enterprises Chief Dies." May 30
  • Quad City Times. Wednesday, "Adler Dies; Former Times Publisher. Adler Active in Community." May 30 - 1984
    pages 1,4
  • Quad City Times. Obituaries. "Phillip Adler, 81." May 31
  • Quad City Times. Opinion. "A Man of Vision" by Philip Adler. "Editors Note: This article was written by Philip D. Adler, former Times publisher who died at age of 91 Tuesday, on the occasions of the Diamond Jubilee, September 26, 1961." May 31 - 1984
  • Quad City Times. "Times' Adler Eulogized: A Humble Man Who Didn't Force His Will On Others." June 1 - 1984
  • Quad City Times. "Adler Wills $500,000 to St. Luke's." By Diana Penner. June 12 - 1984
  • Sunday Times - Democrat. Davenport, Iowa. "Retirement Ends Adler News Era." November 1 - 1970
  • Series 3: ADLER CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence
  • Philip Adler to George Sheets. T. L. S. July 24 - 1958
  • E. P. Adler to A. W. Lee: T. L. (carbon copy) September 18 - 1905
  • E. P. Adler to A. W. Lee: T. L. (carbon copy) November 21 - 1904
  • A. W. Lee to E. P. Adler: A. L. S. September 15 - 1906
  • A. W. Lee to E. P. Adler: A. Note S. (on T.L.) November 21 - 1904
  • A. W. Lee to E. P. Adler: T. L. S. July 25 - 1905
  • A. W. Lee to E. P. Adler: T. L. S. July 26 - 1905
  • A. W. Lee to E. P. Adler: T. L. S. November 27 - 1905
  • A. W. Lee to E. P. Adler: A. L. S. February 14 - 1905
  • Mrs. A. W. Lee to E. P. Adler: A. L. S. November 8 - 1908
  • Mrs. A. W. Lee to E. P. Adler: A. L. S. January 15 - 1909
  • Mrs. A. W. Lee to E. P. Adler: A. L. S. October 31 - 1911
  • E. P. Adler to Mrs. Lee: T. L. S. (carbon copy) October 25 - 1911
  • E. P. Adler to Mrs. Lee: E. P. Adler to Philip Adler
  • E. P. Adler to Mrs. Lee: T. L. S. August 6 - 1923
  • E. P. Adler to Mrs. Lee: T. L. (carbon copy) May 7 - 1945
  • E. P. Adler to Mrs. Lee: T. L. S. August 10 - 1945
  • Philip Adler to E. P. Adler: T. L. S. May 5 - 1945
  • Philip Adler to E. P. Adler: T. L. S. August 8 - 1945
  • E. P. Adler to "Dear Employee": T. L. S.
  • E. P. Adler to "Dear Employee": Card S.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
Lee Enterprises

Topics:
Newspaper publishing

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa

Browse:
English & American Literature
Writers Archive at Iowa
Newspaper & Magazine Editors & Publishers