Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Brooke Lambert Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1860 - 1901
Creator: Lambert, Brooke (1834-1901)
Extent: .25 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0228
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: English clergyman and social reformer. Made up of letters written to Lambert over a forty year time span dealing with issues such as women's suffrage, the welfare of the poor and orphaned, colonialism, pulpit freedom, etc.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The University of Iowa Libraries purchased these papers in 1970.

Preferred Citation: The Papers of Brooke Lambert, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Brooke Lambert (1834-1901) was an English clergyman and social reformer. He graduated (B.A., M.A., and B.C.L.) from Brasenose College, Oxford University. He became vicar of St. Mark's, Whitechapel, in 1866. There he became involved in many issues outside of the ecclesiastical range. He studied the poor law administration and government, and published a volume titled Pauperism. He founded a soup kitchen, mutual improvement society, and a working man's club. He also renovated the church. Poor health forced him to resign his Whitechapel position.

After his health was restored, Lambert held a number of positions including vicar of Tamworth, Staffordshire. He performed voluntary work for the London school board as well. In 1880, he became the vicar of Greenwich, where he remained until his death. In that position he did much for the public good, such as working with the schools, founding the Greenwich Provident Dispensary, and serving as chairman of the Metropolitan Association for Befriending Young Servants.

The papers of Brooke Lambert are comprised of letters written to him between 1860 and 1901. Most of the papers are signed, holograph letters. Letters are arranged alphabetically by correspondent, then chronologically. Topics range from pulpit freedom to women's suffrage and colonialism to the welfare of orphans and the poor. The correspondents include such people as William Boyd Carpenter, Edward Denison, Richard Holt Hutton, Mark Pattison, William Stubbs, Archibald Campbell Tait, and Anthony Wilson Thorold.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE

  • Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • Inventory of correspondents
  • Abbot, Edwin A.: February 20 - 1884
  • Abbot, Edwin A.: May 14 - 1885
  • Albert, C.P.: June 19 [no year]
  • Alford - 1885
  • Balfour (to Boyle) - 1890
  • Batterfield, W.: January 22 - 1874
  • Beale, Dorthea, (1831-1906): August - 1874
  • Beale, Dorthea, (1831-1906): June 26 - 1882
  • Bedford, William Walshasm - 1885
  • Bell, G.C., undated
  • Bowen, George F., (1821-1899): June 15 - 1893
  • Bradley, Edward G., (1827-1889): June 30 - 1888
  • Bradley, Edward G., (1827-1889): July 7 [no year]
  • Brame, G.F.: April 11 - 1892
  • Brand, Henry Bouverie William, (1814-1892): November 24 - 1881
  • Bright, William, (1824-1901): December 1 - 1892
  • Bright, William, (1824-1901): July 31 - 1884
  • Brooke, Stopford, (1831-1916): October 19 - 1880
  • Brooke, Stopford, (1831-1916): April 15 - 1881
  • Brooks, Phillips: July 14 - 1892
  • Cameron, Verney Lovett, (1844-1894) to Charles: February 5 - 1889
  • Carpenter, William Boyd, (1841-1918): October 26 [no year]
  • Carpenter, William Boyd, (1841-1918): January 8 - 1888
  • Carpenter, William Boyd, (1841-1918): March 13 - 1892
  • Carpenter, William Boyd, (1841-1918): June 12 - 1893
  • Cecil, Hugh: November 29 - 1899
  • Cheyne, Thomas Kelly, (1841-1915), undated
  • Cheyne, Thomas Kelly, (1841-1915): January 28 - 1895
  • Christie, William Henry Mahoney, (1845-1922): March 20 - 1893
  • Christie, William Henry Mahoney, (1845-1922): October 9 - 1894
  • Church, W.M.H.: November 30 - 1872
  • Clark, M.: November 3 - 1883
  • Cleveland, C.W. to Col. Hall, Friday [no date]
  • Clifford, John, (1836-1923): February 7 - 1885
  • Codrington, Edward, (1770-1851) to Jasper Hall: January 19 - 1836
  • Collings, Jesse, (1831-1920): October 9 - 1869
  • Creighton, Mandell, (1843-1901): January 14 - 1891
  • Creighton, Mandell, (1843-1901): February 19 [no year]
  • Dannreuther, Edward: dear Madam, undated
  • Dauer, E.: July 18 - 1886
  • Davey, Horace, (1833-1907): October 13 - 1893
  • Davidson, Randall Thomas, (1843-1917): March 9 - 1901
  • Dawkins, W. Boyd, (1837-1929): January 18 - 1889
  • Denison, Edward, (1840-1870): June 17 - 1869
  • Denison, Edward, (1840-1870): September 16
  • Denison, Edward, (1840-1870): September 26 -- 27
  • Davies, John Llewelyn, (1826 -- 1916): October 11 [no year]
  • Eyre, E.: June 20 - 1868
  • Farrar, Frederick William, (1831-1903): March 19 [no year]
  • Farrar, Frederick William, (1831-1903): March 27 [no year]
  • Fremantle, Arthur to Samuel: December 6 - 1893
  • Goschen, George Joachim, (1831-1907): April 18 [no year]
  • Green, John Richard, (1837-1883), undated
  • Gregory, Robert, (1819-1911): January 31 - 1885
  • Gregory, Robert, (1819-1911): February 4
  • Grey, Albert Henry George, (1851-1917): November 10 - 1887
  • Grove, George, (1820-1900): February 14 - 1886
  • Grove, George, (1820-1900): June 12 - 1893
  • Harrison, Frederic, (1831-1923) correspondence - 1880
  • Haweis, Hugh reginald, (1838-1901), undated
    2 letters
  • Hobhouse, Arthur, (1819-1904): May 11 - 1884
  • Hobhouse, Arthur, (1819-1904): January 17 - 1890
  • Hogg, Quintin, (1845-1903): September 3 - 1878
  • Hogg, Quintin, (1845-1903): February 3 - 1881
  • Hole, Samuel Reynolds, (1819-1904): May 31 - 1892
  • Holland, Henry Scott, (1847-1918) correspondence - 1870-1884
  • Holland, Henry Scott, (1847-1918) correspondence - 1884-1901
  • Hook, Walter Farquar, (1798-1875) to Jasper: December 10 - 1860
  • Hutton, Richard Holt, (1826-1897): November 19 - 1881
  • Hutton, Richard Holt, (1826-1897): March 23 - 1882
  • Hutton, Richard Holt, (1826-1897) correspondence - 1883
  • Jebb, Richard Cleaverhouse, (1841-1905): November 2 - 1895
  • Jeune, Francis Henry, (1843-1905): February 9 - 1885
  • Jones, Harry: May 25 - 1880
  • Jowitt, William: undated
  • Jowitt, William: May 25 - 1889
  • Kitchin, George William, (1827-1912): February 5 - 1884
  • Lloyd, C.H.: October 23 - 1897
  • London, M.: November 1 - 1889
  • Lub ____ (?), John: March 20 - 1884
  • Lub ____ (?), John: June 12 - 1893
  • Lutter (?): undated
  • Lyttelton: October 3 - 1875
  • Manning, Henry Edward, (1808-1892): June 22 - 1884
  • Manning, Henry Edward, (1808-1892): July 19 - 1885
  • Martineau, James, (1805-1900) correspondence - 1885
  • Max Muller, Frederick, (1823-1900): January 31 - 1887
  • Meath, [Brabazon, Reginald, 12th Earl of Meath, (1841-1929)]: February 19 - 1894
  • Newdegate, Charles Newdigate, (1816-1887): May 16 - 1874
  • Lord Palmerston [Temple, Henry John (1784-1865)]: March 18 - 1860
  • Pattison, Mark, (1813-1884): July 17 - 1868
  • Pattison, Mark, (1813-1884): September 11 - 1878
  • Pattison, Mark, (1813-1884): October 3 - 1880
  • Percy: August 26 [no year]
  • Plunket-Dublin, Horace Curzon, (1854-1932) to Mr. Carsels: March 9 - 1893
  • Powell, Frederick York, (1850-1904), undated
  • Roberts, W. Page: May 4 - 1889
  • Rogers, William, (1819-1896): March 9 - 1893
  • Russell, John, (1792-1878), undated
  • Ryen, W., undated
  • Scherer: June 3 [no year]
  • Senior, Jeanne G: January 2 - 1874
  • Sewell, James Edwards, (1810-1903): October 31 - 1860
  • Sewell, James Edwards, (1810-1903): June 13 - 1899
  • Stanhope: November 2 - 1892
  • Stead, William Thomas, (1849-1912): August 17 - 1885
  • Steinthal, S. Alfred: November 29 - 1876
  • Stubbs, William, (1825-1901): December 26 - 1890
  • Stubbs, William, (1825-1901): December 28
  • Stubbs, William, (1825-1901): June 19 - 1895
  • Tait, Archibald Campbell, (1811-?): December 11 - 1865
  • Tait, Archibald Campbell, (1811-?) correspondence - 1875
  • Tait, Archibald Campbell, (1811-?): February 9 - 1877
  • Thring, Edward, (1821-1887): February 3 - 1886
  • Trevelyan, George Otto, (1838-1928): May 8 - 1891
  • Vaughan, Charles John, (1816-1887): August 2 - 1888
  • Wall, Henry: January 26 - 1869
  • Wall, Henry: June 17 - 1870
  • Ward, T.H.: September 30 - 1883
  • Welldon, James Edward Cowell, (1854-1937) correspondence - 1885-1898
  • Welldon, James Edward Cowell, (1854-1937) correspondence - 1885-1898
  • Whelan, James: September 7 - 1891
  • Wilson, James Maurice, (1836-1931): December 7 - 1885
  • A. Winton [Thorold, Anthony Wilson, (1825-1895)], undated
  • A. Winton [Thorold, Anthony Wilson, (1825-1895)]: August 10 - 1887
  • A. Winton [Thorold, Anthony Wilson, (1825-1895)]: August 13 - 1889
  • A. Winton [Thorold, Anthony Wilson, (1825-1895)]: June 13 - 1893
  • Wolseley, Garnet Joseph, (188e-1913) correspondence - 1894-1895
  • Wolseley, Garnet Joseph, (188e-1913): May 7 - 1900
  • Duke of Norfolk [Howard, Henry Fitzalan, (1847-1917)]: June 12 - 1893
    Uncertain of identification
  • Lunch, J.: April 9 - 1877
    Uncertain of identification
  • F.D.: May 10 - 1879
    Uncertain of identification
  • Gell, P.: May 7 [no year]
    Uncertain of identification
  • Machado, G.: December 30 - 1899
    Uncertain of identification, letter in French

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
Church of England

Topics:
Orphans
Poor laws
Suffrage
Women

Occupations:
Clergy
Social reformers

Geographic Names:
England
Great Britain

Browse:
Clergy and the Church