Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Greene Family Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1790-1936
Creator: Greene, George
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0225
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Pioneer family from Cedar Rapids, Iowa. Typed transcriptions of diaries, letters, and cards describing life in early Johnson, Jones, and Linn counties in Iowa.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were donated to the University of Iowa Libraries by Katheryne Greene in 1959.

Preferred Citation: Greene Family Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

1817 Born in Alton, Staffordshire, England 1819 Greene family moved to Buffalo, New York 1833-1836 Educated at Carysville Collegiate Seminary, Aurora Academy and French's Collegiate Institute 1838 Moved to Davenport, employed as surveyor. Marriage to Harriet Merritt of Buffalo, New York 1840 Admitted to the bar in Iowa City 1847 Admitted to state supreme court 1849 Cedar Rapids is founded 1855 Marries Francis R. Graves of Cooperstown, New York 1856 Birth of Calvin Graves Greene 1864-1866 Construction of Rockford, Rock Island & St. Louis Railroad. George Greene becomes president of Burlington, Cedar Rapids & Minnesota Railroad. 1867 Birth of Robert C. Greene 1875 Founding of Coe Collegiate Institute. George Greene president of the Board 1880 Building of Greene's Opera House.

The Greene family papers are made up entirely of transcriptions of diaries, letters, and cards typed onto note cards. George Greene's diaries provide information on early days in Johnson, Jones, and Linn counties, especially in the city of Cedar Rapids, Iowa. His son, Robert, detailed what was playing at Greene's Opera House in his diary. Calvin Graves Greene described his many trips, including one to San Francisco in 1915.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: NOTECARDS
Series 2: TRANSCRIPTS

  • Series 1: NOTECARDS
  • Box 1:
  • Notecard Bundle 1: 33 cards giving happenings on various dates in the lifetime of George Greene - 1970-1880
    Includes a card dated 12/20/1851 extracting a letter from George Greene to his daughter, a card dated 1/2/1861 extracting a letter to Judge Greene from Rev. S. Stau, Savannah, Georgia, a card dated 2/8/1861 extracting a letter to "Dear Judge" from Nathaniel B. Baker, Clinton, Iowa, and an "At Home" card for Mrs. George Greene which is undated.
  • Notecard Bundle 2: Includes 65 entry cards from 1/2/1849 to 7/1/1849. George Greene made no later entries.
  • Notecard Bundle 3: Includes 46 entry cards from 1/1/1864 to 12/30/1864.
  • Notecard Bundle 4: Includes 79 entry cards from 1/1/1865 to 12/31/1865 .
  • Notecard Bundle 5: Includes 73 entry cards from 1/1/1866 to 12/31/1866. No entries from 12/5/1866 to 12/31/1866 or 1867.
  • Notecard Bundle 6: Includes 73 entry cards from 1/1/1868 to 12/31/1868. No entries from 8/1/1868 to 9/25/1868.
  • Notecard Bundle 7: Includes 61 entry cards from 1/1/1869 to 7/30/1869.
  • Notecard Bundle 8: Includes 81 entry cards from 1/1/1870 to 12/21/1870.
  • Notecard Bundle 9: Includes 133 entry cards from 1/1/1871 to 12/31/1871.
  • Notecard Bundle 10: Includes 51 entry cards from 1/1/1872 to 12/31/1872. No entries from 6/25/1872 to 11/3/1872.
  • Notecard Bundle 11: Includes 70 entry cards from 1/1/1873 to 12/31/1873. No entries from 6/28/1873 to 8/17/1873, from 11/20/1873 to 12/31/1873, and 1874.
  • Notecard Bundle 12: Includes 57 entry cards from 1/1/1875 to 12/31/1875. No entries from 2/25/1875 to 8/8/1875, from 10/30/1875 to 12/31/1875, and 1876.
  • Notecard Bundle 13: Includes 46 entry cards from 1/1/1877 to 12/31/1877. No entries from 7/2/1877 to 12/31/1877.
  • Notecard Bundle 14: Includes 94 entry cards from 1/1/1878 to 12/31/1878. No entries from 12/21/1878 to 12/31/1878 and 1879.
  • Notecard Bundle 15: Includes 23 entry cards from 1/1/1880 to 6/27/1880.
    George Greene died 6/23/1880.
  • Notecard Bundle 16: The Diary of R.C. Greene, 44 note cards from 1878 --1885.
  • Notecard Bundle 17: The Diary of C.G. Greene, 166 note cards from 1879 - 1936.
  • Series 2: TRANSCRIPTS
  • Box 1:
  • Transcript of a letter, Washington, D.C., 9 March 1854
    From George Greene to John Wear, Jr. Concerning the Dubuque and Iowa City mail route.
  • Transcript of a letter, Iowa City, 29 June 18[34?]
    From George Greene to [?]. Concerning the necessary action on the part of the Cedar Rapids citizens to have the railroad speedily built.
  • Transcript of a recommendation by the directors of the Chicago, Iowa & Nebraska Railroad
    Concerning the purchase of iron. Boston, 12 August, 1858.
  • Aunt Libby, Cousin George, and Community: The Calders, Greenes and Early Cedar Rapids by Elizabeth Wilhelm Dake.
    Gift of Ms. Dake.