Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the John Elliot Goodenow Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1845-1959
Creator: Goodenow, John Elliot (1878-1973)
Extent: 2.25 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0224
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Farmer and livestock breeder. Reminiscences and financial and stock and crop records relating to the family farm.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were donated to the University of Iowa Libraries by John E. Goodenow in 1959.

Preferred Citation: John Elliot Goodenow Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

John Elliot Goodenow (1878-1973) was a life-long resident of Maquoketa, Iowa, the town his grandfather founded. John Goodenow was a stockman and farmer. He owned and operated 348 acres, where he raised registered Shorthorn cattle, Chesterwhite hogs, and Shropshire sheep. A member of the Jackson County Farm Bureau, he was secretary of that organization from 1920 through 1924. He was also active in community affairs, serving on both the city council and school board.
 
Time Line
 
1878-Born in Maquoketa, Iowa, January 7, to Osceola and Fannie Cassin Goodenow
 
1895-Received formal education at Maquoketa High School
 
1903-After his father's death he continued farming the Goodenow's 220 acres and later
 
purchased 128 more
 
1909-Married Myrta King, January 14
 
1920-1924-Secretary of the Jackson County Farm Bureau
 
1922-1933-Member of the Maquoketa school board
 
1922-1940-Secretary-treasurer of the Co-op Stock Shipping Association
 
1934-Member of the Maquoketa City Council
 
1934-1938-Secretary of the Jackson County Warehouse Board
 
1973-Death and burial in the Mt.

The papers of John Elliot Goodenow consist of twenty-four items dating from 1845 to 1959, which document his family farming operation in Jackson County, Iowa. Along with Goodenow's own reminiscences there are bank records, journals of financial records, stock and crop records, and a photocopy of the original land purchase abstract sheet. The collection represents more than a century of farm management.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Business Papers
  • Eight business papers of Thomas W. Cassin - 1853
    Cassin was the maternal grandfather of Mr. Goodenow.
  • Photostat of Abstract Sheet - 1845
    This documents original land purchase by J. E. Goodenow. It is envelop number 8.
  • Statements of account from the Federal Land Bank, Omaha - 1934-1945
    1943 - 1943 in envelope number 6; 1944 - 1945 in envelope number 7
  • Book Drafts
  • A typed copy of Reminiscences of Mr. John Elliot Goodenow - 1958
    As told to George M. Sheets, Collector, Iowa Historical Documents, Iowa City, Iowa, December 11, 1958
  • Typed copy and carbon copy of Additional Reminiscences of Mr. J.E. Goodenow
    As told to G.M. Sheets, Collector, Iowa Historical Documents
  • Documents - 1959
    From January 6, 1959, with Mr. Goodenow's corrections in pencil on typed copy.
  • Carbon Copy
    Copy of Additional Reminiscences of J.E. Goodenow with further pencil corrections.
  • Corrected Typed Copy
    Typed copy of J.E. Goodenow's Additional Reminiscences, and a carbon copy of the same.
  • Four Page List - 1959
    Written by J.W. Goodenow III, January 8, 1959, of J. E. Goodenow I's major accomplishments following his founding of Maquoketa.
  • Journal 1 - 1903-1904
    Record of expenses, income, and farm management.
  • Journal 2 - 1905-1909
    A continuation of financial records.
  • Journal 3 - 1910-1914
    A continuation of financial records.
  • Box 2:
  • Journal 4 - 1915-1937
    A continuation of financial records.
  • Journal 5 - 1938-1953
    A continuation of financial records.
  • Box 3:
  • Elm Hill Farm Brochures - 1910-1918
    Includes the bulletin on "The Inheritance of Coat Colors in Horses"
  • Cattle records (breeding, calves, weight, sale, etc.) - 1903-1943
  • Chicken financial records - 1914-1934
  • Town cows bred and pastured - 1904-1911
  • Town cows bred and pastured - 1912-1934
  • Ledger of expenses, income, etc. - 1954-1973
  • Hog notebook - 1894-1903
  • Crop records notebook - 1904-1912
  • Crop records notebook - 1913-1926
  • Notebook of expenses, income, etc. - 1892-1909
  • Box 4:
  • Journal - 1870-1871
    Belonging to the grandfather or father of John Elliot Goodenow(?) about 1870 -- 1871?
  • Ledger - 1896
  • Scrapbook of mostly World War I Era clippings
  • Six personal expense and income notebooks - 1893-1957
  • Four farm notebooks - 1893-1961
  • Notebooks on Shorthorn Cattle, Chester White Swine, Shropshires - 1933-1952
  • Box 5:
  • Private register of the Elm Hill Farm herd of Shorthorn Cattle - 1897-1924
  • Farm (Land) Tax Receipts - 1884-1903
  • Ledger of expenditures, income, misc - 1888-1911
  • Newspaper clippings - 1896--1923, 1973
    Includes obituary from January 1973