Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Henry N. Graven Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1908-1974
Creator: Graven, Henry N.
Extent: 50.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0222
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: U.S. District Court Judge for the Northern District of Iowa. Papers primarily relating to his legal and judicial career with briefs, jury instructions, citations, subject files, and speeches. Also includes correspondence, information on the School of Religion at the University of Iowa and material about the Lutheran Church.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Boxes 4, 7, 14

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Mrs. Graven donated the judge's papers to the University of Iowa Libraries In 1981.

Preferred Citation: Henry N. Graven Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Henry N. Graven (1893-1970) was born in Saint James, Minnesota. In 1921, he graduated from the University of Minnesota with both his B.A. and LL.B. That same year, after being admitted to the bar in both Iowa and Minnesota, he began a law practice in Greene, Iowa, with his brother James. Graven served as Iowa's Assistant Attorney General from 1936-1937 and was also council to the Iowa Highway Commission. He left his law practice in 1937 when Governor Kraschel appointed him Judge of the 12th Judicial District of Iowa. Judge Graven instigated the program of continuing legal education which was later adopted by the Iowa State Bar Association. In 1944, President Franklin D. Roosevelt nominated him to the federal bench. He was a U.S. District Judge for the northern district of Iowa until 1961, when he informed President Kennedy of his desire to retire from his regular duties. However, as a United States Senior District Judge, during his retirement Judge Graven was called upon to serve in many jurisdictions with overcrowded schedules. Consequently, he held court in New York, North Dakota, Florida, Texas, Louisiana, California, and Puerto Rico.
 
Active in the American Lutheran Church, Judge Graven initiated the pastoral system for the church, which has served as a guideline for other similar pension plans of other religious sects. For twenty five years, he served as the chairman of the Pension Board of the American Lutheran Church. Judge Graven was also a member and former president of the Board of Trustees of the School of Religion at the University of Iowa.

The papers of Henry N. Graven consist of 50 linear feet of manuscripts (100 boxes), dating from 1908 to 1974, documenting his legal and judicial career along with his work for the Lutheran Church of America and the University of Iowa's School of Religion The papers are arranged in four separate series: 1) Briefs and cases; 2) Personal papers; 3) Citations, and; 4) Jury instructions. The first series of briefs and cases contains material relating to lawsuits. Here are subject folders concerning issues such as contracts, types of evidence, insurance policies, and treaties. The personal papers date from 1908 to 1974 and consist of fourteen boxes of manuscripts. This section spans his lifetime and reflects his many interests. There is material from his high school days and his service during WWI, papers relating to the Lutheran Church, information on his law clerks and his retirement from the bench, along with many other subjects. Correspondence folders include letters from: Guy M. Gillette, Nelson G. Kraschel, Wiley Rutledge, and Mason Ladd. The largest section, titled citations, is comprised of sixty-five boxes of legal papers. Arranged alphabetically by subject, this series contains folders on abandonment to motor vehicles and product liability to World War veterans. The papers end with a collection of jury instructions given by Graven while serving on the bench.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BRIEFS AND CASES
Series 2: PERSONAL PAPERS
Series 3: CITATIONS
Series 4: JURY INSTRUCTIONS

  • Series 1: BRIEFS AND CASES
  • Box 1:
  • Accord and Satisfaction
  • Appointment of attorney for receiver
    Attorney's fees in derivative stockholders suit, appointment of temporary receiver (notebook)
  • Automatic Washer Co.
  • Bailments, Conversion, Grain
  • Bank robber case (Fernandez & Sanchez)
  • Bard vs. Ufford
  • Bills & Notes - Conditional delivery
  • Carries, passengers, duty, Res Ipsa Loquitur
  • Contracts: Dealer
  • Contracts: Employee not to complete
  • Contracts: Remorandum or confirmation of previous oral agreement
  • Contracts: Lifetime
  • Contracts: Matuality
  • Corporation Cases
  • Box 2:
  • Corporation Material
  • Corporations, derivative suits - Receiver Res Judicata
  • Box 3:
  • Damages - Liquidated, briefs on
  • Deeds - For care and support
  • Dolch vs. Garraid
  • Drafting competition - Remorandum to Robert F. Cosgrove
  • Easements
  • Employees Liability Act Instructions
  • Evidence: Custom - Experts
  • Evidence: Exlamation of Bystanders
  • Evidence: Impeaching Statements
  • Evidence: Incompetent, Irrelevant, and Immaterial
  • Evidence: Parole
  • Faville - Reply brief of Faville as to constructive trust
  • Federal Interpleader since the act of 1936
  • Fernadez & Sanchez
    See bank robber case
  • Figueroa de Arrozo, Rosa M. vs Sindicato de Trabajadores Pachinzhouse
  • Box 4:
  • Fuel Barges, Inc. vs. American Marine Corp
  • Gonzaliz, Santiago Hermino, J Barredo against
  • Edelmira Folla Schenck
  • Gruemmer gas fraud case
  • Hallinan, Mae vs. John W. Gardner
  • Harroun vs. Joseph Scholtz
    Trover & Conversion -- Memorandum opinion
  • Houston
  • Hughson vs. Iowa Electric Light and Power Co.
  • Index of Cases
  • Box 5:
  • Innkeepers - Loss of guest's baggage
  • Instructions - As to tax consequences of verdict
  • Insurance: Application of money in hands of insurance company on premiums
  • Insurance: Disability
  • Insurance: Duty to protect property and to exhibit property
  • Insurance: Lightning and livestock
  • Insurance: Loan receipts and covenants not to sue
  • Insurance: Motor vehicle - where two policies cover the same accident
  • Insurance: Oral transfer of insurance policy
  • Insurance: What constitutes a windstorm
  • Iowa tax titles and tax title abstracts
  • Irvine Ranch case
  • Legal information please
  • Libel and slander
  • Liken vs. Vechten
  • Limitations, statute of
  • Low (Leroy) vs Ford Hopkins Co.
  • MacNider case - Corporations memorandum
  • Box 6:
  • MacNider case - Defendant Briefs
    Three notebooks
  • Box 7:
  • MacNider case - Briefs
  • Box 8:
  • MacNider case - Briefs
  • Box 9:
  • Malpractice medical cases
  • Minutes of special meeting of board of directors of Amana Society
  • Mooney Aircraft, Inc. vs. Delray Beach Aviation Corp.
  • Moreno V. Celebrezze
  • Mortgages - Equity of redemption
    Three folders
  • Motor vehicle - Briefs in Hoosier Casualty Company case
  • Nebraska standardized instruction
    Two folders
  • Box 10:
  • New Orleans trial schedule
  • New York obscenity case, the film "491"
  • Periodical Distributors, Inc. vs. The American News Co.
  • Principal and surety
    Two folders
  • Roshed brothers trial at Davenport - 1958
  • Runyon murder case
  • Salaries and bonuses
  • Sales & consignments
  • San Antonio
  • San Juan
    Three folders
  • Box 11:
  • Schools and school districts
    Two folders
  • Schoonover briefs
    Four folders
  • Box 12:
  • Securities and Exchange Commission - Short swing profits
  • Serzysko vs. The Chase Manhattan Bank
  • Sheldon Bank embezzler case
    Two folders
  • Southern Conference of Teamsters vs. Braswell Motor Freight Lines
  • Suggested forms for the formation of corporations
  • Susi vs. Belle Action Stables, Inc.
  • Sweeney vs. Sugar Refining Co.
  • Taxation
    Two folderes
  • Box 13:
  • Treaties and executive agreements
  • Treaty rights of consuls in administration of estates
  • Trusts and trustees
    Three folders
  • USA vs. Victor Harry Feguer
    Three folders
  • USA vs. Ray E. Friedman
  • USA vs. Howard Hunt
  • USA vs. H. L. McKinley
  • USA vs. Menier Hardware No. 1, Inc.
  • USA vs. Rebel Towing Co.
  • USA vs. Charles H. Smith
  • USA vs. Henry Joseph Sosa - Sosa
  • Box 14:
  • Waters and watercourses
  • Watters vs. Iowa State Traveling Men's Association
  • Weede vs. Becht
    Three folders
  • Series 2: PERSONAL PAPERS
  • Box 1:
  • Annals of Iowa
  • "Appellate cases in which I wrote the Opinion"
  • Appellate decisions
  • Articles of interest
    Four folders
  • Box 2:
  • Bench Book
  • "The boy no one wanted"
  • Brotherhood Institute - Waverly, Feb., 1958
  • "Burrows" Editorial by Mr. Robert O. Burrows Sr. of the Belle Plaine Union
  • Canons of professional ethics, canons of judicial ethics
  • Carspecken, Phil, "Romance of the records"
  • Centennial session, Dubuque, Iowa, Jan. 7, 1950
  • Christmas Day, France - 1918
  • Christmas Eve - 1908
  • Correspondence files
    Nine folders
  • Box 3:
  • Criminal Correspondence
    Ten folders
  • Dedication of new church
  • Drake estate case
  • Evidence in motor vehicle cases
  • Expense vouchers
    Eight folders
  • Box 4:
  • Expense vouchers
    Two folders
  • Foutschel, "Aid Plans in the Ohio and Iowa Synods"
  • Graven speeches and personal items
  • Mrs. Graven's account of a trip to Europe
  • Greene High School football
  • Hicklin, Judge Edwin R., photograph
  • "Some historical highlights in Iowa Federal Court history," Drake Supreme Court Day, April 6, 1958
  • Inauguration of Dyersville Basillica
  • Inventory of books
  • Iowa Bench News
  • Iowa State Bar Association Continuing Legal Education
    Two folders
  • Box 5:
  • Judicial matters
    Four folders
  • Box 6:
  • Judicial mattters
  • Law clerks
    Six folders
  • Lewis and Clark ceremonies
  • Lincoln's living great grandchildren
  • Box 7:
  • Lutheran Church
    Three folders
  • NcNeely, Lee, photograph
  • Matters of interest to lawyers and judges
  • Miscellaneous
    Nine folders
  • Box 8:
  • Miscellaneous
    Two folders
  • New York Law
  • Obituaries - 1970
  • One hundreth anniversary of the Iowa constitution of 1857
  • One hundred years of Federal Court in the Northern District of Iowa
  • Opinions and findings published March 30, 1944, to date
  • Opinion lists
  • Parker, Judge Issac C.
  • Phi Alpha Delta - Honorary membership
  • Political campaign of 1928
  • Probation
  • Box 9:
  • Receipt and inventory of furniture, U.S. District Court, Northern District of Iowa - 1959
  • Memorials
    Two folders
  • Red mass
  • Retirement of Judge Graven
    Two folders
  • School of Religion
  • Scroll to Judge Graven from the lawyers of the 10th Judicial District of Iowa
  • Senate hearings on improvements in judicial machinery
    Three folders
  • Box 10:
  • Some memories
  • Talks
    Three folders
  • Tenth anniversary
  • West Publishing Co.
  • Box 11:
    This box is 1982 Addendum.
  • American Lutheran Church - 1964-1969
  • Annals of Iowa
    Vol. 30, nos. 2 & 4, Oct. 1949 & Apr. 1950
  • Biographical Material - 1919-1961
  • Brotherhood Railway Carmen of America - 1916-1950
  • Certificates - 1919-1970
  • Correspondence: letters from Everett M. Dirksen, Franklin D. Roosevelt, Guy M. Gillette, Clyde Herring, John W. Gwynne, and Fred Biermann - 1919-1937
  • Correspondence: letters from Guy M. Gillette, Nelson G. Kraschel, and Wiley Rutledge - 1938-1942
  • Correspondence: letters from Wiley Rutledge, Paul H. McCoid, and Guy M. Gillette - 1943
    January - August
  • Correspondence: letters from Wiley Rutledge, John W. Gwynne, Jake More, Nelson G. Kraschel, and Guy M. Gillette. - 1943
    Septemeber - December
  • Box 12:
  • Correspondence: letters from Guy M. Gillette, John W. Gwynne, Jake More, and Everett M. Dirksen. - 1944
    January - March 20th
  • Correspondence: letters from Nelson G. Kraschel, Guy M. Gillette, Bourke B. Hickenlooper, J. Edgar Hoover, Wiley Rutledge, and Clyde L. Herring. - 1944-1947
  • Correspondence: letters from Wiley Rutledge, Nelson G. Kraschel, Guy M. Gillette, Mason Ladd, J. Edgar Hoover, Bourke B. Hickenlooper, Tom C. Clark, Everett M. Dirksen, Seth Thomas, and W. Earl Hall. - 1948-1955
  • Correspondence: letters from Mason Ladd and Seth Thomas - 1956-1959
  • Correspondence: letters from Mason Ladd, Fred Biermann, Earl Warren, Theodore G. Garfield, Robert D. Jackson, Tom C. Clark, Guy M. Gillette, H.R. Gross, John F. Kennedy, James E. Bromwell, and Everett M. Dirksen. - 1960-1961
  • Correspondence: letters from James E. Bromwell, Mason Ladd, Fred Biermann, and Arthur R. Kudart. - 1961-1967
  • Box 13:
  • Correspondence: letter from Theodore G. Garfield - 1968-1974
  • Correspondence: letters from W. Earl Hall and Tom C. Clark
    Undated
  • Court proceedings, December 13, 1952. Recognition of Lee McNeely's years of service.
    For more information on McNeely, please see the materials provided by the Tripp County Historical Museum in South Dakota.
  • Fort Dodge, Iowa - Federal courthouse dedication - 1961
  • Graven family genealogy
  • Honorary degree, June 1, 1962 - Doctor of Humane Letters from Wartburg College
  • Iowa State Bar Association Award of Merti - 1957
  • Loth, Alan - "A review of Farmers Cooperative vs Birmingham, 86 F. Supp. 201" - 1950
  • Miscellaneous - 1937-1967
  • Newspaper Clippings - 1918-1962
  • Newspaper Clippings and printed excerpts - 1911, 1940-1961
  • Box 14:
  • "Order in the court or the trial of Elmer Smithers" - 1951
    This item is a play.
  • Photographs
  • "Relation of the court to probations during the period probation" Federal Probation, vol. 13 December, no 4. by Henry Graven - 1949
  • Runyon, Thomas J. - 1937, 1953-1957
  • Scrapbook
  • Scrapbook
  • Speeches - 1937-1952
  • Tributes to Graven upon his retirement - 1961
  • Series 3: CITATIONS
  • Box 1:
  • Abandonment
  • Abstracts
  • Access
  • Accomplice testimony
  • Accountants
  • Account stated
  • Accountancy, action for
  • Accounts receivable
  • Accord and Satisfaction
  • Acquiesence
  • Act of God
  • Actions
  • Adjoining Landowners
  • Box 2:
  • Administrative agencies
  • Admiralty laws
  • Adoption
  • Affidavits
  • Age
  • Agency
  • Agriculture
  • Box 3:
  • Aiding and abetting
  • Alibi
  • Alienation of affections
  • Alimony
  • Animals
  • Arts - Racketeering act
  • Anti-trust
  • Appeal
  • Arbitration
  • Architects
  • Arrest
  • Arson
  • Assault, including assault on federal officers
  • Box 4:
  • Assault and battery
  • Assignments
  • Assignments for benefit of creditors
  • Assimilated Crimes Act
  • Assumed name
  • Attachment
  • Attempt
  • Attorney
  • Attorney - General
  • Attorneys
  • Aviation
  • Aviation, criminal
  • Box 5:
  • Bail
  • Bailments
  • Bankruptcy, general
    Two folders
  • Bankruptcy, notice of
  • Banks, public and banks and bondholders
  • Banks and Banking
    Two folders
  • Bastards
  • Beauty shops
  • Box 6:
  • Bills and notes
  • Blassting
  • Boundaries
  • Breach of promise
  • Breaking and entering
  • Bribery
  • Bulk Sales Act
  • Burglary
  • Cars
  • Cemetaries
  • Charities and charitable corporations
  • Chiropractor
  • Chattel mortgages and conditions sales
  • Cities and towns
  • City
  • Box 7:
  • Claims
  • Clerk of Court
  • Colored D.
  • Commissioner, U.S.
  • Commor Carriers
  • Communism
  • Compromise and Settlement
  • Confessions and Admissions
  • Conflict of Laws
  • Consignments
  • Box 8:
  • Conspiracy
  • Constitutional Law
  • Contracts
  • 8A:
  • Contracts
  • Box 9:
  • Conversion, criminal
  • Copyright
  • Coroners
  • Corporations, criminal
  • Corpus delecti
  • Costs
  • Counter claims
  • Counties
  • Courts
  • Credit cards
  • Criminal acts
  • 9A:
  • Damages
  • Box 10:
  • Damages
  • Damaging
  • Dawer right
  • Debtor and creditor
  • Declamatory judgements
  • Dedications
  • Deeds
  • Defendant: Failure to testify
  • Defendant: Presence at trail as a witness
  • Defrauding US
  • Box 11:
  • Deliberation and Premeditation
  • Dentists
  • Discharges
  • Discovery
  • 11A:
  • Discovery
  • Divorces
  • Domicile
  • Duress
  • Box 12:
  • Easements
  • Elections
  • Election of remedies
  • Electricity
  • Electricity lines
  • Embezzlement
  • Eminent domain
  • Employers Liability Act
  • Engineers
  • Entrapment
  • Box 13:
  • Equity
  • Erie R. vs. Tompkins
  • Escapes
  • Escheats
  • Estoppel
  • 13A:
  • Evidence
  • 13B:
  • Evidence
  • 13C:
  • Evidence
  • Box 14:
  • Evidence: General
  • Evidence: Circumstantial
  • Evidence: Including value
  • Executions
  • Box 15:
  • Executor & administration - Problems of foreign administration
  • Exemplum exemptions excluding homesteads
  • Explosions
  • Extortion
  • Extradition
  • Box 16:
  • Factors
  • False claims against US
  • False pretenses
  • Federal Tort Claims Act
  • Fees
  • Fences
  • Firearms
  • Fires
  • Fireworks
  • Fire Arms Act
  • Fixtures
  • Flight
  • Forcible fntry? and detainer
  • Forgery
  • Forgery - Civil
  • Frauds, statue of
  • Fraudulent consequences
  • Box 17:
  • Fraudulent regulations
  • Frazier - Lemke Act
  • Fugitive Felons Act
  • Box 18:
  • Gambling
  • Garnishment
  • General
  • General criminal
  • Gifts
  • Graft
  • Grand jury
  • Good will government agencies
  • Guardian ad litem
  • Box 19:
  • Habeas corpus
  • Handcuffing at trial
  • Highways - other than matteres relating to motor vehicles
  • Homesteads (under brankruptcy)
  • Hospitals
  • Husband and wife
  • Box 20:
  • ICC regulations
  • Impersonations
  • Included offences
  • Indians
  • Indictment and information
  • Infants
  • Informer
  • Inherited property
  • Injunction
  • Innkeepers
  • Box 21:
  • Innkeepers
  • Insane persons
  • Insanity
  • Insanity, criminal
  • Instructions
  • Box 22:
  • Insurance: General
  • Insurance: Life
  • Insurance: Other than motor vehicle
  • Box 23:
  • Insurance: Other than motor vehicle
  • Intent
  • Interest
    Two folderes
  • Interpleader
  • Interpleader - Federal
  • Box 24:
  • Interstate commerce
  • Intervention
  • Intoxicating liquors
  • Intoxication - Civil
  • Involuntary
  • Box 25:
  • Jeopardy
  • Joinder, conspiracy, and criminal evidence
  • Joint tenants
  • Joint tortfeasors
  • Joint venture
  • Box 26:
  • Judgements
  • Jurisdiction
  • Jurisdiction - Summary and turnover
  • Jurisdiction and venue
  • Justice of the Peace
  • Juvenile Court
  • Juvenile delinquency
  • Box 27:
  • Kidnapping
  • Labor Laws
    Two folders
  • Laches
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Box 28:
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Larceny
  • Lateral support
  • Leasehold interests
  • Leases
  • Legislative Court Study Commission
  • Lewdness
  • Box 29:
  • Libel and slander
  • Liens
  • Limitations, statute of
  • Lost property
  • Box 30:
  • Mail fraud and postal crimes
  • Malice
  • Malicious prosecution
  • Malpractice
  • 30A:
  • Malpractice - Physicians and surgeons
  • Mandamus
  • Mann Act
  • Master and Servant
  • Mechanics liens
  • Box 31:
  • Migratory Bird Act
  • Mining law
  • Mistakes
  • Mobile homes
  • Money
  • Money had and received
  • Mortgages
  • Motive
  • Motor vehicles
  • Box 32:
  • Motor vehicles
  • 32A:
  • Motor vehicles
  • 32B:
  • Motor vehicles
  • 32C:
  • Motor vehicles
  • Box 33:
  • Names
  • Naturalization
  • New trial
  • Newspapers
  • Next friend
  • No event
  • No eye witness rule
  • Nolo contendere
  • Notary Public
  • Notice - Expressed or implied
  • Novation
  • Nuisances
  • Box 34:
  • There is no box 34.
  • Box 35:
  • Parent and child
  • Parties - Practice and Procedure, Federal
  • Partnership
  • Patents
  • 35A:
  • Patents
  • Payment
  • Perjury
  • Petitions for Review
  • Pipelines
  • Pledges
  • Box 36:
  • Poison
  • Possession
  • Possession, Writ of
  • Possessions
  • Preferences, liens, and equitable liens
  • Princpal and surety
  • Privacy, Right of
  • Process, Right of
  • Process, including abuse of
  • Product liability
  • 36A:
  • Product liability
  • 36B:
  • Product liability
  • 36C:
  • Product liability
  • Prohibition, Writ of
  • Provents course
  • Public records, court proceedings
  • Public sale
  • Public utilities
  • Pure Food and Drug
  • Box 37:
  • Quasi contracts
  • Quieting title
  • Quo warrants
  • Radio
  • Railroad crossings
  • Railroads
  • Box 38:
  • Rapes
  • Ratification
  • Real property
  • Receivers
  • Receiving stolen property
  • Records, public
  • Reformations
  • Release
  • Religious corporations
  • Removal
  • Re-opening
  • Reorganizations
  • Replevin
  • Box 39:
  • Reputations and character
  • Recession
  • Sales
  • Sales in bankruptcy
  • Schools and school districts
  • Box 40:
  • Search and seizure
  • Secured creditors
  • Securities and Exchange Commission
  • Seduction
  • Selective Service
  • Self-defense
  • Self-incrimination
  • Sentence and judgement
  • Sentence and probation judgement
  • Box 41:
  • Sheriffs
  • Slot machines and lotteries
  • Social Security Act
  • States
  • Statutes
  • Slaying state contract actions
  • Sterilizations
  • Streets and highways
  • Subrogation
  • Suicide
  • Sunday
  • Box 42:
  • Taxation
  • Box 43:
  • Taxation
  • Box 44:
  • Taxation
  • Box 45:
  • Taxation
  • Box 46:
  • Taxation
  • Telegraphs and telephones
  • Television
  • Tenants in common
  • Tender
  • Testamentary capacity
  • 46A:
  • Texas and Fifth Circuit law
  • 46B:
  • Texas - Workman's compensation
  • Box 47:
  • Three judge court
  • Treaties, trees, trusts and trustees
  • Box 48:
  • US Claims
  • Box 49:
  • Vendor and purchasor
  • Venue
  • Verdicts
  • Veternarians
  • Wager claims
  • Wagering tax
  • Waiver
  • Box 50:
  • War
  • Warehousement
  • Water and watercourses
  • Waters
  • Will drafting under Iowa law
  • Witnesses
  • Words and phrases
  • Workmen's compensation
  • World War veterans
  • Series 4: JURY INSTRUCTIONS
  • Box 1:
  • Allison, Jessie M. vs. Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific Railroad Co.
  • Amos, Mrs. John vs. Prom Inc.
  • Apel, Robert & Paul vs. George Walters
  • Bodnarchuk, William M. vs. Clarence J. Iserman and West Side Sales & Service Corp.
  • Brown, Mae vs. USA, James H. Brown, et al.
  • Carpenter, Richard vs. Iowa - Illinois Gas & Electric Co.
  • Carr, Jane vs. Chicago & Northwestern Railway Co.
  • Central Surety & Insurance Corporation vs. Freeman Contractors, Inc., et al.
  • Combs, Claude W. vs. Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha Railway Co.
  • Craven, Clara L. vs. The Chicago & Northwestern Railway System
  • Criminal Instructions (Conspiracy)
  • Elger, Carol E. vs. Minnie M. Guger
  • Darnell, Wallace vs. King's Crown Plaster Co.
  • De Maio, Nancy vs. Chicago Great Western Railway Co.
  • Ellis, Orville R. vs. E. J. Blane
  • Emery, William R. & Erma vs. Chicago, Rock Island and Pacific Railroad
  • Fidelity & Casualty Co. of New York vs. Sioux City Foundry & Boiler Co.
  • First Acceptance Corp. vs. Sam Kennedy
  • First National Bank vs. Bernard F. Atherton
  • Fulton, Gene A. vs. Frank Shaw
  • The Greyhound Corp. vs. Central Freight Lines Inc.
  • Hartman, Henry vs. Stanley Paul
  • Hennich, John vs. K.H. Randa
  • Hoyt, Mildred Marauison vs. Charles F. Clancey Jr.
  • Heuer, Orville F., et al. vs. New York Life Insurance Co.
  • Box 2:
  • Instructions: Crime and Current, General
  • Instructions: Crime, Tax Evasion
  • Box 3:
  • Instructions: Eminent domain
  • Instructions: General
  • Instructions: In Lonshoreman Case, Southern District of New York
  • Box 4:
  • Instructions: Motor vehicle
  • Instructions: Railroad crossings
  • Iowa uniform instructions
  • Box 5:
  • Jury
  • Jury Instructions: General
  • Jury Instructions: Aviation tortfeasors
  • Jury Instructions: Western Texas district
  • Box 6:
  • Jury Instructions, Texas
  • Box 7:
  • Kebric, Harry L. vs. Florence Warner Kepford
  • Leslar, Earl W. vs. Henry Sanders
  • Kittleson, Ray vs. American District Telegraph Co.
  • Lamb, Louis C. vs. Wayland K. Hicks et al
  • Larson, Lewis and J. Alvin Larson vs. Eldon H. Collins
  • Laurens, Iowa, and Laurens Municipal Light and Power Plant vs. Grain Dealers National Mutual Fire Insurance Company et al
  • Louisiana jury instructions
  • Louisana law
  • Mc Donnel, Elsie vs. Jeanette Timmerman
  • Nevilier, Ann vs. Chicago, Milwaukee, St. Paul and Pacific Railroad Co.
  • The Oliver Corp. vs. United Electrical, Radio and Machine Workers
  • Palmer Fruit Company vs. Chicago, Burlington and Quincy Railroad Company
  • Rittgers, Genevieve vs. USA
  • Shugart, Mary vs. Eugene R. Wimmer
  • Smith, Robert W. vs. The Great Atlantic and Pacific Tea Co.
  • Sovern, H.A. and Walter O'Meara vs. Illinois Central Railroad Co.
  • Steffen,Norbert H. vs. Farmers Elevator Service Co.
  • Sunpuft Popcorn Corp. vs. Louis Seieroe
  • Taylor, Thomas vs. Myrtle Carlson
  • The Travelers Insurance Co. vs. Elmer Brandt
  • Vollmer, Helen Marie vs. Herman Harms
  • USA vs. 492.50 acres of land, more or less, situate in Ellis County, State of Texas, and Francis L. Harrison, et al.
  • USA vs. Asa Johnston
  • USA vs. Valentine John Karp
  • USA vs. Edmund Otis
  • USA vs. Vincente Leija Pena
  • USA vs. Strange Gros. Hide Co.
  • USA vs. Olice G. Taft
  • USA vs. Thomas Gordon Tinkle, Jr., et al
  • USA vs. 283.20 acres, more or less, situate in Ellis County, State of Texas, and John D. Kirven, et al
  • USA vs. Hubert A. Tyler
  • Urbain, James vs. Phillips Petroleum Co.
  • Wachter, Evelyn vs. Raymond A. Rovang
  • Wage and hour instructions
  • Waterman, Ruth Evelyn vs. St. Luke's Methodist Hospital