Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the William A. Smith Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1945-1951
Creator: Smith, William A. (1870-1958)
Extent: 3.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: MSC0221
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Attorney and Iowa Supreme Court judge. Speeches about legal, ethical, and political topics and poetry written and/or collected by Judge Smith.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Folder 4

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The Papers of William A. Smith were given to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1960 by his son, Paul F. Smith.

Preferred Citation: William A. Smith Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

William A. Smith was born in Andalusia, Illinois, on November 19, 1870. He graduated from Western College in Toledo, Iowa, in 1886 and two years later earned his law degree from the University of Iowa. From 1898 to 1918 he practiced law in New Hampton and Nashua, Iowa, moving his practice to Dubuque in 1918. He served as president of the Iowa Bar Association in 1941, and was elected to the Supreme Court of Iowa the following year. Smith died on June 10, 1958, at the age of 87.

This small collection of papers includes speeches given by Smith, letters written to him, and poetry which he both wrote and collected.
Who Was Who in America, 1951-1960, Volume III; Iowa Press Association
Who's Who in Iowa (Des Moines, 1940)
Business Men of Iowa, 1953 (Des Moines)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • 1942
  • A speech concerning the Federal ballot for the right of servicemen to vote for state and local offices - 1942
  • 1943
  • "Civilization at the Crossroads," speech givenat the New Hamptpon Congregational Church's 85th anniversary - 1943
  • A letter from Mrs. (Ruth) Kiene. January 9 - 1943
  • 1944
  • "National Sovereignty," addressed to the Black Hawk County Bar Association. September 5 - 1944
  • Poetry
  • "Christmas -- 1944 Romey -- Smith Style"
    Original and typed copies
  • "Postscript -- A.D. 1950"
  • "Compensations"
  • Undated collection of poetry titled "Vagrant Verse," along with one poem, "The Mountain," is included a small black and white photograph, "Lone Pine"
  • Small collection of puns, Christmas card poems, and verse
  • 1949
  • Letter of thanks from Frank R. Kennedy returning W.A. Smiths' original manuscript and a carbon copy
  • Speech given Supreme Court Day at the presentation of the Law Review certificates. April - 1949
    2 copies
  • Later years
  • Dubuqueland, a collection of verse finished about 1951
  • Obituary, Des Moines Register. June 11 - 1958

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Occupations:
Judges
Lawyers

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Poems
Speeches