Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Dessa Manion Music Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1900-1960
Creator: Manion, Dessa
Extent: 13.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0218
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Transcripts of lyrics of popular songs and folksongs made by Miss Manion, some sheet music, and a card index.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was purchased from A.T. Phillips of Delta, Iowa, March 13, 1968.

Preferred Citation: Dessa Manion Music Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

The Dessa Manion Music Collection is an accumulation of the lyrics of country and folk songs collected and transcribed by Dessa Manion from the early 1900's into the 1950's. These are typed on newsprint or handwritten. See the card catalog at the end of the collection for titles.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Numbered series 1-50
  • Box 2:
  • Numbered series 51-85
  • Box 3:
  • Numbered series 86-115
  • Box 4:
  • Numbered series 116-180
  • Box 5:
  • Numbered series 181-217
  • Box 6:
  • Collection of songs: Folk and Country Songs, Country and Western Music Stars, Songs That Will Live Forever, Yesterdays Favorites, Hit Parader, Latest Popular Songs, Barn Dance, Jamboree
  • Box 7:
  • Cowboy Songs
  • Box 8:
  • Musical scores (list inside)
  • Box 9:
  • Gospel songbooks, scrapbook
  • Box 10:
  • Notebooks #1-6 of lyrics and notes of songs
  • Box 11:
  • Notebooks #7-12 of song lyrics
  • Scrapbook of handwritten and printed lyrics
  • Gospel songbooks
  • Radio songbooks
  • Box 12:
  • Lettered series: A-AA-AAA
  • Box 13:
  • Lettered series: B-BB-BBB-C
  • Box 14:
  • Lettered series: CC-CCC-D-DD
  • Box 15:
  • Lettered series: DDD-E-EE-EEE-F
  • Box 16:
  • Lettered series: FF-FFF-G-GG
  • Box 17:
  • Lettered series: GGG-H-HH-I
  • Box 18:
  • Lettered series: II-III-J-JJ
  • Box 19:
  • Lettered series: JJJ-K-KK-KKK
  • Box 20:
  • Lettered series: L-LL-LLL-M
  • Box 21:
  • Lettered series: MM-N-NN-O
  • Box 22:
  • Lettered series: OO-P-PP-Q
  • Box 23:
  • Lettered series: QQ-R-RR-S
  • Box 24:
  • Lettered series: SS-T-TT-U
  • Box 25:
  • Lettered series: UU-V-VV-W
  • Box 26:
  • Lettered series: WW-X-XX-Y
  • Box 27:
  • Lettered series: YY-Z-ZZ
  • Box 28:
  • Index of titles A-I
  • Box 29:
  • Index of titles I-S
  • Box 30:
  • Index of titles S-Z

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Topics:
Country music
Folk music
Gospel music
Popular music
Vocal music