Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Max Rafferty Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1933-1982
Creator: Rafferty, Max (1917-1982)
Extent: 12.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0214
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Educator, author, and columnist. Speeches, newspaper columns, and articles about education. Also includes sound recordings, video tapes, and filmstrips.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Boxes 1-3, 7, 22; Film/Video: Boxes 1, 2, 14, Audio Material:Boxes 1, 5

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by Max Rafferty from 1971 to 1982.

Preferred Citation: Max Rafferty Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Maxwell Lewis Rafferty was born in New Orleans, Louisiana, on May 9, 1917. He spent most of his childhood in Sioux City, Iowa, before his family moved to California in 1931. He graduated from Beverly Hills High School in 1933. Rafferty earned his B.A. (1938), M.A. (1949), and Ph.D. (1955) from the University of California Los Angeles. Rafferty was a career educator. His first job was as a teacher in the Trona Unified School District in California; he then went on to jobs as vice-principal, principal, and school superintendent in various California schools. In 1963 he was elected to the office of Superintendent of Public Instruction of the State of California. He held this office for two terms, from 1963 to 1971, at which time he became the Dean of Education at Troy State University. His educational philosophy was one of back to basics, and he bragged that he killed progressive education in California.
 
Rafferty was the author of a number of books on educational philosophy, including What They Are Doing to Your Children and Classroom Countdown. His newspaper column, Dr. Max Rafferty Column, was syndicated nationally. Max Rafferty was the Republican candidate for Senate in 1968, but was defeated by incumbent state controller Alan Cranston. Rafferty died in a drowning accident in 1982 at the age of sixty-five.

The collection is composed primarily of Rafferty's speeches, copies of the Dr. Max Rafferty Column, and other articles that he authored. Nearly all of the speeches, columns, and articles relate to education or patriotism. Most folders of columns also contain correspondence. There is also some material relating to his campaign for the office of Superintendent of Public Instruction of the State of California, including letters, clippings, expenditures, brochures, and campaign speeches. Finally, there are copies of filmstrips, videotapes, and audio tape recordings of Rafferty.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: 1973 ADDENDUM
Series 3: 1979 ADDENDUM
Series 4: 1980 ADDENDUM
Series 5: 1981 ADDENDUM
Series 6: 1982 ADDENDUM

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Printed Materials
  • "An American Pleads Not Guilty." Reprint of speech (2 copies)
  • "The Elements of Patriotism." 15 pp.
  • "A Letter from Viet Nam." Article in DAR Magazine, vol. 100, no. 7, pp. 608-612, 656. September - 1966
  • "Non-involvement: Curse of the Sixties." Pamphlet, 7 pp. - 1968
  • "Our Schools Today." Pamphlet, 22 pp. - 1965
  • "The Passing of the Patriot." Reprint of speech. (3 copies)
  • "Progressive Education: the Lively Corpse." Reprint of speech, 7 pp. (2 copies) - 1966
  • "Thank you, Max". Program from a dinner honoring Max Rafferty; autographed by Art Linkletter. March 22 - 1966
  • "Who is Max Rafferty?" California Librarian, 24:3 - 1963
  • "Your Children's Heritage: Do they get it in your schools?"
  • Mimeographed Materials
  • "High School Problems." Speech, 4 pp. - 1967
  • "Lest We Forget..." Speech, 6 pp. - 1963
  • "The Public School in Our American Heritage.", 6 pp. - 1962
  • Biography of Dr. Max Rafferty. 1 page
  • Biographical sketch of Dr. Max Rafferty. 1 page (2 copies)
  • "Education's 12 Labors." Newspaper columns, Sacramento Union, November 28 - December 9 - 1965
  • "Giant Stirs in America"
  • "The Fight for Local Control"
  • "Keeping Education a Profession"
  • "The Need for Better Books"
  • "How to Get Top Teachers"
  • "A New Philosophy of Teacher Training"
  • "The Need to Reward Superior Teaching"
  • "Tenure Set-up Has Its Faults"
  • "The Danger of Federal Aid to Education"
  • "God in the Schools"
  • "The Puzzle of de facto Segregation"
  • "The Teaching of Patriotism"
  • Photocopied Material
  • State of California Department of Education, Philosophy. 1 page. June 16 - 1965
  • "American Education: Target of Anarchy." 12 pp.
  • "California Pornography: an American Tragedy." 12 pp. - 1968
  • "Campus Violence: a Fascist Conspiracy." 13 pp.
  • "Education and the Constitution." 6 pp. - 1966
  • "Education in Depth--a California Revolution." 2 pp. - 1970
  • "Education in Depth: Its Past and Future." 9 pp. - 1970
  • "Education's Sore Spots." 8 pp. - 1968
  • "The Fight for Individualism" 6 pp. - 1971
  • "Football: the Indestructible Sport." 7 pp.
  • "Good Citizenship." 1 page
  • "The Magic of Education." 11 pp. - 1967
  • "Misconceptions of Modern Education." 15 pp.
  • "The Riddles of Education." 8 pp.
  • "Things California Education Needed as of 1962." 3 pp. (2 copies) September 18 - 1969
  • "What Patriotism Means to Me." 2 pp.
  • Tapes
  • 5" Constitution Day Speech, Nevada City, California. September 10 - 1967
  • 4" Senate Bill Number 1. February 3 - 1969
  • 5" Fulton Lewis, Jrs., for Max Rafferty. May 10 - 1965
  • 7" The Myth of the Average Child - 1962
  • 7" Press Conference, Sacramento, California. September 10 - 196?
  • 7" Speech at Berkeley City Commons Club. December 20 - 1963
  • 7" Non-involvement
  • 7" The Passing of the Patriot. August 19 - 1961
  • 7" News Conference. June 12 - 1968
  • 7" The Crisis in California Education
  • Published Articles By/About Rafferty
  • "Election for School Boss," Time, p. 49. June 15 - 1962
  • "Will Max and the Hierarchy 'Life Adjust'?" Phi Delta Kappan, p. 105. December - 1962
  • "Max Rafferty of California," Saturday Review, pp. 59-60. January 19 - 1963
  • "Scholastic Teacher Interviews: Dr. Max Rafferty," Scholastic Teacher, pp. 5-6 ff. September 20 - 1963
  • "What's Wrong in the Schools--An Educator Speaks Out," U.S. News & World Report, pp. 78-79. December 30 - 1963
  • "The Roots of Reading," Newsweek, pp. 76-77. August 17 - 1964
  • "Senate Cliffhanger," Sacramento Union, pp. 1, 9. June 5 - 1968
  • Speeches
  • "Please Let the Band Play Dixie." Newspaper column, August 22-28 - 1971
  • "Misconceptions of Modern Education"
  • "The Generation Gap--Crevice or Canyon?"
  • 16mm The Fourth R: Reading, Riting, 'Rithmetic and Rafferty; ca. 15 minutes (2 copies)
    On shelf with collection
  • 16mm Dr. Max Rafferty Educational Philosophy (show 2)
    On shelf with collection
  • Max Rafferty and the Opposition from the WSFA-TV series "Nine-Thirty Tuesday." Tape speed 12 ips; may be played only on Panasonic and Concord machines. September 21 - 1971
    On shelf with collection
  • Box 2:
  • Photographs
  • "Backbone of Our Nation" by Eleanor Roosevelt. St. Louis Post-Dispatch, January 15 - 1960
  • Cartoon from Art's Gallery by Art Finley.
  • Max Rafferty with Bob Hope and Senator Murphy - 1970
  • Individual photos of Max Rafferty with the late Eleanor Roosevelt (2); Supreme Court Justice William Douglas (2); former British Prime Minister Clement Atlee (2); poet Ogden Nash; and actor Vincent Price
  • Max Rafferty with U.S. Senator George Murphy - 1968
  • Max Rafferty with Drew Pearson
  • Dr. and Mrs. Max Rafferty at Republican Assembly. March 30 - 1968
  • Max Rafferty speaking at a meeting
  • Apple Valley Inn - 1962
  • Maxwell L. Rafferty, Jr. March 25 - 1940
  • Concord Inn in our 1933 (?) Buick
  • Educational Press Association Luncheon, San Francisco. Invitation and program on verso - 1958
  • Rafferty holding check; article from Desert Star, Needles, California on verso. October 13 - 1955
  • Rafferty with Willy Ley and 6 young men
  • Campaign photographs, including proofs of Rafferty and family (36) - 1968
  • Rafferty in front of store window
  • Rafferty and two unidentified men
  • Rafferty and President Dwight Eisenhower
  • Max Rafferty and his father in car
  • Max Rafferty, Sr. at time of his marriage
  • Max Rafferty and Frances Anne Rafferty
  • Max Rafferty, 9 months old
  • Max Rafferty, Sr. at prep school
  • Max Rafferty (?) and two unidentified men at gas station - 1939?
  • Max Rafferty, age 2
  • Graduation pictures, some with Governor George Wallace. Some processed in California; others in Alabama with Samford University stamped on back (14)
  • Campaign Expenditures - 1962
  • Clippings
  • Letters
  • James D. Koerner, T.L.S. (1 page) November 15 - 1957
  • Kimmis Hendrick, T.L.S. (1 page) March 23 - 1961
  • Jack A. Stockman, T.L.S. (photo reproduction; 1 page) August 21 - 1962
  • Ellen H. Ellis, T.L.S. (1 page) August 23 - 1962
  • Leonard M. Wickliffe, T.L.S. (photo reproduction; 1 page) September 10 - 1962
  • Speeches
  • Rafferty for Senate, Campaign brochure
  • "An American Pleads 'Not Guilty,'"
  • "The Passing of a Patriot." Reprinted from the La Canada, California Ledger
  • Congressional Record Appendix, A6999-7002. Extension of Remarks of Honorable Edgar W. Hiestand. September 6 - 1961
  • Citation from American Legion, Department of California (photocopy) August 15 - 1962
  • Certification of Membership, Republican State Central Committee of California - 1969-1970
  • "The Fraternity as a Bridge." Sigma Pi Fraternity, Upsilon Chapter, UCLA - 1970
  • Publications
  • University of California, Los Angeles. The Thirtieth Commencement. June 19 - 1949
  • Rafferty, Max. "We're not Getting Through." California Teachers Association Journal, vol. 51, no. 9. December - 1955
  • Rafferty, "Draw Up a Couch." Phi Delta Kappan, vol. 38, no. 1. October - 1956
  • Rafferty, "A Critical Look at Physical Education." California Journal of Secondary Education, vol. 33, no. 1. January - 1958
  • Rafferty, "Children of Uranus." Phi Delta Kappa, vol. 42, no. 1. October - 1960
  • Article on Max Rafferty. California Teachers Association Journal, vol. 58, no. 5, p. 17. May - 1962
  • Rafferty, "What Happened to Patriotism?" (2 copies) - 1963
  • Rafferty, "Our Schools Today: as they are, as they should be." Pamphlet published by America's Future, Incorporated, New Rochelle, New York - 1965
  • Harris, Mark. "Max Rafferty of California: Gadfly on the Rump of Education." Atlantic. December - 1967
  • Franke, David. "Interview: Dr. Max Rafferty." The New Guard, vol. 7, no. 10. December - 1967
  • Finley, J.C. Untitled article concerning the financing of Rafferty's Senate campaign (photocopy; 33 pp.)
  • Christian Educators Association Conference, Daytona Beach, Florida. #1 and #2; to be played only on an Ampex machine. January 28 - 1972
    On shelf with collection
  • Box 3:
  • Recker, Richard S. "Max Rafferty's Educational and Political Career in California." M.A. Thesis, University of Nebraska (photocopy). November - 1971
  • Shows, Dennis L. "Education in Depth: A Critical Examination of the Educational Thinking of Max Rafferty." M.Ed. Thesis, American International College (copy) - 1972
  • Series 2: 1973 ADDENDUM
  • Box 3:
  • Memorabilia, including Baptism and Confirmation certificates, report cards, Christmas card from President and Mrs. Richard Nixon, etc.
  • Campaign Materials - 1962-1970
  • Campaign poster: State Superintendent of Schools
    Map case 12, drawer 2
  • Box 4:
  • Obituary, Des Moines Register, June 14 - 1982
  • Clippings (4 folders)
  • Box 5:
  • Correspondence (including T.L.S. from Ezra Taft Benson, Frank L. Rizzo, Winton M. Blount, Jesse Helms, George and Cornelia Wallace, Gov. Ronald Reagan (original in Pres. Letters collection) - 1971-1973
  • 5" tape: Speech by Max Rafferty about class size in California - ca.1964
  • 7" tape: Campaign speech by Max Rafferty to be used at private campaign parties (?) - 1962
  • 7" tape: Press Conference. March 11 - 1970
  • 7" tape: Rafferty/Richardson television debate. September 20 - 1962
  • 5" tape: Les Crane Show
  • Box 6:
  • UCLA English Literature Papers
  • Dr. Max Rafferty Column (photocopies). September - December - 1964-1967
  • Dr. Max Rafferty Column (photocopies). April 20 - November 15 - 1969-1970
  • Questions and answers (to be run with columns; photocopies). February 8 - November 15 - 1970
  • Columns: October 9 - December 23 - 1966-1968
  • Columns: January 5 - December 29 - 1969
  • Columns: January 4 - June 28, with correspondence attached for April 19 - 25, Column #2 and June 28 - July4, Column #2 - 1970
  • Box 7:
  • Columns: July 5 to December 20, with correspondence attached for November 1 -7, Column #2; November 15 - 21, Column #2; November 22 - 28, Column #2; December 6 - 12, Column #2; December 13 - 19, Column #1 and #2; December 20 - 26, Column #2 - 1970
  • Campaign photographs (8)
  • First article published by Max Rafferty - 1935
  • Box 8:
  • Columns 1 and 2: December 27 - February 20 - 1970-1971
  • Columns 1 and 2: February 22 - April 24 - 1971
  • Columns 1 and 2: April 25 - August 14 - 1971
  • Columns 1 and 2: August 15 - October 23 - 1971
  • Columns 1 and 2: October 2 - December 25 - 1971
  • Box 9:
  • Columns: scattered, plus a Rafferty campaign button - 1970-1971
  • Columns: January - February - 1972
  • Columns: March - April - 1972
  • Columns: May - June - 1972
  • Columns: July - August - 1972
  • Columns: September - October - 1972
  • Columns: November - December - 1972
  • Box 10:
  • Columns 1 and 2: February 27 - December 17 - 1972
  • Columns 1 and 2: December 31 - February 24 - 1972-1973
  • Columns 1 and 2: February 25 - April 28 - 1973
  • Columns 1 and 2: April 29 - June 30 - 1973
  • Columns 1 and 2: July 1 - September 8 - 1973
  • Box 11:
  • Columns 1 and 2: September 8 - October 13 - 1973
  • Columns 1 and 2: October 14 - December 29 - 1973
  • Miscellaneous Correspondence
  • Columns 1 and 2: December 30 - February 2 - 1973-1974
  • Box 12:
  • Columns 1 and 2: February 3 - March 2 - 1974
  • Columns 1 and 2: March 3 - April 6 - 1974
  • Columns 1 and 2: April 7 - May 4 - 1974
  • Columns 1 and 2: May 5 - June 1 - 1974
  • Columns 1 and 2: June 2 - July 6 - 1974
  • Columns 1 and 2: July 7 - August 3 - 1974
  • Columns 1 and 2: August 4 - August 31 - 1974
  • Columns 1 and 2: September 1 - October 5 - 1974
  • Columns 1 and 2: October 6 - November 30 - 1974
  • Columns 1 and 2: December 1 - January 11 - 1974-1975
  • Series 3: 1979 ADDENDUM
  • Box 13:
  • Column 1: January - April - 1975
  • Column 1: April - July - 1975
  • Column 1: July - October - 1975
  • Column 1: October - December
  • Column 2 and Correspondence: January - March - 1975
  • Column 2 and Correspondence: March - May - 1975
  • Column 2 and Correspondence: May - July - 1975
  • Column 2 and Correspondence: July - September - 1975
  • Column 2 and Correspondence: September - November - 1975
  • Column 2 and Correspondence: November - December - 1975
  • Series 4: 1980 ADDENDUM
  • Box 14:
  • Columns 1 and 2, including correspondence: January - December (12 folders) - 1976
  • 16mm film: KTLA, Show #1. What Is a Non-Partisan?
    On shelf with collection
  • 16mm film: KTLA, Show #2. Educational Philosophy
    On shelf with collection
  • Series 5: 1981 ADDENDUM
  • Box 15:
  • Column 1 with correspondence and clippings: March - April - 1976-1977
  • Column 1 with correspondence and clippings: April - September - 1977
  • Column 1 with correspondence and clippings: October - December - 1977
  • Column 2 with correspondence and clippings: August - May - 1976-1977
  • Column 2 with correspondence and clippings: May - September - 1977
  • Column 2 with correspondence and clippings: September - December - 1977
  • Series 6: 1982 ADDENDUM
  • Box 16:
  • Campaign Clippings - 1968
  • Column 1 with correspondence and clippings: September 22 - 23; September 27 - October 3; July 17 - May 6 - 1968; 1970; 1977; 1978
  • Column 1 with correspondence and clippings: May 7 - December 24 - 1978
  • Column 2 with correspondence and clippings: November 13 - April 1 - 1976-1978
  • Column 2 with correspondence and clippings: April 9 - August 26 - 1978
  • Column 2 with correspondence and clippings: September 3 - December 24 - 1978
  • General correspondence on columns - 1977-1978
  • Box 17:
  • Advisory Panel on Financing Elementary and Secondary Education - 1982
  • America's Future, Incorporate - 1963-1965
  • Articles by Rafferty
  • Biographical and personal materials - 1967-1970
  • Campaign (Senate): Income tax statements - 1968
  • Campaign (Senate) Miscellaneous
  • Campaign (Senate): Speeches - 1966; 1968
  • Campaign (State Superintendent of Public Instruction): Miscellaneous
  • Column 1 with correspondence and clippings: February 7 - March 6; April - June - 1971; 1978-1979
  • Column 1 with correspondence and clippings: July 1 - December 29 - 1979
  • Box 18:
  • Column 1 with correspondence and clippings: January 6 - August 2 - 1980
  • Column 1 with correspondence and clippings: August 3 - April 4 - 1981
  • Column 1 with correspondence and clippings: April 5 - January 2 - 1981-1982
  • Column 1 with correspondence and clippings: January 3 - June 19 - 1982
  • Column 1 with correspondence and clippings: Undated
  • Column 2 with correspondence and clippings - 1971; 1976-1978
  • Box 19:
  • Column 2 with correspondence and clippings: December 31 - May 26 - 1978-1979
  • Column 2 with correspondence and clippings: May 27 - September 1 - 1979
  • Column 2 with correspondence and clippings: September 2 - January 5 - 1979-1980
  • Column 2 with correspondence and clippings: January 6 - May 31 - 1980
  • Column 2 with correspondence and clippings: June 1 - November 8 - 1980
  • Box 20:
  • Column 2 with correspondence and clippings: November 9 - April 25 - 1980-1981
  • Column 2 with correspondence and clippings: May 3 - October 31 - 1981
  • Column 2 with correspondence and clippings: November 1 - May 1 - 1981-1982
  • Column 2 with correspondence and clippings: May 2 - July 4 - 1982
  • Column 2 with correspondence and clippings: Undated
  • Column correspondence - 1970-1980
  • Correspondence - 1951-1962
  • Correspondence: January - June - 1963
  • Box 21:
  • Correspondence: July - December - 1963
  • Correspondence - 1964
  • Correspondence - 1965
  • Correspondence - 1966
  • Correspondence - 1967
  • Correspondence - 1968
  • Correspondence - 1969
  • Box 22:
  • Correspondence: January - April - 1970
  • Correspondence: May - December - 1970
  • Correspondence - 1972-1981
  • Drug abuse articles - 1970
  • Field reader--H.E.W. - 1982
  • Freedoms Foundation at Valley Forge - 1964
  • International Business Schools - 1970
  • Miscellaneous Correspondence - 1963-1981
  • Photographs
  • Negatives (2)
  • Rafferty with unidentified man (3)
  • Rafferty with unidentified man speaking to students in a classroom
  • Politics and American Education; course taught at Winona State College - 1974
  • Polytechnic Institute of Technology - 1968
  • Republican State Central Committee of California - 1968-1971
  • Sons of the American Revolution - 1964-1970
  • Speeches - 1962-1965
  • Speeches - 1966-1968
  • Speeches - 1969-1970
  • Speeches: A - F
  • Speeches: L - P
  • Speeches: R - W
  • Speeches and Articles, printed - 1961-1968
  • State travel expense claims - 1970
  • "A Study of Personnel-Pupil Ratios in Certain California Elementary School Districts," by Max Rafferty (2 folders) - 1956
  • Young Americans for Freedom - 1969