Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Cedar Rapids and Iowa City Railroad Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1953 - 1973
Creator: Sutherland, Dows
Extent: .25 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0210
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Transcripts of interviews with Sutherland Dows and W.M. Schneider concerning the history and operation of the CRANDIC Railway.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Papers of the Cedar Rapids and Iowa City Railroad, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: 2002 ADDENDUM

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Dows family. Biographical notes
  • Clippings - 1953, 1973
  • Equipment roster and postcard
  • Interviews: Sutherland Dows, Sr.
    3 copies
  • Interviews: W. M. Schneider
    2 copies
  • Series 2: 2002 ADDENDUM
  • Box 1:
  • Dows, Sutherland. Obituaries
  • Electric Railway Cars and Trucks. John Stephenson Co. - 1905
    Photocopy of cover and table of contents, with an introduction (written at a later date) by George W. Hilton
  • Roster of equipment, CRANDIC lines

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Dows, Sutherland

Corporate Names:
Cedar Rapids and Iowa City Railway Co.

Topics:
Interviews
Railroad companies

Geographic Names:
Middle West

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Archives
Archives
Biographies
Clippings (Information artifacts)
Obituaries
Photocopies
Postcards

Family Names:
Dow family