Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Leopold Desk Company Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1886-1964
Creator: Leopold Desk Company
Extent: 1.75 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0209
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Office furniture manufacturing firm in Burlington, IA. Company's history is documented with annual reports, minutes, time books, etc. Catalogs showcase their products.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The Leopold Desk Company was an office furniture manufacturing firm which operated out of Burlington, Iowa, for 102 years before closing in 1990.

Preferred Citation: Leopold Desk Company Records, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

The company was located at the 900 block of Osborn Street until 1972, when it moved to 2825 Mount Pleasant Street.

The records of the Leopold Desk Company document the first eighty years of its history with annual reports, property accounts, minutes from stockholders and directors meetings, and time books. Their products are showcased in catalogs dating from 1888 to 1927.

Catalogs in box 2: Our collection of catalogs has been fully digitized. You may visit the collection's home page at http://digital.lib.uiowa.edu/cdm/landingpage/collection/desks and conduct a search across all of the catalogs.
It is sometimes possible to date Leopold desks from the images that appear in the company catalogs. Special Collections staff, however, have no expertise whatsoever in estimating the possible fair market value of desks or other furniture; we're simply unable to offer any opinion. We suggest that you consult an antiques dealer or the manager of an antiques and collectibles mall.

John Roth of Burlington, Iowa has a web page devoted to Leopold desks which provides additional information about the company and its history. You may contact Mr Roth for further information.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: 2002 Addendum
Series 3: 2003 Addendum

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Annual Reports - 1922-1964
    Six folders
  • Balance Sheet at December 31st - 1914
  • Brochures
  • Sub-Series: Catalogs - National Furniture Company
  • Box 2:
  • 1888
  • January 1888
  • 1891
  • Sub-Series: Catalogs - Rand & Leopold Desk Company
  • Box 2:
  • 1895
  • 1897
  • 1898
  • 1899
  • 1900
  • 1909
  • 1910
  • 1911
  • 1912
  • 1920
  • 1927
  • 1927 (Supplement)
  • Sub-Series: General Continued
  • Box 2:
  • Leopold News - 1923-1924; October 15, 1929; April 15, 1930
  • Minutes of Stockholders & Directors Meetings - 1886-1891
  • Miscellaneous
  • Obituary of Frederic Leopold (1896-1989)
  • Box 3:
  • Property Acount of Rand & Leopold - 1886-1891
  • Scrapbook of Factory Notices - 1919-1930
  • Secretary's Records of Stockholders & Directors Meetings - 1886-1891, 1891-1907
  • "Things to Remember" Books (Leopold) - 1888, 1889, 1891, 1893, 1911
  • Time Books - 1902, 1906-1910, 1910-1912, 1912-1914, 1914-1916, 1916-1917
  • Series 2: 2002 Addendum
  • Box 3:
  • Copies of Materials in the Burlington Public Library
  • Brochure
  • Catalog
  • Clippings
  • Roth, John. A Brief History of Leopold Desks Company
  • Box 4: Oversized Box
  • Leopold Office Furniture Catalogs, undated
  • Series 3: 2003 Addendum
  • Box 4:
  • Blueprints for furniture plant.
    Transferred from the State Historical Society of Iowa

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
Northwestern Furniture Company

Topics:
Desks
Office furniture

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Burlington

Browse:
Businessmen and Businesses