Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Willard Fur Company Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1910-1930
Creator: Willard Fur Company (1864-)
Extent: .25 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0207
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Fur clothier in Marshalltown, IA. The company is documented with records such as daily cash receipts and sales records. Inventory lists and catalogs describe their products.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The Willard Fur Company donated its records to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1959.

Preferred Citation: Willard Fur Company Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

H. Willard, Son & Company was a fur clothier firm which operated out of Marshalltown, Iowa. It was founded in 1864.

The records of the Willard Fur Company document thirty years of the company's history. The financial situation is shown with daily cash receipts, sales records, and balance sheets, while inventory lists, custom orders, and catalogs describe their products. These records were given to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1959 by W.B. Hull. They are open for research and information on the literary rights is available in the repository.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Analysis of custom orders - 1910-1921
  • Balance sheets - 1911-1930
  • Daily cash receipts - 1910-1920
  • Financial statements - 1910-1915
  • Gross sales records - 1917-1926
  • Inventory - 1916
  • Millinery department - 1916-1921
  • Miscellaneous accounting records - 1910-1930
  • Origin of custom orders - 1910-1923
  • Report, April 27 - 1916
  • Willard's "Wear Best" furs -- Catalog - 1919-1920

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Topics:
Fur garments
Retail trade

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa
United States -- Iowa -- Marshalltown

Browse:
Businessmen and Businesses