Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the James Peery Schell Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1845-1929
Creator: Schell, James Peery (1845-1932)
Extent: .25 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0205
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Presbyterian clergyman in the Middle West. Memoirs of his life in the 1840s and 1850s.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was donated to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1961 by his daughter, Helen Schell and granddaughter, Charlotte Ludlum. Acquisition of the "Book of Composition and Poetry" was made possible through the Grinnell College Libraries, in 2003.

Preferred Citation: James Peery Schell Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

James Peery Schell (1845-1932) was born near West Branch, Iowa. He earned a B.A. from the University of Iowa in 1870 and a M.A. twenty years later. Schell was a Presbyterian minister and missionary who organized new parishes in the Middle West - principally in North Dakota.

The papers of James Peery Schell consist of typescripts of three autobiographical memoirs and a letter. The "Book of Composition and Poetry" includes poems written in Iowa and Tennessee during the Civil War.

Browse by Series:
The detailed description has not been entered into the repository.
To view the content list, please follow this link.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
Clergy and the Church