Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Ray Murphy Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1935-1936
Creator: Murphy, Ray
Extent: 4.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0203
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Insurance businessman. Speeches and scrapbooks relating chiefly to Murphy's term as national commander of the American Legion.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were donated to the University of Iowa by Ray Murphy in 1959.

Preferred Citation: Ray Murphy Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

The collection consists of scrapbooks and speeches relating chiefly to Murphy's term as national commander of the American Legion. Material is organized chronologically. The scrapbooks are not boxed.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: SCRAPBOOKS
Series 2: PERSONAL
Series 3: MISCELLANEOUS

  • Series 1: SCRAPBOOKS
  • 1.1: September, October, November 1-9 - 1935
  • 1.2: September-December 13 - 1935
  • 2.1: November 9-30, December - 1935
  • 2.2: December 13-31, January, February 1-26 - 1936
  • 3.1 January - 1936
  • 3.2: February 26-29, March, April - 1936
  • 4.1: May-September 23 - 1936
  • 4.2: January 28-31, February 1-20 - 1936
  • 5.1: February, March, April 1-15 - 1936
  • 5.2: September 24-31 - 1936
  • 6: April 15-30, May, June - 1936
  • 7: July-September 18 - 1936
  • 8: August-September 23 - 1936
  • Series 2: PERSONAL
  • Box 1:
  • Obituary and eulogy - 1970
  • Series 3: MISCELLANEOUS
  • Box 1:
  • Speeches, publications
  • National Grand Leader, American Legion pin

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Murphy, Ray

Corporate Names:
American Legion

Topics:
Veterans
Societies

Genre/Form of Materials:
Scrapbooks
Speeches
Archives
Clippings (Information artifacts)