Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Angus Wilson Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1937-2011
Creator: Wilson, Angus (1913-1991)
Extent: 21.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0199
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Acclaimed British novelist and scholar. Research files, including administrative material, research materials, and corrected typescripts for her 1995 biography of novelist Sir Angus Wilson.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Series VIII, Boxes 4, 5; Series X, Box 2; Audiotapes, 5" and 7" reel-to-reel tapes: Series X, Box 2.

Access: This collection is open for research. Tony Garrett retains literary copyright to all relevant materials.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Angus Wilson Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Sir Angus Wilson (full name Angus Frank Johnstone-Wilson) was one of the most renowned English novelists of the postwar 20th century, and one of England's first openly homosexual writers. Born in Bexhill, Sussex on August 11, 1913, Wilson was the sixth child of impoverished upper-middle class parents William and Maud (Caney) Jonhstone-Wilson. He attended public school from 1927-1931 at Westminster School, and went on to read history at Merton College, Oxford. In 1936 he went to work as a librarian in the British Museum's Department of Printed Books. When World War II broke out, he temporarily left the Museum and worked for the Foreign Office as a codebreaker in the Naval Section at the famous Bletchley Park intelligence center in Buckinghamshire.

During the war years, Wilson suffered a nervous breakdown and bouts of depression. It was at this point in his life that he bgan writing, as a form of therapy. (He would later recall this period in his 1963 critical/autobiographical work The Wild Garden.) After a period of recuperation, he returned to Bletchley where he remained until the end of the war. In 1945 Wilson returned to the British Museum, where he became Deputy Superintendent of the Reading Room. It was here that, on December 31, 1945, Wilson first met Anthony (Tony) Garrett, who was to become Wilson's secretary, companion and partner for the remainder of his life.

Wilson's first short stories and sketches were published in 1949 in The Wrong Set and Other Stories. The book was met with critical and popular success and yielded one of his most controversial and powerful stories, Raspberry Jam, in which a young boy is confronted with cruel and untrustworthy adults in the form of two women who torture a bird in his presence. Wilson published in 1950 his second collection, Such Darling Dodos and Other Stories. The title story, which uses terminal illness to symbolize the death of 1930s liberal ideals, was lauded for keenly portrayed psychological and historical details. Wilson's third collection, A Bit Off the Map and Other Stories (1957), was distinguished by a more softened stance toward his characters, mixing the pathos and comedy that often marks his writings with more subtle satire. His Collected Stories were eventually published in 1987.

In 1952, Hemlock and After, Wilson's first novel, appeared, offering a candid description of homosexual life in post-war Britain. Ernest Jones, reviewing it in the Nation, called the book a brilliant analysis of homosexual society. Soon after the publication of this novel, Wilson left the British Museum (where, as Deputy Superintendent he had been responsible for trying to replace 300,000 books that had been destroyed in German bombings during the war) and in 1955 took up writing fiction and criticism full time.

A spate of criticially acclaimed novels followed. His most famous, Anglo-Saxon Attitudes, was published in 1956. Considered by many to be Wilson's finest work, the book is a biting satire of English academic society. The Middle Age of Mrs. Eliot (1958) traces the psychological dislocations undergone by conventional wife Meg Eliot in the senseless killing of her husband at a Middle East airport. Wilson received the 1959 James Tait Black Memorial Prize for this novel. In 1961 Wilson published his most allegorical work, The Old Men At The Zoo, about a near-future England opposed to a hostile alliance of European powers. A story of gradual insight into the failures of life, most of the novel's action is set among the strife and machinations of the staff of the London Zoo.

Late Call (1965) explored the spiritual desolation of life in the English Midlands, and was narrated from the perspective of a retired hotel manager. Sylvia Calvert, the protagonist, comes to the New Town of Carshall, in which she finds that people are strangers in their own life. No Laughing Matter, published in 1967, was a long, ambitious work, a mock bourgeois epic that traced the fortunes of the fictional Matthews family from 1912-1967. Wilson published As If By Magic in 1973, a novel about the ambitious and in some ways dubious campaign to overcome third world poverty through biological science and miracle crops. It reflected Wilson's increasing impatience with British literary parochialism. His last novel was published in 1980: Set The World On Fire, which was generally poorly received by critics.

Wilson had a successful and notable career as an academic. From 1966-1978 he was a professor of English literature at the University of East Anglia, where with Malcolm Bradbury he founded the school's creative writing program. He also lectured or served as a visiting professor a number of other institutions, including, among other, Cambridge University, Yale University, Johns Hopkins, and the Universities of Arizona, California-Berkeley, California-Los Angeles, Chicago, Delaware, Georgia, Minnesota, and Pittsburgh. He was a visiting professor three times at the University of Iowa, in 1971, 1978 and 1986. As a literary critic, Wilson published several important works of non-fiction, including ?mile Zola: An Introductory Study of His Novels (1952), The World of Charles Dickens (1970), and The Strange Ride Of Rudyard Kipling (1977). He also wrote critical introductions for a number of published literary classics, including works by Austen, Bowen, Dickens, Kipling, and Maugham.

Wilson, a lifelong member of the British Labour Party, was a social liberal who spoke out for a number of important social causes, including the advocacy of homosexual rights. In part due to a growing disgust with Margaret Thatcher's Britain, he and Tony Garrett left their country in 1985 and moved to France. Illness and Wilson's growing infirmities obliged the two to return home a few years later. Wilson's finances were increasingly straightened by this time, and he had to be supported by friends and a pension from the Royal Literary Fund. He was placed in Pinford End Nursing Home in Bury St. Edmunds due to accelerating mental and physical infirmities, and Angus Wilson died there of a stroke on May 31, 1991.

Wilson received a number of honors and awards throughout his life, culminating in a knighthood in 1980. He was made a Commander, Order of the British Empire in 1968. He became a fellow of the Royal Society of Literature in 1958, and served as its President from 1982-1991. The RSL made him a Companion of Literature in 1972. He was also a member of the Society of Authors, PEN, the Powys Society (president, 1970-91), the Dickens Fellowship (president, 1974-75), the John Cowper Powys Society (president, 1970-80), the Kipling Society (president, 1981-88), the American Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters (honorary member), and the Athenaeum Club, among other organizations. He was made a honorary Doctor of Letters at the Universities of East Anglia, Leiceister, Liverpool, and Sussex, and the Sorbonne.

The Papers of Angus Wilson document the entire span of the famed writer's literary career, as well as his personal life. The collection contains holograph notes and typescripts of the texts for all of Wilson's novels as well as many of his short stories, plays and non-fiction works. The breadth of Wilson's research for his literary studies is well-represented by the presence of his research materials used for The Strange Ride of Rudyard Kipling. There are also holograph and/or typescript versions of many of Wilson's numerous articles, lectures, speeches, and reviews.

The correspondence in the collection begins in 1937 and lasts beyond Wilson's death in 1991; many of the correspondents are important literary figures or other notable personalities. Included as part of the correspondence are the letters of Wilson's companion and secretary Tony Garrett.

Series 12 is a correspondence index which notes the dates of the letters of many of Wilson's more famous correspondents.

Series 13 is an inventory of Angus Wilson's short stories. The format is as follows: title, format, box number, notebook number, notes.

Format codes for Series 13: a=article, at=audio tape, b=book, f=story fragment, i=interview, l=lecture, n=novel, nt=notes, p=play, r=review, sp=speech, ss=short story, st=study, t=television play.

A separate series contains records relating to Wilson's brothers Colin Frank (David) and Patrick Boswell Johnstone-Wilson. Other series concern Wilson's teaching career (primarily at the University of East Anglia), his finances, and his media presence (via press clippings).

There is a small collection of photographs and audio materials in the collection as well.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 2: LITERARY MANUSCRIPTS, NOTEBOOKS AND DRAFTS
Series 3: NON-FICTION MANUSCRIPTS, NOTEBOOKS AND DRAFTS
Series 4: DIARIES AND ADDRESS BOOKS
Series 5: FINANCIAL DOCUMENTATION AND PUBLISHERS CORRESPONDENCE
Series 6: TEACHING
Series 7: PRESS CLIPPINGS
Series 8: DAVID AND PATRICK JOHNSTONE (WILSON)
Series 9: MISCELLANEOUS MATERIALS
Series 10: AUDIO MATERIALS AND PHOTOPGRAPHS
Series 11: FOREIGN LANGUAGE EDITIONS OF WILSON'S WORKS
Series 12: CORRESPONDENCE INDEX FOR SERIES I
Series 13: INVENTORY OF SHORT STORIES

  • Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Sub-Series: General
  • Box 1:
  • Chronological - 1937, 1941, 1944-1949
  • Bridgewater, Bentley -- May 2 - 1945
  • Bridgewater, Bentley -- September 3 - 1947
  • Bridgewater, Bentley -- June 22 - 1948
  • Wilson, Edmund -- March 3 - 1941
  • Chronological - 1950-1951
  • Bridgewater, Bentley -- May 9 - 1950
  • Bridgewater, Bentley -- September 26 - 1951
  • Bridgewater, Bentley -- October 24 - 1951
  • Wilson, Edmund -- July 21 - 1950
  • Chronological - 1952
  • Powys, John Cowper -- July 17 - 1952
  • Powys, John Cowper -- August 3 - 1952
  • Priestley, J.B. -- August 1 - 1952
  • Sitwell, Edith -- July 29 - 1952
  • Sitwell, Edith -- September 11 - 1952
  • Waugh, Evelyn -- July 22 - 1952
  • Waugh, Evelyn -- August 21 - 1952
  • Chronological - 1953-1954
  • Maugham, W. Somerset -- February 7 - 1954
  • Sitwell, Edith -- April 13 - 1953
  • Sitwell, Edith -- June 7 - 1953
  • Sitwell, Edith -- June 15 - 1953
  • Sitwell, Edith -- July 29 - 1953
  • Sitwell, Edith -- June 24 - 1954
  • Sitwell, Sacherverell -- April 28 - 1953
  • Chronological - 1955-1956
  • Compton-Burnett, Ivy - 1955
  • Leavis, F.R. -- November 13 - 1955
  • Powys, John Cowper -- September 7 - 1956
  • Priestley, J.B. -- November 30 - 1956
  • Purdy, James -- November 29 - 1956
  • Reuse, A.L. -- January 30 - 1956
  • Sitwell, Edith -- May 23 - 1956
  • Wilson, Angus (to AG) -- March - 1955
  • Wilson, Angus (to AG) -- May 4 - 1955
  • Wilson, Angus (to AG) -- May - 1955
  • Wilson, Angus (to AG) -- June or July - 1955
  • Wilson, Angus (to AG) -- August or September - 1955
  • Wilson, Angus (to AG) -- August 12 - 1955
  • Wilson, Angus (to AG) -- June 12 - 1956
  • Wilson, Angus (to AG) -- September 27 - 1955
  • Chronological - 1957
  • Bridgewater, Bentley -- August 29 - 1957
  • Forster, E.M. -- June 28 - 1957
  • Forster, E.M. -- August 19 - 1957
  • Purdy, James -- May 18 - 1957
  • Wilson, Angus (to AG) -- February 8 - 1957
  • Wilson, Angus (to AG) -- June 4 - 1957
  • Wilson, Angus (to AG) -- July 6 - 1957
  • Wilson, Angus (to AG) -- July - 1957
  • Wilson, Angus (to AG) -- July 23 - 1957
  • Wilson, Angus (to AG) -- August - 1957
  • Wilson, Angus (to AG) -- September - 1957
  • Wilson, Angus (to AG) -- September 2 - 1957
  • Wilson, Angus (to AG) -- September 5 - 1957
  • Wilson, Angus (to AG) -- September 10 - 1957
  • Wilson, Angus (to AG) -- September 12 - 1957
  • Wilson, Angus (to AG) -- September 14 - 1957
  • Wilson, Angus (to AG) -- September 21 - 1957
  • Chronological - 1958
  • Southern, Terry -- April 15 - 1958
  • Wilson, Angus (to AG) -- November - 1958
  • Wilson, Angus (to AG) -- November 2 - 1958
  • Wilson, Angus (to AG) -- November 18 - 1958
  • Wilson, Angus (to AG) -- November 27 - 1958
  • Chronological - 1959
  • Knowles, John -- April 8 - 1959
  • Chronological - 1960
  • Mailer, Norman -- December 2 - 1960
  • January-June - 1961
  • Wilson, Angus (to AG) -- January 3 - 1961
  • Wilson, Angus (to AG) -- January - 1961
  • Wilson, Angus (to AG) -- January 6 - 1961
  • Wilson, Angus (to AG) -- January 13 - 1961
  • Wilson, Angus (to AG) -- January 17 - 1961
  • July-December - 1961
  • Bridgewater, Bentley -- October 6 - 1961
  • Bridgewater, Bentley -- October 18 - 1961
  • Compton-Burnett, Ivy -- September 17 - 1961
  • Johnstone-Wilson, Colin Frank (David) (AW's brother) -- undated - 1961
  • Wilson, Edmund -- November 7 - 1961
  • January-April - 1962
  • Johnstone-Wilson, Colin Frank (David) (AW's brother) -- January 7 - 1962
  • Johnstone-Wilson, Colin Frank (David) (AW's brother) -- January 27 - 1962
  • Johnstone-Wilson, Colin Frank (David) (AW's brother) -- January 28 - 1962
  • Johnstone-Wilson, Colin Frank (David) (AW's brother) -- January 31 - 1962
  • Powys, John Cowper -- January 31 - 1962
  • Wilson, Angus (to AG) -- March - 1962
  • Wilson, Angus (to AG) -- March 12 - 1962
  • Wilson, Angus (to AG) -- March 14 - 1962
  • Wilson, Angus (to AG) -- March 18 - 1962
  • May-June - 1962
  • Nicolson, Harold -- June 2 - 1962
  • July-August - 1962
  • Compton-Burnett, Ivy -- August 26 - 1962
  • Box 2:
  • September-October - 1962
  • Bridgewater, Bentley -- October 8 - 1962
  • Johnstone-Wilson, Colin Frank (David) (AW's brother) -- September 10 (?) - 1962
  • November-December - 1962
  • Priestley, J.B. -- November 30 - 1962
  • Spender, Stephen -- November 28 - 1962
  • January - 1963
  • Tynan, Kenneth -- January 18 - 1963
  • February-March - 1963
  • April - 1963
  • May - 1963
  • June - 1963
  • July - 1963
  • Amis, Kingsley -- July 19 - 1963
  • Stout, Rex -- July 17 - 1963
  • August - 1963
  • September - 1963
  • October - 1963
  • Bradbury, Malcolm -- October 8 - 1963
  • Bridgewater, Bentley -- October 2 - 1963
  • Priestley, J.B. -- October 29 - 1963
  • November - 1963
  • Spender, Stephen -- November 12 - 1963
  • December and undated - 1963
  • January-July - 1964
  • August-September - 1964
  • October-November - 1964
  • Snow, C.P. -- October 27 - 1964
  • December and undated - 1964
  • Bridgewater, Bentley -- undated - 1964
  • January-February - 1965
  • Mackenzie, Compton -- January 25 - 1965
  • Wilson, Edmund -- January 27 - 1965
  • March - 1965
  • Mishima, Yukio -- March 3 - 1965
  • Reve, Gerard -- March 29 - 1965
  • Box 3:
  • April-May - 1965
  • June - 1965
  • Priestley, J.B. -- June 12 - 1965
  • July - 1965
  • Bragg, Melvyn -- July 18 - 1965
  • Gielgud, John -- July 27 - 1965
  • Mishima, Yukio -- July 16 - 1965
  • Priestley, J.B. -- July 3 - 1965
  • August-September - 1965
  • Gielgud, John -- August 27 - 1965
  • October - 1965
  • November - 1965
  • December - 1965
  • Mishima, Yukio -- December 17 - 1965
  • Reve, Gerard -- December 9 - 1965
  • January-February - 1966
  • Compton-Burnett, Ivy -- January 27 - 1966
  • Wilson, Angus (to AG) -- February 27 - 1966
  • March - 1966
  • Wilson, Angus (to AG) -- March 2 - 1966
  • Wilson, Angus (to AG) -- March 14 - 1966
  • April - 1966
  • Drabble, Margaret -- April 7 - 1966
  • Wilson, Angus (to AG) -- April 1 - 1966
  • May - 1966
  • Bridgewater, Bentley -- May 15 - 1966
  • June - 1966
  • Blunden, John -- June 7 - 1966
  • Bridgewater, Bentley -- June 14 - 1966
  • Priestley, J.B. -- June 14 - 1966
  • July-August - 1966
  • Johnstone-Wilson, Clive Calvert (AW's brother) -- August 7 - 1966
  • Lewis, C. Day -- July 8 - 1966
  • Box 4:
  • September-October - 1966
  • Tynan, Kenneth -- October 5 - 1966
  • Tynan, Kenneth -- October 14 - 1966
  • November-December and undated - 1966
  • January-February - 1967
  • Amis, Kingsley -- January 8 - 1967
  • March - 1967
  • April - 1967
  • May - 1967
  • June - 1967
  • July-August - 1967
  • Bridgewater, Bentley -- July 12 - 1967
  • Wilson, Angus (to AG) -- August 22 - 1967
  • Wilson, Angus (to AG) -- August 23 - 1967
  • Wilson, Angus (to AG) -- August 28 - 1967
  • September-October - 1967
  • Wilson, Angus (to AG) -- September 27 - 1967
  • November-December - 1967
  • January - 1968
  • Bridgewater, Bentley -- January 8 - 1968
  • Snow, C.P. -- January 2 - 1968
  • February - 1968
  • March-April - 1968
  • May-June - 1968
  • Reve, Gerard -- June 30 - 1968
  • July-August - 1968
  • Box 5:
  • September - 1968
  • Moorcock, Michael -- September 25 - 1968
  • October - 1968
  • Drabble, Margaret -- October 11 - 1968
  • November-December and undated - 1968
  • January - 1969
  • February - 1969
  • March - 1969
  • April - 1969
  • May - 1969
  • June - 1969
  • Tynan, Kenneth -- June 27 - 1969
  • July-August - 1969
  • Johnstone-Wilson, Colin Frank (David) (AW's brother) -- August 8 - 1969
  • Mishima, Yukio -- July - 1969
  • Tynan, Kenneth -- August 27 - 1969
  • September-October - 1969
  • Wilson, Angus (to AG) -- September 26 - 1969
  • November - 1969
  • December - 1969
  • Wilson, Angus (to AG) -- December 14 - 1969
  • January-February - 1970
  • March - 1970
  • April - 1970
  • Priestley, J.B. -- April 10 - 1970
  • May - 1970
  • Priestley, J.B. -- May 11 - 1970
  • Priestley, J.B. -- May 28 - 1970
  • Box 6:
  • June - 1970
  • July - 1970
  • August - 1970
  • Amis, Kingsley -- August 26 - 1970
  • Davies, Robertson -- August 5 - 1970
  • September - 1970
  • Byatt, A.S. -- September 29 - 1970
  • Gordimer, Nadine -- September 16 - 1970
  • Gordimer, Nadine -- September 21 - 1970
  • Gordimer, Nadine -- September 23 - 1970
  • October - 1970
  • Bridgewater, Bentley -- October 14 - 1970
  • November - 1970
  • December - 1970
  • Farrell, James G. -- December 20 - 1970
  • January-March - 1971
  • Johnstone-Wilson, Colin Frank (David) (AW's brother) -- March 28 - 1971
  • White, Patrick -- January 7 - 1971
  • White, Patrick -- March 30 - 1971
  • April - 1971
  • Greene, Graham -- April 16 - 1971
  • May - 1971
  • Rhys, Jean -- May 20 - 1971
  • June - 1971
  • July - 1971
  • August-September - 1971
  • Johnstone-Wilson, Colin Frank (David) (AW's brother) -- August 8 - 1971
  • Reve, Gerard -- August 23 - 1971
  • October-December - 1971
  • Bridgewater, Bentley -- November 25 - 1971
  • Wilson, Edmund -- October 29 - 1971
  • January - 1972
  • Box 7:
  • February - 1972
  • Bridgewater, Bentley -- February 14 - 1972
  • Johnstone-Wilson, Colin Frank (David) (AW's brother) -- February 20 (?) - 1972
  • March - 1972
  • Johnstone-Wilson, Colin Frank (David) (AW's brother) -- March 18 (?) - 1972
  • April - 1972
  • Johnstone-Wilson, Colin Frank (David) (AW's brother) -- April 16 - 1972
  • Reve, Gerard (to Perkin Walker) -- April 18 - 1972
  • May - 1972
  • June - 1972
  • July-August - 1972
  • September - 1972
  • October - 1972
  • Johnstone-Wilson, Colin Frank (David) (AW's brother) -- October 7 (?) - 1972
  • November-December and undated - 1972
  • Johnstone-Wilson, Clive Calvert (AW's brother) -- November 20 - 1972
  • January - 1973
  • February - 1973
  • March - 1973
  • April - 1973
  • Bridgewater, Bentley -- April 23 - 1973
  • Bridgewater, Bentley -- April 29 - 1973
  • May - 1973
  • June - 1973
  • Priestley, J.B. -- June 30 - 1973
  • July - 1973
  • Bradbury, Malcolm -- July 11 - 1973
  • Bridgewater, Bentley -- July 18 - 1973
  • Johnstone-Wilson, Colin Frank (David) (AW's brother) -- July 11 - 1973
  • Johnstone-Wilson, Colin Frank (David) (AW's brother) -- July 25 - 1973
  • Johnstone-Wilson, Colin Frank (David) (AW's brother) -- July 29 - 1973
  • August - 1973
  • Bridgewater, Bentley -- August 19 - 1973
  • Bridgewater, Bentley -- August 28 - 1973
  • Johnstone-Wilson, Colin Frank (David) (AW's brother) -- August 5 - 1973
  • Box 8:
  • September - 1973
  • Johnstone-Wilson, Colin Frank (David) (AW's brother) -- September 1 - 1973
  • Johnstone-Wilson, Colin Frank (David) (AW's brother) (from AW) -- September 29 - 1973
  • Johnstone-Wilson, Colin Frank (David) (AW's brother) -- September 30 - 1973
  • McEwan, Ian -- September 1 - 1973
  • October - 1973
  • Johnstone-Wilson, Colin Frank (David) (AW's brother) -- October 16 - 1973
  • November - 1973
  • Priestley, J.B. -- November 24 - 1973
  • White, Patrick -- November 19 - 1973
  • December and undated - 1973
  • Bayley, John - 1973
  • Moorcock, Michael - 1973
  • White, Patrick -- December 11 - 1973
  • January - 1974
  • Johnstone-Wilson, Clive Calvert (AW's brother) -- January 17 (?) - 1974
  • February - 1974
  • March-April - 1974
  • Bradbury, Malcolm -- April 18 - 1974
  • Bridgewater, Bentley -- April 24 - 1974
  • Burgess, Anthony -- March 15 - 1974
  • Johnstone-Wilson, Clive Calvert (AW's brother) -- April 5 - 1974
  • May-June - 1974
  • Johnstone-Wilson, Clive Calvert (AW's brother) -- June 30 - 1974
  • July-August - 1974
  • Bridgewater, Bentley -- July 28 - 1974
  • September-October - 1974
  • November - 1974
  • Achebe, Chinua -- November 11 - 1974
  • December and undated - 1974
  • January - 1975
  • February - 1975
  • Renault, Mary -- February 1 - 1975
  • March-April - 1975
  • May - 1975
  • June - 1975
  • Bridgewater, Bentley -- June 12 - 1975
  • Bridgewater, Bentley -- June 24 - 1975
  • Drabble, Margaret -- June 28 - 1975
  • Theroux, Paul -- June 25 - 1975
  • Box 9:
  • July - 1975
  • Theroux, Paul -- July 5 - 1975
  • August - 1975
  • September - 1975
  • October - 1975
  • November - 1975
  • Bridgewater, Bentley -- November 25 - 1975
  • January - 1976
  • Bridgewater, Bentley -- January 3 - 1976
  • February - 1976
  • Reve, Gerard -- February 3 - 1976
  • March 1-15 - 1976
  • March 6-31 - 1976
  • April - 1976
  • May - 1976
  • June - 1976
  • July - 1976
  • Farrell, James G. (from Farrell to Margaret Drabble) -- July 23 - 1976
  • Box 10:
  • August - 1976
  • September-October - 1976
  • Drabble, Margaret -- October 3 (?) - 1976
  • Drabble, Margaret -- October 20 - 1976
  • Isherwood, Christopher -- September 8 - 1976
  • November - 1976
  • Bridgewater, Bentley -- November 15 - 1976
  • Drabble, Margaret -- November 13 - 1976
  • Drabble, Margaret -- November 26 - 1976
  • December - 1976
  • Gordimer, Nadine -- December (?) - 1976
  • Undated - 1976
  • Bridgewater, Bentley -- undated - 1976
  • Fraser (Pinter), Antonia -- undated - 1976
  • January-February - 1977
  • Spender, Stephen -- January 11 - 1977
  • March - 1977
  • April - 1977
  • May - 1977
  • June - 1977
  • July - 1977
  • August - 1977
  • Bradbury, Malcolm -- August 23 - 1977
  • Bridgewater, Bentley -- August 10 - 1977
  • Box 11:
  • September-October - 1977
  • Bridgewater, Bentley -- September 29 - 1977
  • November-December - 1977
  • Undated - 1977
  • January-February - 1978
  • Clarke, Arthur C. -- January 30 - 1978
  • March - 1978
  • April - 1978
  • Reve, Gerard -- April 25 - 1978
  • May - 1978
  • McEwan, Ian -- May 25 - 1978
  • June-July - 1978
  • August-September - 1978
  • October-November - 1978
  • December - 1978
  • Undated - 1978
  • Box 12:
  • January - 1979
  • Bridgewater, Bentley -- January 9 - 1979
  • February-March - 1979
  • April - 1979
  • Bradbury, Malcolm -- April 30 - 1979
  • May - 1979
  • June - 1979
  • July - 1979
  • Bridgewater, Bentley -- August 22 - 1979
  • McEwan, Ian -- August 21 - 1979
  • September-October - 1979
  • Drabble, Margaret -- September 7 - 1979
  • November - 1979
  • December - 1979
  • Undated - 1979
  • January - 1980
  • February - 1980
  • March - 1980
  • Drabble, Margaret -- March 10 - 1980
  • April - 1980
  • Drabble, Margaret -- April 7 - 1980
  • May - 1980
  • Drabble, Margaret -- May 15 - 1980
  • Box 13:
  • June 1-14 - 1980
  • Drabble, Margaret -- June 12 - 1980
  • West, Rebecca -- June 6 - 1980
  • June 15-19 - 1980
  • Betjeman, John -- June 16 - 1980
  • Bridgewater, Bentley -- June 16 - 1980
  • June 20-30 - 1980
  • Reve, Gerard -- June 25 - 1980
  • July 1-16 - 1980
  • Renault, Mary -- July 15 - 1980
  • Waugh, Alec -- July 3 - 1980
  • West, Rebecca -- July 1 - 1980
  • July 17-31 - 1980
  • August 1-15 - 1980
  • Renault, Mary -- August 15 - 1980
  • White, Patrick -- August 10 - 1980
  • August 16-30 - 1980
  • September - 1980
  • October - 1980
  • November - 1980
  • Drabble, Margaret -- November 3 - 1980
  • Drabble, Margaret -- November 12 - 1980
  • December - 1980
  • Undated - 1980
  • Box 14:
  • January - 1981
  • Amis, Kingsley -- January 27 - 1981
  • Bridgewater, Bentley -- January 14 - 1981
  • Reve, Gerard -- January 21 - 1981
  • February - 1981
  • Drabble, Margaret -- February 1 - 1981
  • Drabble, Margaret -- February 4 - 1981
  • March - 1981
  • April - 1981
  • Tremain, Rose -- April 2 - 1981
  • May - 1981
  • June - 1981
  • July - 1981
  • August - 1981
  • Bridgewater, Bentley -- August 11 - 1981
  • September-October - 1981
  • November - 1981
  • Bridgewater, Bentley -- November 19 - 1981
  • December - 1981
  • White, Patrick -- December 28 - 1981
  • Undated - 1981
  • January - 1982
  • Drabble, Margaret -- January 29 - 1982
  • February - 1982
  • March - 1982
  • Drabble, Margaret -- March 22 - 1982
  • McEwan, Ian -- March 8 - 1982
  • Box 15:
  • April - 1982
  • Pinter, Harold -- April 5 - 1982
  • May - 1982
  • Drabble, Margaret -- May 7 - 1982
  • June - 1982
  • Drabble, Margaret -- June 15 - 1982
  • Drabble, Margaret -- June 18 - 1982
  • Moorcock, Michael -- June - 1982
  • Moorcock, Michael -- June 28 - 1982
  • July - 1982
  • August - 1982
  • September-October - 1982
  • November - 1982
  • December - 1982
  • Elizabeth II, Queen -- December 31 - 1982
  • Reve, Gerard -- December 13 - 1982
  • Undated - 1982
  • Moorcock, Michael - 1982
  • January - 1983
  • February - 1983
  • March - 1983
  • April - 1983
  • Golding, William -- April 5 - 1983
  • May - 1983
  • Johnstone-Wilson, Clive Calvert (AW's brother) (from AW) -- May 9 - 1983
  • June - 1983
  • Fraser (Pinter), Antonia -- June 17 - 1983
  • Moorcock, Michael -- June 30 - 1983
  • Spark, Muriel -- June 30 - 1983
  • Box 16:
  • July 1-11 - 1983
  • Bradbury, Malcolm -- July 8 - 1983
  • July 12-31 - 1983
  • Amis, Kingsley -- July 21 - 1983
  • Drabble, Margaret -- July 12 - 1983
  • Rushdie, Salman -- July 27 - 1983
  • August - 1983
  • Drabble, Margaret -- August 14 - 1983
  • McEwan, Ian -- August 1 - 1983
  • August - 1983
    (Birthday cards and wishes)
  • Drabble, Margaret -- birthday card - 1983
  • September - 1983
  • October - 1983
  • Drabble, Margaret -- October 3 - 1983
  • November - 1983
  • Fraser (Pinter), Antonia -- November 8 - 1983
  • December - 1983
  • Moorcock, Michael -- December 25 - 1983
  • Undated - 1983
  • Golding, William - 1983
  • January - 1984
  • Rushdie, Salman -- January 31 - 1984
  • February - 1984
  • March 1-9 - 1984
  • Bradbury, Malcolm -- March 4 - 1984
  • March 10-31 - 1984
  • Bellow, Saul -- March 19 - 1984
  • Box 17:
  • April - 1984
  • Bellow, Saul -- April 6 - 1984
  • Drabble, Margaret -- April 24 - 1984
  • May - 1984
  • June - 1984
  • July - 1984
  • August - 1984
  • September - 1984
  • Reve, Gerard -- September 9 - 1984
  • Rushdie, Salman -- September 20 - 1984
  • October - 1984
  • November - 1984
  • Reve, Gerard -- November 9 - 1984
  • December - 1984
  • Undated - 1984
  • January - 1985
  • Reve, Gerard -- January 25 - 1985
  • February - 1985
  • March - 1985
  • Drabble, Margaret -- March 4 - 1985
  • Tremain, Rose -- March 18 - 1985
  • April - 1985
  • Box 18:
  • May - 1985
  • June - 1985
  • July - 1985
  • Reve, Gerard -- July 3 - 1985
  • August-October - 1985
  • November-December - 1985
  • Undated - 1985
  • January-March - 1986
  • Reve, Gerard -- January 21 - 1986
  • April-June - 1986
  • July-September - 1986
  • October-November - 1986
  • December - 1986
  • Fraser (Pinter), Antonia -- December 17 - 1986
  • Undated - 1986
  • Bridgewater, Bentley -- undated - 1986
  • Murdoch, Iris -- undated - 1986
  • January-February - 1987
  • March-April - 1987
  • Murdoch, Iris -- April 22 - 1987
  • Reve, Gerard -- April 12 - 1987
  • May - 1987
  • Fraser (Pinter), Antonia -- May 7 - 1987
  • Reve, Gerard -- May 3 - 1987
  • Reve, Gerard -- May 23 - 1987
  • June - 1987
  • Calisher, Hortense -- June 27 - 1987
  • July-August - 1987
  • Calisher, Hortense -- July 7 - 1987
  • Reve, Gerard -- July 15 - 1987
  • Reve, Gerard -- July 22 - 1987
  • September-October - 1987
  • Box 19:
  • November-December - 1987
  • Gordimer, Nadine -- December 27 - 1987
  • Undated - 1987
  • Murdoch, Iris - 1987
  • January - 1988
  • February - 1988
  • March - 1988
  • Moorcock, Michael -- March 10 - 1988
  • April - 1988
  • May - 1988
  • June - 1988
  • July-August - 1988
  • September - 1988
  • Bridgewater, Bentley -- September 28 - 1988
  • October-November - 1988
  • December - 1988
  • Bridgewater, Bentley -- December 25 - 1988
  • Moorcock, Michael -- December 25 - 1988
  • Undated - 1988
  • January - 1989
  • February - 1989
  • March-May - 1989
  • June-August - 1989
  • September-December - 1989
  • Undated - 1989
  • Moorcock, Michael - 1989
  • Box 20:
  • January-April - 1990
  • May-December - 1990
  • Bridgewater, Bentley -- December - 1990
  • Moorcock, Michael -- December - 1990
  • Pinter, Harold -- October 29 - 1990
  • Undated - 1990
  • Rose Tremain - Responses to her May 19 appeal for financial help for AW -- May - June - 1990
  • Chronological - 1991
  • Gordimer, Nadine -- March 10 - 1992
  • Undated, Correspondents A--G
  • Bayley, John
  • Britten, Benjamin
  • Forster, E.M.
  • Garrett, Anthony (to AW)
  • Golding, William
  • Undated, Correspondents H--M
  • Maugham, W. Somerset
  • Moorcock, Michael
  • Murdoch, Iris
  • Undated, Correspondents N--S
  • Powys, John Cowper
  • Spark, Muriel
  • Undated, Correspondents T--Y
  • White, Patrick
  • Undated, Correspondents Unnamed
  • Sub-Series: Anthony Garrett's correspondence
  • Box 21:
  • Chronological - 1945-1961
  • Garrett, Anthony (to AW) -- May 9 - 1949
  • Garrett, Anthony (to AW) -- March 30 - 1953
  • Garrett, Anthony (to AW) -- undated - 1953
  • Garrett, Anthony (to AW) -- February 14 - 1955
  • Garrett, Anthony (to AW) -- undated - 1955
  • Garrett, Anthony (to AW) -- February 29 - 1955
  • Garrett, Anthony (to AW) -- December 7 - 1955
  • Garrett, Anthony (to AW) -- undated - 1955
  • Garrett, Anthony (to AW) -- May or June - 1957
  • Garrett, Anthony (to AW) -- September 2 - 1957
  • Garrett, Anthony (to AW) -- September 6 - 1957
  • Garrett, Anthony (to AW) -- September 17 - 1957
  • Garrett, Anthony (to AW) -- October 29 - 1958
  • Garrett, Anthony (to AW) -- November 10 - 1958
  • Garrett, Anthony (to AW) -- November 11 (?) - 1958
  • Garrett, Anthony (to AW) -- November 17 - 1958
  • Garrett, Anthony (to AW) -- November 20 - 1958
  • Garrett, Anthony (to AW) -- November 24 - 1958
  • Garrett, Anthony (to AW) -- January 10 - 1961
  • Garrett, Anthony (to AW) -- January 13 - 1961
  • Garrett, Anthony (to AW) -- undated - 1962
  • Garrett, Anthony (to AW) -- March 16 - 1962
  • Garrett, Anthony (to AW) -- February 23 - 1966
  • Wilson, Edmund -- June 1 - 1966
  • Chronological - 1967-1970
  • Garrett, Anthony (to AW) -- June 4 - 1970
  • Garrett, Anthony (to AW) -- June 6 - 1970
  • Chronological - 1971-1975
  • Bridgewater, Bentley -- February 23 - 1975
  • Bridgewater, Bentley -- June 24 - 1975
  • Garrett, Anthony (to AW) -- July 19 - 1971
  • Chronological - 1976-1977
  • Bridgewater, Bentley -- April 5 - 1976
  • Drabble, Margaret -- December 28 - 1976
  • Chronological - 1978
  • Bridgewater, Bentley -- July 24 - 1978
  • Chronological - 1979-1980
  • Drabble, Margaret -- July 10 - 1980
  • Fraser (Pinter), Antonia -- March 25 - 1980
  • Johnstone-Wilson, Clive Calvert (AW's brother) -- November 7 - 1979
  • Chronological - 1981
  • Johnstone-Wilson, Clive Calvert (AW's brother) -- May 28 - 1981
  • Johnstone-Wilson, Clive Calvert (AW's brother) -- June 11 - 1981
  • Johnstone-Wilson, Clive Calvert (AW's brother) -- June 21 - 1981
  • Johnstone-Wilson, Clive Calvert (AW's brother) -- June 27 - 1981
  • Chronological - 1982
  • Bridgewater, Bentley -- January 7 - 1982
  • Johnstone-Wilson, Clive Calvert (AW's brother) -- July 4 - 1982
  • Chronological - 1983
  • Fraser (Pinter), Antonia -- April 22 - 1983
  • Fraser (Pinter), Antonia -- May 23 - 1983
  • Johnstone-Wilson, Clive Calvert (AW's brother) -- May 9 - 1983
  • January-April - 1984
  • June-December and undated - 1984
  • January-June - 1985
  • Bridgewater, Bentley -- April 24 - 1985
  • July-December - 1985
  • January-October - 1986
  • Garrett, Anthony (to AW) -- June 10 - 1986
  • Garrett, Anthony (to AW) -- June 13 - 1986
  • Box 22:
  • November-December and undated - 1986
  • January-April - 1987
  • Drabble, Margaret -- April 10 - 1987
  • Tremain, Rose -- April 8 - 1987
  • May-July - 1987
  • Calisher, Hortense -- June - 1987
  • Drabble, Margaret -- May 4 - 1987
  • Fraser (Pinter), Antonia -- May 1 - 1987
  • Tremain, Rose -- May 15 - 1987
  • Tremain, Rose -- June 26 - 1987
  • August-October - 1987
  • Reve, Gerard -- August 23 - 1987
  • Tremain, Rose -- October 8 - 1987
  • November-December and undated - 1987
  • Drabble, Margaret -- November 19 - 1987
  • January-February - 1988
  • March-May - 1988
  • Tremain, Rose -- April 16 - 1988
  • June-August - 1988
  • Reve, Gerard -- August 15 - 1988
  • September-December and undated - 1988
  • January-March - 1989
  • Reve, Gerard -- February 22 - 1989
  • Reve, Gerard -- March 1 - 1989
  • Reve, Gerard -- March 13 - 1989
  • Reve, Gerard -- March 14 - 1989
  • Reve, Gerard -- March 17 - 1989
  • April-July - 1989
  • Reve, Gerard -- June 2 - 1989
  • Tremain, Rose -- June 13 - 1989
  • Box 23:
  • August-October - 1989
  • Bradbury, Malcolm -- October 13 - 1989
  • Murdoch, Iris -- October 12 - 1989
  • Reve, Gerard -- October 22 - 1989
  • November-December and undated - 1989
  • January-February - 1990
  • Bridgewater, Bentley -- February 4 - 1990
  • Murdoch, Iris -- January - 1990
  • Tremain, Rose -- February 24 - 1990
  • March-April - 1990
  • May-June - 1990
  • Drabble, Margaret -- May 14 - 1990
  • Tremain, Rose -- May 22 - 1990
  • Tremain, Rose -- May 29 - 1990
  • Tremain, Rose -- June 13 - 1990
  • July-August - 1990
  • Bridgewater, Bentley -- July - 1990
  • Tremain, Rose -- July 2 - 1990
  • Tremain, Rose -- July 6 - 1990
  • Tremain, Rose -- July 14 - 1990
  • September-October - 1990
  • Drabble, Margaret -- October 1 - 1990
  • Drabble, Margaret -- October 15 - 1990
  • Drabble, Margaret -- October 25 - 1990
  • November-December and undated - 1990
  • Drabble, Margaret -- November 5 - 1990
  • Drabble, Margaret -- undated - 1990
  • Moorcock, Michael -- undated - 1990
  • Murdoch, Iris -- undated - 1990
  • January-February - 1991
  • Bradbury, Malcolm -- Febraury 19 - 1991
  • Fraser (Pinter), Antonia -- January 2 - 1991
  • March-April - 1991
  • Drabble, Margaret -- March 14 - 1991
  • Drabble, Margaret -- April 3 - 1991
  • May 1-June 1 - 1991
  • Drabble, Margaret -- May 5 - 1991
  • Drabble, Margaret -- May 10 - 1991
  • Fraser (Pinter), Antonia -- May 4 - 1991
  • Pinter, Harold -- June 1 - 1991
  • Box 24:
  • June 2-3 - 1991
  • Bradbury, Malcolm -- June 3 - 1991
  • June 4-7 - 1991
  • June 8-31 - 1991
  • Murdoch, Iris -- June - 1991
  • July - 1991
  • Bridgewater, Bentley -- July 15 - 1991
  • August-September - 1991
  • Drabble, Margaret -- August 29 - 1991
  • October-November - 1991
  • Calisher, Hortense -- November 1 - 1991
  • Drabble, Margaret -- October 6 - 1991
  • Drabble, Margaret -- October 14 - 1991
  • Fraser (Pinter), Antonia -- November 20 - 1991
  • December - 1991
  • Drabble, Margaret -- December 11 - 1991
  • McKellan, Ian (Christmas card) - 1991
  • Undated - 1991
  • Moorcock, Michael - 1991
  • Murdoch, Iris - 1991
  • January-February - 1992
  • March-April - 1992
  • Drabble, Margaret -- March 23 - 1992
  • Fraser (Pinter), Antonia -- March 20 - 1992
  • May-June - 1992
  • Drabble, Margaret -- June 26 - 1992
  • Fraser (Pinter), Antonia -- June 1 - 1992
  • July - 1992
  • Undated - 1992
  • Drabble, Margaret -- undated - 1992
  • Moorcock, Michael -- undated - 1992
  • Undated, year not known
  • Murdoch, Iris
  • Undated, from AW
  • Series 2: LITERARY MANUSCRIPTS, NOTEBOOKS AND DRAFTS
  • Sub-Series: AngIo-Saxon Attitudes
  • Box 1:
  • Holograph notebooks of the text (Notebooks #53-63) - 1956
    6 folders
  • Holograph notebooks of notes (Notebooks #64-66) - 1956
  • Box 2:
  • Holograph notebooks of notes (Notebooks #67-68) - 1956
  • Typescript carbons, parts 1-6 - 1956
    2 folders
  • Sub-Series: As If By Magic
  • Box 2:
  • Holograph notebooks of the text - 1973
    3 folders
  • Box 3:
  • Holograph notebooks of the text - 1973
    3 folders
  • Holograph notebooks of notes - 1973
    3 folders
  • Box 4:
  • Holograph notebooks of notes - 1973
    2 folders
  • Typescript with corrections and revisions, pages 1-650 (1) - 1973
    4 folders
  • Box 5:
  • Typescript with corrections and revisions, pages 651-716 (1) - 1973
  • Typescript with corrections and revisions, pages 1-523 (2) - 1973
    2 folders
  • Typescript and typescript carbon intermixed with duplicated pages with revisions, pages 1-560 - 1973
    3 folders
  • Box 6:
  • Typescript and typescript carbon intermixed with duplicated pages with revisions, pages 561-720 - 1973
  • Typescript (pages 1-53) and typescript carbon (pages 54-260) - 1973
  • Typescript carbon, pages 261-523 - 1973
  • Typescript carbon (incomplete), with many missing pages - 1973
  • Miscellaneous notes - 1973
    2 folders
  • Box 7:
  • Miscellaneous notes - 1973
  • Additional handwritten notes - 1973
  • Rejected pages
  • Sub-Series: Hemlock And After
  • Box 7:
  • Holograph notebooks of the text (Notebooks #136-141) - 1952
    4 folders
  • Holograph notebooks of notes and first chapters prefiguring the novel - 1952
  • Sub-Series: Late Call
  • Box 7:
  • Holograph notebooks of the text, chapters 1-3 (Notebooks #42, 48-49) - 1964
    3 folders
  • Box 8:
  • Holograph notebooks of the text, chapters 4-6 (Notebooks #43, 50, 44-45) - 1964
    4 folders
  • Holograph notebook of text and miscellaneous pages of typescript carbon, chapter 7 (Notebooks #46-47) - 1964
  • Holograph notebooks of notes (Notebooks #51) - 1964
  • Typescript, pages 1-417 - 1964
    2 folders
  • Box 9:
  • Typescript with corrections, pages 1-345 - 1964
    2 folders
  • Sub-Series: Laughing Mirrors (the original version of No Laughing Matter)
  • Box 9:
  • Typescript (2nd copy), pages 1-714
  • Sub-Series: The Middle Age of Mrs. Eliot
  • Box 10:
  • Holograph notebooks of the text (Notebooks #86-92) - 1958
    3 folders
  • Holograph notebooks of the text (Notebooks #93-96) - 1958
    3 folders
  • Box 11:
  • Holograph notebooks of notes (Notebooks #97-98) - 1958
  • Sub-Series: No Laughing Matter
  • Box 11:
  • Assorted research notes and correspondence - 1965-1967
  • Holograph notebooks of the text (Notebooks #69-77) - 1967
    6 folders
  • Box 12:
  • Holograph notebooks of the text (Notebooks #78-79) - 1967
  • Holograph notebooks of the text (Notebooks #80-85a) - 1967
    5 folders
  • Holograph notebook of notes (Notebook #119), including unpublished short story "Live and Let Die" and notes for short stories never written - 1967
  • Box 13:
  • Original typescript with corrections and revisions, pages 1-912 - 1967
    4 folders
  • Typescript, pages 1-600 - 1967
    2 folders
  • Box 14:
  • Typescript, pages 601-912 - 1967
    2 folders
  • Sub-Series: The Old Men At The Zoo
  • Box 14:
  • Holograph notebooks of the text (Notebooks #124-126) - 1961
    3 folders
  • Holograph notebooks of the text (Notebooks #127-129) - 1961
    2 folders
  • Box 15:
  • Holograph notebooks of the text (Notebooks #130-131) - 1961
    2 folders
  • Holograph notebooks of notes and early version of the first part of the text (Notebook #132) - 1961
  • Holograph notebooks of notes (Notebooks #133-135) - 1961
    3 folders
  • Incomplete typescript draft with corrections and notes - 1961
  • Sub-Series: Setting The World On Fire
  • Box 15:
  • Holograph notebooks of the text - 1980
    2 notebooks
  • Box 16:
  • Holograph notebook of the text - 1980
    4 notebooks
  • Holograph notebooks of preliminary notes - 1980
    3 notebooks
  • Box 17:
  • Holograph notebooks of preliminary notes - 1980
    2 notebooks
  • Holograph notebook of notes, holograph notes and clippings - 1980
  • Typescript with holograph corrections and revisions - 1980
    2 folders
  • Box 18:
  • Miscellaneous clippings and publications - 1980
  • Miscellaneous preliminary papers - 1980
  • Sub-Series: Unpublished
  • Box 18:
  • Goats and Compasses - Holograph notebooks containing fragments of a novel (Notebooks #18-19)
  • Goats and Compasses - Typescript carbon of the novel's beginning
  • Notes for an untitled, unfinished novel - 1974
  • Sub-Series: Short Stories
  • Box 19:
  • "After The Snow" - Holograph notebooks (Notebooks #15-17)
    2 notebooks
  • "At School Together, As You Might Say" - Printed version, in Trifler - 1959
  • "A Bit Off The Map" - Holograph notebooks (Notebooks #31-32)
  • "Christmas Day in the Workhouse", "Holiday Lesson", and "Learning's Little Tribute" - Holograph notebook (Notebook #41)
  • "Cuckoo" - Typescript with notes
  • "Et Dona Ferentes" - Holograph notebook (Notebook #27)
  • "The Eyes of the Peacock" - Holograph and typescripted drafts
  • "A Flat Country Christmas" - Holograph notebook (Notebook #36)
  • "The Flying Spur" (Short story or novel) - Holograph notebooks of notes - 1900-1910
  • "Fossils All Alive Oh!" - Typescript
  • "Men in Bowler Hats" - Holograph notebook (Notebook #30)
  • "More Friend Than Lodger" - Holograph notebook (Notebooks #38-39)
  • "More Friend Than Lodger" - Typescript
  • "Mother's Sense of Fun" - Holograph notebook, including fragments of other stories (Notebook #34)
  • "My Little Folly" - Typescript and photocopy of holograph notes
  • "Mummy to the Rescue" and "The Wrong Set" - Holograph notebook (Notebook #25)
  • Box 20:
  • "No Future for Our Young" - Holograph notebook (includes review of Courage by Lord Beaverbrook (Notebook #114); and typescript with corrections
  • "No Man Goes Alone" and "No Retreat" - Typescript
  • "The Old Lady of Mogador" - Typescript carbon
  • Two Short Stories
  • "The Old, Old Message" (also known as "A Flat Country Christmas") - Typescript
  • "Once a Lady" - Holograph notebook (Notebook #35)
  • "Once a Lady" - Typescript
  • "Raspberry Jam" - Holograph notebook (Notebook #24)
  • "Rex Imperator" and "Crazy Crowd" - Holograph notebook (Notebook #40)
  • "A Sad Fall" - Holograph notebook (Notebook #29)
  • "Saturnalia", "Who For Such Dainties", "Realpolitik", "A Little Companion" and "Totentanz" - Holograph notebook (Notebook #22)
  • "Significant Experience" - Holograph notebook (Notebook #33)
  • "Sister Superior", "Such Darling Dodos", "What Do Hippos Eat?," and "Heart of Elm" - Holograph notebook (Notebook #1)
  • "A Story of Historical Interest", "Necessity's Child", and "An Elephant Never Forgets" - Holograph notebook (Notebook #23)
  • "Ten Minutes to Twelve" - Holograph notebook (Notebook #28)
  • "Totentanz" - Holograph notebook of story for television (Notebook #113)
  • "Unwanted Heroine" - Holograph notebook (Notebook #26)
  • Notes for miscellaneous stories - Holograph notebook (Notebook #37)
  • Notes for miscellaneous stories - Holograph notes
  • Sub-Series: Stage, Radio and Television Plays
  • Box 21:
  • After the Snow - Photocopy of television script -- September 2 - 1959
  • After the Snow - Rehearsal script -- September 2 - 1959
  • Anglo-Saxon Attitudes (adapted by Roger Nokes) - Photocopy of script treatment with revisions
  • Anglo-Saxon Attitudes (adapted by Roger Nokes) - Complete script
  • Anglo-Saxon Attitudes (adapted by Roger Nokes) - Script, episodes 1-3
  • Anglo-Saxon Attitudes (adapted by Roger Nokes) - Script, episodes 4-5
  • Come Out of the Cold - Typescript of story idea with corrections and revisions - 1968
  • The Dance of Death - Various typescript drafts with corrections and revisions
  • The Invasion - Holograph notebook of text (also includes review of C. Heilbrun's work The Garnett Family) (Notebook #122)
  • The Invasion - Holograph notes and partial typescript of television play
  • The Invasion - Holograph notebook draft of play
  • The Invasion - Carbon typescript of play
  • The Invasion - Typescript of play with corrections and revisions
  • Box 22:
  • The Invasion - Script with revisions -- June 6 - 1962
  • Last Call (adapted by Dennis Potter) - Rehearsal script, episode 1 - 1974
  • Last Call (adapted by Dennis Potter) - Rehearsal script, episode 2 - 1974
  • Last Call (adapted by Dennis Potter) - Rehearsal script, episode 3 - 1974
  • Last Call (adapted by Dennis Potter) - Rehearsal script, episode 4 - 1974
  • Left In The Middle - Holograph notebooks of manuscript
  • Left In The Middle - Typescript of script - 1956
  • The Mulberry Bush - Holograph notebooks of the play (Notebooks #7-8)
  • The Mulberry Bush - Holograph notebooks of the play (Notebooks #9-11)
  • Box 23:
  • The Mulberry Bush - Holograph notebooks of the play (Notebooks #12-13)
  • The Mulberry Bush - Typescript carbon under earlier title "A Liberal Education"
  • The Mulberry Bush - Typescript carbon with notes and revisions
  • The Mulberry Bush - Typescript
  • The Mulberry Bush - Typescript with revisions
  • The Mulberry Bush - Incomplete typescript with holograph corrections, revisions and notes
  • The Mulberry Bush - Acting script with notes
    2 folders
  • The Mulberry Bush - Television script
  • Box 24:
  • The Old Men At the Zoo (adapted by Troy Kennedy Martin) - Revised script, episodes 1-2 - 1982
    2 folders
  • The Old Men At the Zoo (adapted by Troy Kennedy Martin) - Revised script [photocopy], episode 3 - 1982
  • The Old Men At the Zoo (adapted by Troy Kennedy Martin) - Script, episodes 4-5 - 1982
    2 folders
  • Operation Take-Over (formerly The Invasion) - Script with revisions -- June 6 - 1962
    2 folders
  • Operation Take-Over (formerly The Invasion) - Script -- June 9 - 1962
    2 copies
  • Operation Take-Over (formerly The Invasion) - Script -- October 9 - 1962
  • Box 25:
  • Skeletons and Assegais - Holograph notebooks of manuscript, and published version of play
  • Sister Superior - Holograph draft of never-produced play (Notebook #6)
  • The Stranger - Holograph notebook of manuscript
  • The Stranger - Typescript of play with holograph notes, corrections and revisions
  • Series 3: NON-FICTION MANUSCRIPTS, NOTEBOOKS AND DRAFTS
  • Sub-Series: Full-Length Studies: Emile Zola: An Introductory Study of His Novels
  • Box 1:
  • Holograph notebooks of the text (Notebooks #99 - 109) - 1952
    5 folders
  • Sub-Series: Full-Length Studies: The Wild Garden
  • Box 1:
  • Holograph notebooks (Notebooks #1-3) - 1963
    2 folders
  • Box 2:
  • Holograph notes - 1963
  • Typescript with holograph notes - 1963
  • Typescript with corrections - 1963
  • Typescript with corrections and revisions - 1963
  • Early typescript with holograph notes, corrections and revisions - 1963
  • Incomplete typescript (2 copies) - 1963
  • Typescript carbon - 1963
  • Anthony Garrett's corrections - 1963
  • setting typescript with printer's notes - 1963
  • Sub-Series: Full-Length Studies: The World of Charles Dickens
  • Box 3:
  • Holograph notebook of preliminary notes - 1970
  • Holograph notebooks, chapters 1 - 6 - 1970
    6 folders
  • Sub-Series: Full-Length Studies: The Strange Ride of Rudyard Kipling
  • Box 4:
  • Holograph notebooks (Notebooks #1 - 6) - 1977
    7 folders
  • Box 5:
  • Holograph notebooks (Notebooks #7 - 8, 1 - 4 and unnumbered) - 1977
    7 folders
  • Miscellaneous notes and fragments - 1977
  • Box 6:
  • Miscellaneous pages of holograph draft and insertions - 1977
  • Typescript carbon with revisions (under original title of From Bombay to Burwash: The Life and Writings of Rudyard Kipling) - 1977
    2 folders
  • Printer's typescript (under original title of From Bombay to Burwash: The Life and Writings of Rudyard Kipling) - 1977
    3 folders
  • Box 7:
  • Research materials: Notes on interview with Kipling's friend Lady Hardinge, May - 1976
  • Research materials: Photocopies of Kipling letters - 1977
  • Research materials: Research library holdings of Kipling material - 1977
  • Research materials, A -- C - 1977
    7 folders
  • Box 8:
  • Research materials, E -- M - 1977
    11 folders
  • Box 9:
  • Research materials, N -- Z - 1977
    11 folders
  • Box 10:
  • Research material and miscellaneous pages of typescript - 1977
  • Holograph notebooks of research material - 1977
    3 folders
  • Miscellaneous research material - 1977
  • Illustrations and notes - 1977
    2 folders
  • Photocopies of published articles - 1958-1972
    2 folders
  • Sub-Series: Articles
  • Box 11:
  • "The Book I Read", "Envy", and "Jane Austen" (Notebook #117)
    Holograph notebook
  • "The British Museum: Some Impressions of One Who Works There" (Notebook #5)
    Holograph notebook of manuscript
  • "Charles Dickens on Children and Childhood" - 1969
    Holograph notebook of text, and typescript of article
  • "Conformity and the Novel"
    Typescript and correspondence
  • "East Anglia"
    Holograph of text, and typescript
  • "Emile Zola"
    Typescript carbon
  • "Envy"
    Typescript
  • John Cowper Powys as a Novelist" - Photocopy of article in The Powys Review, Spring - 1977
  • "Journey to my Mother's Land" (Notebook #116)
    Holograph notebook
  • "The Library's Loss from Bombardment" - Incomplete published article, undated
  • "My Father"
    Typescript
  • "Mythology" in John Cowper Powys' Novels"
    Typescript with revisions
  • "The Novels of William Godwin" (Article) and "English Stories from New Writing by John Lehmann" (Review) (Notebook #110)
    Holograph notebook
  • Physicality in Fiction (untitled)
    Typescript
  • "The Point of View of an Englishman" (from AW's speech at the Forum of European Writers in Leningrad), published in Literary Gazette, August 18 - 1963
    Typescript with corrections
  • "A Rapist Confounded: Lovelace vs. Clarissa"
    Holograph notebook, and typescripts with corrections and revisions
  • "Samuel Butler and His Influence"
    Typescript carbon
  • "Seven Ages of Men" (part of a series for the Observer)
    Typescript, holograph notebook, holograph with corrections and revisions, and relevant correspondence
  • Sources of AW's anger (untitled article)
    Holograph of text
  • "Television", and notes for untitled article on Channel Islands (Notebook #118)
    Holograph notebook
  • "Television", "Dickens and East Anglia", and "The Whites of South Africa"
    Holograph notebook
  • "Why Do I Write?" - 1985
    Typescript
  • Sub-Series: Lectures
  • Box 12:
  • "Anglo-Saxon Attitudes"
    Typescript with corrections and revisions, and holograph notes
  • Angus Wilson on AW (untitled lecture)
    Typescript drafts with corrections and revisions
  • "The Artist in the Novel"
    Typescript notes with corrections and revisions
  • "Being a Writer"
    Holograph notes
  • Bloomsbury Lectures
    Typescript of text for 3 lectures
  • "The Body and Art"? (title uncertain)
    Holograph notebook of notes, and typescript of some text
  • "Breadth and Depth in the Novel" (Notebook #111)
    Holograph notebook
  • "The British Museum"
    Typescript
  • "The Bronte Sisters"
    Typescript
  • California Lectures "Amalgam"
    Typescript
  • "The Contemporary English Novel and Contemporary English Society"
    Typescript with corrections and revisions
  • Defense of the British Novel given in Leningrad, August 8 - 1963
    Typescript
  • "Dickens", "Virginia Woolf", and "Town and Country Values in English Literature"
    Holograph notebook of notes
  • "Dickens and Children"
    Holograph notebook of notes, and typescript notes with revisions
  • "Dickens and Children." Given in Bombay, January 17 - 1973
  • Box 13:
  • "Dickens and Dostoevsky"
    Typescript with corrections and revisions, and holograph notebook of text
  • "Dickens and Doestoevsky", AW's Preface to The Mystery of Edwin Drood, and miscellaneous notes and quotations
    Holograph notebook
  • "Dickens and the Age of Naturalism"
    Typescript
  • "Dickens and the City"
    Holograph and typescript notes with corrections and revisions
  • "Dickens and the Law"
    Typescript notes and text with corrections and revisions
  • "Dickens and the Modern City"
    Typescript with revisions
  • Dickens lectures (Assorted)
    Holograph notebook of notes and text
  • Dickens lectures, including "Dickens and Dostoevsky"
    Holograph notebook of notes
  • Dickens lecture for BBC-TV (untitled)
    Miscellaneous holograph and typescript notes
  • Emile Zola lectures (untitled)
    Holograph and typescript notes
  • "English Contributions to the Growth of the Novel"
    Holograph notes
  • "Evil In the English Novel" (Radio lectures) - 1962
    Holograph notes
  • "Evil In the English Novel" (Radio lectures) - 1962
    Transcripts of broadcasts
  • "Evil In the English Novel" (Radio lectures) - 1962
    Typescripts of notes and literary excerpts
  • Ewing Lectures, University of California-Los Angeles - 1960
    Holograph notebook
  • Box 14:
  • Fiction, Theater, Television lectures (untitled)
    Holograph notebook of notes
  • Finn Carling (untitled)
    Holograph of text
  • Gay life lectures (untitled)
    Holograph and typescript of notes with corrections and revisions
  • General Cultural Scene of England (untitled, given in Cairo?)
    Holograph notes
  • "The Heroes and Heroines of Dickens"
    Partial typescript of text
  • Jane Austen lectures (untitled)
    Holograph of texts, and holograph notebook of notes
  • Jane Eyre/Wuthering Heights/David Copperfield/Lord Jim/Huckleberry Finn lectures (untitled)
    Holograph notebook
  • "John Cowper Powys: The Novels"
    Holograph notebook
  • Kipling Annual Luncheon lecture (St. Louis, MO?)
    Typescript with corrections and revisions
  • "Modern English Society in Contemporary Fiction"
    Typescript
  • "Moral Conflicts in Victorian Novels", "The Writer and His Approach", "Contemporary English Novel and Contemporary English Society"
    Holograph notebook
  • "Neglected Novelists"
    Holograph notebook of notes
  • "The Neighborhood of Tambuctoo: Conflicts in Jane Austen's Novels"
    Typescript with corrections
  • 19th Century Novels (untitled)
    Typescript with corrections and revisions
  • Nirad C. Chaudhuri (untitled)
    Holograph notes
  • "The Novelist and the Narrator" (Lausanne and Bern) - August - 1959, 1961
    Reprint also
  • "Novelists: Deception and Reality"
    Holograph of text
  • "On Being A Novelist"
    Holograph notebook
  • "On Being a Writer", "The Contemporary English Novel and Contemporary English Society", "Conflicts in the Contemporary English Novel"
    Holograph notes
  • "On Writing"
    Typescript
  • Box 15:
  • "Oscar Wilde"
    Holograph and typescript of text
  • "Reading for Pleasure"
    Holograph notes
  • "Robert Broomfield" - 1966
    Holograph and typescript notes
  • "Rudyard Kipling" and "Henry Green"
    Holograph notebook of notes
  • "Samuel Beckett", "William Golding", "Graham Greene"
    Typescripts
  • "Samuel Richardson"
    Holograph notes
  • Santa Cruz Lectures - 1967
    and lectures on Dickens, Meredith, George Eliot, Forster, Woolf and Sterne - Holograph notebook of notes
  • "Sense and Sensibility in Recent Writing," August - 1950
    Typescript of radio lecture
  • "Speech for East Anglian Librarians"
    Holograph notes
  • "The Theatre in England To-Day"
    Typescript
  • 20th Century Literature Colloquy at Columbia
    Holograph notes
  • "The Victorian Novelists and Their Influence on the Writers of Today"
    Typescript , 3 copies
  • "Virginia Woolf"
    Holograph note, and typescript notes with corrections
  • "What It Is Like to Be a Novelist", "Conformity and the Novel"
    Holograph notes
  • Women in Literature and Sexual Equality (untitled), broadcast on TV September 10 - 1968
    Holograph notes
  • The Writer in England (untitled)
    Typescript
  • Sub-Series: Speeches
  • Box 15:
  • Academics in the Novel (untitled)
    Typescript
  • Acceptance of Honorary Degree from University of Leicester
    Typescript
  • Angus Wilson on AW (given in King's Lynn)
    Holograph of notes
  • AW's 70th Birthday Speech - 1983
    Holograph of text
  • Booker Prize Ceremony Speech - 1975
    Photocopy of typescript with revisions
  • European Community of Writers Speech (untitled), given in Leningrad, August - 1963
    Typescript
  • Foyle's Luncheon, July 17 - 1980
    Typescript
  • Glendenning, Victoria, Introduction to lecture by
    Typescript with corrections and revisions
  • J.B. Priestley's 79th Birthday Speech
    Typescript
  • John Edward Bowle
    Holograph of text
  • Kipling Evening Speech (untitled)
    Typescript, with event program
  • "On Being A Writer"
    Holograph notes
  • Opening of Adelaide (Austrl.) Festival Speech - 1966
    Holograph notes
  • Penhurst Speech (untitled)
    Holograph notes
  • Presidential Address, John Cowper Powys Society - 1976
    Holograph text
  • Rudyard Kipling (untitled)
    Typescript with corrections and revisions
  • St. Andrews Society, Philadelphia, November 30 - 1971
    Holograph notes
  • "The Strange Ride of Rudyard Kipling"
    Typescript with corrections and revisions
  • Suffolk and Bury St. Edmunds (untitled)
    Holograph draft
  • Wedding toast - Given for Juliet Corke - 1982
    Typescript with handwritten French translation
  • Sub-Series: Reviews
  • Box 15:
  • Abroad, by Paul Fussell
    Typescript
  • An American Experience by Allan Ashbolt
    Typescript
  • Branwell Bronte by W. Gerin, and various television programs (Notebooks #120 - 121)
    Holograph notebooks of notes
  • Charles Dickens' Letters and Dickens from Pickwick to Dombey by S. Marcus (Notebook #112 - also contains early jottings for No Laughing Matter)
    Holograph notebook
  • City of Night, by John Rechy
    Typescript with handwritten notes by Tony Garrett
  • Dickens on America and the Americans, ed. Michael Slater, and Dickens on England and the English, ed. Malcolm Andrews
    Typescript
  • English Stories from New Writing, ed. John Lehmann
    Typescript carbon
  • Box 16:
  • Essays by Divers Hands - 1984
    Typescript wtih corrections
  • The Harp and the Oak, by Hugh Massingham - 1982
    Reappraisal, typescript
  • Ivy Compton Burnett, by Hilary Spurling
    Typescript
  • Marie Corelli by Eileen Bigland
    Typescript
  • The Mystery of Edwin Drood, by Charles Dickens, and The Decoding of Edwin Drood, by Charles Forsyte - 1981
    Typescript
  • A Nation of Fools, by Khanna Balraj
    Typescript
  • New Maps of Hell by Kinsgley Amis (Notebook #115 - also contains notes on Jane Austen)
    Holograph notebook
  • The Ordeal of Gilbert Pinfold and Other Stories by Evelyn Waugh
    Typescript of radio broadcast
  • The Other Love, by H. Montgomery Hyde - 1970
    Typescript
  • Remembrance of Things Past (New edition) by Marcel Proust
    Typescript of text, and holograph notes
  • T.S. Eliot, by Peter Ackroyd
    Typescript
  • The Victorian Countryside, ed. G.E. Mingay
    Typescript
  • A Wilder Sea: A Life of John Ruskin, by John Dixon Hunt - 1982
    Typescript with corrections
  • A Year of Life, by Alexander Chakovsky
    Typescript
  • Various reviews
    Miscellaneous notebooks
  • Sub-Series: Other Non Fiction
  • Box 16:
  • Afterword to Great Expectations
    Holograph of text
  • Essay on 'Little Nell and "Derby Day"'
    Typescript
  • Interview with AW in Cairo - 1986
    Typescript of questions and answers
  • Box 3:
  • Zola's "Gin Mill", Introduction to
    Typescript
  • Graham Greene, Notes on - 1984
    Typescript
  • Journal of an "Expedition to Provence", Author unknown
    Holograph journal
  • Kim, Introduction to
    Typescript with corrections
  • The Mystery of Edwin Drood, Preface to
    Typescript
  • The Naughty Nineties - Documentation and correspondence re: illustrations - 1974-1975
    Typescript
  • Oliver Twist, Introduction to
    Typescript with corrections and revisions
  • Viking Portable Dickens, Notes for
    Holograph notebook
  • Public reading of As If By Magic, Notes on - 1982
    Typescript
  • Radio Script for John Cowper Powys Tribute, September - 1962
    Typescript
  • The Return of Sherlock Holmes, Introduction to
    Typescript
  • The Short Stories of Elizabeth Bowen, Introduction to
    Photocopied typescript with corrections
  • Tempo (Notebook #123)
    Holograph notebook of text
  • Box 4:
  • Travelling in Ceylon, Notes on - 1982
    Typescript
  • The Way of All Flesh by Samuel Butler, Notes on
    Typescript of notes with corrections
  • Sub-Series: Miscellaneous Notes and Notebooks
  • Box 17:
  • Assorted Notes, various dates
  • Box 18:
  • Miscellaneous Notebooks
  • Box 19:
  • Miscellaneous Notebooks
  • Series 4: DIARIES AND ADDRESS BOOKS
  • Sub-Series: Diaries
  • Box 1:
  • Diaries - 1948-1952, 1954
  • Diaries - 1955-1959
  • Diaries - 1960-1962
  • Box 2:
  • Diaries - 1963-1966
  • Diaries - 1968
  • Diaries - 1969-1970
  • Diaries - 1971-1972
  • Box 3:
  • Diaries - 1973-1974
  • Diaries - 1975-1976
  • Diaries - 1977-1978
  • Diaries - 1979-1980
  • Box 4:
  • Diaries - 1981-1982
  • Diaries - 1983
  • Diaries - 1984-1985
  • Diaries - 1986-1987
  • Box 5:
  • Diaries - 1988-1991
  • Sub-Series: Address Books
  • Box 5:
  • Address Books
    2 folders
  • Sub-Series: Diaries - Tony Garrett
  • Box 6:
  • Diaries - 1960, 1969, 1970-1979
  • Series 5: FINANCIAL DOCUMENTATION AND PUBLISHERS CORRESPONDENCE
  • Sub-Series: General
  • Box 1:
  • Accounts - 1954-1984
    5 folders
  • Angus Wilson and Company - Accounts - 1985
  • Angus Wilson and Company - Articles of Association - 1958, 1969
  • Angus Wilson and Company - Correspondence - 1986-1987
  • Angus Wilson and Company - Expenditures - 1984
  • Angus Wilson and Company - Minutes - 1980-1986
  • Box 2:
  • Cash Book - 1955
  • Cash Books - 1973-1980
  • Personal Finances: Notes and other documentation - 1987-1988
  • Post-War Credit Certificates - 1947, 1950
  • Sub-Series: Contracts
  • Box 3:
  • A - 1959, 1962, 1964-1965
  • Academy Chicago - 1983
  • B - 1962, 1965
  • British Broadcasting Corporation - 1961-1985
  • Curtis Books - 1972-1973
  • Czechoslovakia - 1958, 1980, 1984
  • D -- F - 1953, 1956, 1974
  • France - 1953, 1959-1970
  • Germany - 1956-1974, 1981, 1985, 1987
  • H - 1954, 1959, 1961, 1970
  • Iris Productions - 1959, 1962
  • Italy - 1952-1974
  • Japan - 1957-1971
  • John Murray Publishers - 1974
  • Jonathan Cape - 1980
  • Martin Secker & Warburg - 1949-1985, 1988
  • N - 1956, 1961
  • P - 1959, 1964
  • Poland - 1958-1975
  • R - 1965-1975, 1984, 1986
  • South America - 1959-1960, 1966
  • Spain - 1958-1983, 1985
  • Sweden - 1950, 1952-1961, 1965
  • U -- V - 1960, 1963
  • Viking Press - 1962-1977, 1986
  • William Morrow - 1951
  • Yugoslavia - 1959-1963, 1975, 1988
  • Sub-Series: Publishers and Agent Correspondence
  • Box 4:
  • Chronological - 1951, 1955, 1962-1963
  • Chronological - 1964-1966
    3 folders
  • Chronological - 1967
    2 folders
  • Chronological - 1968-1971
    4 folders
  • Box 5:
  • Chronological - 1972-1973
    4 folders
  • Chronological - 1974-1978
    5 folders
  • Chronological - 1979
    2 folders
  • January-June - 1980
  • Box 6:
  • July-December - 1980
  • Chronological - 1981-1986
    11 folders
  • Box 7:
  • Associated Book Publishers - 1976-1979
  • Evans Brothers - 1960-1970
  • Martin Secker & Warburg - 1950-1951, 1960-1985, 1987
    4 folders
  • Penguin Books - 1970, 1972, 1976
  • Rainbird Publishing - 1970-1983
    2 folders
  • Box 8:
  • Viking Press - 1960-1979
    2 folders
  • Viking Penguin - 1980-1986
  • Other Companies - 1972, 1975, 1979, 1982
  • Foreign: A -- F - 1961-1984
  • Foreign: P -- Y - 1960-1985
  • Sub-Series: Royalty Statements
  • Box 9:
  • Chronological - 1960-1985
  • Series 6: TEACHING
  • Sub-Series: University of East Anglia
  • Box 1:
  • Administrative Documentation - 1963-1964
  • Administrative Documentation - 1965-1966
  • Administrative Documentation - 1967-1970
  • Administrative Documentation - 1971-1973
  • Administrative Documentation - 1974-1975
  • Administrative Documentation - 1976
  • Administrative Documentation - 1977-1978
  • Administrative Documentation, undated
  • Assorted Class Notes and Documentation - 1967-1968
  • Lecture Notes -- "The Bloomsbury Group," undated
  • Lecture Notes -- "Children in The English Novel," undated
  • Box 2:
  • Lecture Notes -- Class on Richardson and Clarissa, undated
  • Public Orator -- Addresses - 1969-1974
  • Public Orator -- Documentation - 1971-1974
  • Syllabus -- "Kipling and His Times" - 1974
  • Sub-Series: University of Iowa
  • Box 2:
  • Documentation - 1985-1986
  • Lecture Notes -- "Children in The English Novel," undated
  • Series 7: PRESS CLIPPINGS
  • Sub-Series: Clippings Books
  • Box 1:
  • Anglo-Saxon Attitudes
  • Articles and Stories
    2 books
  • As If By Magic
    2 books
  • A Bit Off The Map
  • Davies, G. -- Assembled by
  • General Clippings - 1950-1961
    3 books
  • Box 2:
  • General Clippings - 1961-1975
    11 books
  • Hemlock And After
  • Late Call
    2 books
  • Box 3:
  • The Middle Age of Mrs. Eliot
    2 books
  • The Mulberry Bush
  • No Laughing Matter
  • The Old Men at the Zoo
  • Radio and Television
    2 books
  • Reviews by A. - 1949-1973
    3 books
  • Box 4:
  • Setting The World On Fire
  • The Strange Ride of Rudyard Kipling
  • Such Darling Dodos
  • The Wild Garden
  • The World of Charles Dickens
    3 books
  • The Wrong Set
  • Zola and For Whom The Cloche Tolls
  • Sub-Series: Clippings
  • Box 4:
  • Clippings - 1959-1969, 1977-1980
  • Clippings - 1981-1990
  • Reprints, articles and letters by AW - 1959-1984
  • Obituaries - 1991
  • Reprints and articles about AW's works - 1964-1994
  • "A Dodo on the Campus." Times Literary Supplement, October 28 - 2011
  • Series 8: DAVID AND PATRICK JOHNSTONE (WILSON)
  • Sub-Series: Colin Frank Johnston-Wilson (David Johnstone, 1897-1973)
  • Box 1:
  • Address Books, undated
  • Agendas - 1947, 1971
  • Assorted Notes, undated
  • Birth Certificate - 1933, 1939
    copies
  • Correspondence - 1911, 1940, 1946, 1950-1968
  • Correspondence - 1969-1974
  • Correspondence, undated
  • Estate Documentation - 1973-1976, 1987
  • Sub-Series: Manuscripts
  • Box 1:
  • Frail Santuary (Part I)
  • Box 2:
  • Frail Santuary (Part II)
  • Frail Santuary (Part III)
  • Frail Santuary (Part IV)
    2 copies
  • This Stranger Is I? (pages 18-169)
  • This Stranger Is I? (pages 170-314)
  • This Stranger Is I? (pages 315-437)
  • Box 3:
  • This Stranger Is I? (pages 1-235, renumbered)
  • This Stranger Is I? (pages 236-497, renumbered)
  • Box 4:
  • Miscellaneous - 1938, 1952-1953, 1956, 1962
  • Notebook, undated
  • Nursery Rhyme Book, dedicated to DJ's dog Tiho
  • Phipson and Co. Documentation - 1952, 1954
  • Sub-Series: Photographs
  • Box 4:
  • Assorted Photographs - 1953-1954
  • David's passport photos, undated
  • Maud Wilson, undated
  • Photograph Album of Dubrovnik ("From Bill") - 1957
  • Photos of dog Tiho, undated
  • Small Photograph Allbum (of Patrick Johnstone?), and photo (of Patrick)?, undated
  • Small Photograph Allbum with photos of Bill, undated
  • Small Photograph Allbum, undated
    3 albums
  • Recipe Books (Nurse Sopp) - 1926-1935
  • Sub-Series: Patrick Boswell Johnstone-Wilson (Patrick Johnstone, 1900 - 1962)
  • Box 5:
  • Birth and Death Certificates - 1939, 1962
    copies
  • Correspondence - 1940, 1945, 1947, 1952
  • Identification Documentation - 1936, 1947
  • Keys to PJ's burial place (Lisbon)
  • Last Will and Testament - 1949
  • Nameplate, undated
  • Sub-Series: Patrick Johnstone Photographs
  • Box 5:
  • Assorted Individuals, undated
  • Dated Photographs - 1949, 1958-1959, 1963
  • Dogs, undated
  • Individuals (India), undated
  • Patrick (age 3) - 1904
  • Patrick's passport photos, undated
  • Street Scenes (Dubrovnik), undated
  • Tiho, undated
  • Portrait Postcards - 1930, 1934, 1959
  • Prayers - 1933, 1954, 1956
  • Series 9: MISCELLANEOUS MATERIALS
  • Box 1:
  • Announcements and Flyers: AW Lectures - 1976-1986
  • Applications for Reference Material, British Library - 1975-1976
    2 folders
  • "The Art of Fiction" - Typescript of interview with AW - 1957
  • "Asian Club: 'The Writer and His Times' " - typescript of radio interview with AW - 1957
  • "Berliner gesprach mit Angus Wilson" - Typescript of interview with AW, November 15 - 1958
  • Birth Certificate - 1986
    copy
  • Books from AW's Youth, date acquired unknown
  • British Army: AW's transfer to Reserves - 1942
  • British Museum - AW's Appointment as Head Keeper - 1947
  • "Buchs fur uns" - Typescript of German radio show with a piece on AW, December 4 - 1969
  • "Censorship" (Radio or TV Program) - Handwritten script and notes, undated
  • Contents List, AW's Library
    handwritten
  • "Critics Forum" - Typescript of BBC radio program with a review of Setting the World on Fire, July 5 - 1980
  • Daily Notes - AW's Medical Condition - 1986-1989
    3 folders
  • Deed Box Contents List and Keys
  • Box 2:
  • The Flying Spur (Ashampstead School Magazine) - 1925-1928
    volumes 2-3
  • Funeral Service for AW, September 25 - 1991
  • Health Insurance in France - Correspondence and documentation - 1985-1986
  • Interview with AW, conducted by Adu Jussawalla, Bombay, January 17 - 1973
  • Interview with AW, conducted by Frederick P.W. McDowell - Typescript drafts of interview with AW's written comments, undated
  • Kipling Society - Minutes and Reports - 1981-1984
  • Leases and Tenancy Agreements - 1948, 1952, 1957
  • The Life and Work of Angus Wilson - 1992
    pamphlet
  • "Marcel Proust" - Typescript from the telecast featuring AW - 1970
  • "The Masters: Angus Wilson" - Typescript of radio broadcast by V.S. Naipaul, September 7 - 1964
  • Medical Documentation - 1985-1990
  • "Meeting Writers" - Typescript of draft for radio program of interview with AW - 1957
  • Membership Cards and Identification Documents - Angus Wilson - 1952-1985
  • Membership Cards and Identification Documents - Tony Garrett - 1950, 1953, 1958, 1966-1968, 1973, 1989,
  • Miscellaneous Documentation - 1973, 1977, 1980
  • The Mulberry Bush - Theatre program - 1955
  • "Myth, Reality and Fiction" - Typescript of interview with AW, Iris Murdoch, Graham Greene, Ivy Compton-Burnett, C.P. Snow, John Wain, and Muriel Spark - 1962
  • "The Other Half" (BBC-TV) - Correspondence and notes - 1983
  • "The Other Half" (BBC-TV) - Reviews and letters of comment - 1984
  • "The Other Half" (BBC-TV) - Transcripts of broadcast - 1984
  • Party Lists, undated
  • Box 3:
  • Passports - Angus Wilson - 1948-1986
  • Passports - Tony Garrett - 1949-1971
  • Postcards - Not to or from AW or TG - 1906-1910, 1943, 1946, 1959
  • Psychoanalytical journal (by AW?), undated
  • Publicity Materials - 1969, 1980, 1983, 1990, 1992
  • Publicity Materials and Other Documentation - AW Lectures and other appearances - 1957, 1965, 1976-1981
  • Publicity Schedule for AW, July 4-17, year not given
  • Review of No Laughing Matter, author unknown, undated
  • "Revolutionar und Traditionalist. Der Romancier Angus Wilson" - Typescript of a German radio essay about AW - 1958
  • School certificate - 1930
  • Sketch of AW - Pencil sketch - 1987
  • Sketch of AW - Done by Uttam Sirur in Bombay - 1983
  • Theatre Royal, Bury St. Edmunds Trust: Agendas and Minutes - 1962-1966
  • Theatre Royal, Bury St. Edmunds Trust: Correspondence - 1960-1966
  • Theatre Royal, Bury St. Edmunds Trust: Documentation - 1962-1966
  • "This I Believe" - Typescript of a radio interview with AW - 1958
  • Box 4:
  • Tony Garrett - Assorted Writings - 1987-1989
  • Tony Garrett - Employment Documentation - 1948-1958
  • Tony Garrett - Garrett Family Postcards - 1967-1973
  • Tony Garrett - International Driving Permits - 1972-1981
  • Tony Garrett - Pinford End Nursing Home Journal - 1989-1991
  • Tony Garrett - School Documentation - 1945
  • Tony Garrett - University Documentation - 1952
  • Trust Fund: Draft Settlement for Fund for Tony Garrett - 1952
  • Vile Bodies: A Play in Twelve Episodes (E. Waugh, adapted by H. Dennis Bradley) - 1931
    AW's reading copy
  • Tony Garrett - Diploma, London School of Economics
    1954
  • Series 10: AUDIO MATERIALS AND PHOTOPGRAPHS
  • Sub-Series: Audio Materials
  • Box 1:
  • Audio Recording - Subject unknown, undated
    5-inch reel
  • "The Bloomsbury Group," undated
    Audiotape and 7-inch reel ("tape 2")
  • "Creative Aging Series," July 3 - 1953
    Audiotape
  • "Dickens and the Major City," October 20 - 1971
    Audiotape
  • "English Novel Today: Dickens to Snow," undated
    Audiotape
  • Interview of AW by J.H. Stape ("Angus Wilson in Conversation"), at Bradfield St. George - July 29 - 1982
    Audiotape
  • Interview of AW for KPFA-FM, University of California-Berkeley - October 16 - 1967
    7-inch reel
  • Interview of AW conducted by F.P.W. McDowell - 1971
    5-inch reel
  • "Jane Austen: Prudence vs. Courage" - October 19 - 1980
    Audiotape
  • Sub-Series: Photographs
  • Box 2:
  • Angus Wilson, undated
  • AW's passport photos, undated
  • AW with others, undated
  • AW with Tony Garrett - 1989
  • AW with Tony Garrett, undated
  • AW's house at Bury St. Edmunds, undated
  • Color photo of AW, undated
  • Dated photographs (not of AW or TG) - 1971, 1986-1987
  • Group photo of AW and others, undated
  • Photo of AW, taken by Narsha Prabhu, Bombay - 1975
  • Tony Garrett, undated
  • Undated photographs, various subjects
  • Series 11: FOREIGN LANGUAGE EDITIONS OF WILSON'S WORKS
  • Sub-Series: Anglo Saxon Attitudes
  • Box 1:
  • Polish
  • Spanish (Barcelona)
  • Sub-Series: The Middle Age of Mrs. Eliot
  • Box 1:
  • Dutch
  • Swedish
  • Sub-Series: Such Darling Dodos
  • Box 1:
  • German
  • Series 12: CORRESPONDENCE INDEX FOR SERIES I
  • Sub-Series: A
  • Achebe. Chinua:  11/11/1974
  • Amis, Kingsley:  7/19/1963; 1/8/1967; 8/26/1970; 1/27/1981; 7/21/1983
  • Sub-Series: B
  • Bayley, John:  Undated "B"; Undated 1973
  • Bellow, Saul:  3/19/1984; 4/6/1984
  • Betjeman, John:  6/16/1980
  • Blunden, Edward:  6/7/1966
  • Bradbury, Malcolm:  10/8/1963; 7/11/1973; 4/18/1974; 8/23/1977; 4/30/1979; 7/8/1983; 3/4/1984;10/13/1989 (to AG); 2/19/1991 (to AG); 6/3/1991 (to AG)
  • Bragg, Melvyn:  7/18/1965
  • Bridgewater, Bentley: 5/2/1945; 9/3/1947; 6/22/1948; 5/9/1950; 9/26/1951; 10/24/1951; 8/29/1957; 10/6/1961; 10/18/1961; 10/8/1962; 10/2/1963; undated 1964; 5/15/1966; 6/14/1966; 7/12/1967; 1/8/1968; 10/14/1970; 11/25/1971; 2/14/1972; 4/23/1973;4/29/1973; 7/18/1973; 8/19/1973; 8/28/1973; 4/24/1974; 7/28/1974; 2/23/1975 (to AG); 6/12/1975; 6/12/1975 (to AG); 6/24/1975 (to AG); 6/24/1975; 11/25/1975; 1/3/1976; 4/5/1976 (to AG); 11/15/1976; undated 1976; 8/10/1977; 9/29/1977; 7/24/1978 (to AG); 1/9/1979; 8/22/1979; 6/16/1980; 1/14/1981; 8/11/1981; 11/19/1981; 1/7/1982 (to AG); 4/24/1985 (to AG); undated 1986; 9/28/1988; 12/25/1988; 2/4/1990 (to AG); July 1990 (to AG); December 1990; 7/15/1991 (to AG)
  • Britten, Benjamin:  Undated "B"
  • Burgess, Anthony:  3/15/1974
  • Byatt, A.S.: 9/29/1970
  • Sub-Series: C
  • Calisher, Hortense:  6/27/87; 6/1987 (to AG); 7/7/1987; 11/1/1991 (to AG)
  • Clarke, Arthur C.:  1/30/1978
  • Compton-Burnett, Ivy:  1955; 9/17/1961; 8/26/1962; 1/27/1966
  • Sub-Series: D
  • Davies, Robertson:  8/5/1970
  • Drabble, Margaret:  4/7/1966; 10/11/1968; 6/28/1975; 10/3/1976?; 10/20/1976; 11/13/1976; 11/26/1976; 12/28/1976 (to AG); 9/7/1979; 3/10/1980; 4/7/1980; 5/15/1980; 7/10/1980 (to AG); 11/3/1980; 11/12/1980; 6/12/1980; 2/1/1981; 2/4/1981; 1/29/1982; 3/22/1982; 5/7/1982; 6/15/1982; 6/18/19827/12/1983; 8/14/1983; August 1983 birthday card; 10/3/1983; 4/24/1984; 3/4/1985; 4/10/1987 (to AG); 5/4/1987 (to AG); 11/19/1987 (to AG); 5/14/1990 (to AG); 10/1/1990 (to AG); 10/15/1990 (to AG); 10/25/1990 (to AG); 11/5/1990 (to AG); undated 1990 (to AG); 3/14/1991 (to AG); 4/3/1991 (to AG); 5/5/1991 (to AG); 5/10/1991 (to AG); 8/29/1991 (to AG); 10/6/1991 (to AG); 10/14/1991 (to AG); 12/11/1991 (to AG); 3/23/1992 (to AG); 6/26/1992 (to AG); undated 1992 (to AG)
  • Sub-Series: E
  • Elizabeth II, Queen: 12/31/1982
  • Sub-Series: F
  • Farrell, James G.:  12/20/1970; 7/23/1976 (from Farrell to Margaret Drabble)   
  • Forster, E.M.: 6/28/1957; 8/19/1957; Undated "F"
  • Fraser (Pinter), Antonia:  undated 1976; 3/25/1980 (to AG); 4/22/1983 (to AG); 5/23/1983 (to AG); 6/17/1983; 11/8/1983; 12/17/1986; 5/1/1987 (to AG); 5/7/19871/2/1991 (to AG); 5/4/1991 (to AG; 11/20/91 (to AG); 3/20/92 (to AG); 6/1/1992 (to AG)
  • Sub-Series: G
  • Garrett, Anthony (to AW):  5/9/1949; 3/30/1953; undated 1953; 2/14/1955; undated 1955; 2/29/1955; 12/7/1955; undated 1955; 5 or 6/1957; 9/2/1957; 9/6/1957; 9/17/1957; 10/29/1958; 11/10/1958; 11/11/1958?; 11/17/1958; 11/20/1958;11/24/1958; 1/10/1961; 1/13/1961; undated 1962; 3/16/1962; 2/23/1966; 6/4/1970; 6/6/1970; 7/19/1971; 6/10/1986; 6/13/1986; Undated "G"
  • Gielgud, John:  8/27/1965; 7/27/1965
  • Golding, William: Undated 1983; 4/5/198; undated "G"
  • Gordimer, Nadine:  9/16/1970; 9/21/1970; 9/23/1970; 12/1976?; 12/27/1987; 3/10/1992
  • Greene, Graham:  4/16/1971
  • Sub-Series: I
  • Isherwood, Christopher:  9/8/1976
  • Sub-Series: J
  • Johnstone-Wilson, Clive Calvert (AW's brother): 8/7/1966; 11/20/1972; 1/17/1974?; 4/5/1974; 6/30/1974; 11/7/1979 (to AG); 5/28/1981 (to AG); 6/11/1981 (to AG); 6/21/1981 (to AG); 6/27/1981 (to AG); 7/4/1982 (to AG); 5/9/1983 (from AW)
  • Johnstone-Wilson, Colin Frank (David) (AW's brother):  undated 1961; 1/7/1962; 1/27/1962; 1/28/1962; 1/31/1962; 9/10/1962?; 8/8/1969; 3/28/1971; 8/8/1971; 2/20/1972?; 3/18/1972?; 4/16/1972; 10/7/1972?; 7/11/1973; 7/25/1973; 7/29/1973; 8/5/1973; 9/1/973; 9/29/1973 (from AW); 9/30/1973;10/16/1973
  • Sub-Series: K
  • Knowles, John:  4/8/1959
  • Sub-Series: L
  • Leavis, F.R.:  11/13/1955
  • Lewis, C. Day:  7/8/1966
  • Sub-Series: M
  • McEwan, Ian:  9/1/1973; 5/25/1978; 8/21/1979; 3/8/1982; 8/1/1983
  • McKellan, Ian:  Christmas card 1991 (to AG)
  • Mackenzie, Compton: 1/25/1965
  • Mailer, Norman:  12/2/1960
  • Maugham, W. Somerset: 2/7/1954; undated "M"
  • Mishima, Yukio: 3/3/1965; 7/16/1965; 12/17/1965; 7/1969
  • Moorcock, Michael: 9/25/1968; undated 1973; 6/1982; undated 1982; 6/28/1982; 6/30/1983; 12/25/1983; 3/10/1988; 12/25/1988; undated 1989; December 1990; undated 1990 (to AG); undated 1991 (to AG); undated 1992 (to AG); undated "M"
  • Murdoch, Iris:  Undated 1986; 4/22/1987; undated 1987; 10/12/1989 (to AG); 1/1990 (to AG); undated 1990 (to AG); 6/1991 (to AG); undated 1991 (to AG); undated "M"; undated "M" (to AG)
  • Sub-Series: N
  • Nicolson, Harold:  6/2/1962
  • Sub-Series: P
  • Pinter, Harold:  4/5/1982; 10/29/1990; 6/1/1991 (to AG)
  • Powys, John Cowper:  7/17/1952; 8/3/1952; 9/7/1956; 1/31/1962; Undated "P"
  • Priestley, J.B.:  8/1/1952; 11/30/1956; 11/30/1962; 10/29/1963; 6/12/1965; 6/14/1966; 7/3/1965; 4/10/1970; 5/11/1970; 5/28/1970; 6/30/1973; 11/24/1973
  • Purdy, James:  11/29/1956; 5/18/1957
  • Sub-Series: R
  • Renault, Mary:  2/1/975; 7/15/1980; 8/15/1980
  • Reuse, A.L.:  1/30/1956
  • Reve, Gerard: 3/29/1965; 12/9/1965; 6/30/1968; 8/23/1971; 4/18/72 (to Perkin Walker); 2/3/1976; 12/13/1982; 9/9/1984; 11/9/1984; 2/3/1976; 4/25/178; 6/25/1980; 1/21/1981; 1/25/1985; 7/3/1985; 1/21/1986;4/12/1987; 5/3/1987; 5/23/1987; 7/15/1987; 7/22/1987; 8/23/1987 (to AG); 8/15/1988 (to AG); 2/22/1989 (to AG); 3/1/1989 (to AG); 3/13/1989 (to AG); 3/14/1989 (to AG); 3/17/1989 (to AG); 6/2/1989 (to AG); 10/22/1989 (to AG)
  • Rhys, Jean:  5/20/1971
  • Rushdie, Salman:  7/27/1983; 1/31/1984; 9/20/1984
  • Sub-Series: S
  • Sitwell, Edith:  7/29/1952; 9/11/1952; 4/13/1953; 6/7/1953; 6/15/1953; 7/2/1953; 6/24/1954; 5/23/1956
  • Sitwell, Sacherverell:  4/28/1953
  • Snow, C.P.:  10/27/1964; 1/2/1968
  • Southern, Terry:  4/15/1958
  • Spark, Muriel: 6/30/1983; Undated "S"
  • Spender, Stephen:  11/28/1962; 11/12/1963; 1/11/1977
  • Stout, Rex:  7/17/1963
  • Sub-Series: T
  • Theroux, Paul:  6/25/1975; 7/5/1975
  • Tremain, Rose:  4/2/1981; 3/18/1985; 4/8/1987 (to AG); 5/15/1987 (to AG); 6/26/1987 (to AG); 10/8/87 (to AG); 4/16/1988 (to AG); 6/13/1989 (to AG); 2/24/1990 (to AG); 5/22/1990 (to AG); 5/29/1990 (to AG); 6/13/1990 (to AG); 7/2/1990 (to AG); 7/6/1990 (to AG); 7/14/1990 (to AG);
  • Tynan, Kenneth:  1/18/1963; 10/5/1966; 10/14/1966; 6/27/1969; 8/27/1969
  • Sub-Series: W
  • Waugh, Alec:  7/3/1980
  • Waugh, Evelyn:  7/22/1952; 8/21/1952
  • West, Rebecca:  6/6/198; 7/1/1980
  • White, Patrick:  1/7/1971; 3/30/1971; 11/19/1973; 12/11/1973; 8/10/1980; 12/28/1981; undated "W"
  • Wilson, Angus (to AG):  3/1955; 5/4/1955; May 1955; 6 or 7/1955; 8 or 9/1955; 8/12/1955; 2/8/1957; 6/12/1956; 9/27/1955; 6/4/1957; 7/6/1957; 7/1957; 7/23/1957; 8/1957; 9/1957; 9/2/1957; 9/5/157; 9/10/1957; 9/12/1957; 9/14/1957; 9/21/1957; 11/1958; 11/2/1958; 11/18/1958; 11/27/1958; 1/3/1961; 1/1961; 1/6/1961; 1/13/1961; 1/17/1961;3/1962; 3/12/1962; 3/14/1962; 3/18/1962; 2/27/1966; 3/2/1966; 3/14/1966; 4/1/1966; 8/22/1967; 8/23/1967; 8/28/1967; 9/27/67; 9/26/1969; 12/14/1969
  • Wilson, Edmund: 3/3/1941; 7/21/195; 11/7/1961; 1/27/1965; 6/1/66 (to AG); 10/29/1971
  • Series 13: INVENTORY OF SHORT STORIES
  • Adelaide Speech, sp, 10, 72
  • After the Show, ss, 1, 15. Approximately the second half of the story. Published in A Bit Off the Map. See also TV version.
  • After the Show, t, 1, 16 & 17,TV version of a short story. Produced in 1959 but not publsihed. See also the short story After the Show.
  • Andre Gide. The Correspondence between Pual Claudel and Andre Gide (Pantheon), Mdealine, Et Nunc Manet in Te (Knopf), r, 14, 26. At end, signed
  • Anglo Saxon Attitudes, n, 1-2, 53-68. 16 holographic notebooks. Published in 1956
  • A Bit Off the Map, ss, 2, 32
  • The Bloomsburg Group, at, 2
  • The Books I Read, a, 2, 117. Signed
  • Brawnwell Bronte by Winifred Gerin (T. Nelson & Sons), r, 13, 120. Signed
  • Breadth and Depth in the Novel, l, 2, 111
  • The British Museum. Some impressions of one who works there, a, 2, 5. Published in September 1955 in Holiday magazine under the title World's Greatest Museum. Signed
  • Channel Islands, nt, 2, 118
  • Character and Situation by Christopher Sykes (Collins), r, 3, 109
  • Charles Dickens, nt, 3, 99. See also Guilt and Innocence in the Work of Charles Dickens
  • Christmas Brings Memories, ss, 2, 140. Unfinished
  • Christmas Day in the Workhouse, ss, 2, 41
  • Crazy Crowd, ss, 13, 40. First published in Horizon then in the Wrong Set 1949
  • Changing Careers in Mid-Life, at, 3. Creative Aging Series
  • Courage by Lord Beaverbrook (Collins), r, 9, 114. Signed
  • The Dark Peninsula by Ernest Frost (John Lehmann), r, 3, 109
  • The Devils of Loudun by Aldous Huxley (Chatto & Windus, 1952), r, 3, 105. Signed
  • Dickens and the Modern City, l, 3. Transcript of a recording of a lecture delivered 20 October 1971 at the University of Iowa, Iowa City
  • Dickens from Pickwick to Dombey by Stephen Marcus, r, 9, 112
  • Dickens, His Characters, Comedy, and Career by Hesketh Pearson (Metheum 1949), r, 3, 109
  • Divided Worship, f, 13, 22
  • Dostoevsky's Possessed, nt, 13, 22. Notes with Hugh Walpole material
  • An Elephant Never Forgets, ss, 13, 23. Index on cover indicates that this story was published in a magazine
  • Emile Zola: a study of his novels, r, 3, 99-109. First published in 1952
  • English Novel Today: Dickens to Snow, at, 4
  • English Stories From New Writing edited by John Lehmann (John Lehmann 1951), r, 2, 110. Signed
  • Envy, a, 2, 117. Signed
  • Et Dona Ferentes, ss, 4, 27. Published in The Wrong Set 1949
  • The Eyes of the Peacock, ss, 4. This story contained some seeds for the novel, Setting the World on Fire. Including a photocopy of a letter concerning the manuscript)
  • Flat Country Christmas, ss, 4, 36. Published in A Bit Off the Map. This story was earlier entitled The Old, Old Message and published in The New Statesman 25 December 1950. Notebook 1 contains an early version entitled Rather Flat Country, much revised
  • Focus by Arthur Miller (Victor Gollanez 1952), r, 4, 19
  • Goat and Compasses, f, 4, 18-21. See also My Husband is Right
  • The Garnett Family by Carolyn Heilbrun (Allen & Unwin 1961), r, 5, 122. Signed
  • Guilt and Innocence in the Works of Charles Dickens, st, 3, 99. See also Charles Dickens [notes]
  • Heart of Elm, ss, 13, 1. Notes and a fragmentary beginning for a story. A story with this title was published in Such Darling Dodos 1950
  • Hemlock and After, n, 4, 137-142. Published in July 1952.
  • Holiday Lessons, ss, 2, 41. Not considered good enough for publication by Wilson
  • How It Is to Be a Writer, nt, 11, 133
  • Hugh Walpole, nt, 13, 22
  • My Husband is Right: a chapter of Goat and Compasses, f, 4, 19. Published in The Texas Quarterly. See also Goat and Compasses
  • I Double Dare You, f, 13, 22
  • Interview with Professor Frederick P.W. McDowell, 1971, i, 5. Phonotape. 1 reel. List of questions submitted to Wilson before the interview, with his written comments. Transcript. Photocopy. Revised transcript, with written comments by McDowell and Wilson. Typescript.
  • The Invasion, t, 5, 122. Act 2
  • Jane Austen, a, 2, 117. Signed
  • Jane Austen, nt, 5, 115
  • Jane Austen: Prudence vs. Courage, at, 5. Greenville, Del. 19 Oct. 1980
  • John Cowper Powys: notes for a broadcast, nt, 9, 112
  • Journey to My Mother's Land, a, 6, 116. Signed. Written for and published in The Sunday Telegraph newspaper
  • Late Call, n, 6-7, 42-52. Published in 1964. Notebook 51 contains 5 relevant letters
  • Learning's Little Tribute, ss, 2, 41. Published in Such Darling Dodos 1950
  • The Letters of Charles Dickens (Clarendon Press 1965), r, 9, 112
  • A Little Companion, ss, 13, 22. Published in Such Darling Dodos 1950
  • Live and Let Die, ss, 9, 119. Unpublished
  • Men With Bowler Hats, ss, 7, 30. Label on cover indicates that the story was published in various magazines
  • The Middle Ages of Mrs. Eliot, n, 7-8, 86-98. Notebook 96 dated July 1958. Published in 1958
  • More Friend Than Lodger, ss, 8, 38 & 39. Published in The New Yorker, later in A Bit Off the Map
  • More Than a Vanload, f, 13, 1. List of names and the beginning of a story apparently never developed.
  • Mother's Sense of Fun, ss, 8, 34. First published in Horizon, later published in The Wrong Set 1949
  • The Mulberry Bush, p, 9, 7-14. Various versions, the earliest entitled Sheep and Goats. Published in 1956
  • Mummy to the Rescue, ss, 9, 25. Published in Darling Dodos 1950
  • The Naturalist Novel by Zola (Harvest House, Montreal), r, 11, 83
  • Necessity's Child, ss, 13, 23. Published in Such Darling Dodos 1950
  • New Maps of Hell by Kingsley Amis (Gollancy 1961), r, 5, 115
  • No Future For Our Young, ss, 9, 114. Written after a visit to South Africa. Not published
  • No Laughing Matter, n, 9-11, 69-85a. Published in 1967. Notebook 112 contains earliest jottings. Notebook 119 contains notes
  • Notes on a visit to Japan, nt, 7, 97. For an article in Enounter
  • Notes on Room With a View, Howard's End, Passage to India, Mrs. Dalloway and the Waves, nt, 10, 80
  • The Novels of William Godwin, a, 2, 110. Notebook cover indicates that this article was publihsed in the World Review
  • The Old Men at the Zoo, n, 11-12, 124-135. Notebook 135 is dated 26/3/60. Published in 1961. Notebook 115 contains alterations
  • The Old, Old Message, ss, 4. See Flat Country Christmas
  • Once a Lady, ss, 13, 35. First published in the New Yorker, later in A Bit Off the Map
  • The Pendulum's Swung Too Far, f, 9, 119. An unfinished story
  • Petty's novel, nt, 13, 6
  • The Pick of Today's Short Stories Ed. John Pudney (Odhams Press 1963), r, 3, 109
  • Popes d'exil by Zola (Collin Burns) (Nottingham French Studies. May, Oct. 1964 Vol. IIII No. 1, 2.), r, 11, 83
  • Proust as a Set Book. Review of the Mind of Proust by F.C. Green (University Press, Cambridge 1949), r, 13, 1. Published in the New Statesman 24 December 1949
  • Public Lecture: on the novel, l, 10, 72
  • Raspberry Jam, ss, 13, 24. Published in The Wrong Set 1949
  • Rather Flat Country, ss, 4. See Flat Country Christmas
  • Realpolitick, ss, 13, 22. Published in The Wrong Set 1949
  • Reasons for accepting post as a lecturer in literature at the University of East Anglia, Norwich, a, 13, 121. Signed
  • Rex Imperator, ss, 13, 40. First published in Arena, then in Such Darling Dodos 1950
  • Saturnalia, ss, 13, 22. Published in The Wrong Set 1949
  • A Sad Fall, ss, 13, 29. Published in A Bit Off the Map 1957
  • Significant Experience, ss, 13, 33 & 40. Published in The Wrong Set 1949
  • Sister Superior, ss, 1, 1. Published in Such Darling Dodos 1950. See also television version A Slap All Around in Notebook 6
  • Sheep and Goats, p, 9. See also The Mulberry Bush [a play]
  • A Slap All Around, t, 13, 6. A T.V. script based on the short story, Sister Superior. On cover: (never produced). See also short story, Sister Superior in Notebook 1
  • A Story of Historical Interest, ss, 13, 23 & 40. Published in The Wrong Set 1949
  • Such Darling Dodos, ss, 13, 1 & 102. Published in Such Darling Dodos 1950
  • Tea With Mr. Rochester by Francis Towers (Michael Joseph 1952), r, 3, 109
  • Television, a, 2, 118. Signed
  • Television Programs, nt, 14, 113 & 120 & 121. Time On Our Hands. Bookstand. Your Life in Their Hands. Two in the Bush. This Week. Brian Connell. Tony Hancock. Perry Mason. Too Late for the Mashed Potato. Zen. Apartheid, CBC, Walter Krankheit [sic]. Adult Teaching Programs. Ramadan. Iceland. K. Clark -- Michelangelo. It's a Square World. A World of Wales. The Sky at Night. The Major. Alan Taylor - 1862 -- Napoleon III. The Victorians. World in Action. The Truth About Alan. Malcolm Muggeridge -- Ramsey Macdonald
  • Tempo: a book on the impact of television on the arts, b, 13, 123. Published in 1964
  • Ten Minutes to Twelve, ss, 13, 28. Published in A Bit Off the Map 1957
  • Totentanz, ss, 13, 22. Published in Horizon magazine May 1949, in Such Darling Dodos, and in the Wrong Set 1949. See also T.V. version
  • Totentanz, t, 9, 112. Never used.
  • Unwanted Herione, ss, 14, 26. Label indicates that the story was published in a women's magazine
  • Visiting Kruschev at the Black Sea, a, 13, 121. Written for the Daily Express. Signed
  • With It, ss, 9, 119. Unpublished
  • The Wrong Set, ss, 9, 25. Published in The Wrong Set 1949
  • W. Somerset Maugham, Introduction to the selected stories of, 10, 73. Signed
  • What Do Hippo's Eat, ss, 13, 1. Published in The Listener 21 April 1949 and in Such Darling Dodos 1950
  • Who For Such Dainties?, ss, 13, 22. Not considered good enough for publication by Wilson
  • The Wild Garden: Ewing Lectures, University of California (Los Angeles) 1960, l, 14, 2-4
  • World's Greatest Museum, a, 2. See The British Museum
  • Zola, l, 3, 106
  • Zola Before the Rougon-Macquart by John C. Lapp (University of Toronto Press 1964), r, 11, 83
  • Zola in England, a, 3, 104 & 105
  • Zola's The Masterpiece trans. Thomas Walton (Paul Elek 1950), r, 3, 102

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
English & American Literature
Writers Archive at Iowa
Novelists, Story Writers, & Poets