Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Daniel Webster Turner Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1898-1969
Creator: Turner, Daniel Webster (1877-1969)
Extent: 2.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0198
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Governor of Iowa, 1931-1933. Correspondence, speeches, subject files, and clippings.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Boxes 4, 6.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The bulk of this collection was donated in 1969 by Isabel Turner, with an additional gift by Norman Turner in 1994.

Preferred Citation: Daniel Webster Turner Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Daniel Webster Turner was born in Corning, Iowa, on March 17, 1877. He graduated from the Corning Academy in 1894 and went into business with his father two years later. In 1898, he enlisted in the 51st Iowa Volunteer Infantry and served in the Phillipines during the Spanish American War. Turner married Alice Sample in 1900. They had three children, Marjorie, Ned, and Thomas.

In 1903, Turner was elected to the State Senate and served through three regular sessions and two special sessions. An excellent public speaker, Turner delivered the keynote address at three Republican State Conventions. Daniel Turner was elected Governor of Iowa in 1930 and served one term. During his term, he was forced to call out the National Guard to enforce the mandatory testing of cattle for tuberculosis.

During World War I, Turner served with the YMCA in France. In World War II, he worked for the War Production Board in Washington, D.C. He was in charge of prison war production, a plan whereby inmates produced goods for the war effort. During the 1950's he worked for the National Farmers Organization.

Daniel Turner died on April 15, 1969, at the age of 92.

The Papers of Daniel Webster Turner consist of 2.5 linear feet of materials dating from 1898- 1969 and are arranged chronologically within an alphabetical order. The subject files range from a diary Turner kept during the Spanish American War to his work with the National Farmers Organization. There are ten folders of correspondence, with letters from such notables as: Ezra Taft Benson, Whitney Gillilland, H.R. Gross, Bourke B. Hickenlooper, Leo A. Hoegh, Ben F. Jensen, Estes Kefauver, Gus T. Kuester, Robert D. Ray, and Otha D. Wearin. Also included are materials relating to farm conditions, Farm Holiday, the War Production Board, and Turner's gubernatorial campaign.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL
Series 2: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 3: GENERAL

  • Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL
  • Box 1:
  • Biographical material - 1932-1969
  • Series 2: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence - 1919-1944
  • Correspondence - 1952-1954
    Including letters from: Dwight D. Eisenhower, Bourke B. Hickenlooper, Leo A. Hoegh, Leo Elthun, Karl M. LeCompte, Ezra Taft Benson, Whitney Gillilland, Raymond T. Pim, and Ben F. Jensen.
  • Correspondence - 1955
    Including letters from: Leo A. Hoegh, Whitney Gillilland, Karl M. LeCompte, George Mills, and Gus T. Kuester.
  • Correspondence, January-May - 1956
    Including letters from: Henry O. Talle, Ben F. Jensen, H.R. Gross, Karl M. LeCompte, Gus T. Kuester, and Whitney Gillilland.
  • Correspondence, June-December - 1956
    Including letters from: Leo A. Hoegh, Estes Kefauver, and Gus T. Kuester.
  • Correspondence - 1957-1959
    Including letters from Albert Lund and Herb Plambeck.
  • Correspondence - 1960-1962
    Including letters from: William H. Harbor, George Mills, Verne R. Martin, Leo A. Hoegh, Robert Templeton, Karl M. LeCompte, Norman A. Erbe, and Ed. S. White.
  • Box 2:
  • Correspondence - 1963-1968
    Including letters from: Robert D. Ray, Edward A. Wearin, D.C. Nolar, Ben F. Jensen, Robert K. Beck, and Paul Franzenburg.
  • Correspondence - 1970
  • Undated correspondence
    Including letters from: Dale Kramer, Gus T. Kuester, George Mills, Raymond T. Pim, Francis A. Turner, and Alice Turner.
  • Series 3: GENERAL
  • Box 2:
  • Farm conditions: Correspondence - 1953-1966
  • Farm conditions: Newspaper clippings - 1955-1964
    (5 folders)
  • Farm groups other than NFO - Newspaper clippings - 1955-1961
  • Farm Holiday material, undated
  • Box 3:
  • Financial papers - 1956-1960
  • Gubernatorial campaign and inauguration - 1930-1931
  • Hoegh, Leo A. - Campaign for governor - 1954
  • Miscellaneous - 1931-1966
  • Miscellaneous farm correspondence - 1955-1959
  • National Farmers Organization (NFO): General - 1956-1960
  • NFO: Correspondence - 1955-1961
  • NFO: Newspaper clippings - 1955-1968
  • Newspaper clippings - 1930-1969
    (3 folders)
  • Notes, undated
  • Box 4:
  • Notes, undated
    (2 folders)
  • Photographs - 1952
    Including a photo of Dwight D. Eisenhower.
  • Pioneer Lawmakers Association of Iowa - 1963
  • Report on the Progress of the State Prison War Program under the Government Division of the War Production Board (Title on cover: Prisons in Wartime) - 1944
  • Scrapbooks
  • Box 5:
  • Speeches and addresses, undated
  • Turner, Daniel W.'s farming business - 1927-1961
  • Turner store
  • War diary - 1898-1899
  • War Production Board - Prison Industries Branch - 1942-1943
  • Archie, Willard, Columns from Shenandoah Evening Sentinel - 1856-1969
  • On shelf:
  • Oversized photographs
    These photographs are in a large folder lying on top of the boxes