Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Albert Zugsmith Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1943-1964
Creator: Zugsmith, Albert (1910-unknown)
Extent: .25 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0196
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: American motion picture producer, director and writer. Ten script items ranging from shooting schedules to screenplays.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Albert Zugsmith Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Zugsmith was born in 1910 at Atlantic City, New Jersey and was educated at the University of Virginia. During his career, he was been president of the Intercontinental Broadcasting Corp., vice president of the Smith Davis Corporation, associate editor of the American Press, president of the World Printing Co., president of the American Picture Corp. and president of Famous Players International Corp. He also produced, directed and wrote screenplays for motion pictures.

The Albert Zugsmith collection consists of ten items ranging from shooting scripts to screenplays. The items are arranged alphabetically by title.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Badge of Evil. Shooting schedule. Released as Touch of Evil.
  • The Carnival Kid by Gus Edson. 2nd draft, February 7 - 1961
  • The Incredible Sex Revolution. Screenply by Robert Hill.
  • Mr. Acrobat. Script by George Zuckerman.
  • The Private Lives of Adam and Eve. Final screenplay by Robert Hill, May 6 - 1959
  • Sappho by Albert Zugsmith - 1968
  • South of the Sun. Treatment by Albert Zugsmith.
  • Teen Age Girls by Robert Hill and Albert Zugsmith.
  • Thar She Blows by Richard Kanter and David F. Friedman.
  • Voyage to Lilliput. Treatment no. 2 by Richard Matheson.
  • This collection originally contained nine other script items which have since been separately cataloged and added to the collection of printed books:
  • Around the World in Eighty Days: Adapted from the novel by Jules Verne. 147 p. Dated August 30th - 1955
    xPN 1997 A768 1955
  • The Bride Comes to Yellow Sky: Screenplay by James Agee from the story by Stephen Crane. 45 p.
    xfPN 1997 B737 A5 1952
  • Doctor Zhivago: Shooting script for the screenplay by Robert Bolt based on the novel by Boris Pasternak. 284 p. Dated September - 1964
    xPN 1997 D556 B6 1964
  • The Friendly Persuasion - William Wyler's Production of "The Friendly Persuasion": Screenplays by Jessamyn West and Robert Wyler from the novel by Jessamyn West. 163 p. Two final scripts dated 1118 August - 1955
    One copy is missing pages 122-163. xfPN 1997 F754 W4 1955 and xfPN 1997F754 W4 1955a
  • The Keys of the Kingdom: Screenplay by Nunnally Johnson from the novel by A.J. Cronin. 186 p. Dated July 16 - 1943
    xfPN 1997 K38 J6 1943
  • The Lilies of the Field: Screenplay by James Poe based on the novel by William E. Barrett. 109 p. Dated 1123 October - 1962
    xPN 1997 L4777 1962
  • The Spy Who Came in from the Cold: Release dialogue script by Paul Dehn and Guy Trosper based on the novel by John le Carre. 99 p. Dated December 31 - 1965
    xPN 1997 S6489 D4 1965
  • The Unsinkable Molly Brown: Screenplay by Helen Deutsch based on the musical play "The Unsinkable Molly Brown", music and lyrics by Meredith Willson, book by Richard Morris. 126 p. Dated July 9 - 1962
    xPN 1997 U475 1962
  • Kutner, C. Jerry. "Albert Zugsmith's Opium Dreams." Bright Lights Film Journal (http://www.brightlightsfilm.com/20/20_zugsmith.php)