Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Josiah Proctor Walton Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1838-1909
Creator: Walton, Josiah Proctor
Extent: 17.00 .
Collection Number: MSC0194
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Holograph forms and forms from the Smithsonian Institution and War Department. Also includes United States War Department, Office of the Chief Signal Officer's monthly summaries of voluntary observers' meteorological reports from various locations in Iowa.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was donated to the University of Iowa Libraries by the Musser Public Library in Muscatine, Iowa, in 1968.

Preferred Citation: Josiah Proctor Walton Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

This collection is comprised mostly of ledger books, with a folder lying loose on the shelf.
Account book and diary [2v.] Josiah Proctor Walton from March 1848 -- 1854, Bloomington [i.e. Muscatine] Iowa. xMs W240 ad

Letterpress book, Josiah Proctor Walton, November 1863 -- December 1887, Muscatine, Iowa. xMs W240 lp

Letter, from Joseph Henry to Josiah P. Walton, 12 November 1869. MsL H522

Letter, T. S. Parvin to J. P. Walton, 6 pp. 14 November 1864. MsL P276 w

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE AND LEDGER BOOKS
Series 2: METEOROLOGICIAL OBSERVATION, MUSCATINE, IOWA - 1839-1909

  • Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE AND LEDGER BOOKS
  • Box 1:
  • Folder of loose materials; newspaper clippings, notes of J. P. Walton, miscellaneous letters, eulogy
  • Letters, J. P. Walton to David R. Warfield - 1838
    7 ALS. Currently missing
  • Ledger book, "Proceedings of the Justice Court. Moscow, Iowa Territory, Muscatine County."
  • Ledger book, minutes of the meetings of the Muscatine County Medical Society. May 11-December 12 - 1899-1940
  • Series 2: METEOROLOGICIAL OBSERVATION, MUSCATINE, IOWA - 1839-1909
  • Box 1:
  • Volume I - 1838-1849
    Theodore Sutton Parvin
  • Volume II - 1850-1856
    Theodore Sutton Parvin
  • Volume IV - 1861-1885
    John Ufford:1861-April 1863. Josiah P. Walton: April 1863-August 1885.
  • Volume V. September-March - 1885-1906
    Josiah P. Walton
  • Volume VI. April-July - 1906-1909
    Josiah P. Walton
  • Volume VII - 1839-1860
    Josiah P. Walton: 1839-September 1860. John Ufford: October 1860-December
  • Volume VIII - 1871-1879
    John Ufford: March 1863. Josiah Walton: April 1863-December 1870
  • Volume IX - 1871-1877
    Josiah P. Walton
  • Volume X - 1878-1881
    Josiah P. Walton
  • Volume XI - 1882-1886
    Josiah P. Walton
  • Volume XII - 1887-1890
    Josiah P. Walton
  • Volume XIII - 1891-1898
    Josiah P. Walton
  • Volume XIV. August-March - 1898-1906
    Josiah P. Walton
  • Volume - 1863
    John Ufford
  • Meteorological observations of voluntary observers' reports from various locations in Iowa, 1854 -- 1899